DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 6/11/26 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 9385172. Although all the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following match between pending claims and those of Patent 9385172 as follows:
Claim 1 is broader than claim 1.
Claim 2 is identical to claim 4.
Claim 5 is identical to claim 6.
Claim 6 is identical to claim 7.
Claim 7 is identical to claim 21.
Claim 8 is identical to claim 22.
Claims 3-4 and 9 are considered obvious in view of claims 2, 3, 8 and 18 given the listed devices as that of organic diode based devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102b as being anticipated by Tompkin et al. (US 2008/0035736).
Regarding claim 1, Tompkin discloses a device comprising:
a surface comprising a first region (transparent region of 2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041) and a second region (opaque region of 2 containing the display element, solar cell, electric circuit, etc, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041),
wherein the device transmits light through the first region (transparent region of 2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041) and generates electricity or an
electrical response to light from the second region (solar cell 23, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041), wherein the first region is transparent and the
second region is substantially non-transparent (fig. 3 and paragraph 0041), and
wherein the device has an overall transparency of at least 5% (fig. 3, transparent region occupies more than 5% of the area of 2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 2, Tompkin further discloses wherein the second region has a local transparency of less than 5% (opaque region of 2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 3, Tompkin further discloses wherein the device comprises an organic solar cell (23, fig. 3 and paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 4, Tompkin further discloses wherein the device comprises an organic photodetector (23, fig. 3 and paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 5, Tompkin further discloses wherein the device has an overall
transparency of at least 10% (fig. 3, transparent region occupies more than 5% of the area of 2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 6, Tompkin further discloses wherein the second region has a local transparency of less than 1% (opaque region of 2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041) and wherein the device has an overall transparency of at least 10% (fig. 3, transparent region occupies more than 5% of the area of 2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 7, Tompkin further discloseswherein the device is flexible (Abstract and paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 8, Tompkin further discloses a single layer barrier
encapsulation layer disposed over the first surface of the device (33, fig. 4a and paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 9, Tompkin further discloses wherein the device is at least one type selected from the group consisting of: a flat panel display, a computer monitor, a medical monitor, a television, a billboard, a light for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, a heads up display, a fully transparent display, a flexible display, a laser printer, a telephone, a cell phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a viewfinder, a micro-display, a vehicle, a large area wall, a theater or stadium screen, or a sign (Abstract and paragraphs 5-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2013/0074904 disclose a device with combined solar cell and display.
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 8/26/26