DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 7/2/2024
Claims 1-19 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, and 13-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the group of" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the group of" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the group of" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the group of" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims did not clarify the terms so dependent claims also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aburatani USPGPUB 2008/0260502 A1 (hereinafter Aburatani) in view of Aalund et al. USPGPUB 2006/0045662 A1 (hereinafter Aalund).
Regarding claim 1, Aburatani teaches a substrate processing apparatus (Par. [0002], “substrate processing apparatus”) comprising:
a mounting structure on which a container provided with a door is placed, wherein the container is configured to accommodate a substrate (Par. [0006], “FOUP (front opening unified pods. hereinafter called "pods")”; Par. [0008], “The pod is formed in a cubic parallelpiped box shape, along with being open on one side is fitted with a freely attachable and detachable door (lid) on the open side.”; Par. [0054], “a pod 2 is utilized as a carrier (storage container) for storing wafers 1 serving as the substrate for processing.”; Par. [0061] – [0062], “Two load ports 14 are provided in parallel. An in-process transfer device (also called "interprocess transfer device") outside the batch CVD apparatus (outside the case), carries the pod 2 into the load port 14 and carries the pod 2 out from the load port 14.”; Par. [0068], “The support stand 18 supports the pod 2 from the bottom” – support stand is interpreted as a mounting structure);
a storage structure configured to store the container (Par. [0077], “A pod storage chamber 11b is formed in the front side area within the main case 11. The storage chamber is provided adjacent to the load port. A swivel pod rack 31 functioning as a storage rack for storing the storage containers within the case is installed in the upper space in approximately the center section facing front and rear in the pod storage chamber 11b. The swivel pod rack 31 stores the multiple pods 2.”);
a processing structure configured to process the substrate (Par. [0191], “The boat elevator 48 loads the boat 47 into the processing chamber 57 of the processing furnace 51 adjacently to the prechamber 45”; Par. [0162], “forming the thin film on the wafers 1 using the processing furnace 51 and the CVD method”);
a transport structure configured to transport the substrate to the processing structure (Par. [0157] – [0161], “the wafer transfer mechanism 46 picks up the wafers 1 with the tweezers 46c of the wafer transfer device 46a from the pod 2 by way of the wafer loading and unloading opening 3 and transfers them to a notch aligner device (not shown in drawing) … After alignment, the wafer transfer mechanism 46 picks up the wafers 1 from the notch aligner device with the tweezers 46c and transfers them to the boat 47. The wafer transfer mechanism 46 then charges the wafers 1 into the boat 47 … The boat elevator 48 then raises the seal cap 50 to load the boat 47 holding the wafer 1 group into the processing furnace 51”) and comprising:
an opening/closing structure configured to open or close the door (Par. [0008], “The pod is formed in a cubic parallelpiped box shape, along with being open on one side is fitted with a freely attachable and detachable door (lid) on the open side.”; Par. [0073], “A pod opener 23 is installed as a storage container lid opening and closing unit (also called "an attaching and detaching device") inside the load lock chamber 20. This pod opener 23 opens and closes the door loading and unloading opening 22 and the wafer loading and unloading opening 3 by attaching the door 4 to the pod 2, and removing the door 4 from the pod 2 placed in the load port 14.”; Par. [0074], “The closure 26 functions as a lid support unit for holding the door 4. The pod opener 23 opens and closes the door loading and unloading opening 22 and the wafer loading and unloading opening 3 of the pod 2 by holding the door 4 via the closure 26 and shifting forward and backward.” – pod opener 23/closure 26 is interpreted as the opening/closing structure because it holds door 4 and attaches/removes door 4 from pod 2 to open/close the pod opening.); and
a checker configured to check a state of the substrate accommodated in the container (Par. [0075], “A mapping device 27 serving as a substrate state detector unit is installed at a position facing the door loading and unloading opening 22 in the sealed case 21” – mapping device is interpreted as a checker);
