DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member in claim 1, 3 and 8. Paragraph 0056 of the originally filed specification discloses the corresponding structure, teaching that “[0056] The separating apparatus 5 also includes a detection device 525 configured to detect attraction of the upper wafer W1 by the attraction member 52. The detection device 525 may be, for example, a pressure detection device configured to detect a suction pressure of the attraction pad 522 included in the attraction member 52. The detection device 525 serving as a pressure detection device is provided at a portion of, for example, the air intake line 523.”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder thereof but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a notch device configured to form a notch by inserting a sharp member into a side surface” in claim 1 and 8. The term “sharp member” is interpreted as sufficient structure to perform the claimed limitation as the term “sharp” conveys sufficient structure to perform the notch forming function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder thereof but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) are known in the arts to recite or connote specific structure. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a controller configured to control the notch device” in claims 1-8. Generally the term “processor” or “controller” are known in this art to be a CPU or Microprocessor. The context of the specification agrees with this interpretation, as the specification in paragraph 0032 recites that “The control device 30 is, for example, a computer, and includes a controller 31 and a storage 32. The storage 32 stores therein a program for controlling various processings, such as a bonding processing. The controller 31 controls the operation of the separating system 1 by reading and executing the program stored in the storage 32.” From the context of the originally filed specification, the term controller, which is a component of the computer, is clearly understood one in the arts reading the filed specification to be a CPU or a microprocessor.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 8 recites the limitation "a notch device configured to form a notch by inserting a sharp member into a side surface" in lines 2-3 of claim 1 and lines 9-10 of claim 8. It is unclear what is meant by the term “inserting a sharp member”. The term is unclear and can be interpreted as either be intended use or actual structure. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner has interpreted the sharp member as actual structure as set forth in the claim interpretation section above, as this interpretation is consistent with the originally filed specification. The examiner suggests that if the sharp member is intended to be interpreted as actual structure that applicant amend claims 1 and 8 to recite “a notch device configured to form a notch comprising a sharp member that is inserted into a side surface”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itou (US 20150239227 A1) in view of Kitahara (US 20130327463 A1).
As to claim 1, Itou discloses a separating apparatus (See the title, reciting “a delamination device”; the term delamination appears to be a synonym or translation choice for the same type of operation, see also paragraph 0057, which recites that “the laminated substrate T is separated into the target substrate W and the support substrate S.”), comprising:
a notch device (“delamination inducing unit 430”) configured to form a notch by inserting a sharp member (“sharp member 431”) into a side surface located most adjacent to a separation start point among side surfaces of a combined substrate in which a first substrate and a second substrate are bonded to each other (see paragraphs 0098, 0105);
a first holder (second holding unit 350), configured to attract and hold the first substrate of the combined substrate, including a start point side attraction member (such as suction pads 361 of first suction movement unit 360, see for example paragraph 0086-88) configured to attract an edge of an outer periphery located most adjacent to the separation start point in the outer periphery of the first substrate, and a start point side elevating mechanism (such as movement mechanism 363 of first suction movement unit 360, see for example paragraph 0086-88) configured to elevate the start point side attraction member;
a second holder (first holding unit 310) configured to attract and hold the second substrate of the combined substrate;
a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member (see especially paragraph 0087, disclosing “In each of the intake devices 365, 375 and 385, there is installed a sensor (not shown) which measures an intake pressure thereof, namely a suction pressure available when each of the first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 sucks the support substrate S.”); and
a controller (control device 30) configured to control the notch to perform a notch processing device (see paragraph 0109, reciting “The delamination inducing unit 430 performs the delamination inducing process shown in FIGS. 7 to 9, under the control of the control device 30.”) of forming the notch in the side surface located most adjacent to the separation start point among the side surfaces of the combined substrate, and control the start point side elevating mechanism to perform an attraction processing of lowering the start point side attraction member to attract the start point side attraction member to the first substrate after the notch processing (see paragraph 0110, disclosing “In the delamination inducing unit 430, the height position of the sharp member 431 is adjusted using the movement adjusting unit 440.”),
wherein in the attraction processing, the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a first movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from a standby position (such as the various position as shown in Figures 13-21), which is spaced apart from the first substrate, to a speed-change position (such as the later of the various positions as shown in Figure 13-21), which is closer to the first substrate than the standby position, as a position before being contacted with the first substrate at a first speed; controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a second movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from the speed-change position to be close to the first substrate at a second speed (variations in force versus position which would correspond to speed are shown in Figure 22), which is lower than the first speed, after the first movement processing; and controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member (see the sequence in Figures 13-21 and the description of the operation of the device paragraphs 0144-0164)
See marked up Figure 5, below:
See also paragraph 0086-0088, 0098, 0105, and 0108-0125, disclosing:
[0086] The first suction movement unit 360 includes a suction pad 361, a post member 362 and a movement mechanism 363. Furthermore, the second suction movement unit 370 includes a suction pad 371, a post member 372 and a movement mechanism 373. Likewise, the third suction movement unit 380 includes a suction pad 381, a post member 382 and a movement mechanism 383.
[0087] The suction pads 361, 371 and 381 are made of an elastic material such as rubber or the like. Intake ports (not shown) are formed in the respective suction pads 361, 371 and 381. Intake devices 365, 375 and 385 such as vacuum pumps or the like are connected to the respective intake ports through intake pipes 364, 374 and 384. In each of the intake devices 365, 375 and 385, there is installed a sensor (not shown) which measures an intake pressure thereof, namely a suction pressure available when each of the first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 sucks the support substrate S.
[0088] The post members 362, 372 and 382 are configured to support the suction pads 361, 371 and 381 at the tip portions thereof. The base end portions of the post members 362, 372 and 382 are supported by the movement mechanisms 363, 373 and 383. The movement mechanisms 363, 373 and 383 are fixed to the upper portion of the upper base unit 390 and are configured to move the post members 362, 372 and 382 in the vertical direction.
