Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/2/2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to a non-final office action mailed August 21, 2025. Claims 1, 11 and 20 were amended, claims 2-10 and 12-19 were left as previously presented. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and subject to the final office action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 22, 2025 concerning the previous rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 102/103 has been fully considered and moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan et al. referred herein as Balakrishnan (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0004903) in view of Stall (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0018206).
As to claims 1, 11 and 20, Balakrishnan teaches a method, system and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
detecting an event associated with an entity; (para 20)
mapping the event to a customer-defined workflow in a journey based on content of the event; (para 58-61)
generating a tacit workflow in the journey based on the mapping of the event, the tacit workflow including one or more steps configured based on a setting associated with the customer-defined workflow; (para 58-61)
processing, using a state machine associated with the journey, the tacit workflow in accordance with the one or more steps. (fig. 2 step 208-210)
Balakrishnan does not teach:
The tacit workflow running concurrently with the customer-defined workflow with the journey
However, Stall teaches:
The tacit workflow running concurrently with the customer-defined workflow with the journey (para 38 and 41)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to run concurrent workflows in Balakrishnan as taught by Stall. Motivation to so comes from the knowledge taught by Stall that doing so would insure that all tasks are being completed.
As to claims 2 and 12, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan further teaches:
wherein the customer-defined workflow runs concurrently with the tacit workflow, wherein the customer-defined workflow is configured by the entity, and wherein the tacit workflow is automatically generated based on the setting associated with the customer-defined workflow. (para 39 and 76)
As to claims 3 and 13, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan further teaches:
wherein the event comprises contextual data that can be referenced by one or more steps in the customer-defined workflow and by one or more steps in the tacit workflow. (para 102-103)
As to claims 4 and 14, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan further teaches:
determining that the content of the event satisfies a definition of the journey; (para 58-61 and 70)
in response to determining that the content of the event satisfies the definition of the journey, mapping the event to the customer-defined workflow in the journey. (para 58-61 and 70)
As to claims 5 and 15, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan further teaches:
identifying contextual data based on the event, the contextual data at least including an item identifier; (para 102-103)
generating the tacit workflow based on the item identifier included in the contextual data. (para 102-103)
Claims 6-10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan et al. referred herein as Balakrishnan (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0004903) in view of Stall (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0018206), further in view of Rodriguez et al. referred herein as Rodriguez (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0034999).
As to claim 6, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan does not teach:
determining that the event does not correspond to a rescheduling event;
in response to determining that the event is not the rescheduling event, generating the tacit workflow in the journey based on the mapping of the event.
However, Rodriguez teaches:
determining that the event does not correspond to a rescheduling event; (para 39-41)
in response to determining that the event is not the rescheduling event, generating the tacit workflow in the journey based on the mapping of the event. (para 39-41)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to determine scheduling/rescheduling events in a system in Balakrishnan in view of Stall as taught by Rodriguez. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Rodriguez that providing event management capabilities using a platform would allow the backend server to operate efficiently to provide user experience.
As to claim 7, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan and Stall do not teach:
wherein the tacit workflow comprises an exit workflow..
However, Rodriguez teaches:
wherein the tacit workflow comprises an exit workflow.. (para 39-41)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to determine scheduling/rescheduling events in a system in Balakrishnan in view of Stall as taught by Rodriguez. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Rodriguez that providing event management capabilities using a platform would allow the backend server to operate efficiently to provide user experience.
As to claims 8 and 17, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan and Stall do not teach:
wherein the event is a first event, and wherein the tacit workflow is a first tacit workflow, comprising: detecting a second event associated with the entity;
determining that the second event corresponds to a rescheduling event, the first event corresponding to an appointment booking event;
generating a second tacit workflow in the journey based on the mapping of the event, the second tacit workflow comprising a reset workflow that is configured based on the setting associated with the customer-defined workflow.
However, Rodriguez teaches:
wherein the event is a first event, and wherein the tacit workflow is a first tacit workflow, comprising: detecting a second event associated with the entity; (para 39-41)
determining that the second event corresponds to a rescheduling event, the first event corresponding to an appointment booking event; (para 39-41)
generating a second tacit workflow in the journey based on the mapping of the event, the second tacit workflow comprising a reset workflow that is configured based on the setting associated with the customer-defined workflow. (para 39-41)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to determine scheduling/rescheduling events in a system in Balakrishnan in view of Stall as taught by Rodriguez. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Rodriguez that providing event management capabilities using a platform would allow the backend server to operate efficiently to provide user experience.
As to claims 9 and 18, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claims 8 and 17 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan further teaches:
processing the first tacit workflow, the second tacit workflow, and the customer-defined workflow concurrently in the journey. (para 39 and 76)
As to claims 10 and 19, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claims 8 and 17 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan and Stall do not teach:
updating one or more steps in the customer-defined workflow based on the second event that corresponds to the rescheduling event.
However, Rodriguez teaches:
updating one or more steps in the customer-defined workflow based on the second event that corresponds to the rescheduling event. (para 39-41)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to determine scheduling/rescheduling events in a system in Balakrishnan in view of Stall as taught by Rodriguez. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Rodriguez that providing event management capabilities using a platform would allow the backend server to operate efficiently to provide user experience.
As to claim 16, Balakrishnan in view of Stall teach all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Balakrishnan and Stall do not teach:
determining that the event does not correspond to a rescheduling event;
in response to determining that the event is not the rescheduling event, generating the tacit workflow in the journey based on the mapping of the event, the tacit workflow comprising an exit workflow.
However, Rodriguez teaches:
determining that the event does not correspond to a rescheduling event; (para 39-41)
in response to determining that the event is not the rescheduling event, generating the tacit workflow in the journey based on the mapping of the event, the tacit workflow comprising an exit workflow; (para 39-41)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to determine scheduling/rescheduling events in a system in Balakrishnan in view of Stall as taught by Rodriguez. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge taught by Rodriguez that providing event management capabilities using a platform would allow the backend server to operate efficiently to provide user experience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEINA ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628