DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/28/2024 and 12/29/2025 are being considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/758,661 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims require the following limitations:
a plurality of surface electrodes configured to be disposed on an abdomen of a maternal patient;
a stimulator connected to at least two of the plurality of surface electrodes and configured to generate stimulation pulses between at least two of the plurality of surface electrodes; and
a control system configured to obtain electromyography (EMG) data via the plurality of surface electrodes; detect at least one indicator of insufficient uterine activity (below a threshold) based on the EMG data; and, in response to detecting the at least one indicator of insufficient uterine activity, control the stimulator to deliver a plurality of stimulation pulses via the plurality of surface electrodes to the maternal abdomen to stimulate the uterine muscle of the maternal patient, wherein the control system is further configured to detect the at least one indicator of insufficient uterine activity based on a current labor phase of the maternal patient.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garfield et al. (US 2014/0058473 A1) (IDS of 12/29/2025).
Claim 1. Garfield et al. (Garfield) discloses a system for stimulating a uterine muscle of a maternal patient after childbirth, the system comprising:
a plurality of surface electrodes configured to be disposed on an abdomen of a maternal patient; [0007]; [0047]; [0048]
a stimulator connected to at least two of the plurality of surface electrodes and configured to generate stimulation pulses between at least two of the plurality of surface electrodes; Fig. 10; [0036], and
a control system configured to control the stimulator to deliver a plurality of stimulation pulses via the plurality of surface electrodes to the maternal abdomen to stimulate the uterine muscle of the maternal patient. [0036]; [0040]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garfield in view of Ben-David et al. (US 2014/0012190 A1).
Claim 2. While Garfield discloses a monitor configured to obtain EMG data from the plurality of surface electrodes, wherein the control system is configured to, before controlling the stimulator to deliver the plurality of stimulation pulses, detect that uterine shrinkage has not occurred in the maternal patient based on the stimulation results, wherein the plurality of stimulation pulses are configured to stimulate the uterine muscle of the maternal patient to cause uterine shrinkage, Figs. 3 and 5-9, Garfield does not specifically teach the use of an EMG monitor, which is disclosed in Ben-David et al. (Ben-David). Ben-David further discloses a plurality of surface electrodes configured to be disposed on an abdomen of a maternal patient. [0012]; [0023]; [0024]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Garfield to include the recited limitations, as disclosed in Ben-David, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson's-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Claim 3. The system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured to detect that the uterine shrinkage has not occurred based on a comparison of a response amplitude of the uterine muscle to at least one threshold. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]. Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 4. The system of claim 2, wherein the at least one threshold is based on an amplitude of the EMG data recorded while the maternal patient was in labor. Ben-David, [0012]; [0015]. Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 5. The system of claim 1, further comprising an EMG monitor configured to obtain EMG data from the plurality of surface electrodes; wherein the control system is configured to determine a response of the uterine muscle to the plurality of stimulation pulses based on the EMG data. Ben-David, [0012]. Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 6. The system of claim 5, wherein the control system is further configured to: compare the response of the uterine muscle to at least one threshold; control at least one of a stimulation amplitude, a stimulation frequency, and a stimulation pulse width of the stimulation pulses based on the comparison. Garfield, [0027]; [0035]-[0037]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0015]. Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 7. The system of claim 6, wherein the control system is further configured to determine at least one of the at least one threshold based on the EMG data obtained from the patient. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0015]. Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 8. The system of claim 6, wherein the control system is further configured to: determine that the response of the uterine muscle is less than the at least one threshold; in response to determining that the response of the uterine muscle is less than the at least one threshold, increase the at least one of the stimulation amplitude, the stimulation frequency, and the stimulation pulse width of the stimulation pulses by an increase amount. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0015]. Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 9. The system of claim 8, wherein the increase amount is based on a user input. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0015] Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 10. Garfield teaches a method of monitoring a maternal patient after childbirth, the method comprising:
controlling a stimulator to deliver a first plurality of stimulation pulses via a plurality of surface electrodes configured to be disposed on an abdomen of a maternal patient, wherein the first plurality of stimulation pulses are configured to stimulate a uterine muscle of the maternal patient; [0007]; [0036]; [0040]; [0047]; [0048]
obtaining stimulation data from the maternal patient via the plurality of surface electrodes; [0036]; [0040]; [0047]; [0048].
Garfield does not specifically teach the use of an EMG monitor, which is disclosed in Ben-David. Ben-David further discloses a plurality of surface electrodes configured to be disposed on an abdomen of a maternal patient. [0012]; [0023]; [0024]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Garfield to include the recited limitations, as disclosed in Ben-David, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson's-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Garfield, as modified by Ben-David, further teaches:
determining a response of the uterine muscle to the plurality of stimulation pulses based on the EMG data. Garfield, [0036]; [0040]; [0047]; [0048]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0023]; [0024].
