DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application JP 2023-109538 filed in Japan Patent Office (JPO) on 7/3/2023 and receipt of a certified copy thereof.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 6/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
FIG. 1B is objected to because the reference numerals “12A” is incorrectly applied, leading to inconsistency between the drawing and the specification. Specially, the label “12A” appears to identify a portion of the p-type semiconductor layer 15, rather than the hole portion 12A formed in the light emitting semiconductor layer 12.
The specification states that the light emitting semiconductor layer 12 has hole portions 12A leading to the n-type semiconductor layer 13 from the top surface of the p-type semiconductor layer 15. Accordingly, reference numerical “12A” should identify the hole portion extending through the p-type semiconductor layer 12 and the light emitting layer 14 toward the n-type semiconductor layer 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2021/0343904; hereinafter ‘Liu’) in view of Nobori et al. (JP 2008130721; hereinafter ‘Nobori’).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a semiconductor light emitting element (FIGS. 12A and 12B, [0092]) comprising:
a flat plate-shaped element substrate (10, [0094]) that has two main surfaces facing each other (10 has opposite upper and lower main surfaces, with the extended stacking layer 20 is formed on the upper main surface, FIG. 12A);
a light emitting semiconductor layer (20 including 21, 22, and 23, [0095]) configured to be formed on one main surface of the element substrate (20 is formed on the upper main surface of 10, FIG. 12A) and in which an n-type semiconductor layer (21), a light emitting layer (22 is an active region, [0095-0096]) and a p-type semiconductor layer (23) are laminated (21, 22, and 23 are sequentially stacked, [0021, 0095-0096]);
an n-electrode (61, [0127]) configured to be connected to the n-type semiconductor layer (61 is electrically connected to 21 through 611 extending through 51 and 41, FIG. 12A, [0110, 0123]) through at least one hole portion (51 for 611, [0118]) leading to the n-type semiconductor layer (21) and provided on the p-type semiconductor layer to be electrically separated from the p-type semiconductor layer (61 provided on 23 to be electrically separated from 23) by an insulating film (50, FIG. 12A, [0123]);
a first element electrode (81, [0127]) configured to be electrically connected to the n-electrode (81 is electrically connected to 61, [0127]) and provided to extend in a first direction (81 extends in the vertical direction, FIG. 12B); and
a second element electrode (82, [0127]) configured to be electrically connected to the p-type semiconductor layer (82 is electrically connected to 23 through 62, 52, and 40, [110, 0118, 0122-0123, 0127-0128]) and provided to extend in the first direction (82 extends in the vertical direction, FIG. 12B) while being spaced apart from the first element electrode (82 is spaced apart from 81, FIG. 12B).
Liu does not teach the semiconductor light emitting element comprising: a translucent element substrate, wherein a thickness of the element substrate is 100 μm or less.
Nobori teaches a semiconductor light emitting element (3, FIG. 6, [0045]) comprising: a translucent element substrate (the transparent substrate 31 is a light-transmissive element substrate, [0045]), wherein a thickness of the element substrate is 100 μm or less (31 has a thickness of 100 μm, [0048]).
Note: In view of paragraphs [0014]-[0016] of the instant specification, the term “translucent element substrate” is interpreted as an element substrate capable of transmitting light emitted from the light-emitting semiconductor layer therethrough (see Reusch et al. (US 2015/0034930), paragraph [0011], which similarly describes “translucent” in the light-emitting-device art as being transmissive to visible light and potentially transparent).
As taught by Nobori, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Liu to obtain and achieve the semiconductor light emitting element comprising: a translucent element substrate, wherein a thickness of the element substrate is 100 μm or less as claimed, because the translucent element substrate allows light emitted from the light-emitting layer to pass through the substrate and be emitted from the light-emitting surface [0045], while the selected thickness maintains sufficient substrate strength during manufacturing while ensuring sufficient translucency of the substrate [0048]. Further, it has been held that where the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Nobori in combination with Liu due to above reason.
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Nobori teaches the semiconductor light emitting element according to claim 1, but Liu does not teach the semiconductor light emitting element wherein the thickness of the element substrate is 40 μm or more.
Nobori teaches the semiconductor light emitting element wherein the thickness of the element substrate is 40 μm or more (31 has a thickness of 100 μm, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Nobori to obtain and achieve the semiconductor light emitting element wherein the thickness of the element substrate is 40 μm or more as claimed, because the selected thickness maintains sufficient substrate strength during manufacturing while ensuring sufficient translucency of the substrate [0048]. Further, it has been held that where the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Nobori teaches the semiconductor light emitting element according to claim 1, but Liu does not teach the semiconductor light emitting element wherein a thickness of the light emitting semiconductor layer is 3 to 5 μm.
