DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 07/02/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-34 are currently presented in the instant application.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the priority documents received on 07/31/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 07/02/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19-21, 24, 26-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,
The recitation “transmission lines” in line 6 and line 10 is considered vague because it’s confused with “transmission lines” in line 4. Clarification is required.
The recitation “transmission line” in line 7 and line 8 is considered vague because it’s confusing. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 24,
The recitation “transmission lines” in line 6 is considered vague because it’s confused with “transmission lines” in line 4. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 26,
The recitation “the first arm” in line 1 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
The recitation “the second arm” in line 2 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-12, 14, 16, 19-21, 24, 26-27 and 29-31, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20180226728), hereinafter Lee, in view of Kim et al (US 20130135168), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1,
Lee discloses a radio frequency device (an antenna 40, Fig 4), wherein the radio frequency device comprises:
a substrate (a substrate 47, Fig 4);
a conductive circuit (a conductive structure CS, Fig 4) disposed on the substrate, the conductive circuit configured to transmit a signal (paragraph [0019]) and comprising a plurality of segments of transmission lines (a plurality of segments of arm 111 and a plurality of segments of arm 132, Fig 4); and
a decoupling element (a transmission line 45, Fig 4) disposed on the substrate positioned between adjacent first (a segment 1111 of the arm 111, Fig 4) and second (a segment 1321 of the arm 132, Fig 4) segments of transmission lines, the decoupling element comprising a first arm (a section 451, Fig 4) adjacent to the first segment of transmission line, a second arm (a section 452, Fig 4) adjacent to the second segment of transmission line, and a connecting portion (a section 453, Fig 4) connecting the first and second arms.
Lee teaches the transmission line 45 connects to radiator 11 including the segment 1111, and radiator 13 including the segment 1321 (Fig 4). However, Lee does not teach the transmission line 45 configured to reduce coupling between the segment 1111 (the first segment) and the segment 1321 (the second segment) of transmission lines.
However, Kim teaches a radio frequency device (a MIMO antenna, Fig 1) comprises a connector line 108 (Fig 1) connects radiators 100 and 102 (Fig 1), and configured to reduce coupling between the two radiators (paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a connector line having a length of λ/4 being a decoupling element configured to at least partially reduce coupling between first and second segments of transmission lines in Lee, as taught by Kim, in order to improve isolation properties between antennas.
[AltContent: textbox (451)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (452)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (453)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1321)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1111)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (111)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (CS)][AltContent: textbox (E1)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (E2)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (12)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (11)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (14)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (13)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (113)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (112)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (141)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (131)][AltContent: textbox (122)][AltContent: textbox (121)][AltContent: textbox (142)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (133)][AltContent: textbox (132)][AltContent: textbox (Lee (US 20180226728))]
[AltContent: textbox (Kim (US 20130135168))]
Regarding claim 2,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lee teaches the first arm of the decoupling element is generally parallel to the second arm (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 3,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lee teaches the first arm of the decoupling element is generally parallel to the first segment of transmission line and the second arm of the decoupling element is generally parallel to the second segment of transmission line (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 5,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim teaches the decoupling element is generally U-shaped (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 6,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 5.
Lee as modified does not explicitly teach an operating frequency band of the radio frequency device comprises a first frequency band and the decoupling element has a length that is between one fifth and one third of a wavelength at a central frequency of the first frequency band.
However, Kim teaches the connector line 108 may have a length corresponding to λ/4, where λ is an operating frequency of the first radiator 100 and the second radiator 102.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an operating frequency band of a radio frequency device comprising a first frequency band and a decoupling element having a length being between one fifth and one third of a wavelength at a central frequency of the first frequency band in Lee as modified, in order to improve isolation properties between antennas.
Regarding claim 11,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lee as modified does not teach the decoupling element is generally H-shaped or A-shaped.
However, Lee teaches a portion of the transmission line 45 may be with meandering trace (paragraph [0024]). It’s well known in the art that a meandering shape may be an H shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a decoupling element being generally H-shaped in Lee as modified, in order to improve communication range.
Regarding claim 12,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim teaches the decoupling element is a first decoupling element having a first shape (Fig 1), and wherein the radio frequency device comprises a second decoupling element having a second shape (Fig 2) that is different from the first shape.
Regarding claim 14,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Kim teaches the decoupling element is a first decoupling element having a first shape and a first orientation (Fig 1), and wherein the radio frequency device comprises a second decoupling element having the first shape and a second orientation (Fig 2) different from the first orientation.
Regarding claim 16,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lee as modified does not teach a distance between the two adjacent segments of transmission lines is less than 10 mm.
However, Kim teaches the connector line 108 may have a length corresponding to λ/4, where λ is an operating frequency of the first radiator 100 and the second radiator 102 (paragraph [0038]). This teaching is result effect in order to suppress the interference between radiators (paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a distance between two adjacent segments of a transmission lines being less than 10 mm in Lee as modified, in order to improve isolation properties between antennas.
