DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 11, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Amikura discloses a method comprising:
retrieving a first front opening unified pod (FOUP) (Page 1 Column 2 paragraph 19 lines 1-3 “A cassette (FOUP), which serves as a storage container accommodating a plurality of (for example, 25 sheets of substrates per lot) semiconductor substrates (hereinafter, simply referred to as “substrates”)”) from a FOUP stocker (The substrates W loaded into the substrate processing apparatus 200 temporarily wait in the interior of the lifting mechanism 210 or in a stocker provided in the substrate processing apparatus 200 independently of the lifting mechanism 210. Figure 11 stocker processing apparatus 200) utilizing an interface module (Figure 1 load lock module 20 and vacuum transfer block 40 together make an interface module, Page 2 Column 1 Paragraph 24 Lines 11-15 “the load lock module 20 is configured such that the substrate W may be appropriately delivered between the atmospheric section 10 kept in the atmospheric atmosphere and the depressurization section 11 kept in the depressurized atmosphere”, and Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 1-7 “The vacuum transfer block 40 has an interior of a rectangular housing shape. A substrate transfer mechanism (not illustrated) is arranged in the interior of the vacuum transfer block 40. A plurality of (for example, three) substrate transfer ports (not illustrated) is formed on each of side surfaces constituting long sides of the atmospheric transfer block 40 in positive and negative X-axis directions”) equipped with a transfer module (Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 1-7 “The vacuum transfer block 40 has an interior of a rectangular housing shape. A substrate transfer mechanism (not illustrated) is arranged in the interior of the vacuum transfer block 40. A plurality of (for example, three) substrate transfer ports (not illustrated) is formed on each of side surfaces constituting long sides of the atmospheric transfer block 40 in positive and negative X-axis directions”, Figure 10 vacuum transfer block 40 and Moving mechanism is a transfer module Page 3 Paragraph 34 Lines 17-20 “Therefore, in the present embodiment, the horizontal-plane motor 61 and the horizontal transfer unit 63 may be collectively referred to as a “moving mechanism” according to the technology of the present disclosure” The moving mechanism inside the FOUP stocker connects to the transfer module inside the vacuum transfer block combining into a single transfer module);
transporting the retrieved first FOUP via the transfer module across a first path within the interface module (Page 2 Paragraph 29 lines 1-3 “Each of the substrate processing module 50 performs desired processing on the substrate W transferred from the vacuum transfer block 40”) to align the first FOUP with an available first load port on a process tool (Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 9-14 “A substrate transfer port (not illustrated) is also formed on one side surface constituting one short side of the vacuum transfer block 40 in the positive Y-axis direction, and the substrate processing module 50 is connected to the substrate transfer port”);
loading the first FOUP on the first load port (“Page 2 Column 1 Paragraph 28 Lines 9-14 “A substrate transfer port (not illustrated) is also formed on one side surface constituting one short side of the vacuum transfer block 40 in the positive Y-axis direction, and the substrate processing module 50 is connected to the substrate transfer port” Figure 8 is a flowchart for transferring a cassette from loading, through the transfer module, to a process tool, and back to loading);
and delivering wafers from the first FOUP to the process tool via the first load port to initiate a wafer processing operation using the wafers (Page 2 Paragraph 29 lines 1-3 “Each of the substrate processing module 50 performs desired processing on the substrate W transferred from the vacuum transfer block 40”).
Regarding Claim 3, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing the FOUP stocker comprises a plurality of FOUP slots arranged on a sidewall of the FOUP stocker (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 37 Lines 1-6 “The vertical transfer unit 67 includes a placement portion 68 having, for example, substantially the same cross-sectional shape as that of the cassette C in a plan view, and a moving portion 69 extending downward from an end of the placement portion 68 so as to face the vertical-plane motor 65” Figure 10 shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can act as FOUP slots), and the retrieving of the first FOUP comprises selecting the first FOUP from on one of the FOUP slots via the transfer module (Page 3 Paragraph 34 Lines 17-20 “Therefore, in the present embodiment, the horizontal-plane motor 61 and the horizontal transfer unit 63 may be collectively referred to as a “moving mechanism” according to the technology of the present disclosure”, “Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 34 Lines 12-15“ A height of the horizontal transfer unit 63 levitating above the horizontal-plane motor 61 may be controlled by a magnitude of the current supplied to the coils 62. Further, the horizontal transfer unit 63 moves and rotates on the horizontal-plane motor 61 by the magnetic fields generated by the coils 62”, and Figure 10 shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can be specifically activated to select a specific FOUP).
