DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Mounting portion where the functional language is mounting where the substrate is mounted thereupon and portion is the generic placeholder as recited in claims 5 and 14.
Connecting portion where the functional language is connecting as in connecting the rotational shaft to the mounting portion and portion is the generic placeholder as recited in claims 5 and 14.
Mounting portion is recited in the specification [0054] of the original specification
as element 11231a and see Fig. 7 and may have a semicircular ring shape where the structure allows the substrate W to be safely mounted thereupon.
Connecting portion is recited in the specification as element 11231b and see Fig. 7 where a structure that may extend in a straight line or substantially straight in order to connect the rotating shaft to the mounting portion according to [0056] of the original specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-12, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mori et al (US 2022/0216073).
The prior art of Mori et al teaches a processing module.
Regarding claim 1. Mori et al teaches a substrate processing apparatus 1 comprising: a process module processing a plurality of substrates (wafers W) , wherein the process module comprises: a plurality of process chambers 2, 2a each process chamber configured to process the plurality of substrates in a processing space S1-S4 defined thereby; a plurality of processing areas within each processing space, each processing area configured to have at least one substrate W of the plurality of substrates arranged thereon; a heater block (heater 24 in stage 22) in each processing area, each heater block configured to have at least one substrate of the plurality of substrates arranged thereon; a shower head (shower plate 43 see [0054] ) on each heater block, each shower head configured to spray a process gas onto at least one of the plurality of substrates; a rotating arm unit (rotation arm 3 see Figs. 3 and 4) configured to receive each substrate from an outside of the process chambers and to rotate to place each substrate on each heater block; and an exhaust port (guide members 362) outside of each heater block (heater 24 in stage 22) and configured to suck in the process gas, wherein the process chambers are individually located in different layers. See Figs 1, 7, and 8 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 2. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the process chambers 2, 2a located in different layers at least partially overlap with each other in a plan view. See Fig 1 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 4. See Figs. 3 and 4 of Mori et al wherein the rotating arm unit (rotation arm 3) comprises at least one mounting arm, each mounting arm configured to have each substrate placed thereupon a rotating shaft (base member 33 has a rotation axis see [0033] of Mori et al) coupled to one end of the at least one mounting arm; and a rotating driver (rotor 343) see [0069] and [0071]configured to rotate the rotating shaft about a length direction of the rotating shaft as an axis.
Regarding claim 5. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least one mounting arm comprises a mounting portion (end effectors 32) configured the have each substrate mounted thereon; and a connecting portion (see Figs. 3 and 4) connecting one end of the rotating shaft (base member 33) to one end of the mounting portion, wherein the mounting portion has a width that is narrower than a gap defined between adjacent heater blocks in a plan view. See Figs. 2-4, [0031] – [0045], and Fig. 8 of Mori et al. See [0035] and [0037] of Mori et al where the end effector is between stages 22 thus the width of the end effector (mounting portion) is narrower than the gap between the heater blocks.