…
[0098] The ball bearing 411 makes contact with the surface of the dicing frame F and pushes the dicing frame F vertically downward with respect to the laminated substrate T. The dicing frame F is rotatably pushed downward by the ball bearing 411. Consequently, a space into which the below-described delamination inducing unit 430 can intrude is formed at the side surface of the laminated substrate T. As a result, a sharp member (to be described later) of the delamination inducing unit 430 can be easily caused to come close to and make contact with the side surface of the laminated substrate T, more specifically the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G.
…
[0105] As shown in FIG. 6, the delamination inducing unit 430 includes a sharp member 431, a load cell 432 and a movement mechanism 433. The sharp member 431 is, e.g., an edge tool. The sharp member 431 is supported by the movement mechanism 433 such that the tip of the sharp member 431 protrudes toward the laminated substrate T. For the sharp member 431, it may be possible to use, e.g., a razor blade, a roller blade or an ultrasonic cutter. The load cell 432 is installed in the end portion of the sharp member 431 to detect a force (or a load) applied to the sharp member 431.
…
[0108] Now, the content of a delamination inducing process performed by the delamination inducing unit 430 will be described in detail with reference to FIGS. 7 to 9. FIGS. 7 to 9 are operation explaining views of the delamination inducing process.
[0109] The delamination inducing process is performed after the target substrate W of the laminated substrate T is held by the first holding unit 310 with the dicing frame F pushed down by the push-down units 410 and before the support substrate S is held by the second holding unit 350. That is to say, the delamination inducing process is performed while the support substrate S stays free. The delamination inducing unit 430 performs the delamination inducing process shown in FIGS. 7 to 9, under the control of the control device 30.
[0110] In the delamination inducing unit 430, the height position of the sharp member 431 is adjusted using the movement adjusting unit 440. Thereafter, the sharp member 431 is moved toward the side surface of the laminated substrate T using the movement mechanism 433. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 7, the sharp member 431 is substantially horizontally moved toward the side surface of the one end portion S1 of the laminated substrate T, namely the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G.
[0111] The expression "the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G" refers to the side surface of the support substrate S existing closer to the bonding surface Sj than the position h1 corresponding to one half of the thickness of the support substrate S. That is to say, the side surface of the support substrate S is formed into a substantially arc-like shape. "The side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G" makes an angle .theta. of 0 degree or more and less than 90 degrees with respect to the sharp member 431, when the angle between the sharp member 431 and the bonding surface Sj is assumed to be 0 degree.
[0112] First, the sharp member 431 is moved forward to a predetermined position (preliminary forward movement). Thereafter, the sharp member 431 is further moved forward to bring the sharp member 431 into contact with the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G.
[0113] At this time, the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S is detected using one or both of the load cell 432 and the movement mechanism 433. That is to say, the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S may be detected by measuring the force applied to the sharp member 431 through the use of the load cell 432 and detecting the change of the force. Moreover, the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S may be detected by measuring the torque of a motor installed within the movement mechanism 433 and detecting the change of the torque. In addition, when the change of the force measured by the load cell 432 is detected and when the change of the torque of the motor of the movement mechanism 433 is detected, it may be possible to detect the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S.
[0114] It is sometimes the case that the first holding unit 310 is disposed with a slight shift in the horizontal direction due to various causes, e.g., an installation error, etc. In this case, when a delamination start part is formed in the laminated substrate T by the delamination inducing unit 430, the sharp member 431 may enter the side surface of the laminated substrate T beyond a preset range. If such is the case, there is a possibility that an electronic circuit formed on the bonding surface Wj of the target substrate W is damaged by the sharp member 431.
[0115] In the present embodiment, even when one of the load cell 432 and the movement mechanism 433 is used as mentioned above, it is possible to detect the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S. Thus, the sharp member 431 can be entered into the side surface of the laminated substrate T by a suitable distance. This makes it possible to prevent an electronic circuit from being damaged.
[0116] If the sharp member 431 makes contact with the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G, an upwardly-acting force is applied to the support substrate S because the side surface of the support substrate S has a substantially arc-like shape.
[0117] Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 8, the sharp member 431 is further moved forward. Thus, the support substrate S is pushed upward along a curved surface of the side surface. As a result, a portion of the support substrate S is delaminated from the bonding agent G, whereby a delamination start part M is formed.
[0118] Since the support substrate S is not held by the second holding unit 350 and is kept in a free state, the upward movement of the support substrate S is not limited. In this process, the forward movement distance a1 of the sharp member 431 is, e.g., about 1 mm. The distance a1 is set depending on, e.g., the kind or thickness of the bonding agent G, and is previously stored in the control device 30.
[0119] In the delamination device 141, it may be possible to install a checking unit configured to check the delamination state of the support substrate S delaminated by the aforementioned process, specifically a checking unit (not shown) configured to check the formation of the delamination start part M. More specifically, the checking unit may be, e.g., an IR (Infrared) camera installed above the support substrate S.
[0120] Specifically, the reflectance of an infrared ray is changed in the region of the support substrate S delaminated from the target substrate W and in the region of the support substrate S not delaminated from the target substrate W. Thus, the support substrate S is first imaged by the IR camera, thereby obtaining image data which show a reflectance difference of the infrared ray at the support substrate S. The image data are transmitted to the control device 30. Based on the image data, the control device 30 can detect the part of the support substrate S delaminated from the target substrate W, namely the delamination start part M.
[0121] If the delamination start part M is detected by the control device 30, the next process to be described later proceeds. On the other hand, if the delamination start part M is not detected by the control device 30, the delamination start part M may be formed by, for example, causing the sharp member 431 to further move forward or by, for example, causing the sharp member 431 to move backward away from the support substrate S and performing again the operations shown in FIGS. 7 and 8. In this way, the checking unit configured to check the delamination state of the support substrate S is installed and the delamination device 141 is operated depending on the delamination state. Thus, it becomes possible to reliably form the delamination start part M.
