DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 10 states: “…form an the interdigitated structure…” Line 9 should state: “…form an interdigitated structure…”. Appropriate correction is required. Line 11 states: “…each of second middle conductive structure…” Line 11 should state: “…the second middle conductive structure…”
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3, Line 4, and Line 5 state: “multiple fourth tooth parts”. Line 3, Line 4, and Line 5 should state: “the multiple fourth tooth parts”.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states: “…wherein two ends the middle strip-shaped connecting part…” Line 1 should state: “…wherein two ends of the middle strip-shaped connecting part…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 and its depending claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Lines 2-3 introduce “at least one first middle conductive structure” and “at least one second middle conductive structure”. However, Line 7 refers to multiple first middle conductive structures. The claim will be examined as “each of the at least one first middle conductive structures…” Similarly, Line 11 will be examined as “each of the at least one second middle conductive structures…”
Claim 11 and its depending claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Line 2 introduces “multiple fourth comb tooth patterns”. However, “the multiple fourth comb tooth patterns” has been introduced in claim 10. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the third tooth parts" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first top connecting part" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the third tooth parts" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first top connecting part" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Booth, Jr. et al. (US Publication 2011/0049674 – hereinafter referred to as Booth).
Figure 2 of Booth with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 2EC)
In re claim 1, Booth discloses a capacitor comprising:
(a) a bottom conductive structure (310’ of L4 – Figure 5, ¶73-74, ¶78; Note that Booth describes multiple stacked interdigitated structures of Figure 5. Figure 2EC shows L1, L2, L3, L4 structures. 310’ of the bottommost interdigitated structure L4 or the second bottommost interdigitated structure L3 can be considered the bottom conductive structure.);
(b) at least one middle conductive structure (310’, 320’ – Figure 5, ¶73-¶74, ¶78; Note that Booth describes multiple stacked interdigitated structures of Figure 5. Figure 2EC shows L1, L2, L3, L4 structures. Any middle interdigitated structure chosen from L2 and L3 can be considered middle conductive structure.), each middle conductive structure having a first conductive pattern (320’ – Figure 5) and a second conductive pattern (310’ – Figure 5) surrounding an outer side of the first conductive pattern (Figure 5), wherein the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern of each layer of the middle conductive structure form an interdigitated structure (Figure 5);
(c) a top conductive structure (310’, 320’ – Figure 5, ¶73-¶74, ¶78; Note that Booth describes multiple stacked interdigitated structures of Figure 5. Figure 2EC shows L1, L2, L3, L4 structures. The topmost conductive structure L1 can be considered the top conductive structure.), comprising a third conductive pattern (320’ – Figure 5) and a fourth conductive pattern (310’ – Figure 5) arranged at an outer side of the third conductive pattern, wherein the third conductive pattern and the fourth conductive pattern form an interdigitated structure (Figure 5); and
(d) wherein the bottom conductive structure (310’ of L4 – Figure 2, Figure 5), at least one middle conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 2EC, Figure 5), and the top conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L1 – Figure 2EC, Figure 5) are sequentially stacked along a first direction (Figure 2, ¶78), adjacent conductive structures at least partially overlap in the stacking direction (¶78-80), all of the first conductive patterns (320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2 EC) and the third conductive patterns (320’ of L1 – Figure 5, Figure 2 EC) are electrically connected to each other as a first capacitive pole, and the bottom conductive structure (310’ of L4 – Figure 5, Figure 2 EC), all of the second conductive patterns (310’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2 EC) and the fourth conductive pattern (310’ of L1 – Figure 5, Figure 2 EC) are electrically connected to each other as a second capacitive pole (¶78).
In re claim 2, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein the first conductive pattern (320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) comprises a first comb tooth pattern (60 – Figure 5, ¶78), the second conductive pattern (310’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) comprises a second comb tooth pattern (50 – Figure 5, ¶78), the third conductive pattern (320’ of L1 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) comprises a third comb tooth pattern (60 – Figure 5), the fourth conductive pattern (310’ of L1 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) comprises a fourth comb tooth pattern (50 – Figure 5), and the third comb tooth pattern and the fourth comb tooth pattern are interdigitated to each other (Figure 5).
In re claim 4, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 2, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein:
a) the middle conductive structure comprises at least one second middle conductive
structure (310’, 320’ of L2,L3– Figure 5, Figure 2EC), wherein the second middle conductive structure are stacked when an amount of the second middle conductive structure is greater than one (Figure 2EC);
b) each of second middle conductive structure comprises the first conductive pattern (320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) and the second conductive pattern (310’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2) surrounding the outer side of the first conductive pattern (320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC), the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern of each layer of the second middle conductive structure form the interdigitated structure (Figure 5); and
c) a number of teeth in the first comb tooth pattern (60 and the middle parallel stem of 320’ – Figure 5) of the first conductive pattern (320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) is greater than a number of teeth (50 – Figure 5) in the second comb tooth pattern of the second conductive pattern (310’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC).
