DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Amikura discloses a method comprising:
loading a first wafer container onto a load port of a process tool (Figure 8: is a flowchart for transferring a cassette from loading, through the transfer module, to a process tool, and back to loading, Paragraph 28: there is a substrate transfer port on the process tool);
initiating a first wafer processing operation by delivering a plurality of first wafers from the first wafer container to the process tool via the load port such that the first wafer container becomes emptied (Paragraph 29: the wafers are transported to the processing tool, Paragraph 55: the first wafer container is emptied);
after delivery of the first wafers, relocating the emptied first wafer container from the load port to a first wafer container slot arranged on a side wall of a stocker to clear the load port (Paragraph 55: the empty wafer container waits in a buffer mechanism, Paragraphs 24, 41, 58: transfer units can be configured as buffer mechanisms and load lock modules are configured to temporarily hold substrates, Figure 10: transfer units 63, 67a, 67b), utilizing an interface module equipped with a transfer module positioned between the stocker and the process tool (Figure 1: vacuum transfer block 40 is an interface module, Paragraph 28 the vacuum transfer block has substrate transfer mechanism), the interface module comprising a housing and the transfer module disposed within the housing (Figure 1: the interface module 40 is within the depressurization section so it must have a housing to maintain its pressure), wherein the first emptied wafer container is moved across a path within the housing (Paragraph 55: the first emptied wafer container would have to be moved across a path within the housing to get back to the stocker).
when the emptied first wafer container is held at the first wafer container slot of the stocker, loading a second wafer container onto the load port of the process tool (Paragraph 55: while the first wafer container is waiting in the buffer mechanism a second wafer container is loaded and moved along the transfer path of the first container); and
initiating a second wafer processing operation by delivering a plurality of second wafers from the second wafer container to the process tool via the load port such that the second wafer container becomes emptied (Paragraph 55: following the same path means the second container would be emptied and buffered in a similar way to the first).
Regarding Claim 12, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 11 in addition to disclosing after the delivery of the second wafers, relocating the emptied second wafer container to a second wafer container slot arranged on the sidewall of the stocker (Paragraph 55: the second wafer container follows the path of the first wafer container which would include being emptied and buffered, Paragraph 58, Figure 10: transfer units 63, 67a, 67b are buffer mechanisms to for the second wafer container to wait in) using the interface module equipped with the transfer module (Paragraph 55: the first emptied wafer container would have to be moved across a path within the housing to get back to the stocker).
Regarding Claim 13, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 11 in addition to disclosing before loading the first container onto the load port, transporting the first wafer container from a second wafer container slot on the stocker to the load port using the transfer module (Figure 2 shows a plurality of load ports 32 that can be used for loading and unloading. The first wafer container can be loaded and unloaded from any of the load ports 32 and does not have to load and unload from the same port that it will wait at after delivering the wafers just an empty port Figure 5 shows determination of an empty load port S3 then transporting to an empty load port using transfer modules S5-S7), following a path within the housing of the interface module to align the first wafer container with the load port (Paragraph 29: the path of the first wafer container would go within the housing of the interface module to get to the processing module).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Gopalakrishnaet al. (US 2025/0316516 A1, hereafter Gopalakrishnaet).
Regarding Claim 1, Amikura discloses a method comprising:
Retrieving a first front opening unified pod (FOUP) (Paragraph 19: a FOUP and cassette are the same) form a first FOUP slot arranged on sidewall of a FOUP stocker (Figure 1: the load lock module 20 is a FOUP slot as it can hold a substrate, Paragraph 24) utilizing an interface module positioned between the FOUP stocker and a process tool (Figure 1: the interface module comprises the load lock module 20 and the vacuum transport block 40), wherein the interface module comprises a housing (Paragraph 24: the load lock module interior can be switched between atmospheric atmosphere and reduced pressure atmosphere so it must have a housing, Figure 1: the vacuum transfer block 40 is in the depressurized section 11 so it must have a housing, there must be a continuous housing from the load lock module and vacuum transfer block because they have the same pressure when the FOUP is transferred between them) and a transfer module disposed within the housing (Paragraph 28: the vacuum transfer block has an a substrate transfer mechanism inside it);
transporting the retrieved first FOUP via the transfer module across a first path within the housing of the interface module to align the first FOUP with an available first load port on a sidewall of the process tool facing the FOUP stocker (Figure 1: substrate processing module 50, Paragraph 28: there is a substrate transport port formed between the vacuum transport block and each substrate processing module, the substrate processing modules are connected to the vacuum transport block through a side wall which means the substrate transport ports would be on the sidewall of the substrate processing modules), wherein from the top view, the housing of the interface module encloses the first load port of the process tool and the FOUP slots of the FOUP stocker (Figure 1: the ports are in the depressurization section so the housing must cover them);
loading the first FOUP on the first load port; and delivering wafers from the first FOUP to the process tool via the first load port to initiate the wafer processing operation using the wafers (Paragraph 29).