Regarding claim 19,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lee teaches the substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Fig 4), the conductive circuit comprises a first conductive circuit disposed on the first surface and a second conductive circuit disposed on the second surface (Fig 4), and the first conductive circuit is electrically connected to the second conductive circuit via a conductive structure (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 20,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 19.
Lee teaches the first conductive circuit is symmetrical with the second conductive circuit relative to the substrate (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 21,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Lee teaches the radio frequency device is configured as a phase shifter, a filter, a power divider, a duplexer, a feeder panel (Fig 4), or a combiner.
Regarding claim 24,
Lee discloses a radio frequency device (an antenna 40, Fig 4), wherein the radio frequency device comprises:
a substrate (a substrate 47, Fig 4);
a conductive circuit (a conductive structure CS, Fig 4) disposed on the substrate, the conductive circuit configured to transmit a signal (paragraph [0019]) and including multiple segments of transmission lines (a plurality of segments of arm 111 and a plurality of segments of arm 132, Fig 4); and
a decoupling element (a transmission line 45, Fig 4) disposed between adjacent first (a segment 1111 of the arm 111, Fig 4) and second segments (a segment 1321 of the arm 132, Fig 4) of transmission lines of the conductive circuit.
Lee teaches the transmission line 45 connects to radiator 11 including the segment 1111, and radiator 13 including the segment 1321 (Fig 4). However, Lee does not teach the transmission line 45 is a decoupling element having a substantially U-shaped shape.
However, Kim teaches a radio frequency device (a MIMO antenna, Fig 1) comprises a connector line 108 (Fig 1) connects radiators 100 and 102 (Fig 1), and configured to reduce coupling between the two radiators (paragraph [0040]), wherein the connector line 108 has a substantially U-shaped shape (Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a connector line having a length of λ/4 being a decoupling element and having a substantially U-shaped shape in Lee, as taught by Kim, in order to improve isolation properties between antennas.
[AltContent: textbox (Kim (US 20130135168))]
Regarding claim 26,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 24.
Lee teaches the first arm and the second arm of the decoupling element are substantially equal in length (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 27,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 24.
Lee as modified does not explicitly teach an operating frequency band of the radio frequency device comprises a first frequency band and the decoupling element has a length that is about a quarter of a wavelength at a central frequency of the first frequency band.
However, Kim teaches the connector line 108 may have a length corresponding to λ/4, where λ is an operating frequency of the first radiator 100 and the second radiator 102.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an operating frequency band of a radio frequency device comprising a first frequency band and a decoupling element having a length being about a quarter of a wavelength at a central frequency of the first frequency band in Lee as modified, in order to improve isolation properties between antennas.
Regarding claim 29,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 24.
Kim teaches the decoupling element is a first decoupling element having a first orientation (Fig 1), and wherein the radio frequency device comprises a second decoupling element that has a second orientation (Fig 2) that is different from the first orientation.
Regarding claim 30,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 24.
Lee as modified does not teach a distance between the two adjacent segments of transmission lines is less than 4 mm.
However, Kim teaches the connector line 108 may have a length corresponding to λ/4, where λ is an operating frequency of the first radiator 100 and the second radiator 102 (paragraph [0038]). This teaching is result effect in order to suppress the interference between radiators (paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a distance between two adjacent segments of a transmission lines being less than 4 mm in Lee as modified, in order to improve isolation properties between antennas.
Regarding claim 31,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 24.
Lee as modified does not teach at least one of the transmission lines is serpentinely coiled.
However, Lee teaches a portion of the transmission line 45 may be with meandering trace (paragraph [0024]). It’s well known in the art that a meandering shape may be serpentinely coiled.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one of transmission lines being serpentinely coiled in Lee as modified, in order to improve communication range.
Claim 33, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20180226728), hereinafter Lee, in view of Kim et al (US 20130135168), hereinafter Kim, and Liu et al (US 20160372809), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 33,
Lee in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 24.
Lee as modified does not teach the radio frequency device is configured as a cavity phase shifter.
However, Liu teaches a radio frequency device (a phase shifter of cavity type, Fig 1) is configured as a cavity phase shifter (Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radio frequency device being configured as a cavity phase shifter in Lee as modified, as taught by Liu, in order to provide a phase shifter of cavity type for improving electric performance, physical features and production and assembling process.
[AltContent: textbox (Liu (US 20160372809))]
[AltContent: textbox (Liu (US 20160372809))]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 28, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the decoupling element is a first decoupling element, wherein the operating frequency band of the radio frequency device comprises a second frequency band different from the first frequency band, and wherein the radio frequency device further comprises a second decoupling element whose length is about a quarter of a wavelength at a central frequency of the second frequency band”.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845