In re claim 5, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 2, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein:
a) the middle conductive structure comprises at least one first middle conductive
structure and at least one second middle conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC);
b) the second middle conductive structure and the first middle conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) are alternately stacked between the bottom conductive structure (310’ of L4 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) and the top conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L1 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC);
c) each of the at least one first middle conductive structures comprise the first conductive pattern (320’ of L2 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) and the second conductive pattern (310’ of L2 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) surrounding the outer side of the first conductive pattern (Figure 5), and the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern of each layer of the middle conductive structure form an interdigitated structure (Figure 5); and
d) each of the at least one second middle conductive structures comprise the first conductive pattern (320’ of L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) and the second conductive pattern (310’ of L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) surrounding the outer side of the first conductive pattern, and the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern of each layer of the second middle conductive structure form the interdigitated structure (Figure 5).
In re claim 6, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 5, as explained above. Booth further discloses:
a) the first conductive pattern (320’ of L2, L3 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) comprises the first comb tooth pattern (See Figure 4), and the second conductive pattern (310’ of L2,L3 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) comprises the second comb tooth pattern (See Figure 4);
b) the projections of the first comb tooth pattern (60 of 320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) and the second comb tooth pattern (50 of 310’ of L2,L3 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) of the adjacent middle conductive structures overlap in the first direction (Figure 4, Figure 2EC) (¶71);
c) the third conductive pattern comprises third comb tooth pattern (320’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) and the fourth conductive pattern comprises fourth comb tooth pattern (310’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC);
d) the projections of the third comb tooth pattern (60 of 320’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) and the adjacent second comb tooth pattern (50 of 310’ of L2,L3 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) partially overlap in the first direction (¶67, ¶71; Note that the interdigitated structure is rotated 90 degrees in the adjacent plane. Therefore, the projections of the third comb tooth pattern overlap the projections of the adjacent second comb tooth pattern.); and
e) the projections of the fourth comb tooth pattern (60 of 310’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) and adjacent first comb tooth pattern (50 of 320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) partially overlap in the first direction, wherein the first direction is the stacking direction of the capacitor (¶67, ¶71; Note that the interdigitated structure is rotated 90 degrees in the adjacent plane. Therefore, the projections of the third comb tooth pattern overlap the projections of the adjacent second comb tooth pattern.).
In re claim 7, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 5, as explained above. Booth further discloses:
a) the first middle conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L2 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) is adjacent to the top conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC); and
b) the projections of the first comb tooth pattern of the first middle conductive structure (60 of 320’ of L2 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) and the fourth comb tooth pattern (50 of 310’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) partially overlap in the first direction, and the projections of the second comb tooth pattern of the first middle conductive structure (50 of 310’ of L2 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) and the third comb tooth pattern (60 of 320’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) partially overlap in the first direction (¶67, ¶71; Note that the interdigitated structure is rotated 90 degrees in the adjacent plane. Therefore, the projections of the third comb tooth pattern overlap the projections of the adjacent second comb tooth pattern.).
In re claim 8, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein the third conductive pattern and the fourth conductive pattern (310’, 320’ of L1 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) form a sidewall capacitor structure (Figure 5, ¶71), and the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern (310’, 320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) in the same layer form a sidewall capacitor structure (Figure 5, ¶71).
In re claim 9, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 5, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein the third conductive pattern (320’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) and adjacent second conductive pattern (310’ of L2 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) form a plate capacitor structure (¶67; Note that the rotation of the interdigitated structure creates a plate capacitor between adjacent layers.), the fourth conductive pattern (310’ of L1 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) and adjacent first conductive pattern (320’ of L2 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) form a plate capacitor structure (¶67; Note that the rotation of the interdigitated structure creates a plate capacitor between adjacent layers.), and the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern in adjacent two layers [(310’, 320’ of L2 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC), (310’, 320’ of L3 – Figure 4, Figure 2EC) form a plate capacitor structure (¶67; Note that the rotation of the interdigitated structure creates a plate capacitor between adjacent layers.).