Amikura does not explicitly state retrieving a first opening unified pod (FOUP) from a first FOUP slot of a plurality of FOUP slots wherein from a top view, the housing of the interface module encloses them.
Gopalakrishna discloses a transfer module that uses multiple load lock modules arranged on the sidewall of a FOUP stocker and a transfer chamber robot (Figure 1A: load lock modules 120, FOUP stocker 106, transfer chamber robot 112, Paragraph 31: there are multiple load lock modules) multiple load lock modules are used for the purpose of having an environmentally-controlled atmosphere (Paragraph 31) and the transfer chamber robot is used for the purpose of transferring wafer containers to the processing tools (Paragraphs 30 and 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by using the multiple load lock modules and transfer chamber robot disclosed by Gopalakrishna for the purpose of having an environmentally-controlled atmosphere and transferring the wafer containers to the processing tools.
Regarding Claim 3, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishna discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the retrieving of the first FOUP comprises selecting the first FOUP from one of the FOUP slots via the transfer module (Gopalakrishna Paragraph 31: the combination as applied in claim 1 would have multiple load lock modules that act as FOUP slots and the transfer robot would have to select a load lock module to obtain the first FOUP).
Regarding Claim 4, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishna discloses the limitations of claim 3. The combination as applied in claim 3 discloses the FOUP slots are arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker (Gopalakrishna Paragraph 31: the load lock has stacked chambers).
Regarding Claim 8, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishna discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses after delivering of the wafers from the first FOUP, relocating the first FOUP to a FOUP slot within the FOUP stocker utilizing the transfer module (Amikura Paragraph 37: transfer units can act as FOUP slots, Amikura Paragraph 41: vertical transfer units can act as storage space after delivering wafers, Amikura Paragraph 55: the first FOUP is relocated to a FOUP slot within the FOUP stocker).
Regarding Claim 10, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishna discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses the transfer module includes a robot arm (Gopalakrishna Paragraph 30: the transfer chamber robot includes one or multiple arms where each arm includes one or more end effectors at the end of each arm).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Gopalakrishnaet al. (US 2025/0316516 A1, hereafter Gopalakrishnaet) in further view of Takaki et al. (US 2024/0355644 A1, hereafter Takaki).
Regarding Claim 2, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishnaet discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses before retrieving the first FOUP, transferring the first FOUP to the FOUP stocker utilizing an overhead transport vehicle (OHT) system, wherein the transfer module is positioned lower than the OHT system (Amikura Figure 2: OHT 100, Amikura Paragraph 30).
The combination as applied in claim 1 does not disclose the OHT system is situated between the FOUP stocker and the process tool.
Takaki discloses a substrate processing facility with the OHT system situated between the FOUP stocker and the process tool (Figure 2: vertically-stacked waiting shelves 52, OHT 71, and substrate transfer mechanism 83) for the purpose of directly loading transfer containers onto the processing apparatus (Paragraph 99).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by including the OHT transport system disclosed by for the purpose of directly loading transfer containers onto the processing apparatus.
Claim(s) 5-7, 16-18, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Gopalakrishnaet al. (US 2025/0316516 A1, hereafter Gopalakrishnaet) in further view of Bonora et al. (US 8851820 B21, hereafter Bonora).
Regarding Claim 5, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishnaet discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses retrieving a second FOUP from one of a plurality of FOUP slot located on a sidewall (Amikura Paragraph 37: transfer units can act as FOUP slots, Amikura Figure 10: multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can act as FOUP slots, Paragraph 34: each transfer unit can be controlled). The plurality of FOUPs located on a sidewall are used for the purpose of acting as a temporary holding or buffer mechanism for the FOUP (Amikura Paragraph 41).
Bonora discloses a plurality of FOUP slots and ports located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Column 8 lines 65-67) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by including a plurality of FOUP slots on the sidewall of the process tool and as disclosed by Bonora for the purposes of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports and acting as a temporary holding or buffer mechanism for the FOUP.
Regarding claim 6, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishnaet discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 discloses transporting the retrieved second FOUP via the transfer module across a second path within the housing of the interface module to align the second FOUP with an available load port on the process tool (Amikura Paragraph 55: a second FOUP is placed on a load port and sent along the transfer path of the first FOUP, the second path would involve going through the housing of the interface module).
