DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-14, drawn to “A build plate for a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system” and “A powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system”, classified in B29C64/209.
II. Claims 15-20, drawn to “A method of making an annular part with a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system”, classified in B33Y10/00.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions of Groups I and II are related as apparatuses and a process for their practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatuses as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice materially different process such as directing energy from a thermal curing means or a single optical source, instead of from an optical source array.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter
--the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
During a telephone conversation with George Romanik on 5/8/2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the Group I invention of “A build plate for a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system” and “A powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system”, claims 1-14. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: typographical errors.
In line 11, the phrase “the melt pool” is cited; while in lines 13-14, the phrase “a melt pool” is cited. These phrases should be exchanged to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue.
In lines 15 & 16, the term ‘and’ is repeated, in error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the claim 1, 3, 4 & 6 elements of “the plurality of apertures in the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall extending through the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall”, it is understood by the Examiner that the apertures are located along the top of the inner and outer walls and extend vertically down within the walls; this allows excess powder from the build area surface to fall into the apertures from over or atop0 the walls. The apertures are not understood to be located in the vertical wall sections to allow powder to flow through the walls from the build volume to the excess build powder reservoirs.
This interpretation appears to be supported by the instant specification and figures (Figs. 2B & 2C, items 26d; [0036-0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corsmeier (US20180345369A1), in view of Chang (WO2022150340A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
1. A build plate for a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system, wherein the build plate is an annular build plate comprising: an inner radius wall; and an outer radius wall, wherein the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall extend vertically from a junction with the annular build plate to define a build area on the annular build plate between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall each include a plurality of apertures that are configured to collect excess build powder and direct the excess build powder through the inner radius wall and outer radius wall to an excess build powder reservoir; and wherein the annular build plate is configured to be positioned on a build piston and to move in concert with the build piston, wherein the build piston is configured to rotate around a drive shaft in a continuous circular motion and to translate up and down with respect to the annular build plate.
With respect to claim 1, the prior art of Corsmeier teaches a build plate (Fig. 2A, item 228) for a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system (Fig. 2A), wherein the build plate is an annular build plate comprising: an inner radius wall (Fig. 2A, item 224); and an outer radius wall (Fig. 2A, item 222), wherein the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall extend vertically from a junction with the annular build plate to define a build area on the annular build plate between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the inner radius wall [0035].
Corsmeier teaches the inner (Fig. 2A, items 224) and outer (Fig. 2A, items 222) build walls include a plurality of apertures (Fig. 2A, top of items 226) that are configured to collect spillover and place excess build powder (Fig. 2A, items 230) in receptacles [0035].
Corsmeier teaches the inner receptacle and outer excess powder receptacles each having a continuous annular aperture, not each having a plurality of apertures. However, there is not considered to be any added patentable improvement or significance to a plurality of apertures compared to a continuous, uninterrupted aperture. For example, if two small strips could be added across one of the continuous apertures to change it to a two-aperture receptacle and there would be no anticipated benefit to the modification.
Corsmeier teaches the annular build plate is configured to be positioned on a build piston (Fig. 2A, see piston beneath item 228).
Corsmeier teaches relative rotation between the build head (Fig. 2A, item 208) and built plate (Fig. 2A, item 202), as the build head above the annular build plate will rotate (Fig. 2A, item 236) around the plate central axis to layerwise build an annular product [0035-0036] while the build plate is stationary.
Corsmeier is silent on the build unit operating as relative rotation between the build head and built plate created by a moving build plate and a stationary build head.
However, the prior art of Chang teaches a PBF AM system wherein relative rotation is created by a rotating circular build plate (Fig. 1C, item 38) [0018].
Chang teaches the circular build plate moves in concert with the build piston (Fig 1C, item 50), wherein the build piston can be configured to rotate around a drive shaft in a continuous circular motion and to translate up and down with respect to the annular build plate [0071-0074].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the system configuration of a rotating build plate, taught by Chang, in place of the rotating means for the annular build unit taught by Corsmeier, to predictably result in matching function while providing relative rotation between the build unit and the annular build plate by a different moving section of the apparatus. This modification could be selected as desired or based on the available equipment for building the PBF AM apparatus.
2. The build plate of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of seals positioned at the junction between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the annular build plate, wherein the plurality of seals are configured to prevent build powder migrating out of the build area through the junction.
With respect to claim 2, Corsmeier is silent on a plurality of seals positioned at the junction between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the annular build plate, wherein the plurality of seals are configured to prevent build powder migrating out of the build area through the junction.
