DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the term “housing” is not used in the written description.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “elongated member…configured to connect…” and “a clasping device” in (e.g.) claim 1; and “grabbing mechanism” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,878,484 (hereinafter “Kitchens”).
Regarding claim 1 Kitchens discloses a load transfer device for (i.e. capable of use with) appurtenances to be installed on a vertical infrastructure installation comprising:
a. An elongated member (132) having a first (bottom) end and a second (top) end, wherein said second end of said elongated member (132) is configured to connect (capable of connecting; i.e. this is a functional recitation) to said vertical infrastructure installation,
b. A head (134) attached to said first (top) end of said elongated member (132), wherein said head (134) comprises a housing and a first pulley wheel (col. 2 lines 32-34),
c. A pulley rope (142) in communication with said head (134), wherein said pulley rope (142) is fixed (i.e. at least indirectly via 136) to said head (134) on at least one end of said pulley rope (142),
d. a second pulley wheel (145) in communication with said pulley rope (142) wherein said second pulley wheel (145) is not directly connected to said head (134), wherein said second pulley wheel (145) further comprises a clasping device (144).
Regarding claim 2 Kitchens discloses the above device, and further discloses wherein said elongated member (132) further comprises a collar (136) between said first (top) end and said second (bottom) end.
Regarding claim 3 Kitchens discloses the above device, and further discloses a handle (137; i.e. the eye could be held) attached (at least indirectly) to said collar (136).
Regarding claim 4 Kitchens discloses the above device, and further discloses wherein said clasping device (144) is a slip hook.
Regarding claim 5 Kitchens discloses the above device, and further discloses wherein said vertical infrastructure installation is a tower (i.e. 130 could be considered a tower).
Regarding claim 6 Kitchens discloses the above device, and further discloses wherein said vertical infrastructure installation is a mast (i.e. 130 could be considered a tower).
Regarding claim 7 Kitchens discloses the above device, and further discloses wherein said second (bottom) end of said elongated member (132) is sized such as to removably interface with an antenna pipe attached to said vertical infrastructure installation (i.e. it is argued that Kitchens 132 could fit in an antenna pipe of the dimensions similar to element 130).
Regarding claim 8 Kitchens discloses the above device, and further discloses a rope retention device (136) attached to said head (134), wherein said rope retention device (136) is in communication with (attached to- see fig. 1A) said pulley rope (142).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitchens in view of US 7,658,264 B2 (hereinafter “Mauthner”).
Regarding claim 9 Kitchens discloses the above device, but fails to teach the particulars of claim 9. Mauthner teaches a lifting system with a housing containing a pulley. Mauthner further teaches wherein a rope retention device comprises a rope grabbing mechanism (28) and a pressure block (30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the grabbing mechanism of Mauthner to the load transfer device of Kitchens with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to stop unwanted backwards slippage of the rope if overloaded (see Mauthner column 4 lines 31-41).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitchens in view of US 4,560,029 (hereinafter “Dalmaso”).
Regarding claims 9-10 Kitchens discloses the above device (see claim 1, above), but fails to teach the particulars of claims 9-10. Dalmaso teaches a lifting system. Dalmaso further teaches wherein a rope retention device (24) comprises a rope grabbing mechanism (78/80) and a pressure block (36) wherein said rope retention device (24) further comprises a pull wire (20) configured to release said rope grabbing mechanism (78/80) when pulled. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the rope retention device of Dalmaso to the system of Kitchens in order to prevent unwanted free-spooling of the hoist.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to anticipate or make obvious the entire combination of claim recitations set forth in either of claims 11 or 16.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach the combination of the load transfer device and pulley rope, as claimed, in conjunction with (b) Raising said appurtenance using a load line connected to said vertical infrastructure installation, (d) Shifting the weight of said appurtenance from said load line to said load transfer device, and (e) Disconnecting said load line from said appurtenance.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record fails to teach the combination of the load transfer device and pulley rope, as claimed, in conjunction with (d) Connecting said appurtenance to a load line, (e) Shifting the weight of said appurtenance from said load transfer device to said load line, (g) Lowering said appurtenance to the ground via said load line.
It does not appear obvious to modify the primary reference (US 7,878,484 to Kitchens) to attain such a set of method steps. Kitchens is used in a trailering setting on the rear of a vehicle. It does not seem likely that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add a second rope/line and second lifting step to the trailer hoist of Kitchens.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654