DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to amendment received May 4, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0148302.
As to claims 1, 13 and 20, Hayashi teaches a handheld remote control, system and method for a crane, comprising: a wireless transceiver configured to wirelessly communicate with a controller of the crane; a display screen; an input device positioned adjacent the display screen (see para. 32-33 and 43),
the input device configured to receive a user input; and processing circuitry, configured to: obtain the user input via the input device, the input being a command to initiate a movement a stabilizer of the crane (see para. 32-33, 43 and 49);
cause the stabilizer of the crane to deploy or retract to perform the movement while the user input is provided by continually operating the input device without requiring depression of another input device without requiring depression of a trigger of the handheld remote control (see para. 35, 49 and 52, each of the switches s1-s4 corresponds to a single outrigger. each switch can be operated to control the corresponding outrigger wherein the switch is a spring switch and the direction and velocity in which the user operates the switch also corresponds to the velocity and direction is which the outrigger moves in the forward or backward direction); and
cease operation of the stabilizer performing the movement responsive to release of the input device (see para. 32 and 49, the movement of the stabilizers stop if the user releases the trigger is released).
As to claim 2, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to use the user input to cause the stabilizer to deploy or retract to perform the movement without requiring operation of a trigger (see para. 32 and 49).
As to claims 3 and 14, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control of claims 1 and 13, wherein the display screen is configured to visually indicate an operation that is performed at the crane in response to the input device being operated by a user (see para. 32).
As to claims 4 and 17, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control of claims 1 and 13, wherein the input device is a variable functionality input device, the handheld remote control further comprising a fixed functionality input device operable to change a selected user interface for the display screen out of a plurality of different user interfaces (see para. 33, power switch and mode switch, para. 35-39, switches s1-s4 functionality changes based on the selected mode of the controller).
As to claims 5 and 18, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control of claims 1 and 13, wherein the input device is a first variable functionality input device and the handheld remote control further includes a second variable functionality input device, wherein providing a user input at the second variable functionality input device causes a corresponding function to be performed at the crane, wherein the corresponding function comprises any of a lighting function, a stabilizer deployment or retraction function, an engine function, a power take off (PTO) function, a compressor function, or a crane function (see para. 49 and 57-58).
As to claim 7, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain crane data from the crane through the wireless transceiver and operate the display screen to provide the crane data to a user (see para. 45-48).
As to claim 9, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control of claim 1, wherein the user input further comprises a command to activate or deactivate a power take off (PTO) of the crane, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to use the command to activate or deactivate the PTO of the crane to shut off or turn on the PTO of the crane (see para. 49 and 57-58).
As to claim 10, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control of claim 1, wherein the user input further comprises a command to adjust a speed of a compressor, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to use the command to adjust the speed of the compressor to operate the compressor to increase or decrease in speed according to the command (see para. 32).
As to claim 11, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control of claim 1, further comprising a first toggle switch and a second toggle switch, wherein the first toggle switch and the second toggle switch have fixed functionality that do not change as a screen displayed by the display screen is changed, and wherein the input device is a third toggle switch, the handheld remote further comprising a fourth toggle switch, a fifth toggle switch, and a sixth toggle switch, wherein the third toggle switch, the fourth toggle switch, the fifth toggle switch, and the sixth toggle switch have functionality that changes as the screen displayed by the display screen is changed (see para. 33, power switch and mode switch, para. 35-39, switches s1-s4 functionality changes based on the selected mode of the controller).
As to claim 12, Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control of claim 1, wherein the input device comprises a toggle switch or a joystick configured to be operated by a user’s finger (see para. 33 and 35-39).
As to claim 15, Hayashi teaches the control system of claim 13, wherein the controller is configured to transmit sensor data of an orientation of the crane to the remote control, wherein the display screen is configured to display the orientation of the crane to a user as the controller operates the plurality of stabilizers in response to operation of the variable functionality input device (see para. 51 and 56-59, fig. 9 and 10A-B).