a transfer structure configured to hold the container and to transfer the container to the mounting structure, the storage structure and the transport structure (Par. [0143] – [0145], “pod transfer mechanism 35b scoops up the pod 2 supported by the support stand 18 … the arm 35c of the pod transfer mechanism 35b extends, to make the plate 35d supported on the tip of the arm 35c pass through the pod loading opening 12, and advance directly under the support stand 18. The plate 35d functions as the holding unit. Next, the pod transfer elevator 35a rises to make the plate 35d scoop up the pod 2 from above the support stand 18.”; Par. [0147] - [0148], “The pod 2 that was scooped up by the pod transfer mechanism 35b as described above is carried into the main case 11 from the pod loading opening 12 by the contraction of the arm 35c of the pod transfer mechanism 35b. The pod transfer mechanism 35 as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 automatically transfers and delivers the pod 2 to the specified rack plate 33 of the swivel pod rack 31”; Par. [0150], “The pod transfer mechanism 35 then transfers the pod 2 from the rack plate 33 to the pod opener 42 installed in one of the wafer loading openings 41 and transfers it to the placement stand 43” – pod transfer device/pod transfer mechanism is interpreted as the transfer structure, plate 35d is the holding unit of the transfer structure, support stand/load port is interpreted as the mounting structure, swivel pod rack/rack plate is interpreted as the storage structure, and pod opener/placement stand is interpreted as the container receiving portion of the transport structure.); and
a controller configured to be capable of controlling the transfer structure to hold the container placed on the mounting structure regardless of a usage state of the transport structure (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.”; Par. [0207], “the pod elevator 15 raises the pod 2 supported on the support stand 18 from the load port 14 to the height of the pod loading opening 12.”; Par. [0209], “The pod transfer mechanism 35b of the pod transfer device 35 then scoops up the pod 2 supported by the support stand 18.”; Par. [0211] – [0212], “The pod transfer device 35 automatically transfers this pod 2 and delivers it to the specified rack plate 33A of the storage rack 31A. This pod 2 is then temporarily stored in the rack plate 33A.”; Par. [0159], “While the wafer transfer mechanism 46 is charging the wafers 1 into the boat 47 in one (top stage or bottom stage) of the pod openers 42, the pod transfer device 35 is transferring another pod 2 from the swivel pod rack 31 to the other pod opener 42 (bottom stage or top stage). The process of opening the pod 2 transferred to the other pod opener 42 proceeds simultaneously.” – Pod transfer/opening can proceed while the wafer transfer mechanism is charging wafers into the boat.).
Aburatani does not explicitly teach controlling the mounting structure to accept a placement of a subsequent container, regardless of a usage state of the transport structure.
However, Aalund teaches controlling the mounting structure to accept a placement of a subsequent container, regardless of a usage state of the transport structure (Par. [0021], “by providing additional storage and the ability to drop off FOUPs to a tool or pick them up from the tool while additional FOUPs are being processed tool efficiency can be enhanced “; Par. [0022], “a load port design allows a new FOUP to be lowed to the load-port prior to the completed FOUP being removed”; Par. [0025] – [0026], “The buffers 106A, 106B reduce the load on the materials handling system by providing both local storage and the ability to move the pods 101 between the load ports 104A, 104B and local storage at the storage locations 108A, 108B … At step 124 the buffer 106A moves the finished pod from a load port 104A of the tool 100 to local storage at the storage location 108A proximate the load port 104A using the buffer 106A attached to a front end of the tool. The tool 100 is now available to receive a new pod”; Claim 46, “delivering a new materials pod to the load port occurs before a tool has finished processing a materials pod” – the pod corresponds to the container, and the load port corresponds to the mounting structure. Aalund teaches moving the current pod away from the load port to local storage so that the load port becomes available to receive a new pod. Aalund further teaches dropping off or picking up FOUPs while additional FOUPs are being processed and delivering a new materials pod to the load port before the tool has finished processing a materials pod. Thus, Aalund teaches that the load port can accept a subsequent pod without waiting for tool-side processing/transport operations to be completed).
