DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 12/11/2025.
Claim 2 has been canceled.
Claims 1, 10, 11, 15, and 18 have been amended.
Claims 1, 3-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 3-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the Double Patenting rejection, the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has canceled and rolled up claim 2 into the independent claim. However, the claims in the current application are still in the same scope with those of prior patents. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 101, the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant asserted in page 9 that “[the] system, as recited in claim 1, provides several benefits. In this regard, the features recited in the claims are expressly tied to the technical benefits articulated in the specification . . . For example, ‘the system can trigger a user device (e.g., a smartphone, a car infotainment system, a table, etc.) to display a user interface that allows that customer to remotely initiate an ATM transaction that can be finalized at the ATM . . .’.” However, the Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application: Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, in Prong Two Step 2B, the Limitations that are not indicative of an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”): Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, claim 1 has been amended to recite features of claim 2. The applicant asserted that in page 11 that “Iqbal fails to disclose ‘receive, from an optical device, second attribute . . .’ . . . fails to disclose, teach, or suggest ‘generate and transmit a transaction code to the user device . . .”. However, per reconsidering the Iqbal reference, the reference teaches the recited limitation in par. [0057]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Iqbal by providing an authorization signal as taught by Eldershaw, because modifying Iqbal using elements taught by Eldershaw helps to better utilize the technical aspects of real-time and account-based location services through a network of kiosks via a centralized services server (Par. [0050]). Therefore, the claimed invention is obvious in view of the cited references.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11354631 (great grandparent case). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,715,078 (grandparent case). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,067,543 (grandparent case). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Current Application – 18/762,446
U.S. Patent No. – 11354631
1. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: a location identifier device configured to receive location information from a user device associated with a user based on the user device being within a predefined area; And a computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the computer system configured to: receive the location information from the user device within the predefined area via the location identifier device; receive a request for a transaction from the user device, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receive, from an optical device, second attribute information associated with the user within the predefined area; provide, based on the location information from the user device being within the predefined area and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the predefined area; receive, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generate and transmit a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receive, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to: store the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: transmit, to the user device based on the user device being within the predefined area, an identifier, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the second attribute information is related to a vehicle associated with the user.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: compare the first attribute information with the second attribute information to identify the user as being associated with the request.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction code is a digital token, wherein the computer system is further configured to: transmit the digital token to the user device based on the user being within the predefined area and an identification of the user.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction interface includes a first selectable field associated with a transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount.
10. (Currently Amended) A method of remotely initiating a transaction, the method comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for the transaction, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receiving, from an optical device, second attribute information associated with the user within a predefined area; receiving location information from the user device based on the user device being within the predefined area; providing, based on the location information from the user device and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the predefined area; receiving, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generating and transmitting a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receiving, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, [[a]] the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 10, wherein the transaction code is transmittedbeing within the predefined area and an identification of the user.
12. The method of claim 10, further comprising: transmitting an identifier to the user device based on the user device being within the area, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
13. The method of claim 10, further comprising: storing the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
14. The method of claim 10, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
15. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause operations comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for a transaction, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receiving, from an optical device, second attribute information of the user within a predefined area; receiving location information from the user device based on the user device being within the area; providing, based on the location information from the user device and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the area; receiving, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generating and transmitting a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receiving, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: transmitting an identifier to the user device based on the user device being within the area, the identifier configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
18. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the transaction code is transmitted to the user device based on the user device being within the area and an identification of the user.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the transaction interface includes a first selectable field associated with a transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: storing the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
1. (Currently Amended) A banking system comprising: a location identifier device associated with a plurality of ATMs, the location identifier device configured to transmit a beacon identifier to a user device associated with a user and receive location information from the user device in response to the user device receiving the beacon identifier; a surveillance device configured to capture video surveillance from a drive- through ATM location comprising the plurality of ATMs; and a computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the computer system configured to: receive the location information from the user device via the location identifier device; receive a request to pre-stage an ATM transaction from the user device associated with the user, the request including attribute information of a vehicle; determine, based on the beacon identifier, an ATM of the plurality of ATMs with which the user can pre-stage the ATM transaction by matching the beacon identifier with an ATM identifier associated with the ATM; obtain, from the received video surveillance, attribute information of a vehicle located at the drive-through ATM location; determine that the attribute information of the vehicle at the drive-through ATM location at least partially matches the attribute information of the vehicle from the request; identify, using the obtained vehicle attribute information, the request to pre-stage the ATM transaction by at least partially matching the obtained vehicle attribute information with the attribute information of the vehicle from the request; identify, using the identified request, the user associated with the request; determine, based on i) the location information from the user device being within a threshold distance of the ATM of the plurality of ATMs, (ii) the attribute information of the vehicle located at the drive-through ATM location at least partially matching the attribute information of the vehicle from the request, and (iii) the identification of the user associated with the request, that location information associated with the user matches a location associated with the ATM for pre-staging the ATM transaction at the ATM to authenticate the user; transmit, based on the determination that the location information associated with [[of]] the user matches [[at]] the location associated with the ATM for pre-staging the ATM transaction at the ATM, an ATM pre-stage authorization signal associated with the ATM to the user device; transmit an indication of the authentication of the user to the user device; transmit a transaction code to the user device, wherein the transaction code comprises a barcode, a one-time passcode, a digital token, or a QR code; receive the transaction code from the user device via the ATM and information regarding the pre-staged ATM transaction; and facilitate the pre-staged ATM transaction based at least partly on the received transaction code from the user device.
2. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to generate the transaction code transmitted to the user device.
3. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: store the attribute information of the vehicle from the request in a customer database by associating the of the vehicle with account information of the user.
4. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein the surveillance device is configured to capture a license plate of the vehicle in the drive-through ATM location.
5. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the ATM pre-stage authorization signal comprises a user interface associated with a mobile banking application for display at the user device.
6. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the ATM pre-stage authorization signal authorizes an ATM pre-stage function associated with a mobile banking application.
7. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein the user is authenticated prior to arriving in front of the ATM.
8. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 1, wherein the user does not enter, via input devices mounted on [[the]] an outside surface of the ATM, transaction information to complete the pre-staged ATM transaction.
9. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein user interactions at the ATM consists of: establishing a wireless connection between the user device and the ATM; and retrieving funds dispensed by the ATM.
10. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein user interactions at the ATM consists of retrieving funds dispensed by the ATM.
11. (Currently Amended) A method of remotely initiating a transaction at an ATM, the method comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request to pre-stage an ATM transaction, the request including vehicle attribute information for a vehicle associated with the user; transmitting, by a location identifier device, a beacon identifier associated with a plurality of ATMs; determining that attribute information of a vehicle at a drive-through ATM location comprising the plurality of ATMs received from a video surveillance device at least partially matches the vehicle attribute information from the request; identifying, based on the attribute information of the vehicle at the drive-through ATM location received from the video surveillance device at least partially matching the vehicle attribute information from the request, the request to pre-stage the ATM transaction; identifying, using the identified request to pre-stage the ATM transaction, the user associated with the request; receiving, from the location identifier device, location information from the user device; identifying, based on the beacon identifier and the location information from the user device, an ATM of the plurality of ATMs configured to pre-stage the ATM transaction by matching the beacon identifier with an ATM identifier associated with the ATM; determining, based on (i) the location information from the user device being within a threshold distance of the ATM of the plurality of ATMs, (ii) the attribute information of the vehicle at the drive-through ATM location received from the video surveillance device at least partially matching the vehicle attribute information from the request, and (iii) the identification of the user associated with the request, that [[the]] location information associated with the user matches a location associated with the ATM for pre- staging the ATM transaction at the ATM to authenticate the user; based on the determination that the location information associated with the user matches the location associated the ATM for pre-staging the ATM transaction at the ATM, transmitting, to the user device, a ATM pre-stage authorization signal associated with the ATM causing the user device to enable an ATM pre-stage feature associated with the ATM responsive to receipt of the ATM pre-stage authorization signal; transmitting a signal to the user device generating a user interface on the user device allowing the user to pre-stage the ATM transaction with the ATM; transmitting a transaction code from a financial institution computing system to the user device, wherein the transaction code comprises a barcode, a one-time passcode, a digital token, or a QR code; receiving, from the user device via the ATM, transaction information by the financial institution computing system, the transaction information including the transaction code; and facilitating the pre-staged ATM transaction based at least partly on the received transaction information.
12. (Original) The method of claim 14, further comprising rendering an ATM pre- stage interface.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 15, wherein the ATM pre-stage interface comprises an audio interface presented over an audio system of the vehicle.
14. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 14, further comprising storing the vehicle attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the vehicle attribute information with account information of the user.
15. (Currently Amended) A method of remotely initiating an ATM transaction, the method comprising: receiving video surveillance from a surveillance device configured to capture video surveillance from a drive-through ATM location, the drive-through ATM location comprising a plurality of ATMs; receiving a request to pre-stage [[an]] the ATM transaction from a user device associated with a user, the request including attribute information of a vehicle; identifying, based on a beacon identifier transmitted by a beacon associated with the plurality of ATMs, an ATM of the plurality of ATMs configured to pre-stage the ATM transaction by matching the beacon identifier with an ATM identifier associated with the ATM; determining that a location associated with the user matches a location associated with the ATM to authenticate the user for pre-staging the ATM transaction at the ATM by: obtaining location information from the user device; obtaining, from the received video surveillance, attribute information of a vehicle located at the drive-through ATM location; determining that the obtained attribute information of [[a]] the vehicle located at the drive-through ATM location at least partially matches the attribute information of the vehicle from the request; identifying the request based on the obtained attribute information of [[a]] the vehicle located at the drive-through ATM location at least partially matching the attribute information of the vehicle from the request; identifying, using the identified request, the user associated with the request; and determining that the location information from the user device is within a threshold distance of the ATM of the plurality of ATMs; in response to determining that the location associated with the user matches the location associated with the ATM to authenticate the user for pre-staging the ATM transaction at the ATM, transmitting an ATM pre-stage authorization signal associated with the ATM to the user device associated with the user; receiving, via the user device, a transaction code associated with the ATM, wherein the transaction code comprises a barcode or a QR code; retrieving, by the ATM, transaction information associated with a queued transaction based on the transaction code; and completing the pre-staged ATM transaction at the ATM.
16. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 21, wherein the barcode or the QR code is presented via a display of the user device
17. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 21, wherein the user does not enter transaction information to complete the pre-staged ATM transaction.
18. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 21, wherein user interactions at the ATM consists of: establishing a wireless connection between the user device and the ATM of the plurality of ATMs; and retrieving funds dispensed by the ATM of the plurality of ATMs.
19. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 21, wherein a user interaction at the ATM consists of retrieving funds dispensed by the ATM.
20. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 21, wherein the surveillance device is configured to capture a license plate of the vehicle in the drive-through ATM location.
Current Application – 18/762,446
U.S. Patent No. – 11,715,078
1. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: a location identifier device configured to receive location information from a user device associated with a user based on the user device being within a predefined area; and a computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the computer system configured to: receive the location information from the user device within the predefined area via the location identifier device; receive a request for a transaction from the user device, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receive, from an optical device, second attribute information associated with the user within the predefined area; provide, based on the location information from the user device being within the predefined area and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the predefined area; receive, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generate and transmit a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receive, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to: store the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: transmit, to the user device based on the user device being within the predefined area, an identifier, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the second attribute information is related to a vehicle associated with the user.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: compare the first attribute information with the second attribute information to identify the user as being associated with the request.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction code is a digital token, wherein the computer system is further configured to: transmit the digital token to the user device based on the user being within the predefined area and an identification of the user.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction interface includes a first selectable field associated with a transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount.
10. (Currently Amended) A method of remotely initiating a transaction, the method comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for the transaction, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receiving, from an optical device, second attribute information associated with the user within a predefined area; receiving location information from the user device based on the user device being within the predefined area; providing, based on the location information from the user device and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the predefined area; receiving, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generating and transmitting a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receiving, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, [[a]] the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 10, wherein the transaction code is transmitted
12. The method of claim 10, further comprising: transmitting an identifier to the user device based on the user device being within the area, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
13. The method of claim 10, further comprising: storing the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
14. The method of claim 10, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
15. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause operations comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for a transaction, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receiving, from an optical device, second attribute information of the user within a predefined area; receiving location information from the user device based on the user device being within the area; providing, based on the location information from the user device and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the area; receiving, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generating and transmitting a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receiving, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: transmitting an identifier to the user device based on the user device being within the area, the identifier configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
18. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the transaction code is transmitted to the user device based on the user device being within the area and an identification of the user.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the transaction interface includes a first selectable field associated with a transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: storing the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
1. (Previously Presented) A system comprising: a location identifier device configured to transmit a beacon identifier to a user device when the user device is within a predetermined range of an area and receive location information from the user device associated with a user; a surveillance device configured to capture video surveillance from the area; and a computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the computer system configured to: receive the location information from the user device via the location identifier device; receive a request for an automated teller machine (ATM) transaction from the user device, the request including attribute information associated with the user; obtain, from the received video surveillance, captured attribute information associated with the user comprising a license plate of a vehicle in the area; determine that the captured attribute information at least partially matches the attribute information from the request; identify, based on the captured attribute information at least partially matching the attribute information from the request, the user associated with the request; transmit a transaction code to the user device based on (i) the location information from the user device being within the area, (ii) the captured attribute information at least partially matching the attribute information from the request, and (iii) the identification of the user associated with the request; receive the transaction code from the user device via an ATM within the area; and facilitate the ATM transaction at the ATM based at least partially on the received transaction code from the user device.
2. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to generate the transaction code.
3. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: store the attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the attribute information with account information of the user.
4. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the beacon identifier is configured to trigger the user device to transmit location information from the user device.
5. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction code is a barcode or a QR code.
6. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction code is received by the ATM via a near-field communication (NFC) tap between the user device and the ATM.
7. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the request for the ATM transaction further includes transaction information regarding the ATM transaction, the transaction information including a transaction type, an account number, or an amount of funds.
8. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: provide, based on the location information from the user device being within the area, an ATM interface for display on the user device; and receive, from the user device via the ATM interface, transaction information regarding the ATM transaction, the transaction information including at least one of a transaction type, an account number, or an amount of funds.
9. (Previously Presented) A method of remotely initiating a transaction at an automated teller machine (ATM), the method comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for an ATM transaction, the request including attribute information associated with the user; obtaining, from a surveillance device configured to capture surveillance information regarding an area, captured attribute information of the user comprising a license plate of a vehicle in the area; determining that the captured attribute information at least partially matches the attribute information from the request; identifying, based on the captured attribute information at least partially matching the attribute information from the request, the user associated with the request; receiving location information from the user device based on a beacon identifier transmitted to the user device when the user device is within a predetermined range of the area; transmitting a transaction code to the user device based on (i) the location information from the user device being within the area, (ii) the captured attribute information at least partially matching the attribute information from the request, and (iii) the identification of the user associated with the request; receiving, from the user device via an ATM, the transaction code; and facilitating the ATM transaction at the ATM based at least partially on the received transaction code.
10. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising: rendering, based on the user device being within the area, an ATM interface on a display of the user device.
11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 12, wherein the ATM interface comprises an audio interface presented over an audio system of [[a]] the vehicle associated with the user.
12. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising storing the attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the attribute information with account information of the user.
13. (Previously Presented) A method of remotely initiating an automated teller machine (ATM) transaction, the method comprising: receiving surveillance information from a surveillance device configured to capture surveillance information regarding an area; receiving a request to initiate an ATM transaction from a user device associated with a user, the request including attribute information associated with the user; authenticating the user for the ATM transaction by: obtaining location information from the user device based on a beacon identifier transmitted to the user device when the user device is within a predetermined range of the area; obtaining, from the received surveillance information, captured attribute information of associated with the user comprising a license plate of a vehicle in the area; determining that the captured attribute information at least partially matches the attribute information of the request; identifying, based on the captured attribute information at least partially matching the attribute information from the request, the user associated with the request; and determining, based on the location information from the user device, that the user device is within the area; in response to authenticating the user, transmitting a transaction code to the user device; receiving, from the user device via an ATM within the area, the transaction code; facilitating, based on the transaction code received from the user device, the ATM transaction at the ATM.
14. (Original) The method of claim 15, wherein the transaction code is at least one of a QR code or a barcode.
15. (Original) The method of claim 15, wherein the transaction code is received by the ATM via a near-field communication (NFC) tap between the user device and the ATM.
16. (Original) The method of claim 15, wherein the request further includes transaction information regarding the ATM transaction, the transaction information including a transaction type, an account number, or an amount of funds.
17. (Original) The method of claim 15, wherein the method further comprises: providing, based on the location information from the user device being within the area, an ATM interface for display on the user device; and receiving, from the user device via the ATM interface, transaction information regarding the ATM transaction, the transaction information including at least one of a transaction type, an account number, or an amount of funds.
.
Current Application – 18/762,446
U.S. Patent No. – 12,067,543
1. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: a location identifier device configured to receive location information from a user device associated with a user based on the user device being within a predefined area; and a computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the computer system configured to: receive the location information from the user device within the predefined area via the location identifier device; receive a request for a transaction from the user device, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receive, from an optical device, second attribute information associated with the user within the predefined area; provide, based on the location information from the user device being within the predefined area and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the predefined area; receive, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generate and transmit a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receive, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to: store the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: transmit, to the user device based on the user device being within the predefined area, an identifier, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the second attribute information is related to a vehicle associated with the user.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is further configured to: compare the first attribute information with the second attribute information to identify the user as being associated with the request.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction code is a digital token, wherein the computer system is further configured to: transmit the digital token to the user device based on the user being within the predefined area and an identification of the user.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction interface includes a first selectable field associated with a transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount.
10. (Currently Amended) A method of remotely initiating a transaction, the method comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for the transaction, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receiving, from an optical device, second attribute information associated with the user within a predefined area; receiving location information from the user device based on the user device being within the predefined area; providing, based on the location information from the user device and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the predefined area; receiving, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generating and transmitting a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receiving, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, [[a]] the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 10, wherein the transaction code is transmitteddevice being within the predefined area and an identification of the user.
12. The method of claim 10, further comprising: transmitting an identifier to the user device based on the user device being within the area, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
13. The method of claim 10, further comprising: storing the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
14. The method of claim 10, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
15. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause operations comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for a transaction, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receiving, from an optical device, second attribute information of the user within a predefined area; receiving location information from the user device based on the user device being within the area; providing, based on the location information from the user device and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the area; receiving, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction; generating and transmitting a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receiving, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, the transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM).