[0122] If the delamination start part M is formed, as shown in FIG. 9, the delamination device 141 causes the sharp member 431 to further move forward while lowering the first holding unit 310 through the use of the elevator mechanism 340. Thus, a downwardly-acting force is applied to the target substrate W and the bonding agent G. An upwardly-acting force is applied to the support substrate S supported by the sharp member 431. Consequently, the delamination start part M is enlarged.
[0123] In this process, the forward movement distance a2 of the sharp member 431 is, e.g., about 1 mm. The distance a2 is set depending on, e.g., the kind or thickness of the bonding agent G, and is previously stored in the control device 30. The distance a1+a2 at which the sharp member 431 moves forward after making contact with the support substrate S is set to fall within at least a range in which the tip of the sharp member 431 does not reach an electronic circuit formed on the bonding surface Wj of the target substrate W and does not cause damage to the electronic circuit.
[0124] In this way, the delamination device 141 brings the sharp member 431 into contact with the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G, whereby the delamination start part M at which the support substrate S begins to be delaminated from the target substrate W can be formed on the side surface of the laminated substrate T.
[0125] By bringing the sharp member 431 into contact with the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G, it is possible to apply a force acting in a direction in which the support substrate S is delaminated from the target substrate W (namely an upwardly-acting force) to the support substrate S. Since the region close to the outermost edge portion of the support substrate S is lifted up, a force acting in a direction in which the support substrate S is delaminated from the target substrate W can be efficiently applied to the support substrate S.
As noted above, Itou does disclose using a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member (see especially paragraph 0087, disclosing “In each of the intake devices 365, 375 and 385, there is installed a sensor (not shown) which measures an intake pressure thereof, namely a suction pressure available when each of the first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 sucks the support substrate S.”) and Itou discloses that the limitation of “controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member”. However, Itou does not disclose the full limitation of “controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing.”
Kitahara makes obvious the full limitation of the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing. Kitahara, which is directed to the related art of semiconductor bonding, discloses in paragraph 0087 an “upper chuck 230” which also includes “Pressure measuring units 242a, 242b and 242c, which are configured to measure internal pressures of the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c, are installed in the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c. Thus, the upper chuck 230 is capable of adsorbing the upper wafer W.sub.U in the regions 230a, 230b and 230c.” Paragraph 0123 discloses that “When the internal pressure of any one of the suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c is equal to or lower than the predetermined threshold value, it may be determined that the bonding of the upper wafer W.sub.U and the lower wafer W.sub.L is abnormal.” Thus, Kitahara discloses that suction pressure, i.e., attraction, can be a useful for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations. Paragraph 0135 teaches some benefits, teaching that “When the bonding position is abnormal, the overlapped wafer W.sub.T is collected without being subjected to the subsequent process. This prevents a transfer failure or a wafer damage from occurring, which makes it possible to smoothly perform a process for subsequent wafers W.”
See Figure 12, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing as suggested by Kitahara for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations which can prevent transfer failures or wafer damage from occurring.
As noted above, Itou has been interpreted as disclosing the controller operations wherein in the attraction processing, the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a first movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from a standby position (such as the various position as shown in Figures 13-21), which is spaced apart from the first substrate, to a speed-change position (such as the later of the various positions as shown in Figure 13-21), which is closer to the first substrate than the standby position, as a position before being contacted with the first substrate at a first speed; controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a second movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from the speed-change position to be close to the first substrate at a second speed (variations in force versus position which would correspond to speed are shown in Figure 22), which is lower than the first speed, after the first movement processing; and controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member (see the sequence in Figures 13-21 and the description of the operation of the device paragraphs 0144-0164). In any event, Itou is capable of performing the claimed controller operations as it discloses control over position (see Figures 13-21), force (see Figure 22) as well as speed (see paragraph 0159, which discloses that speed is related to force, teaching that “For that reason, if the force applied to the suction pad 361 is kept constant as mentioned above, the moving speed of the suction pad 361 grows higher along with the movement of the suction pad 361.”). Furthermore, changes in sequences would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV C), and optimization of the variables such as position, force and speed would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized having the controller perform the sequence of operations such that wherein in the attraction processing, the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a first movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from a standby position, which is spaced apart from the first substrate, to a speed-change position, which is closer to the first substrate than the standby position, as a position before being contacted with the first substrate at a first speed; controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a second movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from the speed-change position to be close to the first substrate at a second speed, which is lower than the first speed, after the first movement processing; and controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member as an obvious rearrangement of the sequence of the Itou operations and as an optimization of the variables of position, force and speed disclosed in Itou.
As to claim 2, Itou discloses wherein in the second movement processing, the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to move the start point side attraction member to be close to the first substrate by repeating a processing of moving the start point side attraction member by a predetermined distance and then a processing of stopping the start point side attraction member. See especially the sequence of Figures 13-22 and paragraphs 0144-0165, which discloses movement of the start point side attraction member to be close to the first substrate.
As to claim 3, Itou as noted above, although disclosing the detection device, does not disclose wherein the controller performs the stopping processing when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on the detection result of the detection device during the processing of moving the start point side attraction member by the predetermined distance.
Kitahara makes obvious wherein the controller performs the stopping processing when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on the detection result of the detection device during the processing of moving the start point side attraction member by the predetermined distance. Kitahara, which is directed to the related art of semiconductor bonding, discloses in paragraph 0087 an “upper chuck 230” which also includes “Pressure measuring units 242a, 242b and 242c, which are configured to measure internal pressures of the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c, are installed in the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c. Thus, the upper chuck 230 is capable of adsorbing the upper wafer W.sub.U in the regions 230a, 230b and 230c.” Paragraph 0123 discloses that “When the internal pressure of any one of the suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c is equal to or lower than the predetermined threshold value, it may be determined that the bonding of the upper wafer W.sub.U and the lower wafer W.sub.L is abnormal.” Thus, Kitahara discloses that suction pressure, i.e., attraction, can be a useful for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations. Paragraph 0135 teaches some benefits, teaching that “When the bonding position is abnormal, the overlapped wafer W.sub.T is collected without being subjected to the subsequent process. This prevents a transfer failure or a wafer damage from occurring, which makes it possible to smoothly perform a process for subsequent wafers W.”