Aburatani and Aalund are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by Aburatani, and incorporate local buffering/quick-swap control, so that after a pod is moved away from the load port or support stand, the load port or support stand can accept a subsequent pod regardless of a usage state of the transport structure, as taught by Aalund.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “tool efficiency” as suggested by Aalund (Par. [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches wherein the controller is configured to be capable of, when the container is present in the transport structure, controlling the opening/closing structure to open or close the door, capable of controlling the checker to check the state of the substrate and capable of controlling the transfer structure to store the container in the storage structure after the state of the substrate accommodated in the container is checked (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.” – pod opener is interpreted as the opening/closing structure to open or close the door, mapping device is interpreted as the checker, pod transfer device is interpreted as the transfer structure; Par. [0207] – [0212], “When the actual mapping information readout by the above described mapping device does match the presupplied mapping information on the applicable pod 2, … The pod transfer device 35 automatically transfers this pod 2 and delivers it to the specified rack plate 33A of the storage rack 31A. This pod 2 is then temporarily stored in the rack plate 33A”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling the transfer structure to designate a transfer destination of the container held by the transfer structure to one selected from the group of the storage structure, the transport structure and the mounting structure (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.”; Par. [0148], “The pod transfer mechanism 35 as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 automatically transfers and delivers the pod 2 to the specified rack plate 33 of the swivel pod rack 31” – rack plate 33 is interpreted as the storage structure; Par. [0150], “The pod transfer mechanism 35 then transfers the pod 2 from the rack plate 33 to the pod opener 42 installed in one of the wafer loading openings 41 and transfers it to the placement stand 43” – placement stand 43 is interpreted as the container receiving portion of the transport structure.; Par. [0213], “the pod transfer device 35 and the pod elevator 15 transfer the pod 2 from the storage rack 31A to the load port 14.” – load port 14 is interpreted as the mounting structure.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling the transfer structure to transfer the container stored in the storage structure to the transport structure when the transport structure is available (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.”; Par. [0150], “The rack plate 33 temporarily holds the pod 2. The pod transfer mechanism 35 then transfers the pod 2 from the rack plate 33 to the pod opener 42 installed in one of the wafer loading openings 41 and transfers it to the placement stand 43”- the rack plate 33 is interpreted as the storage structure, the pod opener 42 is interpreted as the container receiving portion of the claimed transport structure, and the pod transfer mechanism is interpreted as the transfer structure.; Par. [0159], “While the wafer transfer mechanism 46 is charging the wafers 1 into the boat 47 in one ( top stage or bottom stage) of the pod openers 42, the pod transfer device 35 is transferring another pod 2 from the swivel pod rack 31 to the other pod opener 42 (bottom stage or top stage). The process of opening the pod 2 transferred to the other pod opener 42 proceeds simultaneously.” – rack plate 33 is interpreted as the storage structure, pod transfer mechanism 35 is interpreted as the transfer structure, and pod opener 42/placement stand 43 is interpreted as the container receiving portion of the transport structure. Because Aburatani teaches transferring another pod 2 from swivel pod rack 31 to the other pod opener 42 while wafer transfer mechanism 46 is charging wafters in one pod opener 42, Aburatani teaches transferring a container from the storage structure to the transport structure when that other pod opener 42 is available.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling the transfer structure to transfer the container placed on the mounting structure to the transport structure when the transport structure is available (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.”; Par. [0140] – [0147], “the pod elevator 15 raises the pod 2 supported on the support stand 18, from the load port 14 to a height equal to that of the pod loading opening 12 … the pod transfer mechanism 35b scoops up the pod 2 supported by the support stand 18 … The pod 2 that was scooped up by the pod transfer mechanism 35b as described above is carried into the main case 11 from the pod loading opening 12 by the contraction of the arm 35c of the pod transfer mechanism 35b”; Par. [0153], “After the pod transfer mechanism 35b carries the pod 2 from the pod loading opening 12 into the main case 11, the pod 2 may also be directly transferred to the pod opener 42 mounted on the wafer loading opening 41.” – pod opener 42 is interpreted as the container receiving portion of the claimed transport structure; Par. [0159], “While the wafer transfer mechanism 46 is charging the wafers 1 into the boat 47 in one (top stage or bottom stage) of the pod openers 42, the pod transfer device 35 is transferring another pod 2 from the swivel pod rack 31 to the other pod opener 42 (bottom stage or top stage). The process of opening the pod 2 transferred to the other pod opener 42 proceeds simultaneously.” – pod opener 42/placement stand 43 is interpreted as the container receiving portion of the transport structure. Aburatani teaches that pod 2 may be directly transferred to pod opener 42, and further teaches that, while one pod opener 42/wafer transfer mechanism 46 side is in use, another pod 2 is transferred to the other pod opener 42 and the opening process proceeds simultaneously. Thus, Aburatani teaches transferring the container placed on the mounting structure to the transport structure when the other pod opener 42 is available.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches wherein, when a new container is transferred to the transport structure, the checker checks a state of a substrate accommodated in the new container (Par. [0197], “the pod 2 is mounted on the support stand 18 of the pod elevator 15, when the pod 2 is carried into the load port 14”; Par. [0199], “The pod 2 is next moved towards the pod opener 83 in the load port 14. The pod opener 83 makes a closure 86 support the door 4.”; Par. [0202], “When the pod opener 83 opens the wafer loading and unloading opening 3, the sensor of the mapping device 84 is inserted into the wafer loading and unloading opening 3. The sensor of the mapping device 84 then detects the wafers 1 within the pod 2 and maps the wafers 1.” – mapping device 84 is interpreted as the checker, the pod 2 that is carried into load port 14 and moved toward pod opener 83 is interpreted as the new container, and wafers 1 are interpreted as the substrates.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling the transfer structure and the mounting structure (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.”; Par. [0207], “the pod elevator 15 raises the pod 2 supported on the support stand 18 from the load port 14 to the height of the pod loading opening 12.”; Par. [0209], “The pod transfer mechanism 35b of the pod transfer device 35 then scoops up the pod 2 supported by the support stand 18.”).
