DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims benefit of 63/534,259 filed 08/23/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/1/2024. These drawings are found acceptable by the Examiner
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(a) The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code at paragraph [0092]; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
(b) The use of the term “BeadChip” at [0019] and [00148], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen et al (WO 2013053382, May 2013).
The claims are directed to a flow cell, biopolymeric assay and nucleic acid detection method, comprising a support layer of low-background material; a film of anodized metal oxide (AMO) material adhered to the support layer; and a substrate surface comprising one or more patterns imparted in the AMO material, each pattern of the one or more patterns comprising an array of nanowell features surrounded by interstitial regions of featureless AMO film, wherein an interior volume of each nanowell feature has an average depth at least equal to a thickness of an interstitial region surrounding each respective feature, each nanowell feature further comprising an opening formed in the AMO material, and a base comprising an exposed surface of low-background material of the support layer, wherein the exposed surface of low-background material is functionalized as a solid support for detection of a biological sample.
Regarding the claims 1-21, Bowen et al teach the following: [0062] The present disclosure provides improved techniques for making and utilizing microarrays. The techniques may draw upon a range of different technologies for creating a prepared microarray ready to receive molecules of interest for analysis. The microarrays offered are particularly suited for capturing one or more molecules of interest at each site, and these molecules may be subsequently amplified to provide a generally uniform probe of the same molecule at the individual sites. The techniques may be used for microarray analysis and/or sequencing, such as sequencing of DNA and RNA (including cDNA. In certain embodiments, the techniques may be used with a variety of sequencing approaches or technologies, including techniques often referred to as sequencing-by-synthesis (SBS), sequencing by-ligation, pyrosequencing and so forth. [0063] Turning now to the drawings, and referring first to FIG. 1, an exemplary microarray 10 is illustrated for detecting and analyzing molecules of interest. In general, the microarray comprises a substrate 12 and sections 14 separated by open areas. The sections 14 may each comprise regions 16, which may generally form lines across the substrate. Each of these regions, in turn, comprises multiple domains 18, each separated from one another by open areas 20. Finally, the domains 18 11 comprise multiple individual sites 22 where the molecules of interest will be deposited and attached for analysis. As noted below, many different layouts of the sites may be envisaged, including regular, repeating, and non-regular patterns. In a presently contemplated embodiment, for example, the sites are disposed in a hexagonal grid for close packing and improved density. The microarray illustrated and discussed in the present disclosure will typically be disposed in or formed as a part of a flow cell in which various carrier fluids, reagents, and so forth may be introduced. Moreover, the particular orientation of the features, sites, sections, domains and so forth may differ from those illustrated in FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the sections 14, regions 16, domains 18 and/or sites 22 are contiguous and thus need not be separated by open areas [0063]. The resulting system may be designed for synthesizing one or more of the above biopolymers or sequencing such biopolymers. It should be borne in mind that the present techniques although useful for sequencing operations, gene expression operations, diagnostic applications, diagnostic applications, or any one of these, are not necessarily limited to those uses. For example, the methods and compositions set forth herein may be used for manufacturing, preparing, imaging, and analyzing collected image data for any desired application [0064]. The disclosed embodiments may be used with any known combinatorial chemistry or biochemistry assay process, and are especially adaptable to assays having solid phase immobilization, including massively parallel sequencing assay [0065]. The analyte of interest may be labeled, detected or identified with any technique capable of being used in an assay with arrays, including but not limited to fluorescent, luminescent, phosphorescent, quantum dot, light scattering colloidal particles, radioactive isotopes, mass spectroscopy, NMR (nuclear magnetic resonance), EPR (electro paramagnetic resonance), ESR (electron spin resonance), IR (infrared), FTIR (Fourier transform infra-red), Raman spectroscopy, or other magnetic, vibrational, electromagnetic, electrical, pH, chemical or optical labeling or detection techniques. Optical or non-optical detection techniques and optionally optical or non-optical labels can be used in a method or composition set forth herein. The invention provides array surfaces having the disclosed coatings and/or features. [0066] In the illustrated embodiment, however, exemplary biological molecules might include, but are not limited to, any of a variety of molecules that have a biological activity or are reactive with biological systems. Examples include nucleic acids, such as DNA, RNA or analogs of DNA or RNA [0065] – [0066].