See Figure 12, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the controller performs the stopping processing when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on the detection result of the detection device during the processing of moving the start point side attraction member by the predetermined distance as suggested by Kitahara for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations which can prevent transfer failures or wafer damage from occurring.
As to claim 4, Itou discloses wherein the first holder includes: an end point side attraction member (such as suction pads 381 of the third suction movement unit 380, see for example paragraph 0086-88) configured to attract an edge of the outer periphery located most adjacent to a separation end point in the outer periphery of the first substrate; and an end point side elevating mechanism (such as movement mechanisms 383 of third suction movement unit 360, see for example paragraph 0086-88) configured to elevate the end point side attraction member, and wherein the controller controls the end point side elevating mechanism to move the end point side attraction member at the first speed from the standby position to an attraction position where the first substrate is attracted. See paragraph 0085, disclosing “The third suction movement unit 380 is configured to suck and hold the peripheral edge portion at a side of the other end portion S2 of the support substrate S. The first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 independently move the sucked/held regions away from the surface of the target substrate W.” See also Figures 13-21, showing the movement of the third suction movement unit 380 to an attraction position.
As to claim 5, Itou discloses further comprising: a rotating mechanism (such as rotary mechanism 330) configured to rotate the second holder (which, in Itou, corresponds to first holding unit 310)
Itou is considered capable of operation wherein the notch processing and the attraction processing are repeated at least twice, and the controller controls, or is capable of controlling, between the notch processing and the attraction processing and a subsequent notch processing and a subsequent attraction processing, the start point side elevating mechanism to perform an elevating processing of elevating the start point side attraction member, which attracts the first substrate; controls, after the elevating processing, the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a lowering processing of moving the start point side attraction member to be close to a stop position where the start point side attraction member is stopped in the stopping processing; controls, after the lowering processing, the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a spacing processing of spacing the start point side attraction member, which releases the attraction of the first substrate, from the first substrate; and controls, after the spacing processing, the rotating mechanism to perform a rotation processing of rotating the combined substrate at an angle is in a range of less than 360° (see paragraph 0130, disclosing 360 degrees).
In any event, Itou is capable of performing the claimed controller operations as it discloses control over position (see Figures 13-21), force (see Figure 22) as well as speed (see paragraph 0159, which discloses that speed is related to force, teaching that “For that reason, if the force applied to the suction pad 361 is kept constant as mentioned above, the moving speed of the suction pad 361 grows higher along with the movement of the suction pad 361.”) and rotational position (see paragraph 0130). Furthermore, changes in sequences would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV C), and optimization of the variables such as position, force and speed would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.05). Additionally, Itou does not disclose that the angle is in a range of less than 360°.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that the controller controls, between the notch processing and the attraction processing and a subsequent notch processing and a subsequent attraction processing, the start point side elevating mechanism to perform an elevating processing of elevating the start point side attraction member, which attracts the first substrate; controls, after the elevating processing, the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a lowering processing of moving the start point side attraction member to be close to a stop position where the start point side attraction member is stopped in the stopping processing; controls, after the lowering processing, the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a spacing processing of spacing the start point side attraction member, which releases the attraction of the first substrate, from the first substrate; and controls, after the spacing processing, the rotating mechanism to perform a rotation processing of rotating the combined substrate at an angle in a range of less than 360° as an obvious rearrangement of the sequence of the Itou operations and as an optimization of the variables of position, force and speed disclosed in Itou.
As to claim 6, Itou is considered capable of operation wherein in the subsequent attraction processing, the controller changes the speed-change position based on the stop position where the start point side attraction member is stopped in the stopping processing of a previous attraction processing.
In any event, Itou is capable of performing the claimed controller operations as it discloses control over position (see Figures 13-21), force (see Figure 22) as well as speed (see paragraph 0159, which discloses that speed is related to force, teaching that “For that reason, if the force applied to the suction pad 361 is kept constant as mentioned above, the moving speed of the suction pad 361 grows higher along with the movement of the suction pad 361.”) and rotational position (see paragraph 0130). Furthermore, changes in sequences would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV C), and optimization of the variables such as position, force and speed would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.05). Additionally, Itou does not disclose that the angle is in a range of less than 360°.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein in the subsequent attraction processing, the controller changes the speed-change position based on the stop position where the start point side attraction member is stopped in the stopping processing of a previous attraction processing as an obvious rearrangement of the sequence of the Itou operations and as an optimization of the variables of position, force and speed disclosed in Itou.
As to claim 7, Itou is considered capable of operation wherein in the subsequent attraction processing, the controller moves the start point side attraction member to the stop position where the start point side attraction member is stopped in the stopping processing of a previous attraction processing without performing the first movement processing and the second movement processing.
In any event, Itou is capable of performing the claimed controller operations as it discloses control over position (see Figures 13-21), force (see Figure 22) as well as speed (see paragraph 0159, which discloses that speed is related to force, teaching that “For that reason, if the force applied to the suction pad 361 is kept constant as mentioned above, the moving speed of the suction pad 361 grows higher along with the movement of the suction pad 361.”) and rotational position (see paragraph 0130). Furthermore, changes in sequences would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV C), and optimization of the variables such as position, force and speed would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.05). Additionally, Itou does not disclose that the angle is in a range of less than 360°.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein in the subsequent attraction processing, the controller moves the start point side attraction member to the stop position where the start point side attraction member is stopped in the stopping processing of a previous attraction processing without performing the first movement processing and the second movement processing as an obvious rearrangement of the sequence of the Itou operations and as an optimization of the variables of position, force and speed disclosed in Itou.