Regrading Claim 4, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 3 in addition to disclosing FOUP slots are arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 37 Lines 1-6 “The vertical transfer unit 67 includes a placement portion 68 having, for example, substantially the same cross-sectional shape as that of the cassette C in a plan view, and a moving portion 69 extending downward from an end of the placement portion 68 so as to face the vertical-plane motor 65” Figure 10 shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can act as FOUP slots).
Regarding Claim 8, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing after delivering of the wafers from the first FOUP, relocating the first FOUP to a FOUP slot within the FOUP stocker utilizing the transfer module (Vertical transfer units can act as FOUP slots Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 37 Lines 1-6 “The vertical transfer unit 67 includes a placement portion 68 having, for example, substantially the same cross-sectional shape as that of the cassette C in a plan view, and a moving portion 69 extending downward from an end of the placement portion 68 so as to face the vertical-plane motor 65”, vertical transfer units can act as a storage space after delivering wafers Page 3 Column 2 Paragraph 41 lines 6-8 “Therefore, the second vertical transfer unit 67b may be configured as a buffer mechanism for the cassette C”, the first FOUP is relocated to a FOUP slot within the FOUP stocker Page 5 Column 1 Paragraph 55 Lines 1-4 “The empty cassette C1 from which the substrates W are unloaded temporarily waits in a buffer mechanism until all of the substrates W accommodated in the cassette C1 are processed”).
Regarding Claim 11, Amikura discloses a method, comprising: loading a first wafer container onto a load port of a process tool (Figure 8 is a flowchart for transferring a cassette from loading, through the transfer module, to a process tool, and back to loading, Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 9-14 “A substrate transfer port (not illustrated) is also formed on one side surface constituting one short side of the vacuum transfer block 40 in the positive Y-axis direction, and the substrate processing module 50 is connected to the substrate transfer port”);
initiating a first wafer processing operation by delivering a plurality of first wafers from the first wafer container to the process tool via the load port (Page 2 Paragraph 29 lines 1-3 “Each of the substrate processing module 50 performs desired processing on the substrate W transferred from the vacuum transfer block 40” Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 9-14 “A substrate transfer port (not illustrated) is also formed on one side surface constituting one short side of the vacuum transfer block 40 in the positive Y-axis direction, and the substrate processing module 50 is connected to the substrate transfer port”);
after the delivery of the first wafers, relocating the first wafer container to a first wafer container slot on a stocker (Page 3 Column 2 Paragraph 41 lines 6-8 “Therefore, the second vertical transfer unit 67b may be configured as a buffer mechanism for the cassette C” Figure 10 shows second vertical transfer units 67b located on a stocker 30(31)) that can be used as load port Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 37 Lines 1-6 “The vertical transfer unit 67 includes a placement portion 68 having, for example, substantially the same cross-sectional shape as that of the cassette C in a plan view, and a moving portion 69 extending downward from an end of the placement portion 68 so as to face the vertical-plane motor 65”), utilizing an interface module equipped with a transfer module (Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 1-7 “The vacuum transfer block 40 has an interior of a rectangular housing shape. A substrate transfer mechanism (not illustrated) is arranged in the interior of the vacuum transfer block 40. A plurality of (for example, three) substrate transfer ports (not illustrated) is formed on each of side surfaces constituting long sides of the atmospheric transfer block 40 in positive and negative X-axis directions” Figure 10 vacuum transfer block 40 and Page 3 Paragraph 34 Lines 17-20 “Therefore, in the present embodiment, the horizontal-plane motor 61 and the horizontal transfer unit 63 may be collectively referred to as a “moving mechanism” according to the technology of the present disclosure”);
loading a second wafer container onto the load port of the process tool (Page 5 Column 1 Paragraph 55 lines 9-12 “At this time, in a case in which another cassette C2 is placed on another load port 32 along the transfer path of the cassette C1, as illustrated in FIG. 6 or FIG. 7” Fig 2 shows multiple load ports 32 that a second wafer container can be loaded onto and it can follow the same path as the first wafer container to an available process tool and back);
and initiating a second wafer processing operation by delivering a plurality of second wafers from the second wafer container to the process tool via the load port (Page 5 Column 1 Paragraph 55 lines 9-12 “At this time, in a case in which another cassette C2 is placed on another load port 32 along the transfer path of the cassette C1, as illustrated in FIG. 6 or FIG. 7” Fig 2 shows multiple load ports 32 that a second wafer container can be loaded onto and it can follow the same path as the first wafer container to a process tool for wafer processing and back).