Amikura does not teach the second load port on the process tool.
Bonora discloses a plurality of FOUP slots and ports located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Column 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Regarding Claim 7, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishnaet in further view of Bonora disclose the limitations of claim 5. The combination as applied in claim 5 discloses FOUP slots are arranged vertically along a sidewall (Amikura Paragraph 37: transfer units can act as FOUP slots, Amikura Figure 10: shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30).
Amikura does not teach the FOUP slots are along the sidewall of the process tool.
Bonora discloses a plurality of FOUP slots and ports located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Column 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 5 by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Regarding Claim 16, Amikura discloses a system comprising:
a first process tool comprising a first sidewall (Figure 1: the left processing tool 50), a first load port installed on the first side wall (Paragraph 28: there is a substrate transport port formed between the vacuum transport block and each substrate processing module, the substrate processing modules are connected to the vacuum transport block through a side wall which means the substrate transport ports would be on the sidewall of the substrate processing modules),
a first FOUP stocker positioned adjacent to the first process tool (Figure 10: both of the atmospheric transfer blocks 30 act as a single FOUP stocker as FOUPS can navigate between them), the first FOUP stocker comprising a second sidewall facing the first process tool and a second FOUP slot installed on the second sidewall (Figures 1 and 10: the second sidewall is the sidewall on the atmospheric transfer block to the left that is facing the first processing tool 50 left and the load lock module attached to the FOUP stocker 30 act as FOUP slots, Paragraph 24: load lock module can temporarily hold FOUPS so it acts as a FOUP slot or port), wherein the first FOUP stocker further comprises a third sidewall different from the second sidewall and a third FOUP slot installed on the third sidewall (Figures 1 and 10: the third sidewall is the sidewall on the atmospheric transfer block to the right that is facing the second processing tool 50 right and it has load lock module 20 that function in the same way as the second wall); and
a first interface module positioned between the first process tool and the first FOUP stocker, the first interface module comprising a first housing and a first transfer module within the first housing (Figure 1 and 10: first interface module 40 on the left and its load lock modules 20, Paragraph 24: load lock module can temporarily hold FOUPS so it acts as a FOUP slot or port, Paragraph 28: vacuum transfer block 40 which is an interface module has a substrate transfer mechanism), wherein from the top view, the first housing of the first interface module encloses the first load port and the first FOUP slot of the first process tool as well as the second FOUP slot of the first FOUP stocker (Paragraph 24: the load lock module interior can be switched between atmospheric atmosphere and reduced pressure atmosphere so it must have a housing and be enclosed);
a second process tool positioned adjacent to the first FOUP stocker (Figure 10: second process tool 50 right) and facing the third sidewall, the second process tool comprising a fourth sidewall, a of second load port installed on the fourth sidewall (Paragraph 28: there is a substrate transport port formed between the vacuum transport block and each substrate processing module, the substrate processing modules are connected to the vacuum transport block through a side wall which means the substrate transport ports would be on the sidewall of the substrate processing modules),
a second interface module positioned between the second process tool and the first FOUP stocker, the second interface module comprising a second housing and a second transfer module within the second housing (Figure 1 and 10: first interface module 40 on the left and its load lock modules 20,, Paragraph 24) wherein from the top view, the second housing of the second interface module encloses the second load ports and the fourth FOUP slots of the second process tool as well as the third FOUP slots of the first FOUP stocker (Paragraph 24: the load lock module interior can be switched between atmospheric atmosphere and reduced pressure atmosphere so it must have a housing), such that the first FOUP stocker is shared by the first process tool and the second process tool (Figure 10: both of the atmospheric transfer blocks work together to form a single FOUP stocker).
Amikura additionally discloses having multiple vertical FOUP slots on a sidewall (Figure 10: vertical transfer units 63, 67a, 67b that can act as FOUP slots, Paragraph 41: vertical transfer units are FOUP slots as they can temporarily hold FOUPS) for the purpose of acting as a buffer location while wafers are being processed (Paragraph 55).
Amikura does not disclose a plurality of first load ports on any of the process tools, a plurality of FOUP slots installed above the load ports of the process tools, and multiple enclosed FOUP slots on the FOUP stocker and processing tool.