As to claim 8, Itou discloses a separating system, comprising:
a carry-in/out station (“carry-in/carry-out station 11”) where a combined substrate in which a first substrate and a second substrate (see paragraph 0026, disclosing “FIG. 1 delaminates a laminated substrate T (see FIG. 2), in which a target substrate W as a first substrate and a support substrate S as a second substrate are bonded together by a bonding agent G, into the target substrate W and the support substrate S”) are bonded to each other is disposed;
a substrate transfer device (“a first transfer region 13”) configured to transfer the combined substrate disposed in the carry-in/out station; and a separating apparatus (“a first transfer region 13”) configured to separate the combined substrate transferred by the substrate transfer device into the first substrate and the second substrate (see paragraph 0034, disclosing “The first processing block 10 includes a carry-in/carry-out station 11, a standby station 12, a first transfer region 13, a delamination station 14, a first cleaning station 15 and an edge cut station 16.”,
wherein the separating apparatus (See the title, reciting “a delamination device”; the term delamination appears to be a synonym or translation choice for the same type of operation, see also paragraph 0057, which recites that “the laminated substrate T is separated into the target substrate W and the support substrate S.”) includes:
a notch device (“delamination inducing unit 430”) configured to form a notch by inserting a sharp member (“sharp member 431”) into a side surface located most adjacent to a separation start point among side surfaces of a combined substrate (see paragraphs 0098, 0105);
a first holder (second holding unit 350), configured to attract and hold the first substrate of the combined substrate, including a start point side attraction member (such as suction pads 361 of first suction movement unit 360, see for example paragraph 0086-88) configured to attract an edge of an outer periphery located most adjacent to the separation start point in the outer periphery of the first substrate, and a start point side elevating mechanism (such as movement mechanism 363 of first suction movement unit 360, see for example paragraph 0086-88) configured to elevate the start point side attraction member;
a second holder (first holding unit 310) configured to attract and hold the second substrate of the combined substrate;
a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member (see especially paragraph 0087, disclosing “In each of the intake devices 365, 375 and 385, there is installed a sensor (not shown) which measures an intake pressure thereof, namely a suction pressure available when each of the first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 sucks the support substrate S.”); and
a controller (control device 30) configured to control the notch to perform a notch processing device (see paragraph 0109, reciting “The delamination inducing unit 430 performs the delamination inducing process shown in FIGS. 7 to 9, under the control of the control device 30.”) of forming the notch in the side surface located most adjacent to the separation start point among the side surfaces of the combined substrate, and control the start point side elevating mechanism to perform an attraction processing of lowering the start point side attraction member to attract the start point side attraction member to the first substrate after the notch processing (see paragraph 0110, disclosing “In the delamination inducing unit 430, the height position of the sharp member 431 is adjusted using the movement adjusting unit 440.”),
wherein in the attraction processing, the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a first movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from a standby position (such as the various position as shown in Figures 13-21), which is spaced apart from the first substrate, to a speed-change position (such as the later of the various positions as shown in Figure 13-21), which is closer to the first substrate than the standby position, as a position before being contacted with the first substrate at a first speed; controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a second movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from the speed-change position to be close to the first substrate at a second speed (variations in force versus position which would correspond to speed are shown in Figure 22), which is lower than the first speed, after the first movement processing; and controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member (see the sequence in Figures 13-21 and the description of the operation of the device paragraphs 0144-0164)
See marked up Figure 5, below:
See also paragraph 0086-0088, 0098, 0105, and 0108-0125, disclosing:
[0086] The first suction movement unit 360 includes a suction pad 361, a post member 362 and a movement mechanism 363. Furthermore, the second suction movement unit 370 includes a suction pad 371, a post member 372 and a movement mechanism 373. Likewise, the third suction movement unit 380 includes a suction pad 381, a post member 382 and a movement mechanism 383.
[0087] The suction pads 361, 371 and 381 are made of an elastic material such as rubber or the like. Intake ports (not shown) are formed in the respective suction pads 361, 371 and 381. Intake devices 365, 375 and 385 such as vacuum pumps or the like are connected to the respective intake ports through intake pipes 364, 374 and 384. In each of the intake devices 365, 375 and 385, there is installed a sensor (not shown) which measures an intake pressure thereof, namely a suction pressure available when each of the first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 sucks the support substrate S.
[0088] The post members 362, 372 and 382 are configured to support the suction pads 361, 371 and 381 at the tip portions thereof. The base end portions of the post members 362, 372 and 382 are supported by the movement mechanisms 363, 373 and 383. The movement mechanisms 363, 373 and 383 are fixed to the upper portion of the upper base unit 390 and are configured to move the post members 362, 372 and 382 in the vertical direction.
…
[0098] The ball bearing 411 makes contact with the surface of the dicing frame F and pushes the dicing frame F vertically downward with respect to the laminated substrate T. The dicing frame F is rotatably pushed downward by the ball bearing 411. Consequently, a space into which the below-described delamination inducing unit 430 can intrude is formed at the side surface of the laminated substrate T. As a result, a sharp member (to be described later) of the delamination inducing unit 430 can be easily caused to come close to and make contact with the side surface of the laminated substrate T, more specifically the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G.
…
[0105] As shown in FIG. 6, the delamination inducing unit 430 includes a sharp member 431, a load cell 432 and a movement mechanism 433. The sharp member 431 is, e.g., an edge tool. The sharp member 431 is supported by the movement mechanism 433 such that the tip of the sharp member 431 protrudes toward the laminated substrate T. For the sharp member 431, it may be possible to use, e.g., a razor blade, a roller blade or an ultrasonic cutter. The load cell 432 is installed in the end portion of the sharp member 431 to detect a force (or a load) applied to the sharp member 431.
…
[0108] Now, the content of a delamination inducing process performed by the delamination inducing unit 430 will be described in detail with reference to FIGS. 7 to 9. FIGS. 7 to 9 are operation explaining views of the delamination inducing process.
[0109] The delamination inducing process is performed after the target substrate W of the laminated substrate T is held by the first holding unit 310 with the dicing frame F pushed down by the push-down units 410 and before the support substrate S is held by the second holding unit 350. That is to say, the delamination inducing process is performed while the support substrate S stays free. The delamination inducing unit 430 performs the delamination inducing process shown in FIGS. 7 to 9, under the control of the control device 30.