The microarrays may be formed from a blank 24 during a substrate preparation phase 26. The blank may be made of any suitable material, such as glass. Other suitable substrate materials may include polymeric materials, plastics, silicon, quartz (fused silica), borofloat glass, sapphire, plastic materials such as COCs and epoxies. The surface preparation phase 26 may include processes that predispose the blank 24 for efficient downstream processes such as site formation, site preparation, and molecule capture and preparation. The blank 24 is cut or sliced into substrate dies 28 which may generally have the form of the microarray. This initial substrate preparation phase is then followed by a site formation phase 30 in which the individual sites 32 are formed on the substrate [0070]. The site pads may be made of any suitable material, such as gold or another metal. Other suitable material may include silanes, functional biomolecules such as avidin or functionalized organic or inorganic molecules, titanium, nickel, and copper. Alternatively, the site pads may be created by simply blocking the interstitial space with a resist or chemical moiety that resists attachment of a binding moiety leaving the site pad composed of native substrate material (i.e. glass, etc). The site pads can then be derivatized with binding moieties that react specifically with the substrate material (i.e. glass, etc.) and not interstitial space. It should be noted that the array of base pads could be an array of nanodots or nanoparticles [0070].
At paragraphs [0080] – [0083], Bowen teaches the following: [0080] As illustrated in FIG. 10, then, in a presently contemplated embodiment a charged layer 72 may be disposed over the pads and capture substance. In this embodiment, if used, the charged layer comprises aminopropyltriethoxysilane (APTES). This charged layer may promote the attachment of the molecules at each site, while preventing attachment where not desired. As illustrated in FIG. 11, an attachment layer 74 is disposed over at least the pads 68, and in the illustrated embodiment may be disposed over the entire substrate. In other embodiments, the attachment layer may be patterned such that it is present over the pads or sites but substantially absent over interstitial regions between the pads or sites. [0081] An attachment layer used in a method or composition herein may be formed of a micro-porous material, such as silane-free acrylamide (SFA). Silane-free acrylamide (SFA) polymer may be formed by polymerization of silane free acrylamide and N-(S bromoacetamidylpentyl) acrylamide (BRAPA). Other attachment layers that may be used include without limitation, acrylamide, methacrylamide, hydroxyethyl methacrylate, N-vinyl pyrolidinone or derivatives thereof. Such materials are useful for preparing hydrogels. In some embodiments, the polymerizable material can include two or more different species of compound that form a co-polymer. Exemplary hydrogels and polymerizable materials that may be used to form hydrogels are described, for example, in US Pat. Pub. No. 2011/0059865 Al, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety. Other hydrogels include but are not limited to, polyacrylamide polymers formed from acrylamide and an acrylic acid or an acrylic acid containing a vinyl group. The attachment layer can function to attach the molecules and/or it can provide locations for attachment of identical molecules (i.e. copies of the molecules) at each site during amplification. [0082] As noted above, various layouts may be envisaged for the sites of the microarray. Moreover, the density, location, pitch, and sizes of the sites may vary depending upon such factors as the array design, the type of processing and imaging equipment used for analyzing the arrays, and the molecules to be processed. By way of example, presently contemplated sites made as set forth in the present disclosure may have sizes dictated by the desired imaging and/or reaction modality. For example, sites may be approximately 30 - 500 nm and may be in a range of 30-300nm or 300-500nm. The sites may be disposed on the substrate in a hexagonal pattern. The sites may be present at a density of approximately 1 million capture sites per square millimeter, but can easily be tuned by adjusting the pitch to densities greater than 5 million capture sites per square millimeter. While the particular pitch of the sites may vary, depending, for example, upon their size and the density desired, typical pitches may include at most about 5-micron, 2-micron 1 micron, 850nm, or 750nm, or even lower value.