Aburatani does not explicitly teach such that the placement of the subsequent container to the mounting structure is not accepted until the transfer structure holds the container placed on the mounting structure.
However, Aalund teaches such that the placement of the subsequent container to the mounting structure is not accepted until the transfer structure holds the container placed on the mounting structure (Par. [0026], “At step 124 the buffer 106A moves the finished pod from a load port 104A of the tool 100 to local storage at the storage location 108A proximate the load port 104A using the buffer 106A attached to a front end of the tool. The tool 100 is now
available to receive a new pod at step 126.” – the finished pod is interpreted as the container, the load port is interpreted as the mounting structure, and the buffer is interpreted as the transfer structure. Since the tool is described as becoming available to receive a new pod only after the buffer moves the finished pod from the load port to local storage, Aalund teaches that the mounting structure does not accept placement of the subsequent container until the transfer structure has first held and moved the previous container away from the mounting structure.).
Regarding claim 17, Aburatani teaches a transfer method (Par. [0386], “a transfer method”) comprising:
(a) placing a container provided with a door and accommodating a substrate therein onto a mounting structure (Par. [0006], “FOUP (front opening unified pods. hereinafter called "pods")”; Par. [0008], “The pod is formed in a cubic parallelpiped box shape, along with being open on one side is fitted with a freely attachable and detachable door (lid) on the open side.”; Par. [0054], “a pod 2 is utilized as a carrier (storage container) for storing wafers 1 serving as the substrate for processing.”; Par. [0061] – [0062], “Two load ports 14 are provided in parallel. An in-process transfer device (also called "interprocess transfer device") outside the batch CVD apparatus (outside the case), carries the pod 2 into the load port 14 and carries the pod 2 out from the load port 14.”; Par. [0068], “The support stand 18 supports the pod 2 from the bottom” – support stand is interpreted as a mounting structure);
(b) transferring the container to a transport structure configured to open or close the door and configured to check a state of the substrate (Par. [0157] – [0161], “the wafer transfer mechanism 46 picks up the wafers 1 with the tweezers 46c of the wafer transfer device 46a from the pod 2 by way of the wafer loading and unloading opening 3 and transfers them to a notch aligner device (not shown in drawing) … After alignment, the wafer transfer mechanism 46 picks up the wafers 1 from the notch aligner device with the tweezers 46c and transfers them to the boat 47. The wafer transfer mechanism 46 then charges the wafers 1 into the boat 47 … The boat elevator 48 then raises the seal cap 50 to load the boat 47 holding the wafer 1 group into the processing furnace 51”; Par. [0073], “A pod opener 23 is installed as a storage container lid opening and closing unit (also called "an attaching and detaching device") inside the load lock chamber 20. This pod opener 23 opens and closes the door loading and unloading opening 22 and the wafer loading and unloading opening 3 by attaching the door 4 to the pod 2, and removing the door 4 from the pod 2 placed in the load port 14.”; Par. [0075], “A mapping device 27 serving as a substrate state detector unit is installed at a position facing the door loading and unloading opening 22 in the sealed case 21”); and
(c) holding the container placed on the mounting structure onto a transfer structure regardless of a usage state of the transport structure (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.”; Par. [0207], “the pod elevator 15 raises the pod 2 supported on the support stand 18 from the load port 14 to the height of the pod loading opening 12.”; Par. [0209], “The pod transfer mechanism 35b of the pod transfer device 35 then scoops up the pod 2 supported by the support stand 18.”; Par. [0211] – [0212], “The pod transfer device 35 automatically transfers this pod 2 and delivers it to the specified rack plate 33A of the storage rack 31A. This pod 2 is then temporarily stored in the rack plate 33A.”; Par. [0159], “While the wafer transfer mechanism 46 is charging the wafers 1 into the boat 47 in one (top stage or bottom stage) of the pod openers 42, the pod transfer device 35 is transferring another pod 2 from the swivel pod rack 31 to the other pod opener 42 (bottom stage or top stage). The process of opening the pod 2 transferred to the other pod opener 42 proceeds simultaneously.” – Pod transfer/opening can proceed while the wafer transfer mechanism is charging wafers into the boat.).