[0110] In the delamination inducing unit 430, the height position of the sharp member 431 is adjusted using the movement adjusting unit 440. Thereafter, the sharp member 431 is moved toward the side surface of the laminated substrate T using the movement mechanism 433. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 7, the sharp member 431 is substantially horizontally moved toward the side surface of the one end portion S1 of the laminated substrate T, namely the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G.
[0111] The expression "the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G" refers to the side surface of the support substrate S existing closer to the bonding surface Sj than the position h1 corresponding to one half of the thickness of the support substrate S. That is to say, the side surface of the support substrate S is formed into a substantially arc-like shape. "The side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G" makes an angle .theta. of 0 degree or more and less than 90 degrees with respect to the sharp member 431, when the angle between the sharp member 431 and the bonding surface Sj is assumed to be 0 degree.
[0112] First, the sharp member 431 is moved forward to a predetermined position (preliminary forward movement). Thereafter, the sharp member 431 is further moved forward to bring the sharp member 431 into contact with the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G.
[0113] At this time, the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S is detected using one or both of the load cell 432 and the movement mechanism 433. That is to say, the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S may be detected by measuring the force applied to the sharp member 431 through the use of the load cell 432 and detecting the change of the force. Moreover, the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S may be detected by measuring the torque of a motor installed within the movement mechanism 433 and detecting the change of the torque. In addition, when the change of the force measured by the load cell 432 is detected and when the change of the torque of the motor of the movement mechanism 433 is detected, it may be possible to detect the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S.
[0114] It is sometimes the case that the first holding unit 310 is disposed with a slight shift in the horizontal direction due to various causes, e.g., an installation error, etc. In this case, when a delamination start part is formed in the laminated substrate T by the delamination inducing unit 430, the sharp member 431 may enter the side surface of the laminated substrate T beyond a preset range. If such is the case, there is a possibility that an electronic circuit formed on the bonding surface Wj of the target substrate W is damaged by the sharp member 431.
[0115] In the present embodiment, even when one of the load cell 432 and the movement mechanism 433 is used as mentioned above, it is possible to detect the contact of the sharp member 431 with the support substrate S. Thus, the sharp member 431 can be entered into the side surface of the laminated substrate T by a suitable distance. This makes it possible to prevent an electronic circuit from being damaged.
[0116] If the sharp member 431 makes contact with the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G, an upwardly-acting force is applied to the support substrate S because the side surface of the support substrate S has a substantially arc-like shape.
[0117] Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 8, the sharp member 431 is further moved forward. Thus, the support substrate S is pushed upward along a curved surface of the side surface. As a result, a portion of the support substrate S is delaminated from the bonding agent G, whereby a delamination start part M is formed.
[0118] Since the support substrate S is not held by the second holding unit 350 and is kept in a free state, the upward movement of the support substrate S is not limited. In this process, the forward movement distance a1 of the sharp member 431 is, e.g., about 1 mm. The distance a1 is set depending on, e.g., the kind or thickness of the bonding agent G, and is previously stored in the control device 30.
[0119] In the delamination device 141, it may be possible to install a checking unit configured to check the delamination state of the support substrate S delaminated by the aforementioned process, specifically a checking unit (not shown) configured to check the formation of the delamination start part M. More specifically, the checking unit may be, e.g., an IR (Infrared) camera installed above the support substrate S.
[0120] Specifically, the reflectance of an infrared ray is changed in the region of the support substrate S delaminated from the target substrate W and in the region of the support substrate S not delaminated from the target substrate W. Thus, the support substrate S is first imaged by the IR camera, thereby obtaining image data which show a reflectance difference of the infrared ray at the support substrate S. The image data are transmitted to the control device 30. Based on the image data, the control device 30 can detect the part of the support substrate S delaminated from the target substrate W, namely the delamination start part M.
[0121] If the delamination start part M is detected by the control device 30, the next process to be described later proceeds. On the other hand, if the delamination start part M is not detected by the control device 30, the delamination start part M may be formed by, for example, causing the sharp member 431 to further move forward or by, for example, causing the sharp member 431 to move backward away from the support substrate S and performing again the operations shown in FIGS. 7 and 8. In this way, the checking unit configured to check the delamination state of the support substrate S is installed and the delamination device 141 is operated depending on the delamination state. Thus, it becomes possible to reliably form the delamination start part M.
[0122] If the delamination start part M is formed, as shown in FIG. 9, the delamination device 141 causes the sharp member 431 to further move forward while lowering the first holding unit 310 through the use of the elevator mechanism 340. Thus, a downwardly-acting force is applied to the target substrate W and the bonding agent G. An upwardly-acting force is applied to the support substrate S supported by the sharp member 431. Consequently, the delamination start part M is enlarged.
[0123] In this process, the forward movement distance a2 of the sharp member 431 is, e.g., about 1 mm. The distance a2 is set depending on, e.g., the kind or thickness of the bonding agent G, and is previously stored in the control device 30. The distance a1+a2 at which the sharp member 431 moves forward after making contact with the support substrate S is set to fall within at least a range in which the tip of the sharp member 431 does not reach an electronic circuit formed on the bonding surface Wj of the target substrate W and does not cause damage to the electronic circuit.
[0124] In this way, the delamination device 141 brings the sharp member 431 into contact with the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G, whereby the delamination start part M at which the support substrate S begins to be delaminated from the target substrate W can be formed on the side surface of the laminated substrate T.
[0125] By bringing the sharp member 431 into contact with the side surface of the support substrate S near the bonding agent G, it is possible to apply a force acting in a direction in which the support substrate S is delaminated from the target substrate W (namely an upwardly-acting force) to the support substrate S. Since the region close to the outermost edge portion of the support substrate S is lifted up, a force acting in a direction in which the support substrate S is delaminated from the target substrate W can be efficiently applied to the support substrate S.