Claim 11. The method of claim 10, further comprising controlling the stimulator to deliver a second plurality of pulses via the plurality of surface electrodes, wherein the second plurality of stimulation pulses are configured to stimulate the uterine muscle of the maternal patient; and wherein the second plurality of pulses have at least one of an increased amplitude, an increased frequency, and an increased pulse width compared to the first plurality of pulses. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0015]. Same rationale as applied to claim 8.
Claim 12. The method of claim 11, further comprising comparing the response of the uterine muscle to at least one threshold prior to delivering the second plurality of stimulation pulses, and selecting the at least one of the increased amplitude, the increased frequency, and the increased pulse width based on the comparison. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0015]. Same rationale as applied to claim 8.
Claim 13. The method of claim 12, further comprising determining the at least one threshold based on the EMG data obtained from the patient. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, 0012]; [0023]; [0024]. Same rationale as applied to claim 8.
Claim 14. The method of claim 10, further comprising, prior to controlling the stimulator to deliver the plurality of stimulation pulses: obtaining the EMG data from the maternal patient via the plurality of surface electrodes following childbirth by the maternal patient; detecting that uterine shrinkage has not occurred in the maternal patient based on the EMG data; wherein the plurality of stimulation pulses are configured to stimulate the uterine muscle of the maternal patient to cause uterine shrinkage. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0023]; [0024]. Same rationale as applied to claim 8.
Claim 15. The method of claim 14, further comprising detecting that the uterine shrinkage has not occurred in the maternal patient based on a comparison of a response amplitude of the uterine muscle to at least one threshold, wherein the at least one threshold is based on an amplitude of the EMG data recorded while the maternal patient was in labor. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0023]; [0024]. Same rationale as applied to claim 8.
Claim 16. Garfield discloses a method of monitoring a maternal patient after childbirth, the method comprising:
obtaining stimulation data from the maternal patient via a plurality of surface electrodes following childbirth by the maternal patient, wherein the plurality of surface electrodes are configured to be disposed on an abdomen of a maternal patient; [0007]; [0036]; [0040]; [0047]; [0048]
Garfield does not specifically teach the use of an EMG monitor, which is disclosed in Ben-David. Ben-David further discloses a plurality of surface electrodes configured to be disposed on an abdomen of a maternal patient. [0012]; [0023]; [0024]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Garfield to include the recited limitations, as disclosed in Ben-David, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson's-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Garfield, as modified by Ben-David, further teaches:
detecting that uterine shrinkage has not occurred in the maternal patient based on the EMG data; Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0023]; [0024]
controlling a stimulator to deliver a plurality of stimulation pulses via the plurality of surface electrodes, wherein the plurality of stimulation pulses are configured to stimulate a uterine muscle of the maternal patient to cause uterine shrinkage; Garfield, [0007]; [0036]; [0040]; [0047]; [0048]
reobtaining EMG data from the maternal patient via the plurality of surface electrodes; Ben-David, [0012], and
determining a response of the uterine muscle to the plurality of stimulation pulses based on the reobtained EMG data. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0023]; [0024]
Claim 17. The method of claim 16, further comprising comparing the response of the uterine muscle to at least one threshold to detect whether uterine shrinkage has occurred in the maternal patient; and continuing to deliver the plurality of stimulation pulses and determining a response of the uterine muscle until a threshold change in the EMG data is detected indicating that uterine shrinkage has occurred. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0023]; [0024]. Same rationale as applied to claim 16.
Claim 18. The method of claim 17, further comprising increasing at least one of an amplitude, a frequency, and a pulse width of the plurality of stimulation pulses until the threshold change in the EMG data is detected indicating that uterine shrinkage has occurred. Garfield, [0027]; [0035]-[0037]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]; [0023]; [0024]. Same rationale as applied to claim 16.
Claim 19. The method of claim 16, wherein detecting the uterine shrinkage in the maternal patient includes comparing the EMG data to at least one amplitude threshold. Garfield, [0027]; [0044]; Ben-David, [0012]. Same rationale as applied to claim 16.
Claim 20. The method of claim 19, further comprising determining the at least one amplitude threshold based on an amplitude of EMG data recorded from the maternal patient while the maternal patient was in labor. Ben-David, [0012]; [0015]. Same rationale as applied to claim 16.
Conclusion
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/IGOR N BORISSOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685 2/20/2026