Aburatani does not explicitly teach accepting a placement of a subsequent container onto the mounting structure, regardless of a usage state of the transport structure.
However, Aalund teaches accepting a placement of a subsequent container onto the mounting structure, regardless of a usage state of the transport structure ((Par. [0021], “by providing additional storage and the ability to drop off FOUPs to a tool or pick them up from the tool while additional FOUPs are being processed tool efficiency can be enhanced “; Par. [0022], “a load port design allows a new FOUP to be lowed to the load-port prior to the completed FOUP being removed”; Par. [0025] – [0026], “The buffers 106A, 106B reduce the load on the materials handling system by providing both local storage and the ability to move the pods 101 between the load ports 104A, 104B and local storage at the storage locations 108A, 108B … At step 124 the buffer 106A moves the finished pod from a load port 104A of the tool 100 to local storage at the storage location 108A proximate the load port 104A using the buffer 106A attached to a front end of the tool. The tool 100 is now available to receive a new pod”; Claim 46, “delivering a new materials pod to the load port occurs before a tool has finished processing a materials pod” – the pod corresponds to the container, and the load port corresponds to the mounting structure. Aalund teaches moving the current pod away from the load port to local storage so that the load port becomes available to receive a new pod. Aalund further teaches dropping off or picking up FOUPs while additional FOUPs are being processed and delivering a new materials pod to the load port before the tool has finished processing a materials pod. Thus, Aalund teaches that the load port can accept a subsequent pod without waiting for tool-side processing/transport operations to be completed).
Aburatani and Aalund are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by Aburatani, and incorporate local buffering/quick-swap control, so that after a pod is moved away from the load port or support stand, the load port or support stand can accept a subsequent pod regardless of a usage state of the transport structure, as taught by Aalund.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “tool efficiency” as suggested by Aalund (Par. [0021]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (Par. [0362], “A manufacturing method for a semiconductor device”), comprising:
the transfer method of claim 17 (taught by the combination of Aburatani and Aalund); and
processing the substrate in a process chamber (Par. [0370], “processing the substrates in the processing chamber”).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aburatani USPGPUB 2008/0260502 A1 (hereinafter Aburatani) in view of Aalund et al. USPGPUB 2006/0045662 A1 (hereinafter Aalund), and further in view of Watanabe et al. USPGPUB 2023/0106927 A1 (hereinafter Watanabe).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling the transfer structure to store the container placed on the mounting structure in the storage structure (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.”; Par. [0207] – [0209], “the pod elevator 15 raises the pod 2 supported on the support stand 18 from the load port 14 to the height of the pod loading opening 12 … The pod transfer mechanism 35b of the pod transfer device 35 then scoops up the pod 2 supported by the support stand 18.”; Par. [0211] – [0212], “The pod transfer device 35 automatically transfers this pod 2 and delivers it to the specified rack plate 33A of the storage rack 31A. This pod 2 is then temporarily stored in the rack plate 33A”).
Aburatani and Aalund do not explicitly teach that the storage operation is performed when the transport structure is unavailable.
However, Watanabe teaches performing the storage operation when the transport structure is unavailable (Par. [0034], “The stage 13 is a standby carrier placement part for temporarily retreating and placing the carrier C when it is impossible to transfer the carrier C to the stages 11 and 12 of a transfer destination”; Par. [0043], “when a transfer-destination stage is not empty (when the stage is occupied by another carrier C), the carrier C is placed on the retreating stage 13 until the transfer-destination stage becomes empty.” – carrier C is interpreted as a container. The transfer-destination stage being “not empty” or “occupied” is interpreted as the intended destination is unavailable. Placing carrier C on retreating stage 13 until the destination becomes empty is interpreted as storing the container at a storage location when the intended transfer destination is unavailable).