As noted above, Itou does disclose using a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member (see especially paragraph 0087, disclosing “In each of the intake devices 365, 375 and 385, there is installed a sensor (not shown) which measures an intake pressure thereof, namely a suction pressure available when each of the first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 sucks the support substrate S.”) and Itou discloses that the limitation of “controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member”. However, Itou does not disclose the full limitation of “controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing.”
Kitahara makes obvious the full limitation of the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing. Kitahara, which is directed to the related art of semiconductor bonding, discloses in paragraph 0087 an “upper chuck 230” which also includes “Pressure measuring units 242a, 242b and 242c, which are configured to measure internal pressures of the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c, are installed in the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c. Thus, the upper chuck 230 is capable of adsorbing the upper wafer W.sub.U in the regions 230a, 230b and 230c.” Paragraph 0123 discloses that “When the internal pressure of any one of the suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c is equal to or lower than the predetermined threshold value, it may be determined that the bonding of the upper wafer W.sub.U and the lower wafer W.sub.L is abnormal.” Thus, Kitahara discloses that suction pressure, i.e., attraction, can be a useful for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations. Paragraph 0135 teaches some benefits, teaching that “When the bonding position is abnormal, the overlapped wafer W.sub.T is collected without being subjected to the subsequent process. This prevents a transfer failure or a wafer damage from occurring, which makes it possible to smoothly perform a process for subsequent wafers W.”
See Figure 12, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing as suggested by Kitahara for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations which can prevent transfer failures or wafer damage from occurring.
As noted above, Itou has been interpreted as disclosing the controller operations wherein in the attraction processing, the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a first movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from a standby position (such as the various position as shown in Figures 13-21), which is spaced apart from the first substrate, to a speed-change position (such as the later of the various positions as shown in Figure 13-21), which is closer to the first substrate than the standby position, as a position before being contacted with the first substrate at a first speed; controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a second movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from the speed-change position to be close to the first substrate at a second speed (variations in force versus position which would correspond to speed are shown in Figure 22), which is lower than the first speed, after the first movement processing; and controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member (see the sequence in Figures 13-21 and the description of the operation of the device paragraphs 0144-0164). In any event, Itou is capable of performing the claimed controller operations as it discloses control over position (see Figures 13-21), force (see Figure 22) as well as speed (see paragraph 0159, which discloses that speed is related to force, teaching that “For that reason, if the force applied to the suction pad 361 is kept constant as mentioned above, the moving speed of the suction pad 361 grows higher along with the movement of the suction pad 361.”). Furthermore, changes in sequences would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV C), and optimization of the variables such as position, force and speed would have been obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized having the controller perform the sequence of operations such that wherein in the attraction processing, the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a first movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from a standby position, which is spaced apart from the first substrate, to a speed-change position, which is closer to the first substrate than the standby position, as a position before being contacted with the first substrate at a first speed; controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a second movement processing of moving the start point side attraction member from the speed-change position to be close to the first substrate at a second speed, which is lower than the first speed, after the first movement processing; and controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member as an obvious rearrangement of the sequence of the Itou operations and as an optimization of the variables of position, force and speed disclosed in Itou.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/761944 (now published as US 20250014917 A1) in view of Itou (US 20150239227 A1) and Kitahara (US 20130327463 A1).
As to instant claim 1, claim 8 (including its parent claims 1, 4, 5 and 7) of the ‘944 application recites:
1. A separating apparatus, comprising:
a first holder configured to attract and hold a first substrate of a combined substrate in which the first substrate and a second substrate are bonded to each other and configured to move the first substrate to be away from the second substrate;
a second holder configured to attract and hold the second substrate of the combined substrate;
a controller configured to control the first holder to perform a separating processing of moving the first substrate attracted and held by the first holder to be away from the second substrate;
a light emitting device disposed at a position away from a plate surface on a first substrate side of the combined substrate in a direction in which the first substrate is moved by the first holder and configured to emit light parallel to a bonding surface between the first substrate and the second substrate of the combined substrate; and
a light receiving device configured to receive light emitted from the light emitting device,
wherein, after the separating processing is started, in a case where the light emitted from the light emitting device is not received by the light receiving device due to separation of a part of the first substrate from the second substrate and then the light emitted from the light emitting device is received by the light receiving device, the controller determines whether separation of the first substrate from the second substrate is completed based on a position or a movement direction of the first holder with respect to the second holder.
4. The separating apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the controller determines whether the separation is completed based on a movement speed of the first holder including the movement direction of the first holder.
5. The separating apparatus of Claim 4, wherein the movement speed is a relative speed of the first holder with respect to the second holder.
7. The separating apparatus of Claim 5,
wherein the first holder includes:
a start point side attraction member configured to attract an edge of an outer periphery located most adjacent to a separation start point in the outer periphery of the first substrate; and
an end point side attraction member configured to attract an edge of the outer periphery located most adjacent to a separation end point in the outer periphery of the first substrate, and
wherein when a relative speed of the end point side attraction member with respect to the second holder is denoted as V1 and a relative speed of the start point side attraction member with respect to the second holder is denoted as V2,
in a case where the light emitted from the light emitting device is not received by the light receiving device due to the separation of the part of the first substrate from the second substrate and then the light emitted from the light emitting device is received by the light receiving device after the separating processing is started, the controller determines that the separation is completed when V1 is greater than 0 and V2 is equal to or greater than 0 or when V1 is equal to or smaller than 0 and V2 is greater than -V1.
