DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election
1. Applicant’s election of claims 1-13, without traverse, in the reply filed on May 28, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 1, 2024, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
4. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (CN 112700717 A).
Jin discloses a display panel, a first resin layer, a second resin layer, where the first and second resin layers have differing materials with differing modulus (paragraph 121) where Figure 1 shows the first resin layer is disposed to overlap a side surface of the display panel, the second resin layer is disposed to overlap a driving part of the display panel, as shown in Figure 1:
, as in claim 1.
Concerning claim 2, Jin discloses the first modulus may be in the range of from about 0.01MPa to about 10MPa (paragraph 121).
Concerning claim 3, Jin discloses the article can be cured (paragraph 100-121).
Concerning claim 4, Jin discloses acrylic resin in the resin layer (paragraph 100-121).
Concerning claim 5, Jin shows the display panel has a bending portion, where the resin layer overlaps the bending portion.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited display device further including a second resin layer including a conductive polymer resin. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited display device further including the second resin layer includes a polymer having an electrical conductivity of about 100 S/cm2 or more. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited display device further including where the second resin layer includes one or more of the compounds represented by Formulas 1 to 5. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited display device further including where the second resin layer includes a thermally conductive filler. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited display device further including a third resin layer disposed to overlap the display panel.
The prior art does not teach motivation or suggestion for modification to make the invention as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781