Nobori teaches the semiconductor light emitting element wherein a thickness of the light emitting semiconductor layer is 3 to 5 μm (32 has a thickness of 5 μm, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Nobori to obtain and achieve the semiconductor light emitting element wherein a thickness of the light emitting semiconductor layer is 3 to 5 μm as claimed, because it has been held that where the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2021/0343904) in view of Nobori (JP 2008130721), and further in view of Miyachi et al. (US 2016/0087149; hereinafter ‘Miyachi’).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Nobori teaches the semiconductor light emitting element according to claim 1,
wherein the light emitting semiconductor layer has three or more hole portions (Liu: 20 has three or more a semiconductor bare portions 24, with corresponding the hole portion 51 being formed at 24, FIGS. 4A, 4B, 9A, and 9B, [0098]), and
a plurality of the hole portions (24) are arranged in a straight line (24 are arranged in a straight line, FIG. 4B).
Liu does not teach the semiconductor light emitting element comprising: the plurality of the hole portions are arranged at equal intervals.
Miyachi teaches a semiconductor light emitting element [0014] comprising: a plurality of the hole portions (via holes VH formed at the openings HL for corresponding n-side electrodes 13, FIGS. 1B, 1D, [0029, 0044]) are arranged at equal intervals (the corresponding n-side electrodes 13 are arranged vertically and horizontally at the same pitch, FIG. 4A, [0085]).
As taught by Miyachi, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Liu in view of Nobori to obtain and achieve the semiconductor light emitting element comprising: the plurality of the hole portions are arranged at equal intervals as claimed, because it reduces the resistance component, suppresses variations in brightness, and improves power conversion efficiency [0084-0087].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Miyachi in combination with Liu in view of Nobori due to above reason.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2021/0343904) in view of Nobori (JP 2008130721), and further in view of Akiyama et al. (JP 7185105; hereinafter ‘Akiyama’) and Chae et al. (US 2018/0175250; hereinafter ‘Chae’).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Nobori teaches a light emitting device (Liu: FIGS. 12A and 12B, [0092]) comprising: the semiconductor light emitting element according to claim 1; and
wherein the first element electrode and the second element electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (81 and 82 are spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction, FIG. 12B).
Liu in view of Nobori does not teach the light emitting device comprising a device substrate that includes a base body having two planes facing each other and configured to be formed in a flat plate shape, a first wiring electrode and a second wiring electrode configured to be provided on one plane, a first mounting electrode configured to be provided on the other plane and connected to the first wiring electrode by a first conduction via penetrating the base body, and a second mounting electrode configured to be provided on the other plane and connected to the second wiring electrode by a second conduction via penetrating the base body, in which the semiconductor light emitting element is bonded onto the first wiring electrode and the second wiring electrode through a bonding member and the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction.
Akiyama teaches a light emitting device (1, Figure 3, [0016-0017]) comprising; and
a device substrate (13, [0027]) that includes
a base body (30, [0027]) having two planes facing each other (30 has opposite upper and lower planes, with the light-emitting element 14 disposed over the upper plane, [0028]) and configured to be formed in a flat plate shape (30 has a rectangular planar shape, [0027]),
a first wiring electrode (32, [0027]) and a second wiring electrode (31, [0027]) configured to be provided on one plane (32 and 31 are provided on the upper plane),
a first mounting electrode (34, [0027]) configured to be provided on the other plane (34 is provided on the lower plane) and connected to the first wiring electrode (32) by a first conduction via (36, [0027]) penetrating the base body (30), and
a second mounting electrode (33, [0027]) configured to be provided on the other plane (33 is provided on the lower plane) and connected to the second wiring electrode (31) by a second conduction via (35, [0027]) penetrating the base body (30),
in which the semiconductor light emitting element (14) is bonded onto the first wiring electrode (32) and the second wiring electrode (31) through a bonding member (38 and 37, [0027]) and
the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other (34 and 33 are spaced apart from each other).
As taught by Akiyama, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Liu in view of Nobori to obtain and achieve the light emitting device comprising a device substrate that includes a base body having two planes facing each other and configured to be formed in a flat plate shape, a first wiring electrode and a second wiring electrode configured to be provided on one plane, a first mounting electrode configured to be provided on the other plane and connected to the first wiring electrode by a first conduction via penetrating the base body, and a second mounting electrode configured to be provided on the other plane and connected to the second wiring electrode by a second conduction via penetrating the base body, in which the semiconductor light emitting element is bonded onto the first wiring electrode and the second wiring electrode through a bonding member and the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other as claimed, because bonding the light-emitting element to the wiring layers of the device substrate provides a heat-transfer path through which heat generated by the light-emitting element is efficiently dissipated [0054-0055].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Akiyama in combination with Liu in view of Nobori due to above reason.