Gopalakrishna discloses a transfer module that uses multiple load lock modules arranged on the sidewall of a FOUP stocker and a transfer chamber robot (Figure 1A: load lock modules 120, FOUP stocker 106, transfer chamber robot 112, Paragraph 31: there are multiple load lock modules) multiple load lock modules are used for the purpose of having an environmentally-controlled atmosphere (Paragraph 31) and the transfer chamber robot is used for the purpose of transferring wafer containers to the processing tools (Paragraphs 30 and 31).
Bonora discloses a plurality of FOUP slots and ports located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Column 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by using the multiple load lock modules and transfer chamber robot disclosed by Gopalakrishna for the purpose of having an environmentally-controlled atmosphere and transferring the wafer containers to the processing tools (Amikura Paragraph 24: the load lock module can temporarily hold a FOUP so there would be multiple FOUP slots on each wall of the stocker), adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora and multiple FOUP slots disclosed by Bonora and Amikura onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Regarding Claim 17, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishna and Bonora disclose the limitations of claim 16. The combination as applied in claim 16 discloses the first FOUP stocker further comprises a fifth sidewall different from the second and third sidewalls and a plurality of fifth FOUP slots installed on the fifth sidewall (Amikura Figure 10: another side wall on the left atmospheric transfer block that has a plurality of third FOUP slots 67b.
Regarding Claim 18, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishna and Bonora disclose the limitations of claim 16. The combination as applied in claim 16 discloses enclosing FOUP slots and FOUP load ports in the same housing for the purpose of maintaining a vacuum environment for semiconductor processing (Amikura Paragraph 28).
The combination as applied in claim 16 does not disclose a second FOUP stocker positioned adjacent to the first process tool, wherein the second FOUP stocker comprises a fifth sidewall facing the first process tool, wherein the second FOUP stocker comprises a fifth sidewall facing the first process tool and a plurality of fifth FOUP slots installed on the fifth sidewall, and from the top view, the first housing of the first interface module also encloses the fifth FOUP slots.
Amikura discloses using two FOUP stockers adjacent to each other that are able to transfer FOUPs between each other which can act as one large FOUP stocker (Figure 10 FOUP stockers 30 are adjacent to each other and can transfer FOUPs through a horizontal-plane motor 116) for the purpose of increasing the number of buffer mechanisms.
Gopalakrishna discloses a substrate process tool that has multiple entrances (Figure 1A: load lock 120 is stacked and has an entrance facing the transfer chamber 110 and an entrance facing the factory interface 106, Paragraph 31: load locks are configured to perform a substrate process) on for the purpose of retrieving, processing, and sending materials in a certain direction (Paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 16 by including multiple FOUP stockers as disclosed by Amikura for the purpose of increasing the number of buffer mechanisms, adding multiple entrances on the process tool as disclosed by Gopalakrishna for the purpose of retrieving, processing, and sending materials in a certain direction, and enclosing the FOUP slots and load ports from the first and second stocker with the first processing tool in same interface as disclosed by Amikura for the purpose of maintaining a vacuum environment for semiconductor processing.
Regarding Claim 21, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishna and Bonora disclose the limitations of claim 16. The combination as applied in claim 16 discloses the first transfer module is configured to move FOUPs laterally among FOUP slots located at the same tier within the first housing and vertically between FOUP slots located at different tiers within the first housing (Gopalakrishna Figure 1A: transfer chamber robot 112, load lock 120, process chambers 114, 116, 118, Gopalakrishna Paragraph 30: the transfer chamber robot has multiple arms where each arm includes one or more end effectors, Gopalakrishna Paragraph 31: load lock is stacked having upper chambers and lower chambers, the load locks are at different heights so the transfer chamber robot must be able to move FOUPs vertically and there are load locks aligned laterally and process chambers aligned laterally so the robot must be able to move laterally).
Regarding Claim 22, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishna and Bonora disclose the limitations of claim 16. The combination as applied in claim 16 discloses the first transfer module comprises a wafer container gripper (Gopalakrishna Paragraph 30: the transfer chamber robot has multiple arms where each arm includes one or more end effectors), a linear actuator configured to move the wafer container gripper horizontally (Gopalakrishna Figure 1A: transfer chamber robot 112, load lock 120, process chambers 114, 116, 118, Gopalakrishna Paragraph 310: there are load locks aligned laterally and process chambers aligned laterally so the robot must be able to move laterally), a lifter configured to move the wafer container gripper vertically, and a rotor configured to adjust an orientation of the wafer container gripper (Gopalakrishna Paragraph 31: load lock is stacked having upper chambers and lower chambers, the load locks are at different heights so the transfer chamber robot must be able to move FOUPs vertically).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Gopalakrishnaet al. (US 2025/0316516 A1, hereafter Gopalakrishnaet) in further view of Tao et al. (US 2025/0185147 A1, hereafter Tao).
