DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al. (US 6,879,167 B2; hereinafter Ju) in view of Kariya et al. (US 5,164,974 hereinafter Kariya).
Regarding Claim 1, Ju discloses a semiconductor device (column 6, lines 45 – 48; semiconductor wafer), comprising:
a wafer-type magnetic sensor (Fig. 1, combination of 110 and 140 and column 4, lines 3 – 5; the microwave to be used is an electromagnetic wave) comprising a wafer body portion (Fig. 1, item 160) and at least one measuring sensor (Fig. 1, item 160) at or in the wafer body (Fig. 1, item 160) portion; and
a calibrator (column 8, lines 59 – 63; electrical conductivity calibrator) configured to perform an offset calibration of the at least one measuring sensor (column 8, lines 56 – 63; an electrical conductivity calibrator for determining electrical conductivity of a low frequency from the determined apparent electrical conductivity and for creating a two-dimensional distribution map of said electrical conductivity).
But Ju does not specifically teach a manufacturing apparatus.
However, Kariya suggests a manufacturing apparatus (column 1, lines 27 – 28; practical semiconductor manufacturing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Ju in view of Kariya because of the demand for the increasing degree of integration of circuits, efforts have been made to develop a commercial machine for over ten years, but no success in achieving a practical semiconductor manufacturing device (Kariya, column 1, lines 16 – 29).
Regarding Claim 17, Ju discloses a semiconductor device (column 6, lines 45 – 48; semiconductor wafer), comprising:
a wafer-type magnetic sensor (Fig. 1, combination of 110 and 140 and column 4, lines 3 – 5; the microwave to be used is an electromagnetic wave) comprising a wafer body portion (Fig. 1, item 160) and at least one measuring sensor (Fig. 1, item 160) at or in the wafer body portion (Fig. 1, item 160); and
a calibrator (column 8, lines 59 – 63; electrical conductivity calibrator) configured to perform, an offset calibration of the at least one measuring sensor (column 8, lines 56 – 63; an electrical conductivity calibrator for determining electrical conductivity of a low frequency from the determined apparent electrical conductivity and for creating a two-dimensional distribution map of said electrical conductivity).
But Ju does not specifically teach a manufacturing apparatus.
However, Kariya suggests a manufacturing apparatus, during a manufacturing process of a semiconductor device by the manufacturing apparatus (column 1, lines 27 – 28; practical semiconductor manufacturing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Ju in view of Kariya because of the demand for the increasing degree of integration of circuits, efforts have been made to develop a commercial machine for over ten years, but no success in achieving a practical semiconductor manufacturing device (Kariya, column 1, lines 16 – 29).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju in view of Kariya, and further in view of Valois et al. (US 2017/0343654 A1; hereinafter Valois).
Regarding Claim 2, Ju and Kariya disclose the manufacturing apparatus of the semiconductor device of claim 1. But Ju and Kariya do not specifically teach wherein the calibrator comprises at least one reference sensor having a signal-to-noise ratio that is greater than a signal-to-noise ratio of the at least one measuring sensor.
However, Valois suggests wherein the calibrator comprises at least one reference sensor having a signal-to-noise ratio that is greater than a signal-to-noise ratio of the at least one measuring sensor (claim 2; sensor calibration system further comprising: an environment control system to maximize signal-to-noise ratio for the sensor system during calibration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju and Kariya in view of Valois in order to achieve a technical effect of optimizing calibration of sensor systems for precision, accuracy, and also minimizing calibration time and labor (Valois, para [0016]).
Regarding Claim 12, Ju and Kariya disclose the manufacturing apparatus of the semiconductor device of claim 1. But Ju and Kariya do not specifically teach wherein the calibrator comprises an acceleration sensor.
However, Valois suggests wherein the calibrator comprises an acceleration sensor (para [0041]; perform control actions (e.g., braking, steering, accelerating) using sensor information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju and Kariya in view of Valois in order to autonomously operating accelerating systems (Valois, para [0041]).
Regarding Claim 13, Ju discloses a semiconductor device (column 6, lines 45 – 48; semiconductor wafer), comprising:
a wafer-type magnetic sensor (Fig. 1, combination of 110 and 140 and column 4, lines 3 – 5; the microwave to be used is an electromagnetic wave) comprises:
a wafer body portion (Fig. 1, item 160);
a measuring sensor (Fig. 1, item 160) at or in the wafer body portion (Fig. 1, item 160); and
a calibrator (column 8, lines 59 – 63; electrical conductivity calibrator), the calibrator configured to perform an offset calibration of the measuring sensor (column 8, lines 56 – 63; an electrical conductivity calibrator for determining electrical conductivity of a low frequency from the determined apparent electrical conductivity and for creating a two-dimensional distribution map of said electrical conductivity).
But Ju does not specifically teach a manufacturing apparatus.