Regarding claim 7. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the exhaust port (guide members 362) surrounds an outer periphery of each heater block (heater 24 in stage 22 see [0051]) in a plan view. See [0059], [0061], and Fig 8 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 8. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: at least one blocking slit (slit exhaust ports 364 and merging portion 351) between adjacent processing areas of the plurality of processing areas. See Fig. 8 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 9. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one blocking slit (slit exhaust ports 364 and merging portion 351) is configured to suck in the process gas such that process gases sprayed into different processing areas do not mix with each other. See Fig. 8 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 10. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one blocking slit (slit exhaust ports 364 and merging portion 351) is configured to eject a purge gas (via valve V3) such that process gases sprayed into different processing areas do not mix with each other. See Fig. 8 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 11. Mori et al teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: A plurality of process modules each comprising a plurality of process chambers 2, 2a the process chambers arranged in different layers; a transfer module 13a and 13b configured to transfer a substrate to and from each process module; a load lock module 122 arranged on one side of the transfer module 13a/13b and configured to receive the substrate transferred to or from the transfer module; an equipment front end module 121 arranged on one side of the load lock module 122 and configured to keep the substrate on standby; and a load port 11 arranged on one side of the equipment front end module and configured to be loaded with the substrate, wherein the process modules are located around the transfer module and in contact with the transfer module, each process chamber is configured to process a plurality of substrates in a processing space defined therein, and a plurality of processing areas is located within each processing space, each processing area configured to have at least one substrate of the plurality of substrates arranged therein. Fig. 8 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 12. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein each process module further comprises: a heater block (heater 24 in stage 22) in each of the plurality of processing areas, each heater block configured to have at least one of the plurality of substrates are arranged thereon; a shower head (shower plate 43 see [0054] ) on each heater block, each shower head configured to spray a process gas onto at least one substrate; a rotating arm unit (rotation arm 3 see Figs. 3 and 4) configured to receive each substrate from an outside the process chambers and configured to rotate to place each substrate on each heater block; and an exhaust port (guide members 362) formed outside each heater block and configured to suck in the process gas, wherein each processing module is configured to have a blocking gas sprayed between ones of the plurality of processing areas such that process gases in different processing areas do not mix with each other. See Fig. 8 of Mori et al
Regarding claim 14. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 12, wherein the rotating arm unit (rotation arm 3) comprises: at least one mounting arm, the at least one mounting arm configured to have each substrate placed thereon; a rotating shaft (base member 33 has a rotation axis see [0033] of Mori et al) coupled to one end of the at least one mounting arm; and a rotating driver 343 configured to rotate the rotating shaft about a length direction of the rotating shaft as an axis, wherein the at least one mounting arm comprises a mounting portion(end effectors 32) configured to have each substrate mounted thereon; a connecting portion (see Figs. 3 and 4 of Mori et al) connecting one end of the rotating shaft to one end of the mounting portion, and the mounting portion has a width that is narrower than a gap defined between adjacent heater blocks(stage 22 with heater 24) in a plan view. See [0035] and [0037] of Mori et al where the end effector is between stages 22 thus the width of the end effector (mounting portion) is narrower than the gap between the heater blocks.
Regarding claim 16. Mori et al teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a plurality of process modules, each process module comprising a plurality of process chambers (2, 2a) arranged in different layers, each process chamber configured to process a plurality of substrates (wafers W) in a processing space defined thereby; a transfer module 13a and 13b configured to transfer each substrate to or from each process module; a load lock module 122 arranged on one side of the transfer module 13a, 13b and configured to receive each substrate transferred to or from the transfer module; an equipment front end module 121 arranged on one side of the load lock module and configured to keep each substrate on standby; and a load port 11 arranged on one side of the equipment front end module and configured to have each substrate loaded therein; wherein each process chamber further comprises a head portion comprising a shower head (shower plate 43 see [0054]) configured to spray a process gas onto at least one substrate; a heating portion 24 comprising a heater block (stage 22) and arranged in a processing area, the processing area configured to have ones of the plurality of substrates processed therein; and an exhaust portion on an outer periphery of the heater block and comprising an exhaust port (guide members 362) configured to discharge the process gas, the processing space of each process chamber (2, 2a) is defined between the head portion and the heating portion thereof, and a plurality of processing areas is located within each processing space.
Regarding claim 17. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 16, further comprising a blocking slit (slit exhaust ports 364 and merging portion 351) between adjacent processing areas of the plurality of processing areas. See Fig. 8 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 18. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 17, wherein the blocking slit (slit exhaust ports 364 and merging portion 351) is configured to suck in the process gas (cleaning gas via V1, reaction gas via V2) such that process gases sprayed into different processing areas do not mix with each other. See Fig. 8 of Mori et al.