However, Chang teaches a plurality of seals (Fig. 1C, items 38B) can optionally be positioned at the junction between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the annular build plate, wherein the plurality of seals are configured to advantageously prevent build powder migrating out of the build area through the junction [0075].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use a plurality of seals at the junction between the build plate and outer build wall, as taught by Chang, to improve the similar AM system of Corsmeier in the same way, by advantageously preventing build powder migrating out of the build area through the junction.
It would prima facie obviously be known by and within the ability of a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system of Corsmeier, in view of Chang, to duplicate the plurality of seals improvement by applying seals to the build plate and inner build wall junction for the annular build plate taught by Corsmeier.
3. The build plate of claim 1, wherein the plurality of apertures in the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall extend vertically through the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall to direct the excess build powder to the excess build powder reservoir.
With respect to claim 3, Corsmeier teaches the inner (Fig. 2A, items 224) and outer (Fig. 2A, items 222) build walls include a plurality of apertures (Fig. 2A, top of items 226) that are configured to extend vertically to collect spillover and place excess build powder (Fig. 2A, items 230) in receptacles [0035].
Corsmeier teaches the inner receptacle and outer excess powder receptacles each having a continuous annular aperture, not each having a plurality of apertures. However, there is not considered to be any added patentable improvement or significance to a plurality of apertures compared to a continuous, uninterrupted aperture. For example, two small strips could be added across one of the continuous apertures to change it to a two-aperture receptacle and there would be no anticipated benefit to the modification.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use the plurality of apertures to collect powder from over the inner and outer build walls to collect excess powder in reservoirs, taught by Corsmeier, to improve the similar PBF AM system of Chang in the same way. Corsmeier teaches this modification would prevent the waste of overflowed powder.
4. A powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system, comprising: an annular build plate including an inner radius wall and an outer radius wall, wherein the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall extend vertically from a junction with the annular build plate to define a build area on the annular build plate between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall each include a plurality of apertures that are configured to collect excess build powder and direct the excess build powder through the inner radius wall and outer radius wall to an excess build powder reservoir; a build piston configured to rotate around a drive shaft in a continuous circular motion and to translate up and down with respect to the annular build plate; wherein the annular build plate is configured to be positioned on the build piston and to move in concert with the build piston.
With respect to claim 4, the prior art of Corsmeier teaches a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system (Fig. 2A), comprising: an annular build plate (Fig. 2A, item 228) including an inner radius wall (Fig. 2A, item 224); and an outer radius wall (Fig. 2A, item 222), wherein the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall extend vertically from a junction with the annular build plate to define a build area on the annular build plate between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the inner radius wall [0035].
Corsmeier teaches the inner (Fig. 2A, items 224) and outer (Fig. 2A, items 222) build walls include a plurality of apertures (Fig. 2A, top of items 226) that are configured to collect spillover and place excess build powder (Fig. 2A, items 230) in receptacles [0035].
Corsmeier teaches the inner receptacle and outer excess powder receptacles each having a continuous annular aperture, not each having a plurality of apertures. However, there is not considered to be any added patentable improvement or significance to a plurality of apertures compared to a continuous, uninterrupted aperture. For example, if two small strips could be added across one of the continuous apertures to change it to a two-aperture receptacle and there would be no anticipated benefit to the modification.
Corsmeier teaches the annular build plate is configured to be positioned on a build piston (Fig. 2A, see piston beneath item 228).
Corsmeier teaches relative rotation between the build head (Fig. 2A, item 208) and built plate (Fig. 2A, item 202), as the build head above the annular build plate will rotate (Fig. 2A, item 236) around the plate central axis to layerwise build an annular product [0035-0036] while the build plate is stationary.
Corsmeier is silent on the build unit operating as relative rotation between the build head and built plate created by a moving build plate and a stationary build head.
However, the prior art of Chang teaches a PBF AM system wherein relative rotation is created by a rotating circular build plate (Fig. 1C, item 38) [0018].
Chang teaches the circular build plate moves in concert with the build piston (Fig 1C, item 50), wherein the build piston can be configured to rotate around a drive shaft in a continuous circular motion and to translate up and down with respect to the annular build plate [0071-0074].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the system configuration of a rotating build plate, taught by Chang, in place of the rotating means for the annular build unit taught by Corsmeier, to predictably result in matching function while providing relative rotation between the build unit and the annular build plate by a different moving section of the apparatus. This modification could be selected as desired or based on the available equipment for building the PBF AM apparatus.
5. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 4, further comprising: a plurality of seals positioned at the junction between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the annular build plate, wherein the plurality of seals are configured to prevent build powder migrating out of the build area through the junction.