Aburatani, Aalund, and Watanabe are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by Aburatani and Aalund, and incorporate standby/retreat control so that, when the intended transfer destination/transport structure is unavailable, the container is temporarily transferred to a storage/standby location instead of waiting for the transport structure to become available, as taught by Watanabe.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve efficiency of loading/unloading wafers, as suggested by Watanabe (Par. [0092]).
Claim(s) 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aburatani USPGPUB 2008/0260502 A1 (hereinafter Aburatani) in view of Aalund et al. USPGPUB 2006/0045662 A1 (hereinafter Aalund), and further in view of Barbazette et al. USPGPUB 2005/0010311 A1 (hereinafter Barbazette).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aalund further teaches wherein a placement acceptance state of the container to the mounting structure is to be reported to the external equipment (Par. [0022], “the AMHS would be signaled that the drop-off location is available as soon as the tool has completed processing, or when the load port has moved the FOUP to the local storage” – AMHS is interpreted as an external equipment as it is an external factory automation system that communicates with the processing tool regarding carrier placement status. The FOUP is interpreted as the container and the load port is interpreted as the mounting structure).
Aburatani and Aalund do not explicitly teach an external communication interface capable of communicating with an external equipment,
wherein the controller is connected to the external equipment via the external communication interface, and
reporting status to the external equipment from the controller.
However, Barbazette teaches an external communication interface capable of communicating with an external equipment (Par. [0038], “The data acquisition device 101 preferably includes, among other things, a processor 120, memory 122, a network interface 124 and a database 128. The network interface 124 may be electrically coupled to a LAN and/or a Wide Area Network ("WAN") such as the Internet, or through a wireless network” – network interface is interpreted as external communication interface),
wherein the controller is connected to the external equipment via the external communication interface (Par. [0007], “The information provided to the wafer fab host computer is conventionally via a SECS (SEMI Equipment Communications Standard) serial interface and accessed by a fab operator or maintenance technician.”; Par. [0036], “The tool controller 114 communicates with all of the front end component controllers (e.g., LPT controller 104, robot controller 108, etc.) in the processing tool 102”; Par. [0038], “The data acquisition device 101 preferably includes, among other things, a processor 120, memory 122, a network interface 124 and a database 128” – wafer fab host computer is interpreted as an external equipment and the SECS/network interface is interpreted as the external communication interface), and
reporting status to the external equipment from the controller (Par. [0040], “Each of these controllers sends, in real time, messages to the data acquisition device 101 that provide the status of each component”).
Aburatani, Aalund, and Barbazette are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by Aburatani and Aalund, and incorporate an external communication interface and controller-based status reporting, as taught by Barbazette.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “detecting faults associated with semiconductor manufacturing processes”, as suggested by Barbazette (Par. [0011]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Aburatani, Aalund, and Barbazette teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Barbazette further teaches wherein the controller is configured to be capable of reporting the usage state of the transport structure to the external equipment (Par. [0040], “Each of these controllers sends, in real time, messages to the data acquisition device 101 that provide the status of each component” – In the combined system, Aburatani’s pod opener 42 and wafer transfer mechanism 46 form part of the transport structure, and Barbazette’s controller-generated component status messages teach reporting the usage state of that transport structure to the external equipment through the external communication interface.).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Aburatani, Aalund, and Barbazette teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aalund further teaches wherein the controller is configured to be capable of transferring the container from the mounting structure to the storage structure without waiting for a response from the external equipment with respect to a report of the usage state of the transport structure (Fig. 1B, Par. [0026], “At step 124 the buffer 106A moves the finished pod from a load port 104A of the tool 100 to local storage at the storage location 108A proximate the load port 104A using the buffer 106A attached to a front end of the tool. The tool 100 is now available to receive a new pod at step 126.” – Aalund’s local transfer from the load port to storage is not dependent on waiting for the external equipment to respond. The buffer moves the finished pod from the load port to local storage before the tool becomes available for a new pod and before the external car loads the new pod. In the combined system, Barbazette’s reporting is a status report from the controller through the external communication interface, while the actual transfer from the mounting structure to the storage structure is performed locally by Aburatani’s controller/pod transfer structure as modified by Aalund.).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Aalund and Aburatani further teaches a storage position of the container and state information of the container stored in the storage structure,
wherein the controller is configured to be capable of checking the storage position of the container and the state information of the container.
Aalund teaches a controller capable of checking a storage position of the container (Par. [0030], “The buffers 106A, 106B may optionally be configured to provide information about the pods 101 to a system controller (not shown). This capability could allow the system controller to know, e.g., whether a particular pod was located one of the storage locations 108A, 108B and ready for pick-up”).