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: transmitting an identifier to the user device based on the user device being within the area, the identifier configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
18. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the transaction code is transmitted to the user device based on the user device being within the area and an identification of the user.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the transaction interface includes a first selectable field associated with a transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: storing the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
1. (Previously Presented) A system comprising: a location identifier device configured to transmit an identifier to a user device when the user device is within a predetermined range of an area and receive location information from the user device associated with a user; and a computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the computer system configured to: receive the location information from the user device within the area via the location identifier device; receive a request for an automated teller machine (ATM) transaction from the user device, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receive, from a camera device, second attribute information comprising an indication of a license plate within the area; identify, based on a determination that the second attribute information at least partially matches the first attribute information from the request, the user associated with the request; provide, based on the location information from the user device being within the area, an authorization signal including an ATM interface for display on the user device, wherein the ATM interface is provided for display while the user device is within the area; receive, from the user device via the ATM interface, transaction information regarding the ATM transaction, the transaction information including at least one of a transaction type, an account number, or an amount of funds; and transmit, based on the user device being within the area and the identification of the user, a transaction code to the user device.
2. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to generate the transaction code.
3. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to: store the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
4. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction code is a barcode or a QR code.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the transaction code is received by the ATM via a near-field communication (NFC) tap between the user device and the ATM.
7. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 1, wherein the computer system is configured to: provide, to the user device, an ATM interface for display on the user device, the ATM interface includes including a first selectable field associated with the transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount.
8. (Previously Presented) A method of remotely initiating a transaction at an automated teller machine (ATM), the method comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for an ATM transaction, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receiving, from a camera device, second attribute information comprising an indication of a license plate within an area; identifying, based on a determination that the second attribute information at least partially matches the first attribute information associated with the user, the user associated with the request; receiving location information from the user device based on an identifier transmitted to the user device when the user device is within the area; providing, based on the location information from the user device, an authorization signal including an ATM interface for display on the user device, wherein the ATM interface is provided for display while the user device is within the area; receiving, from the user device via the ATM interface, transaction information regarding the ATM transaction, the transaction information including at least one of a transaction type, an account number, or an amount of funds; and transmitting, based on the user device being within the area and the identification of the user, a transaction code to the user device.
9. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device.
10. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising: storing the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
11. (Previously Presented) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause operations comprising: receiving, from a user device associated with a user, a request for an ATM transaction, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receiving, from a camera device, second attribute information of the user comprising an indication of a license plate within an area; identifying, based on a determination that the second attribute information at least partially matches the first attribute information associated with the user, the user associated with the request; receiving location information from the user device based on an identifier transmitted to the user device when the user device is within the area; providing, based on the location information from the user device, an authorization signal including an ATM interface for display on the user device, wherein the ATM interface is provided for display while the user device is within the area; receiving, from the user device via the ATM interface, transaction information regarding the ATM transaction, the transaction information including at least one of a transaction type, an account number, or an amount of funds; and transmitting, based on the user device being within the area and the identification of the user, a transaction code to the user device.
12. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: providing, to the user device, an ATM interface for display on the user device, the ATM interface includes including a first selectable field associated with the transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount.
13. (Original) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause operations comprising: storing the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-20 are directed to a system, a method, and a product which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide generic computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
Claims 1, 10 and 15 are grouped together. Claim 1, in part, recites a system comprising: a location identifier device configured to receive location information from a user device associated with a user based on the user device being within a predefined area; and a computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the computer system configured to: receive the location information from the user device within the predefined area via the location identifier device; receive a request for a transaction from the user device, the request including first attribute information associated with the user; receive, from an optical device, second attribute information associated with the user within the predefined area and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information; provide, based on the location information from the user device being within the predefined area, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the predefined area; receive, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction; generate and transmit a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface; and receive, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal, a transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction. The concept here is similar to the concept of geo-spatial mapping with credit risk indicators. Such concept is directed to business relations – commercial interactions. Hence, they fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements such as a location identifier device, a user device, a processor, a memory, an optical device, a near-field communication (NFC) to perform receiving, requesting. The generic computer components are recited at a high-level of generality (identifying, storing, and displaying) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Hence, the claim is directed to an abstract idea
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than an abstract idea. Claims 1, 10 and 15 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of at least a computing device to perform receiving and identifying data are merely additional elements performing the abstract idea on a generic device i.e., abstract idea and apply it. There is no improvement to computer technology or computer functionality MPEP 2106.05(a) nor a particular machine MPEP 2106.05(b) nor a particular transformation MPEP 2106.05(c). Additionally, the limitation of sending a request or message over network is recognized as well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) see MPEP 2106.05(d). Furthermore, the limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application because they are merely adding the words “apply it” to a judicial exception on a generic computing device. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims have been given the full two part analysis (Step 2A – 2-prong tests and step 2B) including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The Dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because for the same reasoning as above and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional limitations of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 3, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) associating first attribute to account information of the user. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a computer system, non-transitory computer-readable medium, one or more processors) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 4, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) transmitting a location information from a user device. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a computer system, non-transitory computer-readable medium, one or more processors, a user device) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 5, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an automated teller machine. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as an ATM) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a second attribute associated with a vehicle. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a system) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) comparing first and second attributes. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a system) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) transmitting a digital token to the user. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a system) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) first attribute and second attribute fields. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a system, a non-transitory computer-readable medium) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) transmitting the transaction code within a predefined area. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements (such as a user device, a non-transitory computer-readable medium) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, Claims 1, 3-20 are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iqbal et al. (Systems and Methods for Transacting an ATM Using a Mobile Device 2015/0287017 A1), in view of Eldershaw et al. (US 2012/0127308 A1).
