DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited within the IDS documents have been considered.
IDS document dates: July 2, 2024; July 22, 2025; December 3, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation regarding width in independent claim 15 (lines 5-6: “…wherein the molded routing layer comprises the same first width as the integrated routing layer…”) must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang et al. (US 2019/0013284 A1, hereinafter referred to as ‘Fang’).
As to claim 1, Fang teaches an apparatus (see figure 1A), comprising:
a die (12b) coupled to an integrated routing layer (11), wherein the die comprises a die interconnect pitch, and wherein the integrated routing layer comprises a first width that is wider than the die and a first interconnect pitch that is larger than the die interconnect pitch;
a molded routing layer (10) coupled to the integrated routing layer, wherein the molded routing layer comprises a second width that is wider than the first width and a second interconnect pitch that is larger than the first interconnect pitch;
a first encapsulant (14) laterally surrounding the die and extending laterally to the same first width as the integrated routing layer; and
a second encapsulant (15) laterally surrounding the first encapsulant and extending laterally to the same second width as the molded routing layer.
As to claim 2, Fang teaches the die is coupled to the integrated routing layer through a plurality of pillars (12b1) extending from a surface of the die, and wherein a portion of the first encapsulant is laterally between individual ones of the plurality of pillars. See figure 1A.
As to claim 4, Fang teaches the molded routing layer is coupled to the integrated routing layer through one or more solder connections (13). See also paragraphs 0033-0038.
As to claim 5, Fang teaches the first encapsulant (14) comprises a polymer based encapsulant. See also paragraph 0030.
As to claim 8, Fang teaches an apparatus (see figure 1A), comprising:
a die (12b) coupled to an integrated routing layer (11), wherein the die comprises a die interconnect pitch, and wherein the integrated routing layer comprises a first width that is wider than the die and a first interconnect pitch that is larger than the die interconnect pitch;
a molded routing layer (10) coupled to the integrated routing layer, wherein the molded routing layer comprises a second width that is wider than the first width and a second interconnect pitch that is larger than the first interconnect pitch;
a polymer based material (14, see paragraph 0030) laterally surrounding the die and extending laterally to the same first width as the integrated routing layer; and
a second material (15) laterally surrounding the polymer based material and extending laterally to the same second width as the molded routing layer.
As to claim 9, Fang teaches the die is coupled to the integrated routing layer through a plurality of pillars (12b1) extending from a surface of the die, and wherein a portion of the polymer based material is laterally between individual ones of the plurality of pillars. See figure 1A.
As to claim 11, Fang teaches the molded routing layer is coupled to the integrated routing layer through one or more solder connections (13). See also paragraphs 0033-0038.
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shih (US 2018/0226333 A1).
As to claim 1, Shih teaches an apparatus (see figure 15), comprising:
a die (200) coupled to an integrated routing layer (110), wherein the die comprises a die interconnect pitch, and wherein the integrated routing layer comprises a first width that is wider than the die and a first interconnect pitch that is larger than the die interconnect pitch;
a molded routing layer (150) coupled to the integrated routing layer, wherein the molded routing layer comprises a second width that is wider than the first width and a second interconnect pitch that is larger than the first interconnect pitch;
a first encapsulant (120) laterally surrounding the die and extending laterally to the same first width as the integrated routing layer; and
a second encapsulant (130) laterally surrounding the first encapsulant and extending laterally to the same second width as the molded routing layer.
As to claim 2, Shih teaches the die is coupled to the integrated routing layer through a plurality of pillars (180) extending from a surface of the die, and wherein a portion of the first encapsulant is laterally between individual ones of the plurality of pillars. See figure 15.
As to claim 6, Shih teaches the integrated routing layer (110) comprises conductor routes (112) embedded within a dielectric (114), the dielectric comprising a polyimide based material (paragraph 0026).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 4 (respectively) of U.S. Patent No. 10,665,522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1, 3, and 4 of the instant application are recited within claims 1, 3, and 4 of the ‘522 patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10, 12, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. (Claim 13 is also objected to as being further dependent upon an objected claim.)
Claims 15-20 are allowable.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowability.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the disclosed invention regarding an apparatus, particularly characterized by comprising:
a die coupled to an integrated routing layer, and
a molded routing layer coupled to the integrated routing layer, wherein the molded routing layer comprises the same first width as the integrated routing layer and a second interconnect pitch that is larger than the first interconnect pitch; and
an encapsulant laterally surrounding the die and extending laterally to the same first width as the integrated routing layer, as disclosed within independent claim 15.
Claims 16-20 depend from claim 15.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent cited art.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Scott B. Geyer (telephone: 571-272-1958). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday, 10AM - 4PM (ET). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at: http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christine S. Kim (telephone: 571-272-8458). The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (in U.S.A. or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/SCOTT B GEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812