However, Kariya suggests a manufacturing apparatus (column 1, lines 27 – 28; practical semiconductor manufacturing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Ju in view of Kariya because of the demand for the increasing degree of integration of circuits, efforts have been made to develop a commercial machine for over ten years, but no success in achieving a practical semiconductor manufacturing device (Kariya, column 1, lines 16 – 29).
But Ju and Kariya do not specifically teach comprising a reference sensor.
However, Valois suggests comprising a reference sensor (claim 2; sensor calibration system further comprising: an environment control system to maximize signal-to-noise ratio for the sensor system during calibration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju and Kariya in view of Valois in order to achieve a technical effect of optimizing calibration of sensor systems for precision, accuracy, and also minimizing calibration time and labor (Valois, para [0016]).
Regarding Claim 14, Ju, Kariya, and Valois disclose the manufacturing apparatus of claim 13, Valois also suggests wherein the reference sensor has a signal-to-noise ratio that is greater than a signal-to-noise ratio of the measuring sensor (claim 2; sensor calibration system further comprising: an environment control system to maximize signal-to-noise ratio for the sensor system during calibration).
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju in view of Kariya, in view of Valois and further in view of Si (US 2007/0182081 A1; hereinafter Si).
Regarding Claim 3, Ju, Kariya, and Valois disclose the manufacturing apparatus of the semiconductor device of claim 2. But Ju, Kariya, and Valois do not specifically disclose wherein the at least one reference sensor is in the wafer body portion.
However, Si suggests wherein the at least one reference sensor is in the wafer body portion (para [0015]; a wafer apparatus comprises a main body…, a reference sensor disposed in the main body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju, Kariya, and Valois in view of Si in order to facilitate preventive maintenance (Si, para[0056]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ju, Kariya, and Valois disclose the manufacturing apparatus of claim 14. But Ju, Kariya, and Valois do not specifically disclose wherein the reference sensor is included in the wafer body portion.
However, Si suggests wherein the reference sensor is included in the wafer body portion (para [0015]; a wafer apparatus comprises a main body…, a reference sensor disposed in the main body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju, Kariya, and Valois in view of Si in order to facilitate preventive maintenance (Si, para[0056]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju in view of Kariya, and further in view of Seres et al. (US 11,491,042 B2; hereinafter Seres).
Regarding Claim 6, Ju and Kariya disclose the manufacturing apparatus of the semiconductor device of claim 1. But Ju and Kariya do not specifically teach wherein the calibrator comprises a calibration member that comprises at least one reference sensor, and wherein the calibration member is separately disposed from the wafer body portion or is separable, removable, or detachable from the wafer body portion.
However, Seres suggests wherein the calibrator comprises a calibration member that comprises at least one reference sensor, and wherein the calibration member is separately disposed from the wafer body portion or is separable, removable, or detachable from the wafer body portion (column 24, lines 12 – 16; the sensor can act as a reference sensor and can be used in the peripheral region of the body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju and Kariya in view of Seres because it may be cheaper than manufacturing a sensor in the body (Seres, column 24, lines 12 – 16).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju in view of Kariya, in view of Si, and further in view of Carcasi et al. (US 2021/0131977 A1; hereinafter Carcasi).
Regarding Claim 7, Ju and Kariya disclose the manufacturing apparatus of the semiconductor device of claim 1. But Ju and Kariya do not specifically teach wherein the calibrator comprises a calibration member that comprises at least one reference sensor.
However, Si suggests wherein the calibrator comprises a calibration member that comprises at least one reference sensor (para [0015]; a wafer apparatus comprises a main body…, a reference sensor disposed in the main body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju and Kariya in view of Si in order to facilitate preventive maintenance (Si, para[0056]).
But Ju, Kariya, and Si do not specifically teach wherein the calibration member is in a wafer carrier that is configured to accommodate and transfer a wafer.
However Carcasi suggests wherein the calibration member is in a wafer carrier that is configured to accommodate and transfer a wafer (para [0033]; test wafers could reside in the track in a standby station for regular auto-calibration routines, or in a wafer carrier for manual calibration routines between tracks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju, Kariya, and Si in view of Carcasi in order to provide manual calibration routines between tracks (Carcasi, para [0033]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju in view of Kariya, and further in view of Si.
Regarding Claim 9, Ju and Kariya disclose the manufacturing apparatus of the semiconductor device of claim 1, Ju also discloses a magnetic-field applying member that is configured to apply a magnetic field to the wafer-type magnetic sensor (Fig. 1 and column 3, lines 19 – 21; the surface of the silicon wafer 160 is irradiated with the microwave, and the sensor 140 receives the reflected microwave and column 4, lines 3 – 5; the microwave to be used is an electromagnetic wave).
But Ju and Kariya do not specifically teach wherein the calibrator comprises: a rotation member that is configured to rotate the wafer-type magnetic sensor in a plane.
However, Si suggests wherein the calibrator comprises: a rotation member that is configured to rotate the wafer-type magnetic sensor in a plane (para [0007]; a semiconductor wafer on a rotating spin chuck, and para [0047]; sensor is disposed at a portion of the main body of the wafer spinner apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju and Kariya in view of Si so that the generated centrifugal force evenly coats the semiconductor wafer 12 with the photoresist (Si, para [0007]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju in view of Kariya, in view of Si, and further in view of Lu et al. (US 10,989,885 B2; hereinafter Lu).
