DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 7-2-2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for a domestic priority date of 3-29-2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7-02-2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the Applicants regards as the invention.
The claims recite:
generating a unique transaction number (“UTN”) for an anticipated transaction;
generating a security code;
associating the security code with the UTN;
receiving, from an automated teller machine (ATM), the UTN;
responsive to determining that the UTN received from the ATM matches the UTN associated with the anticipated transaction, transmitting the security code to the ATM.
It is unclear who or what is generating the UTN. For purposes of examination, the examiner will assume it is the user computing device. (See Specification paragraph 4).
It is unclear who or what is generating the security code. For purposes of examination, the examiner will assume it is the bank sending it to the ATM. (See Specification paragraph 4).
It is unclear who or what is associating the code with the UTN. For purposes of examination, the examiner will assume it is the bank computing system. (See Specification paragraph 4).
It is unclear who or what is receiving the UTN. For purposes of examination, the examiner will assume it is the bank computing system. (See Specification paragraph 4).
Itis unclear who or what is transmitting the UTN to the ATM. For purposes of examination, the examiner will assume it is the bank computing system.
Patent-Ineligible Subject Matter - 35 U.S.C. § 101
Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, “[w]hoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor.” 35 U.S.C. § 101. The Supreme Court, however, has long interpreted § 101 to include an implicit exception: “[l]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas” are not patentable. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 216 (2014).
The Supreme Court, in Alice, reiterated the two-step framework previously set forth in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., 566 U.S. 66 (2012), “for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of those concepts.” Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217. The first step in that analysis is to “determine whether the claims at issue are directed to one of those patent-ineligible concepts.” Id. If the claims are not directed to a patent-ineligible concept, e.g., an abstract idea, the inquiry ends. Otherwise, the inquiry proceeds to the second step where the elements of the claims are considered “individually and ‘as an ordered combination’” to determine whether there are additional elements that “‘transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Id. (quoting Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 78). This is “a search for an ‘inventive concept’ — i.e., an element or combination of elements that is ‘sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the [ineligible concept] itself.’” Id. at 217–18.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the “USPTO”) published revised guidance on January 7, 2019, for use by USPTO personnel in evaluating subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101. 2019 REVISED PATENT SUBJECT MATTER ELIGIBILITY GUIDANCE, 84 Fed. Reg. 50 (Jan. 7, 2019) (the “2019 Revised Guidance”). That guidance revised the USPTO’s examination procedure with respect to the first step of the Mayo/Alice framework by (1) “[p]roviding groupings of subject matter that [are] considered an abstract idea”; and (2) clarifying that a claim is not “directed to” a judicial exception if the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception. Id. at 50.1
The first step, as set forth in the 2019 Revised Guidance (i.e., Step 2A), is, thus, a two-prong test. In Step 2A, Prong One, we look to whether the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g., one of the following three groupings of abstract ideas: (1) mathematical concepts; (2) certain methods of organizing human activity, e.g., fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions; and (3) mental processes. 2019 Revised Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 54; see also MPEP §§ 2106.04(II)(A)(1), 2106.04(a). If so, we next determine, in Step 2A, Prong Two, whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of that exception, i.e., whether the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. Id.; see also MPEP §§ 2106.04(II)(A)(2), 2106.04(d). Only if the claim (1) recites a judicial exception and (2) does not integrate that exception into a practical application do we conclude that the claim is “directed to” the judicial exception, e.g., an abstract idea. Id.; see also MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2).
If the claim is determined to be directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A, we next evaluate the additional elements, individually and in combination, in Step 2B, to determine whether they provide an inventive concept, i.e., whether the additional elements or combination of elements amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself; only then, is the claim patent eligible. 2019 Revised Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 56; see also MPEP § 2106.05.
Analysis:
STEP 1
Is the claim(s) directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Claims 1-20 are all directed to a statutory category (e.g., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The answer is YES. Therefore, the issue now is whether it is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
STEP 2
Step 2A(i): Does the Claim Recite a Judicial Exception?
Claims 1-20 are directed to improving the performance of conventional ATM transaction systems by issuing a unique transaction number associated with a scheduled transaction with preconfigured transaction details to enable users to conduct contactless ATM transactions. Method improves the security of conventional ATM transaction systems. The method involves generating a unique transaction number for an anticipated transaction, and generating a security code. The security code is associated with the UTN. The UTN is received from an automated teller machine, and the security code to the ATM is transmitted in response to determining that the received UTN from the ATM matches the generated UTN associated with anticipated transaction.
