DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-15 are pending and are rejected.
Priority
Foreign priority:
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to application no. JP2020-102961 filled on 06/15/2020. The certified copy has been received.
Continuation:
The current application is a continuation of the application no. 17346638 filled on 06/14/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) filled on 06/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings filled on 06/28/2024 are acceptable for the examination purpose.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-4:
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a profile acquisition unit in claim 1.
a feature amount calculation unit in claim 1.
a contribution level evaluation unit in claim 1.
a factor estimation unit in claims 1-4.
The claim limitations as described above uses generic placeholders for performing the claimed function such that the generic placeholders are modified by functional language as discussed below, in claim 1 -
a profile acquisition unit configured to acquire a removal width profile indicating….
a feature amount calculation unit configured to calculate….
a contribution level evaluation unit configured to evaluate….
a factor estimation unit
configured to output factor information….in claim 1,
is further configured to output the factor information…in claim 2,
is further configured to output the factor information…in claim 3,
is further configured to output the contribution level….in claim 4.
a profile acquisition unit being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure controller 100 described in the specification paragraph 89: “the controller 100 first performs processes S11, S12, S13, S14, S15, S16 and S17,…In the process S12, the profile acquisition unit 115 holds the substrate W, which is placed in the inspection unit U3 by the transfer arm A3, on the holder 51. In the process S13, the profile acquisition unit 115 controls the rotation driving unit 52 to start rotating the holder 51 and the substrate W.”
a feature amount calculation unit being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure controller 100 described in the specification paragraph 93: “the controller 100 first performs processes S21, S22, S23, S24 and S25. In the process S21, the feature amount calculation unit 116 waits until the acquisition of the removal profile by the profile acquisition unit 115 is completed. In the process S22, the feature amount calculation unit 116 calculates the above-described plurality of kinds of feature amounts based on the removal width profile.”
a contribution level evaluation unit being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure controller 100 described in the specification paragraph 93: “the controller 100 first performs processes S21, S22, S23, S24 and S25.” and paragraph 94: “In the process S25, the contribution level evaluation unit 122 checks whether or not the evaluation result of the removal width by the evaluation unit 121 is out of the predetermined range.”
a factor estimation unit being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure controller 100 described in the specification paragraph 96: “the controller 100 performs processes S31, S32 and S33. In the process S31, the factor estimation unit 124 evaluates the correlation level between each of the plurality of kinds of error factors and the composite feature amount based on the records accumulated in the data accumulation unit 119 when the feature amount having the highest contribution level is the composite feature amount.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 15:
The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter, because the subject matter of claim are directed to transitory form of computer-readable storage medium.
Non-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include:
Transitory forms of signal transmission (often referred to as "signals per se"), such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal or carrier wave;
Claim recites “A computer-readable recording medium.” In view of the specification, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the “A computer-readable recording medium” may include transitory forms signal transmission since specification doesn’t limit “A computer-readable recording medium” to be non-transitory form of computer-readable storage medium only. Therefore, the subject matter of claim are directed to transitory form of computer-readable storage medium. A transitory, propagating signal does not fall within any statutory category. Mentor Graphics Corp. v. EVE-USA, Inc., 851 F.3d 1275, 1294, 112 USPQ2d 1120, 1133 (Fed. Cir. 2017); Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1356-1357, 84 USPQ2d at 1501-03.
Therefore, claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Amano (US20170287704A1) [hereinafter Amano].
Regarding claim 1:
Amano discloses, A factor estimation apparatus, comprising: [¶6: can determine rapidly whether a film on a peripheral portion of a substrate is properly removed without depending on the kind of the film on the peripheral portion of the substrate to be removed.
