DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the target object [claims 3 & 14] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 8-9, the limitation “the target object” should be change to --a target object-- in order to avoid an insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 11, the limitation “a target metal segment” should be change to --the target metal segment-- in order to avoid a duplicant positive recitation for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: there is no structural connections in the claims between a first sensing channel and a second sensing channel in both claims 1 and 7. Since claims 2-6 depend from claim 1 and claims 8-12 depend from claim 7, they also are rejected for the above reason.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: there is no structural connections in the claim between the target object and a target metal segment with the rest of the limitations in the claim. Since claims 15-16 depend from claim 14, they also are rejected for the above reason.
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a)Regarding claims 1 and 7, the claims state: “A capacitor sensor comprising [including in claim 7]: a first sensing channel operating in a first operation mode to detect a first capacitance value… and a second sensing channel operating in a second operating mode to detect a second capacitance value…” It is not clear from the claim if the “capacitor sensor” operating both “operation mode” at the same time or if there is a switch like item between the sensing channels. It is not clear from the claim what item(s) is being used for the channels to receive the “capacitance value” from. It is not clear from the claim what happens to the “capacitance values” once it is detected by the sensing channels.
For examination purposes, the examiner is given the broadest reasonable interpretation as best understood. Since claims 2-6 depend from claim 1 and claims 8-12 depend from claim 7, they also are rejected for the above reason.
b)Regarding claim 14, the claim states: “…obtaining a first capacitance value detected by a first sensing channel operating in a first operation mode, the first operation mode including a capacitance detection mode in response to the first capacitance value satisfying a target threshold, determining that the target object is in contact with a target metal segment; and obtaining a second capacitance value in response to the target object being in contact with a target metal segment, the second capacitance value being detected by a second sensing channel of the capacitor sensor operating in a second operation mode…” It is not clear from the claim if the “capacitor sensor” operating both “operation mode” at the same time or if there is a switch like item between the sensing channels. It is not clear from the claim if there is “a first operation mode” occurring if the “capacitance value” does not “satisfying a target threshold”. It is not clear from the claim what happens to the “capacitance values” once it is detected by the sensing channels.
For examination purposes, the examiner is given the broadest reasonable interpretation as best understood. Since claims 15-16 depend from claim 14, they also are rejected for the above reason.
c)Regarding claims 15-16, the claims state: “target sensing value”. It is not clear from the claims how the target sensing value different from the capacitance value.
For examination purposes, the examiner is taking a position that “target sensing value” is referring to the “capacitance value” of claim 14 until further explanation is given by the applicants.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated, as best understood, by Frangen et al (DE 102014211822 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Frangen et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] a capacitor sensor (112) comprising: a first sensing channel (capacitive sensor element 106) operating in a first operation mode to detect a first target sensing capacitance value (first capacity 114), the first operation mode including a capacitance detection mode; and a second sensing channel (second capacitive sensor element 108) operating in a second operation mode to detect a second target sensing capacitance value (second capacity 118), the second operation mode including a capacitor calibration mode.
Regarding claim 7, Frangen et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] an electronic device (device 100) comprising a target metal segment (test device 104); and a capacitor sensor (112) connected to the target metal segment (104) and including: a first sensing channel (capacitive sensor element 106) operating in a first operation mode to detect a first target sensing capacitance value (first capacity 114), the first operation mode including a capacitance detection mode; and a second sensing channel (second capacitive sensor element 108) operating in a second operation mode to detect a second target sensing capacitance value (second capacity 118), the second operation mode including a capacitor calibration mode.
Regarding claim 8, Frangen et al disclose a processor (evaluation device 110) configured to, in response to the first capacitive sensing value (114) satisfying a target threshold, instruct the second sensing channel (108) of the capacitor sensor (112) to operate in the second operation mode.
Regarding claim 14, Frangen et al disclose a processing method comprising: obtaining a first capacitance value (first capacity 114) detected by a first sensing channel (capacitance sensing element 106) of a capacitor sensor (112) operating in a first operation mode, the first operation mode including a capacitance detection mode; in response to the first capacitance value (114) satisfying a target threshold, determining that the target object (hollow body 102) is in contact with the target metal segment (tester device 104); and obtaining a second capacitance value (second capacity 118) in response to the target object (102) being in contact with the target metal segment (104), the second capacitance value (114) being detected by a second sensing channel (capacitance sensing element 108) of the capacitor sensor (112) operating in a second operation mode, the second operation mode including a capacitor calibration mode.
Regarding claim 15, Frangen et al disclose wherein obtaining the first capacitance value (114) includes: obtaining [via sensing element 106] a plurality of first capacitance values (114), different first capacitance values (114) indicating.
Regarding claim 16, Frangen et al disclose wherein obtaining the second capacitance value (118) includes: obtaining [via sensing element 108] a plurality of first capacitance values (118).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 2 and 9, the reason for the allowance of the claims was given by the examiner in the Office Action mailed on April 9, 2026 .
Base on the amendment to the claims the following is being applied:
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858