From this we see that the claims do not recite the judicial exceptions of either natural phenomena or laws of nature. The next issue is whether it recites the judicial exception of an abstract idea. To answer this, we next determine whether it recites one of the concepts the Courts have held to be lacking practical application, viz. mathematical concepts2, certain methods of organizing human interactions3, including fundamental economic practices and business activities, or mental processes4.
The practice of contactless transaction authorization is a fundamental economic practice and/or commercial interaction. Thus, the invention is an example of a conceptual idea subject to the Supreme Court's "concern that patent law not inhibit further discovery by improperly tying up the future use of these building blocks of human ingenuity." See Alice, 573 U.S. at 216 (citations omitted).
Step 2A(ii): Judicial Exception Integrated into a Practical Application?
The 2019 Revised Guidance sets forth a non-exhaustive listing of considerations indicative that an additional element or combination of elements may have integrated a recited judicial exception into a practical application. 2019 Revised Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55; see also MPEP § 2106.04(d). In particular, the Guidance describes that an additional element may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application if, inter alia, the additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field. Id. At the same time, the Guidance makes clear that merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea; adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; or only generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field are not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Id.
The Examiner finds each of the limitations of claim 1 recites abstract ideas as Identified in Step 2A(i), supra, and none of the limitations integrate the certain method of organizing human activity into a practical application as determined under one or more of the MPEP sections cited above. The claim as a whole merely uses instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or, alternatively, merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
Thus, on this record, Applicants have not shown eligibility under the guidance of Manual for Patent Examining Procedure section 2106.05(a) (“Improvements to the Functioning of a Computer or to Any Other Technology or Technical Field”) or section 2106.05(e) (“Other Meaningful Limitations”).
Step 2B – “Inventive Concept” or “Significantly More”
Evaluating representative claim 1 under step 2 of the Alice analysis, the Examiner concludes it lacks an inventive concept that transforms the abstract idea of
Contactless transaction activity into a patent-eligible application of that abstract idea. As evidence of the conventional nature of the processors, the Examiner refers to paragraphs 23, 77, 82, 83 and 91 of the Specification. The Examiner finds the recited processor is well-understood, routine, and conventional. The generic computers described in the Specification are well-understood, routine, and conventional, at least because the Specification describes the computers in a manner that indicates they are sufficiently well-known that the Specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112 ¶ 1(a). See Berkheimer Memo5 § III.A.1. Thus, because the Specification describes the additional elements in general terms, without describing the particulars, the Examiner concludes the claim limitations may be broadly but reasonably construed as reciting conventional computer components and techniques, particularly in light of Applicants’ Specification, as quoted above.6
Dependent claims 2, 10 and 18 add the additional limitations of receiving a request for the UTN and transaction details for an anticipated transaction and associating the transaction details with the UTN. Receiving is insignificant extra-solution activity because this is activity incidental to the primary process or product that is merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. See 2019 Revised Guidance, 55 n.31; see also MPEP § 2106.05(g). As explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional. Parker vs. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ 193, 196 (1978). Associating is a mental process because other than generic computer components, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed as in the human mind or with paper and pencil. See Planet Bingo, 961 F. Supp. 2d at 851. See also Guidance 84 Fed. Reg. at 52.
Dependent claims 3, 11 and 19 add the additional limitation of the ATM processing the anticipated transaction responsive to verifying that the security code corresponds to a subsequent security code received via an input to the ATM. This is also a mental process.
Dependent claims 4, 12 and 20 add the additional limitation of the ATM receiving the subsequent security code from the user computing device via a wireless communication session comprising a near-field communication (“NFC”) session. This is also insignificant extra-solution activity.
Dependent claims 5 and 13 add the additional limitation of the anticipated transaction comprising a cash withdrawal. This is nonfunctional descriptive material because it is a mere arrangement of data. Descriptive material is nonstatutory when claimed as descriptive material per se, 33 F. 3d at 1360, 31 USPQ2d at 1759. See MPEP §2011.05(II).
Dependent claims 6 and 14 add the additional limitation of the user computing device transmitting the request for the UTN responsive to receiving, via a wireless communication session. This is also insignificant extra-solution activity.
Dependent claims 7 and 15 add the additional limitation of the user computing device being configured to display a request for a first tap by the user. This is also insignificant extra-solution activity.
Dependent claims 8 and 16 add the additional limitation of the security code being transmitted to the ATM using communication (“NFC”). This is a matter of design choice since the core of the invention is not modified by how the security code is transmitted.