Regarding Claim 12, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 11 in addition to disclosing after the delivery of the second wafers, relocating the second wafer container to a second wafer container slot on the stocker using the interface module equipped with the transfer module (Second wafers follow the path of the first wafers from the stocker, through the interface module with transfer tool, to the processing tool, and back to the stocker Page 5 Column 1 Paragraph 55 lines 9-12 “At this time, in a case in which another cassette C2 is placed on another load port 32 along the transfer path of the cassette C1, as illustrated in FIG. 6 or FIG. 7” Fig 2 shows multiple load ports 32 that a second wafer container can be loaded onto, second wafer container follows steps of first wafer container and first wafer container is relocated to a wafer container slot on the stocker after delivering first wafers to process tool Page 3 Column 2 Paragraph 41 lines 6-8 “Therefore, the second vertical transfer unit 67b may be configured as a buffer mechanism for the cassette C” Figure 10 shows second vertical transfer units 67b located on a stocker 30(31)) that can be used as load port, vertical transfer units can act as FOUP slots Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 37 Lines 1-6 “The vertical transfer unit 67 includes a placement portion 68 having, for example, substantially the same cross-sectional shape as that of the cassette C in a plan view, and a moving portion 69 extending downward from an end of the placement portion 68 so as to face the vertical-plane motor 65”);
Regrading Claim 13, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 11 in addition to disclosing before loading the first wafer container onto the load port, transporting the first wafer container from a second wafer container slot on the stocker to the load port using the transfer module, following a path within the interface module to align the first wafer container with the load port (Figure 2 shows a plurality of load ports 32 that can be used for loading and unloading. The first wafer container can be loaded and unloaded from any of the load ports 32 and does not have to load and unload from the same port that it will wait at after delivering the wafers just an empty port Figure 5 shows determination of an empty load port S3 then transporting to an empty load port using transfer modules S5-S7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Takaki et al. (US 2024/0355644 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing before retrieving the first FOUP, transferring the first FOUP to the FOUP stocker utilizing an overhead transport vehicle (OHT) system (Page 2 Paragraph 30 lines 1-4 “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the substrate processing apparatus 1 is provided with a cassette transfer mechanism 60 for transferring the cassette C, which is delivered from an overhead transfer mechanism 100” Figure 2 Overhead transfer mechanism 100), wherein the transfer module is positioned lower than the OHT system (Figure 2 Overhead transfer mechanism 100 is shown above the transfer mechanism inside the vacuum transfer block 40). Amikura does not disclose the OHT system is situated between the FOUP stocker and the process tool.
Takaki et al. discloses a substrate processing facility with the OHT system situated between the FOUP stocker and the process tool (Figure 2 vertically-stacked waiting shelves 52, OHT 71, and substrate transfer mechanism 83) for the purpose of directly loading transfer containers onto the processing apparatus (Page 4 Column 1 Paragraph 44 Lines 1-6 “The transfer container C is transferred in the order of the OHT 71, the delivery mechanism 72, the loading/unloading shelf 51, the delivery mechanism 72, the stage 54 of the waiting shelf 52, the delivery mechanism 72, and the stage L2 of load port LP, so that the substrate W is loaded into the apparatus”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura with the OHT transport system disclosed by Takaki et al. for the purpose of directly loading transfer containers onto the processing apparatus.