Aburatani teaches a controller configured to be capable of checking the state information of the container stored in the storage structure (Par. [0089], “The controller 77 regulates the operation of all units within the batch CVD apparatus including the load port 14, the pod elevator 15, the pod opener 23, the mapping device 27, the swivel pod rack 31, the pod transfer device 35, the pod opener 42, and the wafer transfer mechanism 46, etc.”; Par. [0206], “When the actual mapping information readout by this mapping device does not match the pre-supplied mapping information on the applicable pod 2, the pod 2 where the difference was discovered, is promptly transferred back from the load port 14 to the previous process or to the wafer array process.”).
Aburatani and Aalund do not explicitly teach a memory configured to be capable of storing a storage position of the container and state information of the container stored in the storage structure.
However, Barbazette teaches a memory configured to be capable of storing (Par. [0038], “The data acquisition device 101 preferably includes, among other things, a processor 120, memory 122, a network interface 124, and a database 128”; Par. [0039], “The data collected from each front end component controller is processed by the processor 120 and is stored in the database 128”).
Aburatani, Aalund, and Barbazette are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by Aburatani and Aalund, and incorporate a memory for storing tool information in a database, as taught by Barbazette.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “detecting faults associated with semiconductor manufacturing processes”, as suggested by Barbazette (Par. [0011]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Aburatani and Aalund teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani and Aalund do not explicitly teach a display capable of displaying at least one selected from the group of state information of the mounting structure, a storage position of the container and state information of the container.
However, Barbazette teaches a display capable of displaying at least one selected from the group of state information of the mounting structure, a storage position of the container and state information of the container (Par. [0066], “When a tool 102 shown on the screen (as shown in FIG.3) is selected, a new page is activated showing graphical windows 132 presenting the status of the various components of the tool 102 … The current tool status screen shown in FIG. 4 illustrates, by way of example only, the identity of the FOUP, the operating status of each load port (e.g., no errors, FOUP locked and door open), the operating status of the robot (e.g., no errors, wafer is being read and the wafer ID), and the operating status of the minienvironment (e.g., pressure-ok, fan-ok, oxygen-ok).” – operating status of each load port is interpreted as state information of the mounting structure.).
Aburatani, Aalund, and Barbazette are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by Aburatani and Aalund, and incorporate a display for displaying information, as taught by Barbazette.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the ability to easily view more detailed information about specific tools, as suggested by Barbazette (Par. [0066]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Aburatani, Aalund, and Barbazette teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Aburatani further teaches wherein the state information of the container comprises at least one item selected from the group of a presence or absence of the substrate in the container, a type of the substrate, a result of checking the state of the substrate and whether or not a processing is capable of being performed (Par. [0013], “The mapping device is a mechanism for sensing wafers within the pod and detecting whether or not wafers are being held in the respective wafer holding grooves (slots) within the pod.”; Par. [0206], “When the actual mapping information readout by this mapping device does not match the pre-supplied mapping information on the applicable pod 2, the pod 2 where the difference was discovered, is promptly transferred back from the load port 14 to the previous process or to the wafer array process.” – detecting whether wafers are being held in the slots teaches state information indicating the presence or absence of substrates in the container.).
Aburatani does not explicitly teach wherein the display is capable of displaying the at least one item related to the container.