Regarding Claim 10, Ju, Kariya, and Si disclose the manufacturing apparatus of the semiconductor device of claim 9. But Ju, Kariya, and Si do not specifically teach wherein the magnetic-field applying member is configured to apply the magnetic field to the wafer-type magnetic sensor in a vertical direction.
However, Lu suggests wherein the magnetic-field applying member is configured to apply the magnetic field to the wafer-type magnetic sensor in a vertical direction (column 6, lines 41 – 47; the light beam enters to the semiconductor substrate… a reflector alter the direction of the light beam from a horizontal direction to a vertical direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju, Kariya, and Si in view of Lu in order to expand to a desired level (LU, column 6, lines 50 – 52).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju in view of Kariya, in view of Si, and further in view of Valois.
Regarding Claim 11, Ju, Kariya, and Si disclose the manufacturing apparatus of the semiconductor device of claim 9. But Ju, Kariya, and Si do not specifically teach wherein the calibrator is included in an apparatus that includes the rotation member.
However, Valois suggests wherein the calibrator is included in an apparatus that includes the rotation member (para [0058]; sensor calibration system can rotate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combination of Ju, Kariya, and Si in view of Valois in order to expose he sensor to various targets (Valois, para [0058]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8, 16, and 18 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4, the prior art of record does not teach claimed limitation: “wherein the calibrator comprises at least one reference sensor that is configured to provide reference magnetic field data for the offset calibration of the at least one measuring sensor, and wherein the calibrator further comprises a coordinate alignment portion that is configured to perform a coordinate alignment of the at least one reference sensor and the at least one measuring sensor” in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 4.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim is allowable as it further limit claim 4.
Regarding Claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach claimed limitation: “wherein the calibrator comprises at least one reference sensor that is configured to provide reference magnetic field data for the offset calibration of the at least one measuring sensor, and wherein the at least one measuring sensor is a plurality of measuring sensors and a number of the at least one reference sensor is less than a number of the plurality of measuring sensors” in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 16, the prior art of record does not teach claimed limitation: “wherein the reference sensor is configured to provide reference magnetic field data for the offset calibration of the measuring sensor, and wherein the calibrator further comprises a coordinate alignment portion configured to perform a coordinate alignment of the reference sensor and the measuring sensor” in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 16.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art of record does not teach claimed limitation: “wherein the performing the offset calibration comprises: obtaining, by a reference sensor, reference magnetic field data; obtaining, by the measuring sensor, magnetic field data; and performing the offset calibration of the measuring sensor based on the reference magnetic field data and the magnetic field data, wherein the reference sensor is included in the wafer-type magnetic sensor, or the reference sensor and the measuring sensor are exposed to a same magnetic field during the obtaining the reference magnetic field data and the obtaining the magnetic field data, respectively” in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is allowable as it further limit claim 18.
Regarding Claim 20, the prior art of record does not teach claimed limitation: “wherein the performing the offset calibration comprises: obtaining, by the measuring sensor, magnetic field data during an alignment process of the wafer-type magnetic sensor in which the wafer-type magnetic sensor is rotated in a plane and a magnetic field is applied to the wafer-type magnetic sensor in a vertical direction; and performing the offset calibration of the measuring sensor based on the magnetic field data” in combination with all other claimed limitations of claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ota et al. (US 2025/0298096 A1) discloses a magnetic sensor device comprising: a magnetic sensor configured to detect a component of a magnetic field and generate a detection signal; a magnetic field generator configured to generate an additional magnetic field to measure sensitivity of the magnetic sensor in a direction of the component of the magnetic field; and a processor configured to: receive the detection signal (see claim 1).
Yuan (US 2024/0377483 A1) suggests a magnetic sensor, comprising: a sensing assembly comprising a magnetic aggregation element and at least one sensing element adjacent to an extension surface of the magnetic aggregation element; a base plate, on a carrying surface of which at least two of the sensing assemblies are arranged; and when the magnetic sensor approaches a magnet to be detected (see claim 1).
Beuchert et al. (US 2024/0068815 A1) teaches an evaluation device for a sensor system equipped with a magnetic sensor and at least one inertial sensor, the evaluation device comprising: an electronics device configured to determine at least one value of at least one orientation variable representing a spatial orientation and/or change in orientation of the sensor system, in view of at least one supplied inertial sensor signal of the at least one inertial sensor, and in view of at least one supplied magnetic sensor signal of the magnetic sensor; wherein the electronic device is configured to determine at least one comparison value for the at least one orientation variable, in view of the at least one inertial sensor signal of the at least one inertial sensor, and in disregard of the at least one magnetic sensor signal of the magnetic sensor (see claim 1).
/GIOVANNI ASTACIO-OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 4/3/2026