[0083] The sites or pads used in various embodiments may be in a size range that is useful for capture of a single nucleic acid template molecule to seed subsequent formation of a homogenous colony, for example, via bridge amplification. FIG. 12 illustrates a base pad 68 that is attached to a capture substance 70 that is in turn attached to a single nucleic acid template 76. The nucleic acid template is illustrated as extending out of the attachment layer 74. However, in some embodiments the nucleic acid template may be retained under or within the volume of the attachment layer. Bridge amplification may be primed by primer nucleic acids that are attached to the attachment layer (e.g. the attachment layer may be a gel) to seed growth of a cluster of nucleic acid copies of the template that forms in or on the attachment layer around the base pad
At paragraphs [0086] – [0090], Bowen et al teach [0086] One aspect of the present techniques disclosed herein relates to a process for preparing a polymer coating immobilized to a surface of a substrate. In some embodiments, the method comprises polymerizing a polymerizable material, which may be any suitable polymer in accordance with the present techniques, on a surface 90 of a substrate (e.g., substrate die 28), wherein the surface comprises a plurality of functional groups, thereby forming a layer of polymer coating over all or a part of the surface. The polymer coating can be covalently bonded to the functional or reactive groups on the surface. The microarrays may also use base pads 68 formed via selective patterning as illustrated in FIG. 14, which represents stages included in one example of the manufacture and preparation of a microarray including base pads 68 in accordance with the present disclosure. Further, the disclosed techniques for surface patterning may be used with other suitable site materials to form base pads, either with or without polymers. [0087] As illustrated in FIG. 14, the substrate die 28 is coated with a polymer layer 100 (e.g., via spin coating or dunk coating) with one or more photoresist layers 102 disposed over the polymer layer 100 such that the polymer layer 100 is between the die 28 and the photoresist layer(s) 102 at stage 104. After a photolithography step 106, the surface 90 of the substrate die 28 includes an intact polymer layer 100 and wells 108 in the photoresist layer 102 after removal of a portion of the photoresist layer 102 to expose portions 110 of the polymer layer 100 that will be removed in subsequent steps. After an etching step 114 (e.g., reactive ion etching), portions 110 of the polymer layer 100 have been removed to expose the surface 90 of the substrate die 28. After a liftoff step 116, the base pads 68 are in place on the surface 90 of the substrate die 28 following liftoff of the remaining photoresist layer 102. The preparation of the base pads 68 may include one or more of lithography, imprint lithography, and etching steps. Further primer grafting can be performed at the beginning, during or at the end of the proposed sequence, before photoresist deposition or can follow the exposure of the base pads 68 as a solution-based technique. [0088] FIG. 15 is an example of an alternate technique for forming base pads 68. In the depicted embodiment, the substrate die 28 is functionalized to form chemically reactive pads 120 on the surface 90 having the desired pattern. For example, if the substrate die 28 is glass, the reactive pads may be reactive silane pads. The polymer formation is limited to only the reactive portions of the substrate die 28. The substrate die 28 may be formed first, and the reactive pads 120 may be functionalized by any suitable patterning technique, such as the photolithography, etching, and or masking techniques provided herein.
Finally, Bowen teaches the following: After the photoactive unit is attached, the PAZAM is deposited (e.g., via open wafer or flowthrough), followed by UV irradiation and linking. [0092] FIG. 20 is an alternative thermal linkage reaction for linking PAZAM to the substrate die 28 (e.g., via chemically reactive pads 120). In the depicted embodiment, the reaction begins by thermally linking the active group (acryloyl chloride or other alkene or alkyne-containing molecule) with subsequent deposition of PAZAM and application of heat. It is contemplated that the thermal linkage reaction may yield a mixture of the 1,4 and 1,5 isomers and also adducts resulting from the 1,4 additions to the conjugated alkene moiety. [0093] In addition to approaches in which a polymer layer is applied directly to the substrate die surface by growing the polymer layer in place, a microcontact printing approach is also contemplated. This approach, shown in FIG. 21, uses a soft or hard stamp 150 that has pillars 152 coated with a patterning medium 154. The medium may include polymers (including PAZAM), reactants, binders, surfactants, and/or catalysts. The stamp selectively delivers the patterning medium to defined regions on the substrate die 28. As shown, the surface 90 of the substrate die 28 may include an alkyne-APTES layer 158 or suitable reactive medium onto which the base pads 68 (or other types of base pads) are applied. The result is a patterned substrate die 28 including base pads, such as base pads 68 that support DNA cluster formation sequencing. In the depicted embodiment, primers may be grafted before, during or after patterning, could be present in the patterning medium, and could be grafted via homogenous or heterogeneous reactions. [0094] It is contemplated that