Liu in view of Nobori and Akiyama does not teach the light emitting device comprising: the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction.
Chae teaches a light emitting device (10, FIG. 1, [0041]) comprising: the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction (43a and 43b are spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, FIG. 8A, [0082, 0088]).
As taught by Chae, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Liu in view of Nobori and Akiyama to obtain and achieve the light emitting device comprising: the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction as claimed, because it redistributes the element electrodes into two spatially separated mounting electrode regions extending in an orthogonal direction, thereby facilitating alignment and solder bonding with corresponding pads of an external printed circuit board [0082, 0087-0088]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Chae in combination with Liu in view of Nobori and Akiyama due to above reason.
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae teaches the light emitting device according to claim 5, but Liu in view of Nobori and Akiyama does not teach the light emitting device wherein the first element electrode and the second element electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction from a midpoint of the device substrate, and the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction from the midpoint of the device substrate.
Chae teaches the light emitting device
wherein the first element electrode and the second element electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction from a midpoint of the device substrate (the first element electrode 29 and the second element electrode 35 of the light emitting element 100 mounted on the device substrate 51 are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the horizontal direction from the midpoint of 51, FIGS. 4A and 9A, [0041, 0054-0055, 0093]), and
the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction from the midpoint of the device substrate (43a and 43b are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction from the midpoint of 51, FIGS. 8A and 9A, [0082, 0087-0089, 0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Chae to obtain and achieve the light emitting device wherein the first element electrode and the second element electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the second direction from a midpoint of the device substrate, and the first mounting electrode and the second mounting electrode are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction from the midpoint of the device substrate as claimed, because using the midpoint of the device substrate as a common positional reference for arranging the respective electrode pairs in orthogonal directions facilitates consistent alignment of the mounting electrodes with corresponding pads of external printed circuit board while efficiently utilizing the available substrate area [0082, 0087-0089].
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae teaches the light emitting device according to claim 5, but Liu in view of Nobori does not teach the light emitting device wherein the first wiring electrode has a first element placing region on which the first element electrode is placed and a first land on which the first conduction via is disposed, the second wiring electrode has a second element placing region on which the second element electrode is placed and a second land on which the second conduction via is disposed, and the first land and the second land are each disposed to be spaced from the first element placing region and the second element placing region in the first direction.
Akiyama teaches the light emitting device (Figure 3, [0023])
wherein the first wiring electrode (32) has a first element placing region (a portion of 32 on 42; hereinafter ‘32-42’) on which the first element electrode (42) is placed and a first land (a portion of 32 on 36; hereinafter ‘32-36’) on which the first conduction via (36) is disposed,
the second wiring electrode (31) has a second element placing region (a portion of 31 on 41; hereinafter ‘31-41’) on which the second element electrode (41) is placed and a second land (a portion of 31 on 35; hereinafter ‘31-35’) on which the second conduction via (35) is disposed, and
the first land (32-36) and the second land (31-35) are each disposed to be spaced from the first element placing region (32-42) and the second element placing region (31-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Akiyama to obtain and achieve the light emitting device wherein the first wiring electrode has a first element placing region on which the first element electrode is placed and a first land on which the first conduction via is disposed, the second wiring electrode has a second element placing region on which the second element electrode is placed and a second land on which the second conduction via is disposed, and the first land and the second land are each disposed to be spaced from the first element placing region and the second element placing region as claimed, because it provides electrical connection between the element electrodes and the mounting electrodes through the internal electrodes while enabling accurate placement of the light-emitting element by self-alignment [0035-0036].
Liu in view of Nobori and Akiyama does not teach the light emitting device wherein the first land and the second land are each disposed in the first direction.
Chae teaches the light emitting device wherein the first land and the second land are each disposed in the first direction (the first element-electrode 29 and the second element-electrode 35 are arranged in a second direction, while the first mounting electrode 43a and the second mounting electrode 43b are spaced apart in a first direction perpendicular to the second direction, FIGS. 4A and 8A, [0082, 0087-0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device of Liu in view of Nobori and Akiyama by applying the electrode arrangement taught by Chae to obtain and achieve the light emitting device wherein the first land and the second land are each disposed in the first direction as claimed, because each land is connected through a corresponding conductive via to its corresponding mounting electrode, and this arrangement spatially separates the element-connection regions from the via-connection regions and facilitates electrical routing between the element electrodes and the corresponding mounting electrodes.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2021/0343904) in view of Nobori (JP 2008130721), Akiyama (JP 7185105) and Chae (US 2018/0175250), and further in view of Shinohara et al. (US 2013/0193478; hereinafter ‘Shinohara’).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae teaches the light emitting device according to claim 5, but Liu in view of Nobori and Chae does not teach the light emitting device wherein the base body of the device substrate is made of an aluminum nitride-based ceramic.
