DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 03/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2017/0058500 (hereinafter Garrels).
Regarding claim 1, Garrels discloses a toilet (6500) comprising: a toilet tank (6520); a cover (6521) for the toilet tank; a receptacle (6530, 6532) formed in the cover for the toilet tank and configured to receive a cartridge including a chemical compound (6550), wherein the receptacle is fluidly connected to the toilet tank and/or a toilet bowl (par. 609).
Regarding claim 4, Garrels discloses further comprising: a flush valve (6515) configured to initiate an operational cycle including dispensing water into the toilet bowl and/or toilet tank from the receptacle (par. 609).
Regarding claim 5, Garrels discloses wherein the operational cycle includes dispensing water into the receptacle (via conduit 6511; par. 609).
Regarding claim 6, Garrels discloses wherein water is dispensed into the receptacle from a fill valve (6510).
Regarding claim 7, Garrels discloses wherein the operational cycle is initiated when a float in the toilet tank moves in a first direction and ends when the float in the toilet tank moves in a second direction (see float canister valve 6515 in fig. 139).
Regarding claim 8, Garrels discloses wherein the operational cycle stops after a predetermined period of time (par. 609).
Regarding claim 9, Garrels discloses further comprising: an outlet line (6516) coupled between the receptacle and the flush valve.
Regarding claim 10, Garrels discloses wherein a siphon pulls water from the receptacle into the toilet bowl via a tube (6516).
Regarding claim 11, Garrels discloses further comprising: a fill valve (6510); and a supply line (6511) coupled between the receptacle and the fill valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrels in view of US Patent 10,760,255 (hereinafter Bucher).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Garrels fails to show further comprising: a lid configured to cover a rim portion of the receptacle and provide access to the cartridge, wherein the lid and the cover are flush with each other when the lid is covering the receptacle. Attention is turned to Bucher in the same field of endeavor of tank lid mounted chemical holders for toilets which shows including a lid (99) covering a rim portion of a receptacle (94) to provide access to a cartridge (6), and the lid and cover are flush with each other when the lid is covering the receptacle (fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the system of Garrels to include a lid as described above to provide an aesthetically pleasing, uniform appearance while still allowing for easy access to the cartridge for replacement and maintenance as evidenced by the teachings above.
Regarding claim 12, Garrels discloses a toilet assembly (6500), comprising: a toilet tank (6520); a cover (6521) for the toilet tank; a receptacle (6530, 6532) integrated in the cover configured to receive a cartridge (6550); and
Regarding claim 13, Bucher shows wherein the lid (99) is separate from the rim portion of the receptacle (94) (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Bucher shows wherein the lid (99) is connected to the rim portion of the receptacle (94) with a hinge (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 15, Bucher shows wherein the lid and the cover are flush with each other when the lid is covering the receptacle (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Garrels discloses wherein the operational cycle is initiated when a float in the toilet tank lowers and/or is concluded when a float in the toilet tank rises (par. 609).
Regarding claim 17, Garrels discloses wherein a siphon pulls water from the receptacle into the toilet bowl via a tube during the operational cycle (par. 609; fig. 139).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 10,287,765 is directed to the state of the art of chemical dispensers in covers for toilet tanks.
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754