the base pads 68 (including, but not limited to, PAZAM polymers) are coupled to the substrate die 28 via covalent or non-covalent attachment protocols. In any of the disclosed embodiments, a photoresist material may protect the interstitial regions of the substrate die 28 from reacting/absorbing the polymer that is applied during formation of the base pads 68. A liftoff of the photoresist protective layer leaves behind only surface-attached polymer. Primer grafting to the base pads 68 for subsequent molecule capture may follow via homogeneous or heterogeneous methods. [0095] FIG. 22 illustrates various stages in one embodiment of a PAZAM base pad 68 attachment technique using a sulfo-HSAB photoactive coupler. At stage 160, the photoresist layer 162 is deposited on a reactive surface 164 of the substrate die 28. The photoresist layer 162, as depicted, forms reactive wells 170 and interstitial regions 172 that are elevated relative to the wells (e.g. forming pillars). After application of the coupling agent 176 (stage 180), which covers the wells 170 and the interstitial regions 172, a PAZAM layer 186 is deposited and/or formed on the coupling agent 176 (stage 190). As depicted, the PAZAM layer 186 fills in the wells 170 and covers the interstitial regions 172. Thus PAZAM can conform to surface contours having appropriately sized features. For example, wells having an opening with a cross section that is greater than about 100 nm 2 can be filled with PAZAM. It is contemplated that wells having smaller cross sections can be used as well under conditions where PAZAM fills the well or alternatively covers the well without entering the space of the well. After application of light (stage 200) to facilitate linking of the PAZAM layer 186, the photoresist layer 162 is lifted off (stage 202), leaving only attached PAZAM base pads 68. In the depicted embodiment, excess PAZAM in the wells 170 that is unlinked is also lifted off with the photoresist. [0096] In certain embodiments, passivating the interstitials between the pads 68 may prevent nonspecific binding during capturing, sequencing or other applications. That is, in addition to forming a desired pattern of active base pads 68, the interstitial spaces may be treated to discourage undesired molecule binding. FIG. 23 illustrates an example in which lithography, or another patterning method, is employed to block sections of the surface 90 of the substrate die 28 to create inert pads. As illustrated, after patterning a photoresist layer 220 via lithography (step 224), a passivation material 226 is applied at step 230 to the interstitial spaces 228 exposed after patterning. Such passivation materials may include, but are not limited to, diamond like carbon, polyethylene glycol, hexa-methyldisilizane, Teflon, and/or Parylene. The application of the passivation material 226 and subsequent liftoff (step 231) of the remaining photoresist later 220 yields a patterned surface with inert pads 232 forming the negative space of the desired pattern. The base pads 68 of any desired polymer may then be applied (step 236) to the surface 90 of the substrate die 28 In an alternative approach, the surface 220 of the substrate die 28 may be passivated via metal patterning. In the approach illustrated in FIG. 24, a metal patterning sublayer 240 protects the interstitial during deposition. The metal patterning sublayer may be formed from one or more of aluminum, gold, titanium, as well as other metals. Metal can act as a photo- and chemical mask during the surface linkage step, and the liftoff of the metal is a chemically simple procedure, which may eliminate manufacturing steps relative to other processes. The metal layer 240 may include a photoresist layer 242 on an outermost surface. After APTMS and resist liftoff at step 248, the surface is ready for application of, for example, a PAZAM spin coat at step 254. The PAZAM layer is cross-linked, for example via backside illumination through the die 28, at step 260, and the base pads 68 (PAZAM pads in the depicted embodiment) are exposed after metal liftoff at step 264. [0097] FIG. 25 is an example of selectively functionalized wells 270 used for applying a polymer 272 only in the wells. For example, wells 270 may befunctionalized with covalent linkage methods or the polymer may be noncovalently lodged in the surface. The fabrication of wells 270 offers a simpler approach to surface functionalization. In one embodiment, a passivation layer may be applied only to the tops 274 of the interstitial regions 276 to keep the top surface clean if necessary. Pregrafted or ungrafted PAZAM, or other polymer, may be applied. [0098] While certain disclosed embodiments related to selectively patterning a surface with appropriate sites 22 (e.g., polymer pads 68), either with or without grafted primers, another approach may involve laying down a surface of polymers with associated primers and then selectively removing, deactivating, decomposing or, otherwise rendering unusable the primers from selected regions of the surface. Further, while the disclosed techniques may be used alone to generate a patterned surface, they may also be used in conjunction with other disclosed patterning techniques (e.g., base pad formation techniques) to yield a complex patterned surface. In one embodiment, electrical fields may be used to selectively decompose nucleic acids at a particular region of a surface, repel nucleic acids from a particular region of a surface or remove nucleic acids from a particular region of a surface to yield a desired primer pattern.
