DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to an amendment filed on 1/23/2026.
2. Claims 1-11 and 21-29 are pending. Claims 1 and 21 are independent.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered; however, they are not persuasive based on new ground(s) of rejection. Notice that rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 has been removed due to amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5, 9, 11, 21-25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Toth (US PG Pub. 2020/0184048).
As regarding claims 1 and 21, Toth discloses A server comprising:
a processor [para. 33]; and
a memory, wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor [para. 33], cause the processor to:
receive a first input identifying an entity attempting to access a first service [para. 44; receiving a first authentication request];
determine, using a machine learning model, a first risk score of the entity, by processing one or more parameters [para. 50; determining a deviation score];
identify, based on the first risk score, a second input request for the entity [para. 57; identifying an additional authentication challenge];
transmit the second input request to the first service [FIG. 5 and para. 55; transmitting a second authentication challenge];
receive a second input from the entity corresponding to the second input request [FIG. 5 and para. 55; receiving user input in responding the second authentication challenge];
determine, using the machine learning model, a second risk score of the entity by processing the second input and data corresponding to the second input request [FIG. 5 and para. 55; determining whether a user pass or fail the second authentication challenge];
determine a set of risk levels that the second risk score maps to [FIG. 5 and para. 55; determining whether a user pass or fail the second authentication challenge]; and
(1) allow the entity access to the first service in response to determining that the second risk score maps to a first set of risk levels [FIG. 5 and para. 55; allowing access to the resource if the second authentication is pass]; or
(2) restrict the entity from accessing the first service in response to determining that the second risk score maps to a second set of risk levels [FIG. 5 and para. 55; [FIG. 5 and para. 55; restricting access to the resource if the second authentication is failed].
As regarding claims 2 and 22, Toth further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the first input comprises a request to access a feature of the first service [para. 7, 25 and 43-44; receiving user’s request to access one or more secured resources].
As regarding claims 3 and 23, Toth further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: map, at least, (1) a type of service and a determined risk score to one or more input requests and (2) a type of service of the first service and the first risk score to a mapped input request; and identify the mapped input request as the second input request [para. 53 and 60; mapping a type of access service and the deviation score to the request].
As regarding claims 4 and 24, Toth further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the entity restricted from accessing the first service [para. 44; user initially needs to be authenticated using a first authentication to gain access], the instructions further cause the processor to [repeat similar steps recited in claims 1 and 21, respectively]:
determine, based on the second risk score, a third input request, different from the second input request, for the entity to access the first service [para. 50; determining a deviation score];
transmit the third input request to the first service [FIG. 5 and para. 55; transmitting a second authentication challenge];
receive a third input from the entity corresponding to the third input request [FIG. 5 and para. 55; receiving user input in responding the second authentication challenge];
determine, using the machine learning model, a third risk score of the entity, by processing the third input and data corresponding to the third input request [FIG. 5 and para. 55; determining whether a user pass or fail the second authentication challenge];
determine the set of risk levels that the third risk score maps to [FIG. 5 and para. 55; determining whether a user pass or fail the second authentication challenge]; and
(1) allow the entity access to the first service in response to determining that the third risk score maps to the first set of risk levels [FIG. 5 and para. 55; allowing access to the resource if the second authentication is pass]; or
(2) restrict the entity from accessing the first service in response to determining that the third risk score maps to the second set of risk levels [FIG. 5 and para. 55; [FIG. 5 and para. 55; restricting access to the resource if the second authentication is failed].
As regarding claims 5 and 25, Toth further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the first input comprises data automatically retrieved from a user interface used to attempt access to the first service [para. 32 and 57; receiving user interaction data via a user interface].
As regarding claims 9 and 29, Toth further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of:
an access history of the entity for a second service [para. 25];
a type of access when attempting to access the first service [para. 25 and 48-51; determining a deviation score based on user behavior profile derived from previous interaction and the requested event type (e.g. balance inquiry, funds transfer, bill pay, and/or the like)]; and
a feature of the first service.
As regarding claim 11, Toth further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the first input comprises one or more of: an indication of a location of the entity [para. 25 and 49]; an IP address of the entity [para. 25]; a User Agent (UA) string identifying a browser used by the entity to attempt to access the first service; and a type of operating system used by the entity when attempting to access the first service.
As regarding claim 22, Toth further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the first input comprises a request to access a feature of the first service [para. 44; a request to login].
As regarding claim 23, Toth further discloses The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein identifying, based on the first risk score, comprises: mapping, at least, (1) a type of service and a determined risk score to one or more input requests and (2) a type of service of the first service and the first risk score to a mapped input request; and identifying the mapped input request as the second input request [para. 53 and 60; mapping a type of access service and the deviation score to the request].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 6 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth (US PG Pub. 2020/0184048) in view of Yampolskiy (US PG Pub. 2016/0173521).
As regarding claims 6 and 26, Toth discloses determining the first risk score of the entity [para. 25 and 48-51; determining a deviation score].
Toth does not explicitly disclose retrieve a previous risk score associated with the entity; and process the previous risk score and the one or more parameters, using the machine learning model, to update the previous risk score to the first risk score. However, Yampolskiy discloses it [para. 88, 92 and 99-100].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Toth’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Yampolskiy, in order to improve identification of risk.
10. Claims 7, 8, 10, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth (US PG Pub. 2020/0184048) in view of O’Brien (US PG Pub. 2017/0103230).
As regarding claims 7 and 27, Toth does not explicitly disclose that the second input request includes a field for an alphanumeric identifier associated with a form of identification for the entity. However, O’Brien discloses it [para. 42-42].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Toth’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by O’Brien, to allow the user to select a preferred user authentication methods from a plurality of user authentication options.
As regarding claim 8, Toth and O’Brien further discloses The server of claim 7, wherein the field allows for an alternative form of identification for the entity to be provided by the entity [O’Brien FIG. 2A and para. 54-55; user can select different categories of authentication information].
As regarding claims 10 and 28, Toth and O’Brien further discloses The server of claim 1, wherein the second input request comprises a request for a document identifying the entity [O’Brien para. 31, 34 and 52-55; identity document].
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THONG TRUONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433