Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference characters “701”, “702” and “703” has been used in the specification [0056], however drawing does not illustrate them. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “701”, “702” and “703” has been used in the specification [0056], however drawing does not illustrate them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Patil et al. (US 2025/0300035).
Regarding Claim 7, Patil (In Fig 1) discloses an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield (180), comprising: a lid (172), wherein the lid comprises a vapor chamber (172), (¶ 31, II. 6-11); and one or more sidewalls (106) coupled to the lid (172), wherein the sidewalls (106) comprise one or more heat pipes (¶ 31, II. 6-11), (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Patil discloses limitations of Claim 7, however Patil (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein: the EMI shield (180) is to be coupled to a circuit board (101) to at least partially enclose one or more integrated circuits (103) on the circuit board (101), (Fig 1); and the vapor chamber (172) and the heat pipes (106) are to cool the integrated circuits (103), (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Patil discloses the limitations of Claim 7, however Patil (In Fig 1) further discloses wherein the sidewalls (106) further comprise one or more partial sidewalls (sidewalls of 106), (Fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 allowed are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to Claims 1-6 and 10-20, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in independent Claims 1 and 10, and at least in part because Claims 1 and 10 recite, “the heat pipes are to be further coupled to a circuit board such that the heat pipes and the vapor chamber are to form at least a portion of an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield around at least a portion of integrated circuitry on the circuit board” in Claim 1, and “the EMI shield comprises a lid and one or more sidewalls, wherein the lid and the sidewalls at least partially enclose the integrated circuits, and wherein the sidewalls comprise one or more heat pipes to cool the integrated circuits” in Claim 10.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claims 1 and 10 are believed to render said Claims 1 and 10, and all Claims dependent therefrom (Claims 2-6 and 11-20) patentable over the art of record.
The closest art of record is believed to be that of Patil et al. (US 2025/0300035 – hereafter “Patil”).
While Patil Fig 1 teaches many of limitations of Claims 1 and 10 as per rejection of Claim 7 above, however neither Patil, nor any other art of record, either alone or in a combination, teach or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claims 1 and 10.
Any comment considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submission should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Method and Apparatus for Stiffening an Electronic Device US 2025/0008711, Electronic Device US 2022/0312639, Heat Transfer Electromagnetic Interference Shield US 2017/0163302, Heat Exchangers on Circuit Boards US 2025/0280506. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841