Regarding Claim 15, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 11 and additionally discloses before loading the first wafer container onto the load port, transferring the first wafer container to the stocker utilizing an overhead transport vehicle (OHT) system (Page 2 Paragraph 30 lines 1-4 “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the substrate processing apparatus 1 is provided with a cassette transfer mechanism 60 for transferring the cassette C, which is delivered from an overhead transfer mechanism 100” Figure 2 Overhead transfer mechanism 100), wherein the transfer module is positioned lower than the OHT system (Figure 2 Overhead transfer mechanism 100 is shown above the transfer mechanism inside the vacuum transfer block 40). Amikura does not disclose the OHT system is situated between the FOUP stocker and the process tool.
Takaki et al. discloses a substrate processing facility with the OHT system situated between the FOUP stocker and the process tool (Figure 2 vertically-stacked waiting shelves 52, OHT 71, and substrate transfer mechanism 83) for the purpose of directly loading transfer containers onto the processing apparatus (Page 4 Column 1 Paragraph 44 Lines 1-6 “The transfer container C is transferred in the order of the OHT 71, the delivery mechanism 72, the loading/unloading shelf 51, the delivery mechanism 72, the stage 54 of the waiting shelf 52, the delivery mechanism 72, and the stage L2 of load port LP, so that the substrate W is loaded into the apparatus”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura with the OHT transport system disclosed by Takaki et al. for the purpose of directly loading transfer containers onto the processing apparatus.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Bonora et al. (US 8851820 B21).
Regarding Claim 5, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing retrieving a second FOUP from one of a plurality of FOUP slot located on a sidewall (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 37 Lines 1-6 “The vertical transfer unit 67 includes a placement portion 68 having, for example, substantially the same cross-sectional shape as that of the cassette C in a plan view, and a moving portion 69 extending downward from an end of the placement portion 68 so as to face the vertical-plane motor 65” Figure 10 shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can act as FOUP slots, vertical transfer units are controllable and can select for specific FOUPS Page 3 Paragraph 34 Lines 17-20 “Therefore, in the present embodiment, the horizontal-plane motor 61 and the horizontal transfer unit 63 may be collectively referred to as a “moving mechanism” according to the technology of the present disclosure”, “Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 34 Lines 12-15“ A height of the horizontal transfer unit 63 levitating above the horizontal-plane motor 61 may be controlled by a magnitude of the current supplied to the coils 62. Further, the horizontal transfer unit 63 moves and rotates on the horizontal-plane motor 61 by the magnetic fields generated by the coils 62”, and Figure 10 shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can be specifically activated to select a specific FOUP). Amikura does not teach one of a plurality of FOUP slot located on a sidewall of the process tool.
Bonora et al. discloses a plurality of FOUP slot located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora et al. onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Regarding Claim 6, Amikura in view of Bonora et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 5. Amikura discloses transporting the retrieved second FOUP via the transfer module across a second path within the interface module to align the second FOUP with a load port on the process tool (Page 5 Column 1 Paragraph 55 lines 9-12 “At this time, in a case in which another cassette C2 is placed on another load port 32 along the transfer path of the cassette C1, as illustrated in FIG. 6 or FIG. 7”). Amikura does not teach the second load port on the process tool.
Bonora et al. discloses a plurality of FOUP slot located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora et al. onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Regarding Claim 7, Amikura in view of Bonora et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 5. Amikura discloses FOUP slots are arranged vertically along a sidewall (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 37 Lines 1-6 “The vertical transfer unit 67 includes a placement portion 68 having, for example, substantially the same cross-sectional shape as that of the cassette C in a plan view, and a moving portion 69 extending downward from an end of the placement portion 68 so as to face the vertical-plane motor 65” Figure 10 shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can act as FOUP slots). Amikura does not teach the FOUP slota are along the sidewall of the process tool.
Bonora et al. discloses a plurality of FOUP slots located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora et al. onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Regarding Claim 14, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 11 and additionally discloses multiple load ports on a sidewall that can follow a path within the interface module to align the first wafer container with the load port of the processing tool. (Figure 10 shows multiple transfer units 67b arranged vertically along the sidewall of the FOUP stocker 30 that can act as FOUP slots and Figure 2 multiple load ports 32, Figure 8 is a flowchart for transferring a cassette from loading to the load port of the process tool). Amikura does not disclose before loading the first wafer container onto the load port, transporting the first wafer container from a second wafer container slot on the process tool.