Claims 1, 10 and 15 are grouped together Iqbal discloses: A system comprising: a location identifier device configured to receive location information from a user device associated with a user based on the user device being within a predefined area (Iqbal, Par. [0029] & [0036] & Par. [0069] “Alternatively, local FSP device 130 may transmit a signal to FSP device 120, which may then transmit a signal to user device 110 indicating that it is within a threshold distance of a local FSP device 130. For example, user device 110 may be configured to detect local FSP device 130. In certain embodiments, user device 110 operating a mobile application may locate and detect local FSP device 130 via signals transmitted over for example, BLE or NFC networks. FSP device 120 may transmit a signal to user device 110 that may cause user device 110 to display a prompt to the user. For example, user device 110 may be configured to execute software that generates a prompt to (or causes a prompt to be generated to) the user to initiate a financial transaction. The prompt may be displayed within a mobile application running on user device 110. The prompt may contain, for example, a selection of possible transactions a user may initiate on user device 110” & see at least Par. [0070] “…In certain embodiments, user device 110 may enter and transmit transaction data automatically, for example, by a mobile application on user device 110. Alternatively, local FSP device 130 may receive the transaction data from user device 110…”) FSP signal corresponds to beacon identifier associated with the plurality of ATMS under BRI. The signal is also received from the user device (mobile application) and alternatively, the beacon device receives the signal from the user device;
and a computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the computer system configured to: (Iqbal, Par. [0029], “FSP device 120 may be one or more computing systems that are configured to execute software instructions stored on one or more memory devices to perform one or more operations consistent with the disclosed embodiments. For example, FSP device 120 may include one or more memory device(s) storing data and software instructions, and one or more processor(s) configured to use the data and execute the software instructions to perform server-based functions and operations,”);
receive the location information from the user device within the predefined area via the location identifier device (Par. 0081, “FSP device 120 may determine whether user device 110 is at the local FSP device 130 (e.g., ATM) (step 620). For example, FSP device 120 may be configured to execute software that performs processes to determine whether a user (e.g., customer) with a user device 110 is within a predetermined distance or range of distance(s) of local FSP device 130” & “For example, FSP device 120 may be configured to receive a signal from local FSP device 130 indicating that it has detected a signal from user device 110. FSP device 120 may then determine the physical location of user device 110 (and, for instance, the customer) with respect to local FSP device 130”. By detecting the user device’s location, the system intrinsically receives location information associated with that device);
receive a request for a transaction from the user device, the request including first attribute information associated with the user (Par. 0109, “In certain aspects, the disclosed embodiments may iteratively prompt the user for additional authentication data until the required authentication tier is satisfied or a threshold is met to deny the transaction. For example, once the received authentication data is satisfied (step 950-yes), FSP device 120 may authorize the requested transaction (step 960). If however, the received transaction does not satisfy the required authentication tier, for example, because the biometric data does not match, the username and password are incorrect, the user is attempting to access his account through an unknown mobile device, etc. (step 950-no), FSP device 120 may deny the transaction (step 970). In certain aspects, FSP device 120 may be configured to generate and provide a message to user device 110 (or some other device) reflecting the results of the authentication operation (e.g., authentication denied and/or transaction denied; authentication accepted and/or transaction authorized)”). An authentication decision, whether authentication is denied/accepted and/or transaction is denied/accepted, is transmitted and displayed on a user device.