However, Barbazette teaches wherein the display is capable of displaying the at least one item related to the container (Par. [0066], “When a tool 102 shown on the screen (as shown in FIG. 3) is selected, a new page is activated showing graphical windows 132 presenting the status of the various components of the tool 102 … The current tool status screen shown in FIG. 4 illustrates, by way of example only, the identity of the FOUP, the operating status of each load port (e.g., no errors, FOUP locked and door open), the operating status of the robot (e.g., no errors, wafer is being read and the wafer ID), and the operating status of the minienvironment (e.g., pressure-ok, fan-ok, oxygen-ok).”; Par. [0068], “Selecting on the window associated with the wafer carrier, for example, activates a new web page including information 134 about the wafer carrier, as shown in FIG. 6.” – in the combined system, Barbazette’s display is used to display Aburatani’s container state information, including the presence or absence of wafers in pod 2.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Aburatani, Aalund, and Barbazette teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Barbazette further teaches wherein the state information of the mounting structure comprises at least one item selected from the group of whether or not the mounting structure is capable of being used, a usage state of the mounting structure and whether or not the container is placed on the mounting structure (Par. [0066], “When a tool 102 shown on the screen (as shown in FIG. 3) is selected, a new page is activated showing graphical windows 132 presenting the status of the various components of the tool 102 … The current tool status screen shown in FIG. 4 illustrates, by way of example only, the identity of the FOUP, the operating status of each load port (e.g., no errors, FOUP locked and door open), the operating status of the robot (e.g., no errors, wafer is being read and the wafer ID), and the operating status of the minienvironment (e.g., pressure-ok, fan-ok, oxygen-ok).” – operating status of each load port is interpreted as a usage state of the mounting structure), and
wherein the display is capable of displaying the at least one item related to the mounting structure.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Aburatani, Aalund, and Barbazette teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Barbazette further teaches wherein the display is configured to display the usage state of the mounting structure in a manner different from other items related to the mounting structure when the mounting structure is in use (Fig. 4-5, Par. [0066], “When a tool 102 shown on the screen (as shown in FIG. 3) is selected, a new page is activated showing graphical windows 132 presenting the status of the various components of the tool 102 … The current tool status screen shown in FIG. 4 illustrates, by way of example only, the identity of the FOUP, the operating status of each load port (e.g., no errors, FOUP locked and door open), the operating status of the robot (e.g., no errors, wafer is being read and the wafer ID), and the operating status of the minienvironment (e.g., pressure-ok, fan-ok, oxygen-ok).”; Par. [0067], “The example shown in FIG. 5 provides, among other things, the model number of the load port (e.g., Series 3 Asyst), the installation date, the total cycles and when the cast error occurred.” –Status information is displayed in a current tool-status graphical window, while other load port information is displayed separately on a detailed load port page, which is interpreted as displaying mounting structure usage information in a manner different from other items related to the mounting structure).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aburatani USPGPUB 2008/0260502 A1 (hereinafter Aburatani) in view of Aalund et al. USPGPUB 2006/0045662 A1 (hereinafter Aalund), and further in view of Yoneda et al. TW 202013572 A (hereinafter Yoneda).
Regarding claim 19, Aburatani and Aalund teach the method steps of claim 17 as discussed above.
Aburatani and Aalund do not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes, by a computer, a substrate processing apparatus to perform the transfer method.
However, Yoneda teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes, by a computer, a substrate processing apparatus to perform the transfer method (Par. [0127], “The storage device 216 stores a control program for controlling the operation of the substrate processing apparatus and a process recipe that records the sequence and conditions of substrate processing described later. The process recipe is a combination of steps that enable the device controller 210 to execute the sequence of substrate processing steps described below to obtain a predetermined result, and functions as a program.”; Par. [0130], “The storage device 216 or the external storage device 224 is configured as a computer readable recording medium.”; Par. [0129], “The CPU 212 is configured to read the control program from the storage device 216 and execute it, and to read the process recipe from the storage device 216 based on the input of the operation command from the input/output device 222. The CPU 212 is configured to control … the cassette transporting action performed by the cassette transporting mechanism 40 … and the substrate transporting action of the wafer boat 58 performed by the substrate transfer machine 86”).
Aburatani, Aalund, and Yoneda are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to semiconductor substrate processing systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above substrate processing apparatus, as taught by Aburatani and Aalund, and incorporate a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes, by a computer, a substrate processing apparatus to perform a method, as taught by Yoneda.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve automation and reliability of the substrate processing method, as suggested by Yoneda (Par. [0127] - [0129]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hayashi [US 2018/0265294 A1] teaches a substrate processing apparatus includes a plurality of placement parts on which a substrate container is placed, a driving part configured to move the plurality of placement parts, a transport mechanism configured to load the substrate container into one of the plurality of placement parts and to unload the substrate container from one of the plurality of placement parts, and a controller configured to control the driving pan and the transport mechanism so that by raising or lowering the transport mechanism while keeping a support of the transport mechanism unmoved in an initial position, the substrate container is delivered from one of the plurality of placement parts to the support of the transport mechanism, and the substrate container is delivered from the support of the transport mechanism to one of the plurality of placement parts.
Sackett et al. [US 2003/0156928 A1] teaches a buffer apparatus including a vertically moving mechanism containing a plurality of horizontally moving mechanisms to store carriers and transfer carriers to and from a load port, and one or more buffer load ports adjacent to the buffer apparatus to charge and uncharge the buffer apparatus by means of a guided vehicle, an overhead vehicle, or a human.
Conclusion
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119