Conclusion of Law
The examiner concludes that the claims do not provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception. From these determinations the examiner further notes that the claims do not recite an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself or to any
other technology or technical field, a particular machine, a particular transformation, or other meaningful limitations. From this the examiner finds the claims are directed to a certain method of organizing human activity without significantly more.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12056991. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claim 1 is anticipated by patent claim 1. Therefore patent claim 1 of 991’ is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claim 1. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Post-AIA )
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220078800, Pham et al, in view of US20210319672, Kim.
As per claim(s) 1, 9 and 17, Pham teaches:
generating a unique transaction number (“UTN”) for an anticipated transaction (At least paragraph(s) 38 and 73).
Pham may not teach generating a security code; however, this is taught by Kim in at least the abstract. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to combine Kim with Pham as this would enhance the security of the invention.
Kim further teaches:
receiving, from an automated teller machine (ATM), the UTN (At least paragraph(s) 9);
responsive to determining that the UTN received from the ATM matches the UTN associated with the anticipated transaction, transmitting the security code to the ATM (At least abstract).
Neither Kim nor Pham my teach associating the security code with the UTN; however, this step is taught by Wright in at least paragraph 5. It would be prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Wright with those of Kim and Pham as this would provide additional security to the invention.
As to claim(s) 2, 10 and 18, Kim recites:
receiving, from a user computing device, a request for the UTN and transaction details for an anticipated transaction (At least paragraph(s) 9);
and associating the transaction details with the UTN, wherein the UTN and the security code are transmitted to the user computing device responsive to the request for the UTN (At least paragraph(s) 9).
With respect to claim(s) 3, 11 and 19, Kim discusses:
the ATM processes the anticipated transaction responsive to verifying that the security code corresponds to a subsequent security code received via an input to the ATM (At least abstract).
In reference to claim(s) 4, 12 and 20, Kim discloses:
the ATM receives the subsequent security code from the user computing device via a wireless communication session comprising a near-field communication (“NFC”) session (At least paragraph(s) 53).
Regarding claim(s) 5 and 13, Kim describes:
the anticipated transaction comprises a cash withdrawal, wherein the transaction details specify an amount of cash, and wherein processing the transaction comprises dispensing the amount of cash specified in the transaction details (At least paragraph(s) 29).
Concerning claim(s) 6 and 14, Kim addresses:
the user computing device transmits the request for the UTN responsive to receiving, via a wireless communication session comprising a near-field communication (“NFC”) session, the UTN from the user computing device (At least paragraph(s) 53).
As per claim(s) 7 and 15, Pham teaches:
the user computing device is configured to display, via a user interface, a request for a first tap by the user (At least paragraph(s) 51).
As to claim(s) 8 and 16, Kim recites:
the security code is transmitted to the ATM using communication (“NFC”) (At least paragraph(s) 53.
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure can be found on the attached PTO-892. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Robert R. Niquette whose telephone number is 571-270-3613. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 5:30 AM to 2:00 PM Eastern.
/ROBERT R NIQUETTE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691
1 The MANUAL OF PATENT EXAMINING PROCEDURE (“MPEP”) incorporates the revised guidance and subsequent updates at Section 2106 (9th ed. Rev. 10.2019, rev. June 2020).
2 See e.g., Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 71-72 (1972); Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611 (2010); Mackay Radio & Telegraph Co. v. Radio Corp. of Am., 306 U.S. 86, 94 (1939); SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1163 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
3 See e.g., Bilski, 561 U.S. at 628; Alice, 573 U.S. at 219-20; Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715 (Fed Cir. 2014); Smart Systems Innovations, LLC v. Chicago Transit Authority, 873 F.3d 1364, 1383 (Fed. Cir. 2017); In re Marco Guldenaar Holding B. V., 2018 WL 6816331 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
4 See e.g., Benson, 409 U.S. at 67; CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1371-1372 (Fed. Cir. 2011); Intellectual Ventures I LLCv. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
5 Robert W. Bahr, Changes in Examination Procedure Pertaining to Subject Matter Eligibility, Recent Subject Matter Eligibility Decision (Berkheimer v. HP, Inc.), USPTO 3 (2018) (available at https://www.uspto.gov/ sites/default/files/documents/memo-berkheimer-20180419.PDF) (explaining that a specification that describes additional elements “in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)” can show that the elements are well understood, routine, and conventional).
6 Claim terms are to be given their broadest reasonable interpretation, as understood by those of ordinary skill in the art and taking into account whatever enlightenment may be had from the Specification. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 1997).