DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Tsurutani and Imai fail to teach or suggest the claimed limitations because there is no teaching or suggestion to place the neutral density filter of Imai in front of the branching optical system 12 of Tsurutani (remarks page 7). The applicant further argues that Imai does not teach or suggest a neutral density filter in front of a splitting optical system (see remarks page 8).
The examiner agrees that Tsurutani does not teach a neutral density filter or light attenuation member. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees that Imai cannot be relied upon to teach this limitation. Even if the diversing optical element 108 also performs functions similar to the color filters because it splits light according to wavelengths, element 108 still functions as a splitting optical element because it disperses the incident light into a plurality of light rays ([0033]). This is similar to the diffuser plate used by Tsurutani and the claimed invention, as a diffuser plate also functions to disperse light. Further, Imai describes the element 108 as a diffraction grating or prism which are considered splitting optical elements, not color filters.
Additionally, the applicant argues that measurement error is decreased and dynamic range is increased by inserting/removing the light attenuation member (remarks page 7). This is further described in [0056] of applicant's specification as preventing saturation of light receiving sensors by reducing the amount of the light. Reducing the transmission of light, thus increasing transmission precision, is a well-known function of a neutral density filter and is also the purpose of filter 104 in Imai (Imai [0031] the neutral density filter 104 functions as adjusting means for adjusting the quantity of the light 604 to be measured which reaches the sensor 110; transmittance precision being excellent can be used).
As such, the rejections of claims 1-12 have been maintained.
The applicant further argues that the cited prior art does not teach newly recited claims 13 and 14 (see remarks page 8), however, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Imai teaches the light attenuation member being disposed proximate a light collecting position of the objective optical system because the filter 104 is proximate the optical system 102 which collects light and shutter 106 ([0030]-[0032]). Additionally, Tsurutani teaches wherein colorimetric optical system includes a plurality of wavelength-selective filters (13a, 14a, 15a) and corresponding light receiving sensors (13b, 14b, 15b), and each of the plurality of wavelength-selective filters respectively receives one or more of the plurality of light rays split by the splitting optical system ([0017]).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“splitting optical system” in claims 1, 6, 7, 9, and 12
“light attenuation member” in claims 1-3, 9, and 12
“observation optical system” in claim 9
“objective optical system” in claim 13
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “splitting optical system” which uses the generic placeholder “system” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, the limitation on “splitting optical system” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to at least a diffuser plate, bundle fiber (applicant’s specification [0053]; [0112]) or other equivalent structures.
Further, the claim recites “light attenuation member” which uses the generic placeholder “member” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, the limitation on “light attenuation member” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to an attenuator including such as a neutral density filter (applicant’s specification [0056]) or other equivalent structures.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “observation optical system” which uses the generic placeholder “system” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, the limitation on “observation optical system” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to finder optical system 60 (applicant’s specification [0130], Fig. 20) which appears to include at least a lens or other equivalent structures.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “objective optical system” which uses the generic placeholder “system” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, the limitation on “objective optical system” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to at least a convex lens ([0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP2562520B1 by Tsurutani (cited in IDS as JP5454675B2) in view of US 20090116002 A1 by Imai et al. (hereinafter "Imai").
Regarding claim 1, Tsurutani teaches a photometric apparatus comprising (at least Fig. 23):
a splitting optical system that splits light to be measured from an object to be measured into a plurality of light rays ([0016] bundle fiber 12a is used in the branching optical system 12; bundle fiber 12a splits light from measurement surface into a plurality of light rays); and
a colorimetric optical system having a wavelength-selective filter on which the light that is to be measured and has been split by the splitting optical system is incident ([0017] colorimetric optical systems 13, 14, 15 are provided with color filters 13a, 14a, 15a), and a light receiving sensor that receives the light that is to be measured and has been transmitted through the wavelength-selective filter ([0017] light-receiving sensors 13b, 14b, 15b).
Tsurutani is silent as to a light attenuation member that is insertable in and removable from a light path of the light to be measured, wherein the light attenuation member is disposed in front of the splitting optical system.
However, Imai does address this limitation. Imai and Tsurutani are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of light measurement.
Imai teaches a light attenuation member (Fig. 1; [0031] neutral density filter 104 is a light attenuation member see applicant's specification [0056]) that is insertable in and removable from a light path of the light to be measured ([0031] neutral density filter 104 is inserted or removed to/from the optical path of the light 604 to be measured), wherein the light attenuation member is disposed in front of the splitting optical system (filter 104 is disposed in front of diversing element 108 which disperses the light according to wavelength, thus is a splitting optical system; [0032]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a light attenuation member to reduce the transmission of incoming light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tsurutani to include a light attenuation member that is insertable in and removable from a light path of the light to be measured, wherein the light attenuation member is disposed in front of the splitting optical system as suggested by Imai in order to increase transmission precision (Imai [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but Tsurutani is silent as to wherein the light attenuation member is inserted in and removed from the light path in accordance with brightness of the object to be measured.
However, Imai further teaches neutral density filter 104 functions as adjusting means for adjusting the quantity of the light 604 to be measured which reaches the sensor 110 under control of the control unit 122 ([0031]), thus the filter controls the brightness of the light reaching the sensor. Further, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the device from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 Sec. II “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990”). See MPEP 2114. Therefore, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsurutani such that the light attenuation member is inserted in and removed from the light path in accordance with brightness of the object to be measured as suggested by Imai in order to achieve excellent transmittance precision ([0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but Tsurutani is silent as to wherein the light attenuation member is formed of a thin film filter.
However, Imai teaches that the light attenuation member is a neutral density filter ([0031]) which the applicant describes as a type of thin film filter ([0080]). Therefore, it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsurutani such that the light attenuation member is formed of a thin film filter as suggested by Imai as it is a common and efficient type of neutral density filter.
Regarding claim 5, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Tsurutani further teaches wherein the wavelength-selective filter is a thin film filter([0023] color filters 13a, 14a, 15a are configured by laminating a plurality of filters of a optical absorption type; this appears to be identical to the applicant's description of the color filters in applicant's specification [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Tsurutani does not teach wherein the splitting optical system is a diffuser plate in this specific embodiment.
However, Tsurutani does teach wherein the splitting optical system is a diffuser plate (Fig. 27; [0026]; diffusion plate 19) in a separate embodiment.
Thus, it would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a diffuser plate to split incident light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the first embodiment of Tsurutani to include wherein the splitting optical system is a diffuser plate instead of the bundle fiber as the bundle fiber is expensive and involves the measurement error caused by directivity compared to the diffusion plate ([0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Tsurutani further teaches wherein the splitting optical system is a bundle fiber ([0016] bundle fiber 12).
Regarding claim 8, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, and although Tsurutani does not teach wherein a length of the bundle fiber is equal to or more than 50 times a diameter of a core of a strand, Tsurutani does teach wherein a length of the bundle fiber is equal to or more than 30 times a diameter of a core of a strand ([0066]). As the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233 (1955). See MPEP 2144.05 Sec. II A. One would select the length in order to ensure the outgoing angle is random and the diffusion effect similar to that of the diffusion plate ([0066]).
Regarding claim 10, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Tsurutani further teaches wherein the wavelength-selective filter is a color-matching function filter ([0017] color filters 13a, 14a, 15a corresponding to tristimulus values X, Y, Z, respectively; this is consistent with applicant's specification [0067]).
Regarding claim 12, Tsurutani teaches a photometric method comprising:
a photometric apparatus (Fig. 23) including
a splitting optical system that splits the light to be measured from an object to be measured into a plurality of light rays ([0016] bundle fiber 12a is used in the branching optical system 12; bundle fiber 12a splits light from measurement surface into a plurality of light rays), and
a colorimetric optical system having a wavelength-selective filter on which the light that is to be measured and has been split by the splitting optical system is incident ([0017] colorimetric optical systems 13, 14, 15 are provided with color filters 13a, 14a, 15a), and a light receiving sensor that receives the light that is to be measured and has been transmitted through the wavelength-selective filter([0017] light-receiving sensors 13b, 14b, 15b).
Tsurutani is silent as to inserting and removing a light attenuation member into and from a light path of light to be measured at a position in front of a splitting optical system.
However, Imai does address this limitation. Imai and Tsurutani are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of light measurement.