With respect to claim 5, Corsmeier is silent on a plurality of seals positioned at the junction between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the annular build plate, wherein the plurality of seals are configured to prevent build powder migrating out of the build area through the junction.
However, Chang teaches a plurality of seals (Fig. 1C, items 38B) can optionally be positioned at the junction between the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall and the annular build plate, wherein the plurality of seals are configured to advantageously prevent build powder migrating out of the build area through the junction [0075].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use a plurality of seals at the junction between the build plate and outer build wall, as taught by Chang, to improve the similar AM system of Corsmeier in the same way, by advantageously preventing build powder migrating out of the build area through the junction.
It would prima facie obviously be known by and within the ability of a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system of Corsmeier, in view of Chang, to duplicate the plurality of seals improvement by applying seals to the build plate and inner build wall junction for the annular build plate taught by Corsmeier.
6. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 4, wherein the plurality of apertures in the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall extend vertically through the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall to direct the excess build powder to the excess build powder reservoir.
With respect to claim 6, Corsmeier teaches the inner (Fig. 2A, items 224) and outer (Fig. 2A, items 222) build walls include a plurality of apertures (Fig. 2A, top of items 226) that are configured to extend vertically to collect spillover and place excess build powder (Fig. 2A, items 230) in receptacles [0035].
Corsmeier teaches the inner receptacle and outer excess powder receptacles each having a continuous annular aperture, not each having a plurality of apertures. However, there is not considered to be any added patentable improvement or significance to a plurality of apertures compared to a continuous, uninterrupted aperture. For example, two small strips could be added across one of the continuous apertures to change it to a two-aperture receptacle and there would be no anticipated benefit to the modification.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use the plurality of apertures to collect powder from over the inner and outer build walls to collect excess powder in reservoirs, taught by Corsmeier, to improve the similar PBF AM system of Chang in the same way. Corsmeier teaches this modification would prevent the waste of overflowed powder.
7. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 4, wherein the excess build powder reservoir is mounted to the build piston to permit collection of the excess build powder when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation.
With respect to claim 7, Corsmeier teaches the excess build powder reservoir is prima facie obviously mounted to the build piston via the build plate to permit collection of the excess build powder [0035] when the PBF additive manufacturing system of Corsmeier, in view of Chang, is in operation.
8. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 4, further comprising: a build powder delivery mechanism configured to deliver build powder to the build area to form a build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation; a recoater configured to provide even distribution of the build powder in the build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation, wherein the recoater is configured to direct excess build powder into the plurality of apertures in the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall; and an optical array positioned over the build area on the build plate, wherein the optical array is configured to project energy onto the build powder bed to form a melt pool in the build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation.
With respect to claim 8, Corsmeier teaches a build head (Fig. 2A, item 208) for a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system [0035], comprising a build powder delivery mechanism (Fig. 2B, item 214) configured to deliver build powder (Fig. 2B, item 230) to the build area to form a build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation [0038]; a recoater (Fig. 2B, item 216) configured to provide a uniform density of powder packing of the build powder in the build powder bed while the annular build plate rotates when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation [0035].
Corsmeier teaches excess build powder is directed into the plurality of apertures in the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall [0014, 0058].
While Corsmeier does not explicitly state that the recoater is configured to direct the excess build powder into the apertures, it is prima facie obvious that the recoater performs this action as it is the only component that handles and spreads the powder for the system after it has been deposited.
Corsmeier teaches an optical array (Fig. 2B, item 212 – the rectangle above the beam with angle θ, see Fig 2A, item 212) positioned over the build area on the build plate, wherein the optical array is configured to project energy onto the build powder bed to form a melt pool in the build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation [0043].
9. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 8, wherein the optical array includes a plurality of energy sources configured to project energy onto the build powder bed.
With respect to claim 9, Corsmeier teaches the optical array can comprise a plurality of energy sources configured to project energy onto the build powder bed [0043].
10. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 9, wherein the plurality of energy sources comprises lasers or electron beam sources.
With respect to claim 10, Corsmeier teaches the plurality of energy sources can comprise lasers or electron beam sources [Claim 14].
Claims {11} & {12-14} are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corsmeier (US20180345369A1), in view of Chang (WO2022150340A1), as set forth above in the rejection of claim {8} & {4} respectively, and further in view of Phillips (WO2021003256A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
11. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 8, further comprising: a build powder preheater configured to preheat build powder after distribution by the recoater and before formation of the melt pool.