receive, from the user device via the transaction interface, transaction information regarding the transaction to initiate the transaction (Iqbal, see at least par. [0070] “. . . User device 110 may be configured to generate an interface to request transaction data from the user regarding the withdrawal. User device 110 may receive the user input of transaction data, and store the received transaction data for processing in accordance with one or more operations consistent with the disclosed embodiments.”) Transaction data is received at the user device to initiate the withdrawal;
generate and transmit a transaction code to the user device, the transaction code identifying the transaction initiated through the transaction interface (Iqbal, see par. [0057] “Transaction data may include a type of transaction and a customer identifier. A type of transaction may include, for example, an ATM withdrawal, a money transfer or wire, a debit card PIN reset, a deposit, or a check cashing. If the type of transaction is, for example, an ATM withdrawal, money transfer or wire, deposit, or check cashing, transaction data may further include an amount. In certain embodiments, transaction data may include other data relating to transactions that is known to those skilled in the art, such as transaction amount, timestamp information, entity identifier, account identifier(s), etc.”) Transaction code consists of “type of transaction” and “customer identifier”); and
receive, from the user device via near-field communication (NFC) tap with a terminal (Iqbal, see at least par. [0092] “At step 740, local FSP device 130 may then detect the customer with user device 110 at the ATM. Local FSP device 130 may detect the customer with a within a certain threshold distance, as described in detail with reference to FIG. 6. For example, in certain aspects, local FSP device 130 may determine whether a user (customer) with a user device 110 is within one foot, two feet, six inches, etc. of local FSP device 130. For instance, local FSP device 130 may detect the customer by detecting, through network 140 (Wi-Fi, BLE, NFC, etc.), user device 110. User device 110 may be detected at a certain threshold distance before local FSP device 130 will connect and communicate with user device 110 . . .”), a transaction code to retrieve the transaction initiated through the transaction interface and complete the transaction (Iqbal, see at least par. [0070] “. . . User device 110 may be configured to generate an interface to request transaction data from the user regarding the withdrawal. User device 110 may receive the user input of transaction data, and store the received transaction data for processing in accordance with one or more operations consistent with the disclosed embodiments.” & see at least par. [0099] “. . . If, for example, local FSP device 130 receives the authentication data, the data may then be transmitted to FSP device 120 for authentication. Authentication data may include, for example, a user name and password, social security number, ATM pin, or biometric data. Biometric data may include, for example, a fingerprint scan, voice recognition, facial recognition, retina or iris scan, heartbeat or pulse pattern, or palm vein scan . . .”) Transaction code corresponds to an authentication data such as ATM pin.
Iqbal does not disclose the following; however, Eldershaw teaches:
receive, from an optical device, second attribute information associated with the user within the predefined area (Eldershaw, see at least Par. [0068] “. . . In a further embodiment, the parking device 21 can include a camera or other input device to visually scan the user's face or read the license plate of a motorist's vehicle, a wireless transponder to retrieve a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag on the motorist's vehicle, or other sensor to identify the requesting user or the vehicle parked.”) License plate of a vehicle is detected at the kiosk by a camera;
provide, based on the location information from the user device being within the predefined area, an authorization signal including a transaction interface for display on the user device (Eldershaw, Par. [0081] & [0150]) transaction code corresponds to parking codes sent to the users to perform the transaction in consistent with par. [0044]- [0045] of the instant application, wherein the transaction interface is provided for display while the user device is within the predefined area and the second attribute information at least partially matching the first attribute information (Eldershaw, par. [0081] & see at least par. [0099] “. . . If valid, check-in is processed (step 84) by matching the motorist and vehicle identities to the reservation. As well, providing a parking identity to the parking services 12 at check-in enables the server to customize and apply the parking services offered to the user based on settings in the user's parking account (step 86) . . .”) Codes are sent from the user device to the kiosk to facilitate transaction. The second attribute information, such as motorist and vehicle identifies, match to the first attribute (reservation information);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Iqbal by providing an authorization signal as taught by Eldershaw, because modifying Iqbal using elements taught by Eldershaw helps to better utilize the technical aspects of real-time and account-based location services through a network of kiosks via a centralized services server (Par. [0050]). Therefore, the claimed invention is obvious in view of the cited references.
Claims 3, 13 and 20 are grouped together. Claim 3, for instance, is disclosed: Iqbal in view of Eldershaw discloses: The system of claim 1. Iqbal teaches: wherein the computer system is further configured to: store the first attribute information from the request in a customer database by associating the first attribute information with account information of the user (Iqbal, see at least par.[0040] “. . . The user identifier may be a credit or debit card number, an account number, or another means for identifying the user initiating the financial transaction. The transaction type may include an indicator of the type of transaction the user is initiating, such as, ATM cash withdrawal, debit PIN reset, money wire or transfer, call to the customer service center, or other transactions requiring user authentication. . . .”). The first attribute information such as identifier (or “PIN”) is associated with a user.
Claims 4, 12 and 17 are grouped together. Claim 4, for instance, is disclosed: Iqbal in view of Eldershaw discloses: The system of claim 1. However, Eldershaw teaches: wherein the computer system is further configured to: transmit, to the user device based on the user device being within the predefined area, an identifier, wherein the identifier is configured to cause the user device to transmit the location information from the user device (Eldershaw, see at least Par. [0068] “. . . In a further embodiment, the parking device 21 can include a camera or other input device to visually scan the user's face or read the license plate of a motorist's vehicle, a wireless transponder to retrieve a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag on the motorist's vehicle, or other sensor to identify the requesting user or the vehicle parked.”) License plate of a vehicle is detected at the kiosk by a camera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Iqbal by providing an authorization signal as taught by Eldershaw, because modifying Iqbal using elements taught by Eldershaw helps to better utilize the technical aspects of real-time and account-based location services through a network of kiosks via a centralized services server (Par. [0050]). Therefore, the claimed invention is obvious in view of the cited references.