Bonora et al. discloses a plurality of FOUP slots located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora et al. onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1) in view of Tao et al. (US 2025/0185147 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Amikura does not teach process tool utilized for the wafer processing operation is a litho-scanner for a high-throughput wafer processing.
Tao et al. discloses using a litho-scanner for wafer processing (Page 4 Column 1 Paragraph 43 lines 15-21 “a second focus at a so-called intermediate point 40 (also called the intermediate focus 40) where the EUV radiation may be output from the EUV radiation source 10 and input to, e.g., an integrated circuit lithography scanner or stepper 50 which uses the radiation, for example, to process a silicon wafer workpiece 52 in a known manner using a reticle or mask 54”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by replacing the process tool with the lithography scanner disclosed by Tao et al. for the purpose of process a silicon wafer workpiece.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura (US 20260076144 A1) in view of Gopalakrishna et al. (US 20250316516 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Amikura discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose the transfer module includes a robot arm.
Gopalakrishna et al. discloses a transfer module that includes a robot arm for use in a substrate loader and frame assembly (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 30 Lines 2-5 “Transfer chamber robot 112 can include one or multiple arms where each arm includes one or more end effectors at the end of each arm. The end effector can be configured to handle particular objects, such as wafers”) for the purpose of transporting substrates to processing chambers (Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 5-10 “Transfer chamber 110 includes one or more processing chambers (also referred to as process chambers) 114, 116, 118 disposed therearound and coupled thereto. Processing chambers 114, 116, 118 can be coupled to transfer chamber 110 through respective ports, such as slit valves or the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Amikura by including the robotic arm disclosed by Gopalakrishna et al. into the transfer module for the purpose of transferring wafer containers to the processing tools.
Claim(s) 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishna et al. (US 2025/0316516 A1) in view of Bonora et al. (US 8851820 B21).
Regarding Claim 16, Gopalakrishna et al. discloses a system, comprising: a first process tool (Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 5-10 “Transfer chamber 110 includes one or more processing chambers (also referred to as process chambers) 114, 116, 118 disposed therearound and coupled thereto. Processing chambers 114, 116, 118 can be coupled to transfer chamber 110 through respective ports, such as slit valves or the like” and Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 31 Lines 19-21 “load lock 120 is configured to perform a substrate process (e.g., an etch or a pre-clean) on one or more substrates 102 received therein”, Figure 1A shows processing chambers 114, 116, 118 and load locks 120 that can act as a processing tool);
a first FOUP stocker positioned adjacent to the first process tool (Page 3 Paragraph 34 Lines 1-6 “Factory interface 106 can include one or more auxiliary components (not shown). The auxiliary components can include substrate storage containers, metrology equipment, servers, air conditioning units, etc. A substrate storage container can store substrates and/or substrate carriers (e.g., FOUPs”), Figure 1A Factory interface 106 can act as a FOUP stocker and is adjacent to process tools processing chambers 114, 116, 118 and load locks 120), the first FOUP stocker comprising a second sidewall facing the first process tool and a plurality of second FOUP slots installed on the second sidewall (FOUP slots can be vertical Page 3 Colum 2 Paragraph 33 Lines 1-7 “Factory interface 106 can be configured with any number of loader frames 124, which can be located at one or more sides of the factory interface 106 and at the same or different elevations. One or more loader frames 124 can form a door opening so that substrates disposed in substrate cassette loaders 122 can be accessed by factory interface robot 126”);
and a first interface module positioned between the first process tool and the first FOUP stocker (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 30 Lines 1-3 “Transfer chamber 110 also includes a transfer chamber robot 112. Transfer chamber robot 112 can include one or multiple arms” Figure 1A Transfer Chamber 110 can act as an interface module), the first interface module comprising a first housing (Page 2 Column 2 Paragraph 28 Lines 1-5 “Electronic device manufacturing system 100 includes a process tool (e.g., a mainframe) 104 and a factory interface 106 (e.g., an EFEM) coupled to process tool 104. Process tool 104 includes a housing 108 having a transfer chamber 110 therein”) and a first transfer module within the first housing (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 30 Lines 1-3 “Transfer chamber 110 also includes a transfer chamber robot 112. Transfer chamber robot 112 can include one or multiple arms” Figure 1A Transfer Chamber 110 can act as an interface module), wherein from a top view, the first housing of the first interface module encloses the first load ports and the first FOUP slots of the first process tool as well as the second FOUP slot of the first FOUP stocker (Page 3 Column 2 Paragraph 35 Lines 1-3 “transfer chamber 110, process chambers 114, 116, and 118, and/or load lock 120 are maintained at a vacuum level” being maintained at vacuum level means there must be a full enclosure to maintain the vacuum).