8. The separating apparatus of Claim 7, further comprising:
a notch device configured to form a notch by inserting a sharp member into a side surface located most adjacent to the separation start point among side surfaces of the combined substrate; and
a rotating mechanism configured to rotate the second holder,
wherein in the separating processing, the controller repeats, at least twice, a notch processing of forming the notch in the side surface located most adjacent to the separation start point among the side surfaces of the combined substrate by controlling the notch device and an attraction processing of lowering the start point side attraction member and the end point side attraction member to attract the start point side attraction member and the end point side attraction member to the first substrate by controlling the first holder after the notch processing, and
the controller controls, between the notch processing and the attraction processing and a subsequent notch processing and a subsequent attraction processing, the first holder to perform an elevating processing of elevating the start point side attraction member, which attracts the first substrate; , controls, after the elevating processing, the first holder to perform a lowering processing of lowering the start point side attraction member; controls, after the lowering processing, the first holder to perform a spacing processing of spacing the start point side attraction member and the end point side attraction member, which release the attraction of the first substrate, from the first substrate; and controls, after the spacing processing, the rotating mechanism to perform a rotation processing of rotating the combined substrate at an angle in a range of less than 360°, and
the controller controls the first holder to perform a final elevating processing of elevating the start point side attraction member and then elevating the end point side attraction member after a final attraction processing.
Thus, claim 8 of the ‘944 application is claiming nearly every substantial limitation of instant claim 1, except the ‘944 application does not claim either “a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member” or that the controller “controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing.”
Itou discloses a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member (see especially paragraph 0087, disclosing “In each of the intake devices 365, 375 and 385, there is installed a sensor (not shown) which measures an intake pressure thereof, namely a suction pressure available when each of the first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 sucks the support substrate S.”) being used in the context of a markedly similar separating apparatus (see the citations above in section 103 rejections). Similarly, Kitahara makes obvious the limitation of a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member and the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing. Kitahara, which is directed to the related art of semiconductor bonding, discloses in paragraph 0087 an “upper chuck 230” which also includes “Pressure measuring units 242a, 242b and 242c, which are configured to measure internal pressures of the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c, are installed in the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c. Thus, the upper chuck 230 is capable of adsorbing the upper wafer W.sub.U in the regions 230a, 230b and 230c.” Paragraph 0123 discloses that “When the internal pressure of any one of the suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c is equal to or lower than the predetermined threshold value, it may be determined that the bonding of the upper wafer W.sub.U and the lower wafer W.sub.L is abnormal.” Thus, Kitahara discloses that suction pressure, i.e., attraction, can be a useful for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations. Paragraph 0135 teaches some benefits, teaching that “When the bonding position is abnormal, the overlapped wafer W.sub.T is collected without being subjected to the subsequent process. This prevents a transfer failure or a wafer damage from occurring, which makes it possible to smoothly perform a process for subsequent wafers W.”
See Figure 12, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member and the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing as suggested by Itou for use in a separating apparatus and as suggested by Kitahara for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations which can prevent transfer failures or wafer damage from occurring.
With respect to claims 2-7, Itou and Kitahara as applied in the 35 USC 103a rejections are incorporated herein above would make these limitations obvious over the ‘944 applications due to the close similarity between Itou and the instant and ‘944 applications.
Similarly, with respect to instant claim 8, claim 8 of the ‘944 application (including parent claims 1, 4, 5, and 7) claims the separating apparatus in substantial detail, (as discussed above in the double patenting rejection of instant claim 1 above), except the ‘944 application does not claim either “a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member” or that the controller “controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing.” The ‘944 application also not does not claim the additional limitations of a carry-in/out station as claimed, a substrate transfer device as claimed.
Itou discloses a separating system, comprising: a carry-in/out station (“carry-in/carry-out station 11”) where a combined substrate in which a first substrate and a second substrate (see paragraph 0026, disclosing “FIG. 1 delaminates a laminated substrate T (see FIG. 2), in which a target substrate W as a first substrate and a support substrate S as a second substrate are bonded together by a bonding agent G, into the target substrate W and the support substrate S”) are bonded to each other is disposed; a substrate transfer device (“a first transfer region 13”) configured to transfer the combined substrate disposed in the carry-in/out station; and a separating apparatus (“a first transfer region 13”) configured to separate the combined substrate transferred by the substrate transfer device into the first substrate and the second substrate (see paragraph 0034, disclosing “The first processing block 10 includes a carry-in/carry-out station 11, a standby station 12, a first transfer region 13, a delamination station 14, a first cleaning station 15 and an edge cut station 16.”, and a separating apparatus very similar to that claimed in the instant application and the ‘944 application.
Itou also discloses a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member (see especially paragraph 0087, disclosing “In each of the intake devices 365, 375 and 385, there is installed a sensor (not shown) which measures an intake pressure thereof, namely a suction pressure available when each of the first to third suction movement units 360, 370 and 380 sucks the support substrate S.”) being used in the context of a markedly similar separating apparatus (see the citations above in section 103 rejections). Similarly, Kitahara makes obvious the limitation of a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member and the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing. Kitahara, which is directed to the related art of semiconductor bonding, discloses in paragraph 0087 an “upper chuck 230” which also includes “Pressure measuring units 242a, 242b and 242c, which are configured to measure internal pressures of the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c, are installed in the respective suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c. Thus, the upper chuck 230 is capable of adsorbing the upper wafer W.sub.U in the regions 230a, 230b and 230c.” Paragraph 0123 discloses that “When the internal pressure of any one of the suction pipes 240a, 240b and 240c is equal to or lower than the predetermined threshold value, it may be determined that the bonding of the upper wafer W.sub.U and the lower wafer W.sub.L is abnormal.” Thus, Kitahara discloses that suction pressure, i.e., attraction, can be a useful for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations. Paragraph 0135 teaches some benefits, teaching that “When the bonding position is abnormal, the overlapped wafer W.sub.T is collected without being subjected to the subsequent process. This prevents a transfer failure or a wafer damage from occurring, which makes it possible to smoothly perform a process for subsequent wafers W.”
See Figure 12, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a carry-in/out station as claimed, a substrate transfer device as claimed along with a detection device configured to detect attraction of the first substrate by the start point side attraction member and the controller controls the start point side elevating mechanism to perform a stopping processing of stopping a movement of the start point side attraction member when it is determined that the first substrate is attracted by the start point side attraction member based on a detection result of the detection device during the second movement processing as suggested by Itou for use in a separating apparatus and as suggested by Kitahara for determining abnormal states during wafer processing operations which can prevent transfer failures or wafer damage from occurring.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK