DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-35 are pending in this application. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received 8/28/25 amending claim 1 and withdrawing claims 15-35.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims1-14) in the reply filed on 8/28/25 is acknowledged. Claims 15-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-14 are examined in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
There are no objections or rejections to the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a NOR memory string associated with a first conductor and a second conductor device”. It is unclear what is meant by associated with. One reasonable interpretation is that the NOR memory string is located on the first and second conductor device. Another reasonable interpretation is that the NOR memory string is electrically connected in some way to the first and second conductor device. The limitation does not have well defined boundaries. One of ordinary skill in the relevant art would not know what structures/steps are covered by the limitation. For these reasons, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 2-14 depend from rejected claim 1, include all limitations of claim 1 and therefore are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harari et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 2017/0092370) hereinafter referred to as Harari.
Insofar as definite, per Claim 1 Harari discloses a NOR memory string (see figure 3) associated with a first conductor (151b) and a second conductor (151n) device, comprising
first (222) and second (303) storage transistors sharing a common drain region (221) and a common source region (223), (as shown in figure 3)
the first conductor (151b) serving as gate electrode to the first storage transistor (222) and the second conductor (151n) serving as gate electrode to the second storage transistor (303),
each storage transistor having a channel region (described in [0014]) and a data storage layer provided between its gate electrode and its channel region, (described in [0014])
Harari does not teach
wherein at least one of the following conditions is true:
(i) the first conductor and the second conductor have different compositions,
(ii) the data storage layer of the first storage transistor and the data storage layer of the second storage transistor have different compositions, and
(iii) the data storage layer of the first storage transistor surrounds its gate electrode and the data storage layer of the second storage transistor does not surround its gate electrode
For the first condition, Harari is silent on the composition of materials used for the first and second conductors. Notwithstanding, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose materials of different compositions for the first and second conductors in order to take advantage of the commonly understood benefits, such as, compatibility of fabrication. Further it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for its intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Insofar as definite, per Claim 2 Harari discloses the device of claim 1 including where the first conductor (151b) is adjacent a portion of the data storage layer of the second storage transistor (303). (as shown in figure 3)
Insofar as definite, per Claim 3 Harari discloses the device of claim 1 including where the first conductor (151b) comprises a refractory metal. [0064]
Insofar as definite, per Claim 4 Harari discloses the device of claim 1 including where the first conductor comprises a material selected from a group consisting of titanium, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, tantalum, tungsten nitride, tungsten, cobalt, heavily-doped p* polysilicon, heavily-doped n* polysilicon, and silicides. [0064]
Insofar as definite, per Claim 5 Harari discloses the device of claim 1 including where (see figure 3) the data storage layer of the first storage transistor comprises an oxide-nitride-oxide triple-layer [0062].
Insofar as definite, per Claim 7 Harari discloses the device of claim 1 including where (see figure 3) the first and second storage transistors each comprise a thin-film transistor formed above a planar surface of a semiconductor substrate (Si substrate, thin film transistors both disclosed in [0006]).
Insofar as definite, per Claim 8 Harari discloses the device of claim 1 including where (see figure 3) the NOR memory string is one of a plurality of NOR memory strings formed in a 3-dimensional semiconductor structure. (described in [0008])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818