Gopalakrishna et al. does not disclose a plurality of first load ports installed on the first sidewall of a process tool, and a plurality of first front opening unified pod (FOUP) slots installed on the first sidewall and above the first load ports;
Bonora et al. discloses a plurality of FOUP slot located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Gopalakrishna by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora et al. and vertical FOUP slots above the load ports onto the sidewall of the process tool for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Regarding Claim 19, Gopalakrishna et al. in view of Bonora et al. disclose the limitations of claim 16. Gopalakrishna et al. additionally discloses a second process tool positioned adjacent to the first process tool, wherein the second process tool comprises a third sidewall, the first housing of the first interface module also encloses the second load ports and the third FOUP slot (Figure 1A shows multiple process tools 114, 116, and 118 adjacent to each other each forming another sidewall with the housing for the first interface module enclosing the load ports of the FOUP slots). Gopalakrishna et al. does not disclose a plurality of first load ports installed on the first sidewall of a process tool, and a plurality of first front opening unified pod (FOUP) slots installed on the sidewall and above the first load ports;
Bonora et al. discloses a plurality of FOUP slot located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Gopalakrishna by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora et al. and vertical FOUP slots above the load ports onto the sidewall of the process tools for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Regarding Claim 20, Gopalakrishna et al. in view of Bonora et al. disclose the limitations of claim 16. Gopalakrishna et al. additionally discloses second process tool positioned adjacent to the first FOUP stocker (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 31 Lines 19-21 “load lock 120 is configured to perform a substrate process (e.g., an etch or a pre-clean) on one or more substrates 102 received therein” Figure 1A shows multiple processing tools 120 adjacent to the first FOUP stocker 106), and a plurality of vertical load ports installed on a sidewall (Page 3 Colum 2 Paragraph 33 Lines 1-7 “Factory interface 106 can be configured with any number of loader frames 124, which can be located at one or more sides of the factory interface 106 and at the same or different elevations. One or more loader frames 124 can form a door opening so that substrates disposed in substrate cassette loaders 122 can be accessed by factory interface robot 126”).
and a second interface module positioned between the second process tool and the first FOUP stocker (Vacuum ports can also be an interface module Page 3 Column 2 Paragraph 35 Lines 6-9 “first vacuum ports 130a can couple factory interface 106 to load locks 120. Second vacuum ports 130b can be coupled to load locks 120 and disposed between load locks 120 and transfer chamber 110” Figure 1A vacuum ports 130a and 130b), wherein the second interface module comprises a second housing and a second transfer module in the second housing (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 31 Lines 10-19 “load lock 120 is a stacked load lock having a pair of upper interior chambers and a pair of lower interior chambers that are located at different vertical levels (e.g., one above another). In some embodiments, the pair of upper interior chambers are configured to receive processed substrates from transfer chamber 110 for removal from process tool 104, while the pair of lower interior chambers are configured to receive substrates from factory interface 106 for processing in process tool 104”), and wherein from the top view, the second housing of the second interface module encloses the second load ports of the second process tool (Page 3 Column 2 Paragraph 35 Lines 1-3 “transfer chamber 110, process chambers 114, 116, and 118, and/or load lock 120 are maintained at a vacuum level” being maintained at vacuum level means there must be a full enclosure to maintain the vacuum).