As to claim 16, Hayashi teaches the control system of claim 13, wherein the user input is a command to automatically operate the plurality of stabilizers to achieve a target orientation of the crane, wherein the controller is configured to operate the plurality of stabilizers to achieve the target orientation and the display screen of the remote control is configured to display an orientation of the crane to a user as the controller operates the plurality of stabilizers (see para. 51 and 56-59, fig. 9 and 10A-B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi in view of Haug, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0211365.
As to claims 6 and 9, Hayashi teaches cause the stabilizer of the crane to deploy or retract to perform the movement while the user input is provided by continually operating the input device (see para. 49 and 57-58); and
cease operation of the stabilizer performing the movement responsive to release of the input device (see para. 32 and 49, the movement of the stabilizers stop if the user releases the trigger is released).
Hayashi does not explicitly teach wirelessly transmit a stop signal to the controller of the crane using the wireless transceiver in response to a stop button of the handheld remote control being pressed. However, Huag teaches a system and method comprising a remote controller of a crane comprising a stop button (see para. 8, 30 and 33). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling date of the application to install the stop button of Huag in Hayashi. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Huag that doing so would allow the crane controller to stop the crane in case of emergency and therefore prevent any injuries to workers on site.
4. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi in Huag, in view of Little and further in view of Holmes, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0227663.
As to claim 8, Hayashi in view of Huag, further in view of Little teach the handheld remote of Claim 1, wherein Hayashi teaches the handheld remote control comprises a handle, a panel upon which the input device and the display screen are disposed (see 3-5). Hayashi does not explicitly teaches that at least partially surrounds the panel. However, Holmes teaches a shroud that at least partially surrounds the panel (see fig. 1, para. 71 and 77). It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to install a shroud in Hayashi as taught by Holmes. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Holmes that doing so would provide protection to the screen of the device.
5. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that Hayashi teaches simultaneously operating two switches s2 and s3 to control the front right and left outrigger and therefore does not teach “cause the stabilizer of the crane to deploy or retract to perform the movement while the user input is provided by continually operating the input device without requiring depression of another input device without requiring depression of a trigger of the handheld remote control”.
In response, Hayashi states in para. 35: “Four lever switches S1 to S4 as selection sections each set the motion direction of each actuator to a forward direction or a backward direction when each switch is moved (tilted) from the neutral position to a first direction or a second direction. Each lever switch S1 (S2, S3, S4) is energized by a spring so as to return to the neutral position from the moved (tilted) position”
para. 52: “remote control apparatus 40 for the actuators of the mobile crane of the present embodiment includes an apparatus body having grip 41 to be gripped by a hand and operation surface 42 for operating the actuators; lever switches S1 to S4 as selection sections for selecting the actuators, the switches each being disposed on operation surface 42 and setting the motion direction of the selected actuator to be a forward direction or a backward direction according to a movement of the switch from a neutral position to a first direction or a second direction; and trigger 45 disposed near grip 41 and allowing the actuator selected by each of lever switches S1 to S4 to operate in a forward direction or a backward direction at a velocity corresponding to the operation amount.”. Even though Hayashi teaches the user may operate s2 and s3 simultaneously to simultaneously control two outriggers, operating s2 and s3 are not required to be operated at the same time to operate each outrigger separately. Hayashi explicitly teaches that each of the switches s1-s4 corresponds to a single outrigger. Hayashi also teaches that one switch can be operated to control the corresponding outrigger wherein the switch is a spring switch and the direction and velocity in which the user operates the switch also corresponds to the velocity and direction is which the outrigger moves in the forward or backward direction. Therefore, Hayashi teaches “cause the stabilizer of the crane to deploy or retract to perform the movement while the user input is provided by continually operating the input device without requiring depression of another input device without requiring depression of a trigger of the handheld remote control” as claimed.
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669