DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 7/1/24.
Inventorship
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 18, it appears that “a braking resistance assembly in series with the pre-charge circuit” should be “the braking resistance assembly in series with the pre-charge circuit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geis et al. (US20040080165, hereinafter Geis).
Regarding Claim 1, Geis discloses (interpreted as fig. 3 and fig. 4 in view of common elements of fig. 3) system comprising: a direct current (DC) bus ((for fig. 3, at output of rectifier 47; for fig. 4 bus across 104 and 106); a converter (fig. 3: 47), fig. 4: 6 switches of 101/106) connected to the DC bus; a capacitive network (84) electrically connected to the DC bus; and an energy management apparatus (73, 77, 87, 84, 85, 70) configured to pre-charge the capacitive network in a pre-charge mode and to dissipate energy from the DC bus in a braking mode (¶38), the energy management apparatus comprising: a pre-charge circuit (87, 85) configured to pre-charge the capacitive network, the pre-charge circuit comprising: one or more pre-charge switches (85), each pre-charge switch being a controllable semiconductor switch; and a pre-charge impedance (89) in parallel with the one or more pre-charge switches (85); and a braking resistance assembly (73) electrically connected to the pre-charge circuit, wherein the braking resistance assembly is configured to be electrically connected to the DC bus during the braking mode (see fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Geis discloses the converter is an active front end (fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Geis discloses the converter is a diode front end (47, (fig. 3)).
Regarding Claim 6, Geis discloses (fig. 3) the braking resistance assembly comprises at least one braking switch (75) controllable to electrically connect a braking resistance (74) to the DC bus during the braking mode (¶38).
Regarding Claim 7, Geis discloses (fig. 3) the at least one braking switch is configured to be turned on and off during the braking mode (¶38 and 49).
Regarding Claim 8, Geis discloses (fig. 4 in view of same elements of 3) a system comprising: a direct current (DC) bus (at output of rectifier 47) comprising a first side (+) and a second side (-); an active front end (104/106) electrically connected to the DC bus, the active front end comprising a plurality of controllable semiconductor switches (104/106); a capacitive network (84) electrically connected to the DC bus; and a pre-charge circuit (77, 87, 85) configured to pre-charge the capacitive network, the pre-charge circuit comprising: one or more pre-charge switches (78, 79), each pre-charge switch being a controllable semiconductor switch; and a pre-charge impedance (89) .
Regarding Claim 18, Geis discloses (fig. 3) the braking resistance assembly (73) in series with the pre-charge circuit (87, 85).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
Claims 4, 5 and 9-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the converter comprises a plurality of semiconductor switches each comprising a body diode; each of the one or more pre-charge switches comprises a body diode; and the pre-charge circuit is electrically connected to the capacitive network such that a polarity of the body diode of each of the one or more pre-charge switches is opposite a polarity of the body diode of at least some of the semiconductor switches of the converter.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the one or more pre-charge switches are inversely connected to at least some of the plurality of controllable semiconductor switches” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art fails to disclose: “...an impedance in parallel with the controllable semiconductor switch, wherein the controllable semiconductor switch is associated with a parasitic diode having a first polarity, and the circuit is configured for electrical connection to a direct current (DC) bus of a converter, wherein the circuit is configured for electrical connection to the DC bus with the first polarity being opposite a polarity of a parasitic diode of semiconductor switches of the converter.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838