CTNF 18/757,794 CTNF 85725 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/12/24 is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: METHOD FOR ENCRYPTION IN NETWORK FUNCTION TO NETWORK FUNCTION COMMUNICATION . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Choyi et al (Pub No: 2023/0106940) . As to claim 1, Choyi teaches an apparatus of a first network function entity configured for communication with a second network function entity (Choyi, Fig 1 a first NF consumer connected to communicate with a second NF producer), the apparatus comprising at least one processor, at least one memory including computer program code, and at least one interface configured for communication with at least another apparatus, the at least one processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, being configured to cause the apparatus (Choyi, Fig 2, the NF consumer containing a processor and memory with code and communication interface) to perform: transmitting, towards a network repository function entity, a discovery message (Choyi, [0046], NF consumer transmits towards a NRF a discovery request 510), receiving, from said network repository function entity, a response message comprising a first encryption key of said second network function entity (Choyi, [0046], the NF consumer receives from NRF a response with NF producer profile which includes certificates) , encrypting data, using the first encryption key, as encrypted data (Choyi, [0048], a service request object is generated and cryptographically signed using an algorithm and private key from the NRF response) , and transmitting, towards said second network function entity, a service request with said encrypted data (Choyi, [0048], the NF consumer 120 transmits a handshake towards the NF producer via the SCP a hash (encrypted) cryptographically signed service request). As to claim 2, Choyi teaches wherein said response message comprises a certificate related to said first encryption key (Choyi, [0046], the response includes certificates) . As to claim 3, Choyi teaches wherein said encrypted data is at least one encrypted information element in said service request, wherein said service request comprises header information identifying said at least one encrypted information element (Choyi, [0039], the tranmsmitted data is a sensitive information element with header information 405 Fig 4A) As to claim 4, Choyi teaches wherein said at least one encrypted information element comprises vendor specific information and/or operator specific information (Choyi, Fig 4A #405, the information elements as parameters include information related to the NF consumer and NF producer (operator and vendor)). As to claim 5, Choyi teaches an apparatus of a second network function entity configured for communication with a first network function entity (Choyi, Fig 1 a first NF consumer connected to communicate with a second NF producer) , the apparatus comprising at least one processor, at least one memory including computer program code, and at least one interface configured for communication with at least another apparatus, the at least one processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, being configured to cause the apparatus (Choyi, Fig 2, the NF producer containing a processor and memory with code and communication interface) to perform: generating a registration message comprising a first encryption key (Choyi, [0043], the NF producer 130 generates a response message with parameters for the NF producer and NRF for the NF profile with certificate, keys), transmitting, towards a network repository function entity, said registration message (Choyi, [0043], the NF producer 130 generates a response message with parameters for the NF producer and NRF for the NF profile) , receiving, from an intermediate network entity, a service request with encrypted data encrypted using the first encryption key (Choyi, [0048][0050[, the NF producer receives a handshake towards the NF producer via the SCP a hash (encrypted) cryptographically signed service request) , and decrypting said encrypted data using a first decryption key (Choyi, [0050], the NF producer decrypts the encrypted information elements suing the certificates and keys). As to claim 6, Choyi teaches wherein the at least one processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, being configured to cause the apparatus to perform: creating said first encryption key, wherein said first encryption key equals said first decryption key, or creating said first encryption key and said first decryption key, and optionally a certificate related to said first encryption key, wherein optionally said registration message comprises said certificate (Choyi, [0043], the NF producer 130 generates a response message with parameters for the NF producer and NRF for the NF profile with certificate, keys) . As to claim 7, Choyi teaches wherein said encrypted data is at least one encrypted information element in said service request, wherein said service request comprises header information identifying said at least one encrypted information element (Choyi, [0039], the tranmsmitted data is a sensitive information element with header information 405 Fig 4A) , and wherein the at least one processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, being configured to cause the apparatus to perform: determining said at least one encrypted information element using said header information (Choyi, [0039], the tranmsmitted data is a sensitive information element with header information 405 Fig 4A) , and in relation to said decrypting, the at least one processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, being configured to cause the apparatus to perform: decrypting said at least one encrypted information element utilizing said first decryption key (Choyi, [0050], the NF producer decrypts the encrypted information elements suing the certificates and keys) . As to claim 8, Choyi teaches wherein said at least one encrypted information element comprises vendor specific information and/or operator specific information (Choyi, Fig 4A #405, the information elements as parameters include information related to the NF consumer and NF producer (operator and vendor)). . As to claim 9, Choyi teaches an apparatus, the apparatus comprising at least one processor, at least one memory including computer program code, and at least one interface configured for communication with at least another apparatus, the at least one processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, being configured to cause the apparatus to (Choyi, Fig 1, a Network repository function with processor and memory Fig 2) perform: receiving, from a second network function entity, a registration message comprising a first encryption key (Choyi, [0043], the NF producer 130 generates a response message with parameters for the NF producer and NRF for the NF profile with certificate, keys) , and storing said first encryption key of said second network function entity (Choyi, [0046], the NRF stores NF producer profile which includes certificates) . As to claim 10, Choyi teaches wherein the at least one processor, with the at least one memory and the computer program code, being configured to cause the apparatus to perform: receiving, from a first network function entity, a discovery message (Choyi, [0046], NF consumer transmits towards a NRF a discovery request 510) , and transmitting, towards said first network function entity, a response message comprising said first encryption key of said second network function entity (Choyi, [0046], the NF consumer receives from NRF a response with NF producer profile which includes certificates) . As to claim 11, Choyi teaches wherein said response message comprises said certificate (Choyi, [0046], the NF consumer receives from NRF a response with NF producer profile which includes certificates) . As to claim 12, Choyi teaches wherein said registration message comprises a certificate related to said first encryption key (Choyi, [0046], a NF producer profile which includes certificates) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Aggarwal et al (Pub No: 2023/0413052). [0072] Martinez de la Cruz et al (Pub No: 2022/0264301) [0011][0030] Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI whose telephone number is (571)270-7296. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 AM -5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian N Moore can be reached at 571-272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/757,794 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/757,794 Page 3 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/757,794 Page 4 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/757,794 Page 5 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/757,794 Page 6 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/757,794 Page 7 Art Unit: 2469