Akiyama teaches the light emitting device wherein the base body of the device substrate is made of an aluminum nitride-based ceramic (30 of 13 is formed of an aluminum nitride ceramic, [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Akiyama to obtain and achieve the light emitting device wherein the base body of the device substrate is made of an aluminum nitride-based ceramic as claimed, because aluminum nitride provides resistance to degradation by ultraviolet light and high thermal conductivity [0027].
Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae does not teach the light emitting device wherein the element substrate is made of a sapphire single crystal.
Shinohara teaches a light emitting device (1, FIG. 1, [0038]) wherein the element substrate is made of a sapphire single crystal (100 is a sapphire single crystal, [0044]).
As taught by Shinohara, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae to obtain and achieve the light emitting device wherein the element substrate is made of a sapphire single crystal as claimed, because the C-plane of the sapphire single crystal enables a semiconductor layer of good quality to be formed thereon [0044]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Shinohara in combination with Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae due to above reason.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2021/0343904) in view of Nobori (JP 2008130721), Akiyama (JP 7185105) and Chae (US 2018/0175250), and further in view of Sung et al. (US 2018/0182741; hereinafter ‘Sung’).
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae teaches the light emitting device according to claim 5, but does not teach the light emitting device wherein a thickness of the base body is 30 μm to 120 μm.
Sung teaches a light emitting device (FIG. 10, [0048]) wherein a thickness of the base body is 30 μm to 120 μm (a base substrate 301 has a thickness of 100 μm to 1 mm, [0057, 0116]).
As taught by Sung, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae to obtain and achieve the light emitting device wherein a thickness of the base body is 30 μm to 120 μm as claimed, because the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Sung in combination with Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae due to above reason.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2021/0343904) in view of Nobori (JP 2008130721), Akiyama (JP 7185105) and Chae (US 2018/0175250), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2012/0267654; hereinafter ‘Lee’).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae teaches a plurality of the light emitting devices according to claim 5, but does not teach a plurality of unit type light emitting device comprising: a plurality of light emitting devices, wherein the plurality of light emitting devices is disposed adjacent to each other and is electrically connected in series or in parallel to each other.
Lee teaches a plurality of unit type light emitting device (100, FIG. 4, [0099]) comprising: a plurality of light emitting devices (110, FIG. 2, [0047, 0099]),wherein the plurality of light emitting devices is disposed adjacent to each other (110 disposed adjacent to each other, FIGS. 1 and 4) and is electrically connected in series or in parallel to each other (110 within each group P1-P4 are electrically connected in series and that the groups P1-P4 are electrically connected in parallel to each other, FIGS. 1 and 4, [0039-0041]).
As taught by Lee, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae to obtain and achieve the plurality of unit type light emitting device comprising: a plurality of light emitting devices, wherein the plurality of light emitting devices is disposed adjacent to each other and is electrically connected in series or in parallel to each other as claimed, because the arrangement increases the overall light output and brightness [0007, 0039-0042].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lee in combination with Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, and Chae due to above reason.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2021/0343904) in view of Nobori (JP 2008130721), Akiyama (JP 7185105), Chae (US 2018/0175250) and Lee (US 2012/0267654), and further in view of Kyotaro et al. (JP 2020188183; hereinafter ‘Kyotaro’).
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, Chae, and Lee teaches the light emitting device according to claim 10, but does not teach the light emitting device further comprising: a phosphor plate configured to adhere onto a plurality of the semiconductor light emitting elements through an adhesive member, wherein the phosphor plate is formed integrally.
Kyotaro teaches a light emitting device (10, FIGS. 1-3, [0012]) further comprising:
a phosphor plate (40 composed of a phosphor plate, [0020]) configured to adhere onto a plurality of the semiconductor light emitting elements (20, [0012, 0014, 0018]) through an adhesive member (30, [0019]),
wherein the phosphor plate is formed integrally (40 is integrally formed to straddle between the adjacent 22 and is composed of an integrally formed phosphor plate, [0020, 0078]).
As taught by Kyotaro, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, Chae, and Lee to obtain and achieve the light emitting device further comprising: a phosphor plate configured to adhere onto a plurality of the semiconductor light emitting elements through an adhesive member, wherein the phosphor plate is formed integrally as claimed, because it enables the extraction of high-luminance light having a desired wavelength [0005, 0007, 0061-0064].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kyotaro in combination with Liu in view of Nobori, Akiyama, Chae, and Lee due to above reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Goshonoo (US 2023/0187429), Kono et al. (US 2023/0335696), Keller et al. (US 2012/0138996), and Yang et al. (US 2013/0020598) as a light emitting device with a semiconductor light emitting element and a device substrate.
/JIYOUNG OH/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 7/23/26