With respect to claim 11, Corsmeier, in view of Chang, is silent on a build powder preheater configured to preheat build powder after distribution by the recoater and before formation of the melt pool.
However, the prior art of Phillips teaches a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system embodiment wherein an integrated and rotating build head assembly can comprise a powder depositor, an irradiation device, a preheat device (Fig. 1B, item 16), a cooler device, and a temperature measurement device [0071, 0210].
Phillips teaches “the preheat device preheats the powder particles 12 to inhibit smoking of the powder particles 12 when they are subsequently melted by the irradiation device 22 [0074]”. Phillips teaches ‘in one embodiment, the pre-heat device 16 extends along a pre-heat axis (direction) 16B and is arranged between the powder supply device 18 and the irradiation device 22 along the movement direction 26A [0072]”.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use the known pre-heating device to preheat powder prior to irradiation melting, taught by Phillips, to improve the similar PBF system, taught by Corsmeier, in view of Chang, in the same way. Phillips teaches an advantage of preheating the powder is to inhibit smoking of the powder particles during irradiation melting.
12. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 4, further comprising: a build head that includes: a powder delivery mechanism configured to deliver build powder to the build area to form a build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation; a recoater configured to provide even distribution of the build powder in the build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation, wherein the recoater is configured to direct excess build powder into the plurality of apertures in the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall; a build powder preheater configured to preheat build powder after distribution by the recoater and before formation of the melt pool; an optical array positioned over the build area on the build plate, wherein the optical array is configured to project energy onto the build powder bed to form a melt pool in the build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation; and a gas manifold configured to direct a flow of inert gas across the optical array when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation.
With respect to claim 12, Corsmeier teaches a build head that includes: a powder delivery mechanism (Fig. 2B, item 214) configured to deliver build powder (Fig. 2B, item 230) to the build area to form a build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation [0038]; a recoater (Fig. 2B, item 216) configured to provide a uniform density of powder packing of the build powder in the build powder bed while the annular build plate rotates when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation [0035].
Corsmeier teaches excess build powder is directed into the plurality of apertures in the inner radius wall and the outer radius wall [0014, 0058].
While Corsmeier does not explicitly state that the recoater is configured to direct the excess build powder into the apertures, it is prima facie obvious that the recoater performs this action as it is the only component that handles and spreads the powder for the system after it has been deposited.
Corsmeier teaches an optical array (Fig. 2B, item 212 – the rectangle above the beam with angle θ, see Fig 2A, item 212) positioned over the build area on the build plate, wherein the optical array is configured to project energy onto the build powder bed to form a melt pool in the build powder bed when the PBF additive manufacturing system is in operation [0043].
Corsmeier teaches “a build unit having a laser beam irradiation mechanism may advantageously include a gas-flow mechanism with gas inlet(s) and outlet(s) providing a substantially laminar gas flow in a gas-flow zone to a build area on the powder bed [0048]”. Corsmeier teaches the gas atmosphere of the build chamber can be inert [0046].
Corsmeier, in view of Chang, is silent on a build powder preheater configured to preheat build powder after distribution by the recoater and before formation of the melt pool.
However, the prior art of Phillips teaches a powder bed fusion (PBF) additive manufacturing system embodiment wherein an integrated and rotating build head assembly can comprise a powder depositor, an irradiation device, a preheat device (Fig. 1B, item 16), a cooler device, and a temperature measurement device [0071, 0210].
Phillips teaches “the preheat device preheats the powder particles 12 to inhibit smoking of the powder particles 12 when they are subsequently melted by the irradiation device 22 [0074]”. Phillips teaches ‘in one embodiment, the pre-heat device 16 extends along a pre-heat axis (direction) 16B and is arranged between the powder supply device 18 and the irradiation device 22 along the movement direction 26A [0072]”.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use the known pre-heating device to preheat powder prior to irradiation melting, taught by Phillips, to improve the similar PBF system, taught by Corsmeier, in view of Chang, in the same way. Phillips teaches an advantage of preheating the powder is to inhibit smoking of the powder particles during irradiation melting.
13. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 12, wherein the optical array includes a plurality of energy sources configured to project energy onto the build powder bed.
With respect to claim 13, Corsmeier teaches the optical array includes a plurality of energy sources configured to project energy onto the build powder bed [0043].
14. The PBF additive manufacturing system of claim 13, wherein the plurality of energy sources comprises lasers or electron beam sources.
With respect to claim 14, Corsmeier teaches the plurality of energy sources comprises lasers or electron beam sources [Claim 14].
Conclusion
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748