Gopalakrishna et al. does not disclose the second process tool comprises a third sidewall, a plurality of second load ports installed on the third sidewall, and a plurality of third FOUP slots installed on the third sidewall and above the second load ports.
Bonora et al. discloses a plurality of FOUP slot located on a sidewall of the process tool for semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph 8 lines 65-67 “OHT vehicle 131 moves along OHT rail 132 until aligned with active port 117, active port 118, or any of the tool loadports 134a, 134b, or 134c.” Figure 12 tool loadports 134a, 134b, 134c) for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports (Column 9 Lines 15-17 “ This allows a larger batch of wafers to be processed at the same time with a limited number of tool loadports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Gopalakrishna by adding the multiple load ports disclosed by Bonora et al. and vertical FOUP slots above the load ports onto the sidewall of the process tools for the purpose of increasing wafer production despite limited tool ports.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishna et al. (US 2025/0316516 A1) in view of Bonora et al. (US 8851820 B21) and Amikura (US 2026/0076144 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Gopalakrishna et al. in view of Bonora et al. disclose the limitations of claim 16. Gopalakrishna et al. additionally discloses enclosing FOUP slots and FOUP load ports for the purpose of maintaining a vacuum environment for semiconductor processing. Gopalakrishna et al does not disclose a plurality of third FOUP slots installed on the third sidewall, and from the top view, the first housing of the first interface module also encloses the third FOUP slots.
Amikura discloses load ports and FOUP slots on multiple sidewalls (Page 3 Column 1 Paragraph 37 Lines 1-6 “The vertical transfer unit 67 includes a placement portion 68 having, for example, substantially the same cross-sectional shape as that of the cassette C in a plan view, and a moving portion 69 extending downward from an end of the placement portion 68 so as to face the vertical-plane motor 65” Figure 10 shows multiple transfer units 63, 67a, and 67b that can act as load ports or FOUP slots arranged vertically along two sidewalls of the FOUP stocker 30 that can act as FOUP slots) for the purpose of acting as a buffer mechanism while the semiconductors are being processed (Page 5 Column 1 Paragraph 55 Lines 1-4 “The empty cassette C1 from which the substrates W are unloaded temporarily waits in a buffer mechanism until all of the substrates W accommodated in the cassette C1 are processed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Gopalakrishna by adding the FOUP slots on multiple sidewalls disclosed by Amikura for the purpose of for the purpose of acting as a buffer mechanism while the semiconductors are being processed and enclosing them in the same housing as the second sidewall of the FOUP stocker for the purpose of maintaining a vacuum environment for semiconductor processing.
Regarding Claim 18, Gopalakrishna et al. in view of Bonora et al. disclose the limitations of claim 16. Gopalakrishna et al. additionally discloses enclosing FOUP slots and FOUP load ports for the purpose of maintaining a vacuum environment for semiconductor processing. Gopalakrishna et al does not disclose a plurality of third FOUP slots installed on the third sidewall, and from the top view, the first housing of the first interface module also encloses the third FOUP slots.
Amikura discloses using two FOUP stockers adjacent to each other that are able to transfer FOUPs between each other which can act as one large FOUP stocker (Figure 10 FOUP stockers 30(31) are adjacent to each other and can transfer FOUPs through a horizontal-plane motor 116) for the purpose of increasing the number of buffer mechanisms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Gopalakrishna by replacing the single FOUP stocker with the two adjacent FOUP stockers disclosed by Amikura for the and enclose the FOUP slots for the purpose of increasing the number of buffer mechanisms and maintaining a vacuum environment for semiconductor processing.
Regarding Claim 19, Gopalakrishna et al. in view of Bonora et al. disclose the limitations of claim 16. Gopalakrishna et al. additionally discloses a second process tool positioned adjacent to the first process tool, wherein the second process tool comprises a third sidewall, the first housing of the first interface module also encloses the second load ports and the third FOUP slot (Figure 1A shows multiple process tools.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rudolph et al. (US 2025/0183067 A1), Hsu et al. (US 2024/0258146 A1), Chen et al. (US 2023/0062852 A1), Kamikawa et al. (US 9305818 B2), Park et al. (US 8702365 B2).
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653