Claims 5, 14 and 16 are grouped together. Claim 5, for instance, is disclosed: Iqbal in view of Eldershaw discloses: The system of claim 1. Iqbal further teaches: wherein the terminal is an automated teller machine (ATM) (Iqbal, Par. [0061], “At step 350, local FSP device 130 may complete the transaction. Local FSP device 130 may, for example, dispense cash from an ATM, indicate that a deposit has been successfully processed, notify a teller that the user has been authorized for a cash withdrawal, complete the user's initiated transaction, and/or other operations”). A user is authenticated prior to arriving in front of the ATM via way of the system notifying a teller that a cash withdrawal is authorized.
Regarding claim 6, Iqbal in view of Eldershaw discloses: The system of claim 1. However, Eldershaw teaches: wherein the second attribute information is related to a vehicle associated with the user (Eldershaw, see at least Par. [0068] “. . . In a further embodiment, the parking device 21 can include a camera or other input device to visually scan the user's face or read the license plate of a motorist's vehicle, a wireless transponder to retrieve a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag on the motorist's vehicle, or other sensor to identify the requesting user or the vehicle parked.”) License plate of a vehicle is detected at the kiosk by a camera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Iqbal by providing an authorization signal via a second attributes taught by Eldershaw, because modifying Iqbal using elements taught by Eldershaw helps to better utilize the technical aspects of real-time and account-based location services through a network of kiosks via a centralized services server. Therefore, the claimed invention is obvious in view of the cited references.
Regarding claim 8, Iqbal in view of Eldershaw discloses: The system of claim 1. However, Eldershaw teaches: wherein the transaction code is a digital token, wherein the computer system is further configured to: transmit the digital token to the user device based on the user being within the predefined area and an identification of the user (Eldershaw, Par. [0081] & [0150]) transaction code corresponds to parking codes sent to the users.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Iqbal by providing an authorization signal via a second attributes taught by Eldershaw, because modifying Iqbal using elements taught by Eldershaw helps to better utilize the technical aspects of real-time and account-based location services through a network of kiosks via a centralized services server. Therefore, the claimed invention is obvious in view of the cited references.
Claims 9 and 19 are grouped together. Claim 5, for instance, is disclosed: Iqbal in view of Eldershaw discloses: The system of claim 1. Iqbal further teaches: wherein the transaction interface includes a first selectable field associated with a transaction type and a second selectable field configured to receive an input associated with a transaction amount (Iqbal, Par. [0085] & par. [0097] “Transaction data may include, for example, the sender's account information, an amount, and recipient information. Recipient information may include, for example, an identifier such as a phone number, email address, social security number, or financial service account number . . .”)) These types of information are input in the fields of the device.
Claims 11 and 18 are grouped together. Claim 11, for instance, is disclosed: Iqbal in view of Eldershaw discloses: the method of claim 10. Eldershaw further teaches: wherein the transaction code is transmitted, based on the user device being within the predefined area and an identification of the user (Eldershaw, Par. [0081] & [0150]) transaction code corresponds to parking codes sent to the users to perform the transaction in consistent with par. [0044]-[0045] of the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Iqbal by providing an authorization signal via a second attributes taught by Eldershaw, because modifying Iqbal using elements taught by Eldershaw helps to better utilize the technical aspects of real-time and account-based location services through a network of kiosks via a centralized services server. Therefore, the claimed invention is obvious in view of the cited references.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iqbal et al. (Systems and Methods for Transacting an ATM Using a Mobile Device 2015/0287017 A1), in view of Eldershaw et al. (US 2012/0127308 A1) in further view of Martin et al. (US 2014/0279491 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Iqbal in view of Eldershaw discloses: The system of claim 1. However, Martin teaches: wherein the computer system is further configured to: compare the first attribute information with the second attribute information to identify the user as being associated with the request (Martin, Par. [0043]-[0044]) The system compares the attribute vehicle information such as VIN to the associated account (linked to the vehicle) in a “remote account database” (Par. [0044]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Iqbal in view of Martin by comparing attribute information as taught by Martin, because modifying Iqbal in view of Eldershaw using elements taught by Martin helps to better authenticate information at the server. Therefore, the claimed invention is obvious in view of the cited references.
274818-3362-4893Atty. Dkt. No. 052873-0670 Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOAN DUC BUI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3693
/Mike Anderson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3693