Figure 5 of Booth with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 5EC)
In re claim10, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 5, as explained above. Booth further discloses:
a) the third conductive pattern (320’ of L1 – Figure 5EC, Figure 2EC) further comprises a first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC) arranged along a second direction (Figure 5EC), the third comb tooth pattern comprises multiple third tooth parts (TTP – Figure 5EC) arranged parallel along the third direction (Figure 5EC), the multiple third tooth parts are connected to the first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC), and the multiple third tooth parts are configured to extend along a direction away from the first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC);
b) the fourth conductive pattern (310’ of L1 – Figure 5EC, Figure 2EC) comprises multiple fourth comb tooth patterns (Figure 5EC), wherein the fourth comb tooth pattern comprises a second top connecting part (STC – Figure 5EC) arranged along the second direction and multiple fourth tooth parts (FTP – Figure 5EC) arranged parallel along the third direction, multiple fourth tooth parts are connected to the side edge of the second top connecting part (STC – Figure 5EC), and multiple fourth tooth parts (FTP – Figure 5EC)are configured to extend along the direction from the second top connecting part (STC – Figure 5EC) to the first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC); and
c) the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction, and the third direction is
perpendicular to both the first direction and second direction (Figure 5EC, Figure 2EC).
In re claim 11, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein:
a) multiple fourth comb tooth patterns (patterns of FTP – Figure 5EC) are symmetrically arranged on both sides of the first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC) , and the second top connecting part (STC – Figure 5EC) is parallel to the first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC);
b) a first interval is arranged between the adjacent second top connecting part (STC – Figure 5EC) located on the same side of the first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC), and the third tooth parts (TTP – Figure 5EC) extend to the first interval in the third direction (Figure 5EC); and
c) the fourth tooth parts (FTP – Figure 5EC) located on both sides of the first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC) extend towards the first top connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC), second intervals are arranged between the opposite fourth tooth parts located on both sides of the first top connecting part (FTP above and below FTC – Figure 5EC), and the first top connecting part passes through each of the second intervals (Figure 5EC).
In re claim 12, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 6, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein:
a) the first conductive pattern (320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5EC, Figure 2EC) is configured as fishbone shaped, comprising a middle strip-shaped connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC) arranged along the second direction (Figure 5EC);
b) the first comb tooth pattern comprises multiple first tooth parts (TTP – Figure 5EC) arranged in parallel along the third direction (Figure 5EC);
c) multiple first tooth parts (TTP – Figure 5EC) are connected to the middle strip-shaped connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC), and multiple first tooth parts (TTP – Figure 5EC) extend along direction away from the middle strip-shaped connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC);
d) the second conductive pattern comprises an edge annular connecting part (310’ – Figure 5EC), and the second comb tooth pattern comprises multiple second tooth parts (FTP – Figure 5EC) arranged in parallel along the third direction (Figure 5EC); and
e) multiple second tooth parts (FTP – Figure 5EC) are connected to side edges of the edge annular connecting part (310’ – Figure 5EC) extending along the second direction, and multiple second tooth parts extend along the direction from the edge annular connecting part (310’ – Figure 5EC) to the middle strip-shaped connecting part (FTC – Figure 5EC).
Figure 5 of Booth with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 5EC2)
In re claim 15, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein:
a) the middle conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5EC2, Figure 2EC) comprises multiple first conductive patterns (320’ within R1, 320’ within R2 – Figure 5EC2) and second conductive patterns (320’ within R1, 320’ within R2– Figure 5EC2) arranged in an array (Figure 5EC2);
b) the top conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L1 – Figure 5EC2, Figure 2EC) comprises multiple third conductive patterns (320’ within R1, 320’ within R2 – Figure 5EC2) and fourth conductive patterns (310’ within R1, 310’ within R2 – Figure 5EC2) arranged in an array (Figure 5EC2); and
c) multiple first conductive patterns, second conductive patterns, third conductive
patterns, and fourth conductive patterns arranged in a one-to-one correspondence (Figure 5EC2, Figure 2EC).
In re claim 16, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein the bottom conductive structure (310’ of L4 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC), at least one middle conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L2,L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC), and the top conductive structure (310’, 320’ of L1 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) are connected through conductive via (312, 322 – Figure 5, ¶53).
In re claim 17, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein the second capacitive pole is led out through the bottom conductive structure (310’ of L4 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC), and the first capacitive pole is led out through the third conductive pattern (320’ of L1 – Figure 5EC, Figure 2EC) of the top conductive structure (Figure 5EC, Figure 2EC; Note that the polarity of the two plates are different from one another. Further note that the charge travels throughout the entire electrode and the vias connecting interdigitated metal electrode layers.).
In re claim 18, Booth discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Booth further discloses wherein the bottom conductive structure (310’ of L3 – Figure 5, Figure 2EC) is arranged at the second metal layer of the device or at any layer larger than the second metal layer to reduce parasitic capacitance (Figure 2EC; Note that the metal layer coinciding with L3 is considered the bottom conductive structure here.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) a number of teeth in the first comb tooth pattern of the first conductive pattern is less than a number of teeth in the second comb tooth pattern of the second conductive pattern.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (US Publication 2005/0077581) Figure 1, Figure, Figure 3
Huang et al. (US Patent 7,485,914) Figure 5
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848