The reference teaches that in one implementation, a transparent conductive layer such as indium tin oxide (ITO) is coated on the top and bottom surfaces of the flowcell such that the ITO surfaces function as electrodes. An applied electric field drives the DNA molecules towards the surfaces/electrodes, where they are specifically immobilized to the capture pads. Over time the DNA molecules adhere to the surfaces non-specifically, whereas in the absence of the field, no such surface accumlation and adsorption is seen. In addition to ITO surfaces, other type of electrically-conductive surfaces may be appropriate for encouraging molecular movement towards the substrate 28, such as oxide or polymer surfaces. Exemplary surface materials iclude, but are not limited to, SnO 2 , aluminium-dope ZnO (AZO), ZnO, TiO 2 , Poly (3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene (PEDOT), and the like. In one embodiment that uses a oscillating electric field, the DNA molecules concentrate to the top and bottom surfaces cyclically. The oscillating field provides an additional benefit of reducing electrolysis and mimizing electrochemisty at the surfaces. [00108] FIG. 35 illustrates a workflow for creating gold pads on an ITO surface. After evaporation of ITO to form an ITO layer 320 (e.g., 200nm thick) on the surface of the substrate 28, a double-layer resist 322 is spin-coated into the ITO layer 320 and etched at step 324. The double-layer photoresist layer 322 may be used to achieve clean edges of the pads. Ti/Au deposition, for example via evaporation, is performed at step 326 to yield an Au layer 330 in the interstitials 332 of the photoresist layer 322. In one embodiment, the Au layer 330 may be about 60nm or less while the Ti layer may be evaporated to about 4nm or less. Following a liftoff at step 340, the substrate die 28 can be patterned according to a desired pad size and pitch. At step 350, the Au-patterned substrate die 28 and a plain ITO surface 360 are sandwiched into a flowcell 362, which may include appropriate casing and spacer components, such as outer layer 370 and spacers 380. A 4-volt peak-to-peak (+2 to -2) voltage at 0.5 Hz can be used to draw the molecules towards the top and bottom surfaces cylically. FIG. 36 is a circuit diagram of an exemplary circuit that may be used to provide AC signal to the flowcell 362. FIG. 37 is an exploded view of the flowcell 362. As shown, the substrate 28 and the outer layer 370, which, in certain embodiment, may be glass and/or the same material as the substrate layer 28, have respective notches 398 and 400. As illustrated, the notches are at opposing corners. However, it should be understood that the notches may be positioned in any suitable location to permit access to the ITO layer 360 and the ITO layer 320 so that AC power may be supplied across the flow cell 362. Similarly, the spacer 380 also may include notches 402 and 404 that are aligned with notches 398 and 400, respectively. [00109] In addition to transverse electrical pulldown, a longitudinal time-varying electric filed across interdigitated electrodes may also be used to concentrate DNA by dielectrophoresis. Dielectropheresis is sensitive to mass. Therefore, a size-dependent pulldown of DNA can be achieved by manipulating the dielectrophoretic force. The dielectrophoretic force increases by decreasing the spacing between the interdigitated electrodes and also by increasing the applied field and frequency of oscillation.
While Bowen teaches number pattern formations for the flow-cell biopolymer array discussed therein, the reference does not expressly mention the multiple patterns of the array in an x-y axis format of the substrate surface for flowing the biologicals sample or reagents, however, the device as taught by Bowen is structurally and functionally similar to that of the instant invention (see Bowen Figures 2-12, 22, 26, 33, 35 and Figures 1, 4, and 10 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the device of Bowen and that of the instant invention are obvious variants of each other. The ordinary artisan could expect a reasonable expectation of success in performing a biopolymeric assay for the intended purpose of analyzing and detecting nucleic acid samples with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
9. No claims are allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CYNTHIA B WILDER whose telephone number is (571)272-0791. The examiner can normally be reached Flexible.
/CYNTHIA B WILDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681