Imai teaches inserting and removing a light attenuation member (Fig. 1; [0031] neutral density filter 104 is a light attenuation member see applicant's specification [0056]) into and from a light path of light to be measured ([0031] neutral density filter 104 is inserted or removed to/from the optical path of the light 604 to be measured) at a position in front of a splitting optical system (filter 104 is disposed in front of diversing element 108 which disperses the light according to wavelength, thus is a splitting optical system; [0032]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a light attenuation member to reduce the transmission of incoming light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tsurutani to include inserting and removing a light attenuation member into and from a light path of light to be measured at a position in front of a splitting optical system as suggested by Imai in order to increase transmission precision (Imai [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Tsurutani further teaches comprising an objective optical system ([0016] object optical system 11; convex lens 11a) and a light collecting position of the objective optical system ([0017] aperture stop 11b).
Tsurutani is silent as to the light attenuation member being disposed proximate a light collecting position of the objective optical system.
However, Imai does address this limitation.
Imai teaches the light attenuation member (filter 104; [0031]) being disposed proximate a light collecting position of the objective optical system (shutter 106 is a light collecting position of the optical system 102; [0032]; [0030]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the filter proximate the light collecting position in order to reduce transmission of the collected light sent to the splitting optical element and sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tsurutani such the light attenuation member is disposed proximate a light collecting position of the objective optical system as suggested by Imai in order to increase transmission precision ([0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and Tsurutani further teaches wherein colorimetric optical system includes a plurality of wavelength-selective filters ([0017] 13a, 14a, 15a) and corresponding light receiving sensors ([0017] 13b, 14b, 15b), and each of the plurality of wavelength-selective filters respectively receives one or more of the plurality of light rays split by the splitting optical system (Fig. 23; [0017]).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsurutani in view of Imai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20110089316 A1 by Hosier et al. (hereinafter “Hosier”).
Regarding claim 4, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but Tsurutani and Imai are silent as to wherein the light receiving sensor is a silicon sensor.
However, Hosier does address this limitation. Tsurutani and Hosier are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of color measurement.
Hosier teaches wherein the light receiving sensor is a silicon sensor ([0004] image sensor array uses silicon chips).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silicon sensor that are common in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tsurutani to include wherein the light receiving sensor is a silicon sensor as suggested by Hosier as silicon sensors are high performance image sensors ([0004]) thus increasing measurement quality.
Regarding claim 11, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and although Tsurutani teaches color filters that transmit light that corresponds to the desired spectral characteristic such as tristimulus values X, Y, Z, Tsurutani is silent as to a wherein the wavelength-selective filter is a spectral filter (described in applicant's specification [0136] as being capable of continuously varying wavelengths), and the light receiving sensor is a line sensor.
However, Hosier does address this limitation. Tsurutani and Hosier are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of color measurement.
Hosier teaches wherein the wavelength-selective filter is a spectral filter ([0029] linear variable filter 156), and the light receiving sensor is a line sensor ([0029] linear sensor 158).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spectral filter to transmit certain wavelengths and use a line sensor to detect the corresponding light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tsurutani to include wherein the wavelength-selective filter is a spectral filter, and the light receiving sensor is a line sensor as suggested by Hosier in order to transmit and detect at least ten unique bandwidths of wavelengths, thus making a more robust measurement ([0010]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsurutani in view of Imai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view WO 2016208462 A1 by Tsurutani et al. (hereinafter Tsurutani '16; translation provided).
Regarding claim 9, Tsurutani modified by Imai teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, but Tsurutani is silent as to further comprising a mirror that guides the light to be measured to an observation optical system in front of the splitting optical system, wherein the light attenuation member is disposed between the mirror and the splitting optical system.
However, Tsurutani '16 does address this limitation. Tsurutani '16 and Tsurutani are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of light measurement.
Tsurutani '16 teaches further comprising (Fig. 1) a mirror (mirror 1016; [0039]) that guides the light to be measured to an observation optical system (finder system 1017; [0039]) in front of the splitting optical system (bundle fiber 1012; [0042]).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a mirror to send light to an observation system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Tsurutani to include a mirror that guides the light to be measured to an observation optical system in front of the splitting optical system as suggested by Tsurutani '16 in order to perform an additional measurement for alignment, calibration, or other error reduction.
Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. See MPEP 2144.04 Sec. V. C. It would have been obvious to arrange the mirror such that the light attenuation member is disposed between the mirror and the splitting optical system so that the finder optical system can observe the original light to be measured before it is altered by the light attenuation member, thus increasing the fidelity of the observation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAITLYN E KIDWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877