Examiner notes the claim interpretations as set forth in this office action.].
a profile acquisition unit configured to acquire a removal width profile indicating a relationship between a position in a circumferential direction of a substrate, from which a peripheral portion of a film formed on a surface of the substrate is removed by a periphery removal unit, and [¶108: on the image obtained by the imaging device 270,…a cut surface region 1102, a round region 1103 and a top surface region 1104 is arranged in sequence from the inner end (upper end) of the angle of view…..In a region where the formed processing film is removed, the cut surface region 1102 is a flat surface region not including the round which is formed at the circumferential edge of the wafer W. The round region 1103 is a rounded area from which the processing film is removed or at which no processing film is originally formed….
¶138: by using the first image based on the first imaging condition and the second image based on the second imaging condition, (a) the position of the cut surface boundary 1110, (b) the position of the processing film boundary 1109 and (c) the position of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 can be accurately obtained.];
a width of a portion of the substrate from which the film is removed; [¶139: The controller 603 calculates the cut width by applying the aforementioned position information (a) to (c) to the expressions (1) to (3). The cut width is calculated for each of the other cut images 1000 a, 1000 b, 1000 d and 1000 e, and an average value of these cut widths is determined as a final cut width obtained for the angle of view 1001.];
a feature amount calculation unit configured to calculate multiple kinds of feature amounts matched to at least one of factors of an error in the width based on the removal width profile; [¶140: A center position WO of the wafer W and a center position HO of the wafer holding unit 210 may be deviated in the X-axis and Y-axis directions… a deviation amount from the center position HO is defined as an “eccentric amount WD.”…
¶146: measurement processing device 601 sends,…the average value “Ave,” the maximum value “Max,” and the minimum value “Min,” at 360 points which are information indicating the cut width and the eccentric amount…
¶149 result window 1702 displays the cut width obtained as the measurement result, here, the average value “Ave.”…the measurement result window 1702 also displays the eccentric amount WD calculated by the expression (5)];
a contribution level evaluation unit configured to evaluate contribution levels of the multiple kinds of feature amounts to the error based on the calculation result of the multiple kinds of feature amounts; and [¶145: measurement processing device 601 specifies an average value “Ave,” a maximum value “Max,” and a minimum value “Min” of the cut width from the measurement results at 360 points. Here, if the variation of the processing film boundary 1109 with respect to the periodic variation of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 in the images at the 360 points can be considered to be negligibly small, the variation amount of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 becomes dominant in the variation amount of the cut width. Thus, the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2.];
a factor estimation unit configured to output factor information indicating factors of the error based on the contribution levels of the multiple kinds of feature amounts to the error. [¶145: if the variation of the processing film boundary 1109 with respect to the periodic variation of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 in the images at the 360 points can be considered to be negligibly small, the variation amount of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 becomes dominant in the variation amount of the cut width. Thus, the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2.
¶149: A measurement result window 1702 displays the cut width obtained as the measurement result, here, the average value “Ave.” Further, the measurement result window 1702 also displays the eccentric amount WD calculated by the expression (5).]
Regarding claim 2:
Amano further discloses, wherein the factor estimation unit is further configured to output the factor information based on at least one factor of the error, among multiple kinds of factors of the error, matched to at least a feature amount having a highest contribution level. [¶145: if the variation of the processing film boundary 1109 with respect to the periodic variation of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 in the images at the 360 points can be considered to be negligibly small, the variation amount of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 becomes dominant in the variation amount of the cut width. Thus, the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2…
¶146: The measurement processing device 601 sends, to the information processing device 602, the average value “Ave,” the maximum value “Max,” and the minimum value “Min,” at 360 points which are information indicating the cut width and the eccentric amount.].
Regarding claim 3:
Amano further discloses, the multiple kinds of feature amounts include a composite feature amount matched to multiple kinds of factors of the error, [¶145: the cut width also changes periodically depending on the angle….device 601 specifies an average value “Ave,” a maximum value “Max,” and a minimum value “Min” of the cut width from the measurement results at 360 points…the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2.];
when a feature amount having a highest contribution level is the composite feature amount, the factor estimation unit is further configured to output the factor information based on multiple kinds of factors of the error matched to the composite feature amount and a state of the periphery removal unit. ¶146: The measurement processing device 601 sends, to the information processing device 602,…the maximum value “Max,”…at 360 points which are information indicating the cut width and the eccentric amount].
Regarding claim 4:
Amano further discloses, wherein the factor estimation unit is further configured to output the contribution level of each of the multiple kinds of feature amounts, as the factor information. [¶149: A measurement result window 1702 displays the cut width obtained as the measurement result, here, the average value “Ave.” Further, the measurement result window 1702 also displays the eccentric amount WD calculated by the expression (5).].
Regarding claim 5:
Amano further discloses, wherein an output of the factor estimation unit includes displaying the factor information on a display device. [¶147: The information processing device 602 generates information to be displayed on the display device 609…
¶149: A measurement result window 1702 displays the cut width obtained as the measurement result, here, the average value “Ave.” Further, the measurement result window 1702 also displays the eccentric amount WD calculated by the expression (5).]
Regarding claim 6:
Amano further discloses,
wherein the multiple kinds of feature amounts include at least two of
an evaluation value of an eccentricity of a periphery of the film with respect to a periphery of the substrate,
an evaluation value of a roundness of the periphery of the film and
an evaluation value of a roughness of the periphery of the film. [Examiner notes that only two of the features out of the three are given the patentable weight.
Accordingly, Amano discloses, 1. an eccentricity of a periphery of the film with respect to a periphery of the substrate, 2. an evaluation value of a roundness of the periphery of the film…
¶145: S102 of FIG. 7 is performed while the wafer W is eccentrically placed. Like the wafer circumferential edge 1111, the cut width also changes periodically…if the variation of the processing film boundary 1109 with respect to the periodic variation of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 in the images at the 360 points can be considered to be negligibly small, the variation amount of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 becomes dominant in the variation amount of the cut width. Thus, the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2…
¶106: The measurement processing device 601 uses images cut from the entire image of the angle of view 1001 to measure the cut width and the eccentric amount. To elaborate, in the angle of view 1001 of the imaging device 270, cut images of five regions 1001 a, 1001 b, 1001 c, 1001 d and 1001 e whose positions are adjusted along the edge of the wafer W are used…
¶108: on the image obtained by the imaging device 270,…a round region 1103…is arranged in sequence from the inner end (upper end) of the angle of view…The round region 1103 is a rounded area from which the processing film is removed or at which no processing film is originally formed. The top surface region 1104 is a region formed ahead of the circumferential edge of the wafer W.].
Regarding claim 8:
Amano discloses, A factor estimation method, comprising: [¶6: can determine rapidly whether a film on a peripheral portion of a substrate is properly removed without depending on the kind of the film on the peripheral portion of the substrate to be removed.].
acquiring a removal width profile indicating a relationship between a position in a circumferential direction of a substrate, from which a peripheral portion of a film formed on a surface of the substrate is removed by a periphery removal unit, [¶108: on the image obtained by the imaging device 270,…a cut surface region 1102, a round region 1103 and a top surface region 1104 is arranged in sequence from the inner end (upper end) of the angle of view…..In a region where the formed processing film is removed, the cut surface region 1102 is a flat surface region not including the round which is formed at the circumferential edge of the wafer W. The round region 1103 is a rounded area from which the processing film is removed or at which no processing film is originally formed….
¶138: by using the first image based on the first imaging condition and the second image based on the second imaging condition, (a) the position of the cut surface boundary 1110, (b) the position of the processing film boundary 1109 and (c) the position of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 can be accurately obtained.];
a width of a portion of the substrate from which the film is removed; [¶139: The controller 603 calculates the cut width by applying the aforementioned position information (a) to (c) to the expressions (1) to (3). The cut width is calculated for each of the other cut images 1000 a, 1000 b, 1000 d and 1000 e, and an average value of these cut widths is determined as a final cut width obtained for the angle of view 1001.];
calculating multiple kinds of feature amounts matched to at least one of factors of an error based on the removal width profile, [¶140: A center position WO of the wafer W and a center position HO of the wafer holding unit 210 may be deviated in the X-axis and Y-axis directions… a deviation amount from the center position HO is defined as an “eccentric amount WD.”…
¶146: measurement processing device 601 sends,…the average value “Ave,” the maximum value “Max,” and the minimum value “Min,” at 360 points which are information indicating the cut width and the eccentric amount…
¶149 result window 1702 displays the cut width obtained as the measurement result, here, the average value “Ave.”…the measurement result window 1702 also displays the eccentric amount WD calculated by the expression (5)];
evaluating contribution levels of the multiple kinds of feature amounts to the error based on the calculation result of the multiple kinds of feature amounts, [¶145: measurement processing device 601 specifies an average value “Ave,” a maximum value “Max,” and a minimum value “Min” of the cut width from the measurement results at 360 points. Here, if the variation of the processing film boundary 1109 with respect to the periodic variation of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 in the images at the 360 points can be considered to be negligibly small, the variation amount of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 becomes dominant in the variation amount of the cut width. Thus, the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2.];
outputting factor information indicating factors of the error based on the contribution levels of the multiple kinds of feature amounts to the error. [¶145: if the variation of the processing film boundary 1109 with respect to the periodic variation of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 in the images at the 360 points can be considered to be negligibly small, the variation amount of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 becomes dominant in the variation amount of the cut width. Thus, the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2.
¶149: A measurement result window 1702 displays the cut width obtained as the measurement result, here, the average value “Ave.” Further, the measurement result window 1702 also displays the eccentric amount WD calculated by the expression (5).]
Regarding claim 9:
Amano further discloses, wherein the factor information is output based on at least one factor of the error, among multiple kinds of factors of the error, matched to at least a feature amount having a highest contribution level. [¶145: if the variation of the processing film boundary 1109 with respect to the periodic variation of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 in the images at the 360 points can be considered to be negligibly small, the variation amount of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 becomes dominant in the variation amount of the cut width. Thus, the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2…
¶146: The measurement processing device 601 sends, to the information processing device 602, the average value “Ave,” the maximum value “Max,” and the minimum value “Min,” at 360 points which are information indicating the cut width and the eccentric amount.].
Regarding claim 10:
Amano further discloses, wherein the multiple kinds of feature amounts include a composite feature amount matched to multiple kinds of factors of the error, [¶145: the cut width also changes periodically depending on the angle….device 601 specifies an average value “Ave,” a maximum value “Max,” and a minimum value “Min” of the cut width from the measurement results at 360 points…the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2.];
when a feature amount having a highest contribution level is the composite feature amount, the factor information is output based on multiple kinds of factors of the error matched to the composite feature amount and a state of the periphery removal unit. ¶146: The measurement processing device 601 sends, to the information processing device 602,…the maximum value “Max,”…at 360 points which are information indicating the cut width and the eccentric amount].
Regarding claim 11:
Amano further discloses, wherein the contribution level of each of the multiple kinds of feature amounts is output as the factor information. [¶149: A measurement result window 1702 displays the cut width obtained as the measurement result, here, the average value “Ave.” Further, the measurement result window 1702 also displays the eccentric amount WD calculated by the expression (5).].
Regarding claim 12:
Amano further discloses, wherein an output of the factor information includes displaying the factor information on a display device [¶147: The information processing device 602 generates information to be displayed on the display device 609…
¶149: A measurement result window 1702 displays the cut width obtained as the measurement result, here, the average value “Ave.” Further, the measurement result window 1702 also displays the eccentric amount WD calculated by the expression (5).]
Regarding claim 13:
Amano further discloses,
wherein the multiple kinds of feature amounts include at least two of
an evaluation value of an eccentricity of a periphery of the film with respect to a periphery of the substrate,
an evaluation value of a roundness of the periphery of the film and
an evaluation value of a roughness of the periphery of the film. [Examiner notes that only two of the features out of the three are given the patentable weight.
Accordingly, Amano discloses, 1. an eccentricity of a periphery of the film with respect to a periphery of the substrate, 2. an evaluation value of a roundness of the periphery of the film…
¶145: S102 of FIG. 7 is performed while the wafer W is eccentrically placed. Like the wafer circumferential edge 1111, the cut width also changes periodically…if the variation of the processing film boundary 1109 with respect to the periodic variation of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 in the images at the 360 points can be considered to be negligibly small, the variation amount of the wafer circumferential edge 1111 becomes dominant in the variation amount of the cut width. Thus, the eccentric amount WD can be calculated by an expression (5) of WD=(maximum value “Max”−minimum value “Min”)/2…
¶106: The measurement processing device 601 uses images cut from the entire image of the angle of view 1001 to measure the cut width and the eccentric amount. To elaborate, in the angle of view 1001 of the imaging device 270, cut images of five regions 1001 a, 1001 b, 1001 c, 1001 d and 1001 e whose positions are adjusted along the edge of the wafer W are used…
¶108: on the image obtained by the imaging device 270,…a round region 1103…is arranged in sequence from the inner end (upper end) of the angle of view…The round region 1103 is a rounded area from which the processing film is removed or at which no processing film is originally formed. The top surface region 1104 is a region formed ahead of the circumferential edge of the wafer W.]
Regarding claim 15:
Amano discloses, A computer-readable recording medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, in response to execution, cause an apparatus to perform a factor estimation method as claimed in claim 8. [Amano discloses the method as described above in claim 8.
¶51: the substrate processing system 1 is provided with a control device 4. The control device 4 is, for example, a computer, and includes a control unit 18 and a storage unit 19. The storage unit 19 stores a program that controls various processings performed in the substrate processing system 1. The control unit 18 controls the operations of the substrate processing system 1 by reading and executing the program stored in the storage unit 19….
¶52: the program may be recorded in a computer-readable recording medium, and installed from the recording medium to the storage unit 19 of the control device 4.
Examiner notes the 35 USC 101 rejections as set forth in the current office action.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Amano.
Regarding claim 7:
Amano further discloses, wherein the periphery removal unit includes: a rotating holder configured to hold and rotate the substrate; [¶47: The substrate transfer device 13 is provided with a wafer holding mechanism configured to hold the wafer W…
¶57: The wafer holding unit 210 corresponds to a rotating/holding unit…
¶91: the processing liquid supply unit 250A while the wafer W is being rotated,];
a nozzle configured to discharge a removal liquid for removing the film toward a peripheral portion of the substrate held and rotated by the rotating holder, and [¶91: while rotating the wafer W and discharging the N2 gas from the gas discharge openings 213 and 214 of the cup body 220, the wafer W, particularly, the peripheral portion of the wafer W as a processing target region is heated up…the chemical liquid SC-1 is supplied to the peripheral portion of the top surface (device forming surface) of the wafer W from the chemical liquid nozzle 251 of the processing liquid supply unit 250A while the wafer W is being rotated, so that an unnecessary film on the peripheral portion of the top surface of the wafer W is removed.];
wherein the evaluation value of the eccentricity is matched to at least a position deviation of the substrate on the rotating holder, [¶142: imaging is performed while rotating the wafer W which is eccentric, there occurs a phenomenon that the position of the aforementioned wafer circumferential edge 1111 changes periodically....
¶143: A difference between the center positions WO1 and WO2 is equal to a difference between the maximum value and the minimum value of the wafer circumferential edge 1111. Accordingly, the eccentric amount WD can be obtained by an expression (4) of WD=(maximum value of the wafer circumferential edge 1111−minimum value of the wafer circumferential edge 1111)/2…
¶177: the eccentric amount WD is determined as a measurement result (process S406)…when the wafer W is placed on the holding unit 210, a vector of the eccentric amount WD, that is, a direction of the deviation is oriented toward a direction in which the wafer is rotated—60 degrees from the initial rotation position in the process S401.], but Amano doesn’t explicitly disclose,
However, Amano implicitly disclose, the evaluation value of the roundness is matched to at least one of a distortion of the substrate and a distortion of the rotating holder, and [¶109: the cut width refers to a width of a region,..(a region from which the processing film is removed…a width of the cut surface region 1102 is referred to as a cut surface width, and a width of the round region 1103 is referred to as a round width.
¶140: A center position WO of the wafer W and a center position HO of the wafer holding unit 210 may be deviated in the X-axis and Y-axis directions when the substrate transfer device 17 places the wafer W on the wafer holding unit 210….this phenomenon may occur due to insufficient adjustment of the substrate transfer device 17…a deviation amount from the center position HO is defined as an “eccentric amount WD.”
¶118: If the rotating operation is finished,…the same imaging operation and rotating operation as stated above are performed. If these operations are performed 360 times, it is determined that the imaging is conducted at all positions (process S304: Yes), as a measurement result, the cut width and the eccentric amount are obtained (S307).
Examiner notes that, as described above, Amano describes, as imaging is performed 360 times, the evaluated round region is matched to deviation of substrate and the holder/rotating unit]
the evaluation value of the roughness is matched to at least one of a liquid scattering of the removal liquid and a variation in the discharge rate of the removal liquid from the nozzle. [¶93: the chemical liquid HF is supplied to the peripheral portion of the top surface (device forming surface) of the wafer W from the chemical liquid nozzle 254 of the processing liquid supply unit 2506, so that an unnecessary film on the peripheral portion of the top surface of the wafer W is removed…
¶99: A position 903 on the wafer W at which the first chemical liquid is completely scattered off the wafer W depends on parameters such as a velocity of the first chemical liquid discharged from the chemical liquid nozzle 251...
¶253: the cut width is set to be 3 mm and the liquid supplying time is set to be 30 seconds in the first chemical liquid processing of the process S201. In this case, a nozzle is located at a position corresponding to the cut width of 3 mm, and the supply of the first chemical liquid is begun at a preset first flow rate. At this time, by referring to the management list 2400 later, it is found out that the average value “Ave” is 3.1 mm and there is a difference.
Examiner notes that, as described above, Amano describes, evaluated roughness such as the cut width is matched to liquid supply/scattering of the liquid for removal of material and supply amount/rate of the liquid].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of matching evaluation value of the roundness to at least one of a distortion of the substrate and a distortion of the rotating holder, and matching the evaluation value of the roughness to at least one of a liquid scattering of the removal liquid and a variation in the discharge rate of the removal liquid from the nozzle taught by Aamano in order to provide faster and more accurate edge-removal and correction by rapidly verifying whether the film on the peripheral portion is appropriately removed with the system taught by Amano as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to provide faster and more accurate edge-removal and correction by rapidly verifying whether the film on the peripheral portion is appropriately removed.
Regarding claim 14:
Amano further discloses, wherein the periphery removal unit includes: a rotating holder configured to hold and rotate the substrate; [¶47: The substrate transfer device 13 is provided with a wafer holding mechanism configured to hold the wafer W…
¶57: The wafer holding unit 210 corresponds to a rotating/holding unit…
¶91: the processing liquid supply unit 250A while the wafer W is being rotated,];
a nozzle configured to discharge a removal liquid for removing the film toward a peripheral portion of the substrate held and rotated by the rotating holder, and [¶91: while rotating the wafer W and discharging the N2 gas from the gas discharge openings 213 and 214 of the cup body 220, the wafer W, particularly, the peripheral portion of the wafer W as a processing target region is heated up…the chemical liquid SC-1 is supplied to the peripheral portion of the top surface (device forming surface) of the wafer W from the chemical liquid nozzle 251 of the processing liquid supply unit 250A while the wafer W is being rotated, so that an unnecessary film on the peripheral portion of the top surface of the wafer W is removed.];
wherein the evaluation value of the eccentricity is matched to at least a position deviation of the substrate on the rotating holder, [¶142: imaging is performed while rotating the wafer W which is eccentric, there occurs a phenomenon that the position of the aforementioned wafer circumferential edge 1111 changes periodically....
¶143: A difference between the center positions WO1 and WO2 is equal to a difference between the maximum value and the minimum value of the wafer circumferential edge 1111. Accordingly, the eccentric amount WD can be obtained by an expression (4) of WD=(maximum value of the wafer circumferential edge 1111−minimum value of the wafer circumferential edge 1111)/2…
¶177: the eccentric amount WD is determined as a measurement result (process S406)…when the wafer W is placed on the holding unit 210, a vector of the eccentric amount WD, that is, a direction of the deviation is oriented toward a direction in which the wafer is rotated—60 degrees from the initial rotation position in the process S401.], but Amano doesn’t explicitly disclose,
However, Amano implicitly disclose, the evaluation value of the roundness is matched to at least one of a distortion of the substrate and a distortion of the rotating holder, and [¶109: the cut width refers to a width of a region,..(a region from which the processing film is removed…a width of the cut surface region 1102 is referred to as a cut surface width, and a width of the round region 1103 is referred to as a round width.
¶140: A center position WO of the wafer W and a center position HO of the wafer holding unit 210 may be deviated in the X-axis and Y-axis directions when the substrate transfer device 17 places the wafer W on the wafer holding unit 210….this phenomenon may occur due to insufficient adjustment of the substrate transfer device 17…a deviation amount from the center position HO is defined as an “eccentric amount WD.”
¶118: If the rotating operation is finished,…the same imaging operation and rotating operation as stated above are performed. If these operations are performed 360 times, it is determined that the imaging is conducted at all positions (process S304: Yes), as a measurement result, the cut width and the eccentric amount are obtained (S307).
Examiner notes that, as described above, Amano describes, as imaging is performed 360 times, the evaluated round region is matched to deviation of substrate and the holder/rotating unit]
the evaluation value of the roughness is matched to at least one of a liquid scattering of the removal liquid and a variation in the discharge rate of the removal liquid from the nozzle. [¶93: the chemical liquid HF is supplied to the peripheral portion of the top surface (device forming surface) of the wafer W from the chemical liquid nozzle 254 of the processing liquid supply unit 2506, so that an unnecessary film on the peripheral portion of the top surface of the wafer W is removed…
¶99: A position 903 on the wafer W at which the first chemical liquid is completely scattered off the wafer W depends on parameters such as a velocity of the first chemical liquid discharged from the chemical liquid nozzle 251...
¶253: the cut width is set to be 3 mm and the liquid supplying time is set to be 30 seconds in the first chemical liquid processing of the process S201. In this case, a nozzle is located at a position corresponding to the cut width of 3 mm, and the supply of the first chemical liquid is begun at a preset first flow rate. At this time, by referring to the management list 2400 later, it is found out that the average value “Ave” is 3.1 mm and there is a difference.
Examiner notes that, as described above, Amano describes, evaluated roughness such as the cut width is matched to liquid supply/scattering of the liquid for removal of material and supply amount/rate of the liquid].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Aamano with the method taught by Amano as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
Tomita et al. (US20140124479A1) - Method of removing coating film of substrate peripheral portion, substrate processing apparatus and non-transitory storage medium
¶10: control of an apparatus for removing an unnecessary portion of a coating film in removing the unnecessary portion of the coating film in the shape of the ring from a peripheral portion of a circular substrate surface.
Izumi et al. (US20070113874A1) - Substrate processing method and substrate processing apparatus:
¶19: substrate processing method in which contaminants on a substrate can be simply removed before or after processing of a peripheral edge of the substrate.
Carlson et al. (US20110054659A1) - Wafer fabrication monitoring systems and methods, including edge bead removal processing:
¶16: monitoring semiconductor wafer fabrication processing, for example based upon EBR line inspection. In some embodiments, the method of monitoring includes capturing at least one image of a wafer at an intermediate stage of fabrication… An edge bead removal area is identified in the representation, and at least one feature attribute is extracted from the identified area. The extracted feature attribute is automatically assessed, and information relating to a status of the fabrication processing in generated based upon the assessment.
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116