Regarding Claim 9, Amikura in view of Gopalakrishnaet discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination as applied in claim 1 does not disclose the process tool utilized for the wafer processing operation is a litho-scanner for a high-throughput wafer processing.
Tao discloses using a litho-scanner for wafer processing (Page 4 Column 1 Paragraph 43 lines 15-21 “a second focus at a so-called intermediate point 40 (also called the intermediate focus 40) where the EUV radiation may be output from the EUV radiation source 10 and input to, e.g., an integrated circuit lithography scanner or stepper 50 which uses the radiation, for example, to process a silicon wafer workpiece 52 in a known manner using a reticle or mask 54”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination as applied in claim 1 by replacing the process tool with the lithography scanner disclosed by Tao for the purpose of process a silicon wafer workpiece.
Claim(s) 14 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Bonora et al. (US 8851820 B21, hereafter Bonora).
Regarding Claim 14, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 11 and additionally discloses multiple load ports on a sidewall that can act as buffers (Paragraph 55) and follow a path within the interface module (Paragraph 55: the first emptied wafer container would have to be moved across a path within the housing to get back to the stocker) to align the first wafer container with the load port of the processing tool (Figure 10: shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can act as FOUP slots, Figure 2 multiple load ports 32, Figure 8 is a flowchart for transferring a cassette from loading to the load port of the process tool).
Amikura does not disclose before loading the first wafer container onto the load port, transporting the first wafer container from a second wafer container slot on the process tool.
Bonora discloses a plurality of FOUP slots and ports located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Column 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Takaki et al. (US 2024/0355644 A1, hereafter Takaki).
Regarding Claim 15, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 11 and additionally discloses before loading the first wafer container onto the load port, transferring the first wafer container to the stocker utilizing an overhead transport vehicle (OHT) system (Paragraph 30, Figure 2: Overhead transfer mechanism 100), wherein the transfer module is positioned lower than the OHT system and disposed in the interface module (Figure 2 Overhead transfer mechanism 100 is shown above the transfer mechanism inside the vacuum transfer block 40, the vacuum transfer block is part of the interface module).
Amikura does not disclose the OHT system is situated between the FOUP stocker and the process tool.
Takaki et al. discloses a substrate processing facility with the OHT system situated between the FOUP stocker and the process tool (Figure 2 vertically-stacked waiting shelves 52, OHT 71, and substrate transfer mechanism 83) for the purpose of directly loading transfer containers onto the processing apparatus, (Page 4 Column 1 Paragraph 44 Lines 1-6 “The transfer container C is transferred in the order of the OHT 71, the delivery mechanism 72, the loading/unloading shelf 51, the delivery mechanism 72, the stage 54 of the waiting shelf 52, the delivery mechanism 72, and the stage L2 of load port LP, so that the substrate W is loaded into the apparatus”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura with the OHT transport system disclosed by Takaki for the purpose of directly loading transfer containers onto the processing apparatus.
Response to Arguments
The updates to the claims would overcome the previous rejection therefore new mapping has been applied based on the claim amendments.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments for updated claims 1, 3, 4, and 8, the load lock module of Amikura acts as a temporary holding spot for FOUPS and serves the same purpose as FOUP slots which are enclosed by the interface module (Amikura Figure 1: interface would be the load lock module 20 and the vacuum transfer block 40, Amikura Paragraph 24).
Regarding the applicant’s arguments for updated claims 11-13, the vertical transfer unit 67b of Amikura has the same function as a wafer container slot and can be vied as one as the wafer container can be placed on it for temporary holding (Amikura Paragraph 41), and the transfer module mapping has been updated based on the new claims.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments for updated claims 2, 5-7, 9, 10, 14, and 15, the vertical transfer unit 67b of Amikura has the same function as a wafer container slot and can be vied as one as the wafer container can be placed on it for temporary holding (Amikura Paragraph 41), and the transfer module mapping has been updated based on the new claims.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments for updated claims 16, 19, and 20, the primary reference has been updated based on the amendments.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments for updated claims 17 and 18, the vertical transfer unit 67b of Amikura has the same function as a wafer container slot and can be viewed as one as the wafer container can be placed on it for temporary holding (Amikura Paragraph 41), and the transfer module mapping has been updated based on the new claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeong et al. (US 2025/0385116 A1) discloses a vertical FOUP stocker, Oh et al. (US 2025/0218839 A1) discloses a vertical FOUP stocker with a OHT.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653