Regarding claim 19. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 17, wherein the blocking slit (slit exhaust ports 364 and merging portion 351) is configured to eject a purge gas (via source 55 and via V3) such that process gases sprayed into different processing areas do not mix with each other. See Fig. 8 of Mori et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al (US 2022/0216073).
The teachings of the prior art of Mori et al were discussed above.
Regarding claim 3. See [0021] of Mori et al where it is recited that each substrate has a circular shape and see Figures where each processing area has a circular shape.
See [0031] where the center of the processing spaces S1 to S4 are discussed.
The prior art of Mori et al fails to teach that a distance between a first center of each processing area and a second center is greater than twice a radius of each processing area, the second center being equidistant from the first center of each processing area.
Regarding claim 6. See [0021] of Mori et al where it is recited that each substrate has a circular shape and see Figures where each processing area has a circular shape.
See also the mounting portion (end effectors 32 of the rotating arm unit/rotating arm 3) has a semicircular ring shape.
The prior art of Mori et al fails to teach that an inner radius of the semicircular ring shape being less than a radius of each substrate, and a distance between a center of the semicircular ring shape and a rotational center of the rotating shaft is at least twice an outer radius of the semicircular ring shape.
Regarding claim 13. See [0021] of Mori et al where it is recited that each substrate has a circular shape and see Figures where each processing area has a circular shape.
See [0031] where the center of the processing spaces S1 to S4 are discussed.
The prior art of Mori et al fails to teach that a distance between a first center of each processing area and a second center is greater than twice a radius of each processing area, the second center being equidistant from the first center of each processing area.
Regarding claim 15. See [0021] of Mori et al where it is recited that each substrate has a circular shape and see Figures where each processing area has a circular shape.
See [0031] where the center of the processing spaces S1 to S4 are discussed.
See also the mounting portion (end effectors 32 of the rotating arm unit/rotating arm 3) has a semicircular ring shape.
The prior art of Mori et al fails to teach that an inner radius of the semicircular ring shape being less than a radius of each substrate, and a distance between a center of the semicircular ring shape and a rotational center of the rotating shaft is at least twice an outer radius of the semicircular ring shape.
Regarding claim 20. See [0021] of Mori et al where it is recited that each substrate has a circular shape and see Figures where each processing area has a circular shape.
The prior art of Mori et al fails to teach that a distance between a first center of each processing area and a second center is greater than twice a radius of each processing area, the second center being equidistant to the first center of each processing area.
The dimensions of the processing area to the include the first and second centers and the radius of each processing area individually and relative to each other is matter of design choice and optimization in the effort to ensure ease of transport of the wafers in/out of the processing areas by the transfer robot without impeding movement so that several substrates can be transported simultaneously by each respective mounting portion. Likewise, the distance between a center of the semicircular ring shape and a rotational center of the rotating shaft is at least twice an outer radius of the semicircular ring shape. matter of design choice and optimization. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to design and optimize the dimensions of the processing area and transport arm so that the centers of the processing areas ,the mounting portion, and the rotational center of the rotation shaft ensure of ease and unobstructed movement of the wafers as they are being transported by the transfer robot in/out of the processing chambers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR1020070045168 teaches vertically stacked process chambers 200 comprising upper chambers 260, 280, 300 comprising lower chambers 360, 380, load lock chambers 240, 340, a transfer robots 120 and 210 see Figs. 4-6.
US 2021/0013069 teaches a multi-lid structure for semiconductor processing system 100 with a chamber system 300, 700 in Figs. 6 and 7A, 7B where each chamber has a processing space with supports 710a, 710b with showerheads (faceplate 730).
KR 100596466B1 illustrates processing chamber that are vertically stacked relative to each other in a process module or can be provided horizontally across from each other see Figs. 1 and 12.
KR20080016782 teaches a multichamber processing system (cluster tool) with vertically stacked processing chambers and transfer robots 107, 108. See Fig. 5a where a processing chamber has a showerhead and wafer support 103.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716