DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irwin [4000779], further in view of Rios [20070169498].
With respect to claim 1, Irwin discloses: A system for use in a ventilation cabinet about a furnace, the system comprising: a heat exchanger coil (A, 32) configured to received air from the furnace (10) [see FIG 1, col 2, line 41-53]; a drip pan (48) disposed below the heat exchanger coil and configured to catch condensed water from the heat exchanger coil [col 3, line 28-33]; and a heat shield (72) configured to be inserted between the drip pan and the furnace [col 5, line 25-33].
Irwin, however, does not disclose the material of the heat shield.
Rios makes up for these deficiencies by teaching: a heat exchanger coil (6) for use in a furnace [paragraph 0005] having a drip pan (58) and
{cl. 1, cont’d} a heat shield (58) comprising a unitary sheet metal body [see FIG 1B, paragraph 0081].
Rios further teaches:
{cl. 2} The system of claim 1, wherein the heat shield has a top surface, a bottom surface, an airflow hole (88), a rear edge, a right side edge, a left side edge opposite to the right side edge, and a normal break opposite to the rear edge, wherein the airflow hole is located in the unitary sheet metal body to enable air to flow from the furnace to the heat exchanger coil when the unitary sheet metal body is inserted between the drip pan and the furnace, wherein the top surface is configured to cover the drip pan when the unitary sheet metal body is inserted between the drip pan and the furnace, and wherein the right side edge and the left side edge are configured to slide between the drip pan and the furnace when the unitary sheet metal body is being inserted between the drip pan and the furnace [see FIGs 1B, 7A, paragraph 0052].
With respect to claim 7, Irwin discloses: A heat shield for use with a furnace (10) and a heat exchanger coil (A, 32) unit having a drip pan (48), the heat shield comprising: a body configured to be inserted between the drip pan and the furnace, wherein the heat shield (72) is spaced apart from the drip pan [see FIG 1, col 2, line 41-53, col 3, line 28-33, col 5, line 25-33].
Irwin, however, does not disclose the material of the heat shield.
Rios makes up for these deficiencies by teaching: a heat exchanger coil (6) for use in a furnace [paragraph 0005] having a drip pan (58) and
{cl. 7, cont’d} the heat shield (58) comprising: a unitary sheet metal body [see FIG 1B, paragraph 0081].
Rios further teaches:
{cl. 8} The heat shield of claim 7, wherein the unitary sheet has a top surface, a bottom surface, an airflow hole (88), a rear edge, a right side edge, a left side edge opposite to the right side edge, and a normal break opposite to the rear edge, wherein the airflow hole is located in the unitary sheet metal body so as to enable air to flow from the furnace to the heat exchanger coil when the unitary sheet metal body is inserted between the drip pan and the furnace, wherein the top surface is configured to cover the drip pan when the unitary sheet metal body is inserted between the drip pan and the furnace, and wherein the right side edge and the left side edge are configured to slide between the drip pan and the furnace when the unitary sheet metal body is being inserted between the drip pan and the furnace [see FIGs 1B, 7A, paragraph 0052].
With respect to claim 13, Irwin discloses: A method of replacing a heat shield in a system for use in a ventilation cabinet about a furnace, the method comprising: opening an access panel on the ventilation cabinet housing a heat exchanger coil (A, 32) disposed above the furnace (10) and being configured to received air from the furnace [see FIG 1, col 2, line 41-53]; removing a first heat shield (72) from the ventilation cabinet (20); and inserting a second heat shield (72) into the ventilation cabinet, wherein a drip pan (58) is disposed below the heat exchanger coil to catch condensed water from the heat exchanger coil [col 3, line 28-33]; and wherein the first heat shield comprises body configured to be disposed between the drip pan and the furnace [col 5, line 25-33].
Irwin, however, does not disclose the material of the heat shield.
Rios makes up for these deficiencies by teaching: a heat exchanger coil (6) for use in a furnace [paragraph 0005] having a drip pan (58) and
{cl. 13, cont’d} wherein the first heat shield (58) comprises a unitary sheet metal body configured to be disposed between the drip pan and the furnace [see FIG 1B, paragraph 0081].
Rios further teaches:
{cl. 14} The method of claim 13, wherein the first heat shield a top surface, a bottom surface, an airflow hole (88), a rear edge, a right side edge, a left side edge opposite to the right side edge, and a normal break opposite to the rear edge, wherein the airflow hole is located in the unitary sheet metal body so as to enable air to flow from the furnace to the heat exchanger coil when the unitary sheet metal body is disposed between the drip pan and the furnace, wherein the top surface is configured to cover the drip pan when the unitary sheet metal body is disposed between the drip pan and the furnace, and wherein the right side edge and the left side edge are configured to slide between the drip pan and the furnace when the unitary sheet metal body is being removed from between the drip pan and the furnace [see FIGs 1B, 7A, paragraph 0052].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Irwin with the teachings of Rios because Rios provides a known material for use as a heat shield that is easily formed and constructed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 9-12, 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The details of the claims would not have been met by the prior art applied, and impermissible hindsight reasoning is required to arrive at the design of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
9/26/2026