DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo (JP2011249089; hereinafter Kondo).
Fig 2_Edited
Regarding claim 1, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses a display panel comprising:
a drive backplane (10; Fig 2);
a first electrode layer (105; Fig 2) arranged on a surface of the drive backplane and comprising a plurality of first electrodes (Fig 4) distributed in an array (Fig 4), wherein the first electrode (105; Fig 2) comprises a flat middle part (102; fig 2) and an edge part (104a; Fig 2) surrounding the middle part (102; fig 2);
a leakage cut-off layer (104; Fig 2) provided on the same surface of the drive backplane as the first electrode layer;
a light-emitting function layer (107; Fig 2), wherein the light emitting function layer is a continuous film layer, at least partially covers a top of the leakage cut-off layer (104; Fig 2) and covers at least a partial area of the first electrode (105; Fig 2); and
a second electrode (108; Fig 2) covering the light-emitting function layer (107; Fig 2); wherein the second electrode comprises a plurality of flat parts (Flat part; Fig 2_edited) and a separating part (Protruding part/Recessed parts; Fig 2_edited) located between the plurality of flat parts; orthographic projections of the flat parts (Flat part; Fig 2_edited) on the drive backplane are overlapped with an orthographic projections of the first electrode (105; Fig 2) on the drive backplane (Fig 2), the separating part (Protruding part/Circled part (A); Fig 2_edited) comprises a protruding area (Protruding part; Fig 2_edited) and a first recessed area (Recessed part; fig 2_edited), the first recessed area is recessed toward a side of the flat part close to the drive backplane (Fig 2), the protruding area (Protruding part; Fig 2_edited) protrudes toward a side of the flat parts facing away from the drive backplane, the first recessed area is located between the protruding area and the flat part and a bottom of the first recessed area is located on a side of the leakage cut -off layer away from the drive backplane.
Regarding claim 2, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses the first recessed area (Recessed part; fig 2_edited) comprises a first side surface (Fig 2_edited) close to a side of the flat part (Flat part; Fig 2_edited) and a second side surface (Fig 2_edited) close to a side of the protruding area (Protruding part; Fig 2_edited) and the first side surface and the second surface shrink along a direction (Fig 2) close to the drive backplane.
Regarding claim 3, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses a slope of the first side surface (Side surface (Right side); Fig 2_edited) relative to the middle part is equal to that of the second surface (Side surface (Left surface); Fig 2_edited) relative to the middle part.
Regarding claim 4, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses the protruding area (Protruding part; Fig 2_edited) is provided with a second recessed area (Recessed are in circled area A; Fig 2_edited) recessed toward the drive backplane and the second recessed area has a smaller depth (Fig 2) than the first recessed area.
Regarding claim 5, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses a bottom of the second recessed area is higher than the flat part (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses a thickness of the flat part close to the first side surface is greater than a thickness of the protruding area close to the second side surface.
Second Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses a display panel comprising:
a drive backplane (10; Fig 2);
a first electrode layer (105; Fig 2) arranged on a surface of the drive backplane and comprising a plurality of first electrodes (Fig 4) distributed in an array (Fig 4), wherein the first electrode (105; Fig 2) comprises a flat middle part (102; fig 2) and an edge part (104a; Fig 2) surrounding the middle part (102; fig 2);
a leakage cut-off layer (104/106; Fig 2) provided on the same surface of the drive backplane as the first electrode layer;
a light-emitting function layer (107; Fig 2), wherein the light emitting function layer is a continuous film layer, at least partially covers a top of the leakage cut-off layer (104; Fig 2) and covers at least a partial area of the first electrode (105; Fig 2); and
a second electrode (108; Fig 2) covering the light-emitting function layer (107; Fig 2); wherein the second electrode comprises a plurality of flat parts (Flat part; Fig 2_edited) and a separating part (Protruding part/Recessed parts; Fig 2_edited) located between the plurality of flat parts; orthographic projections of the flat parts (Flat part; Fig 2_edited) on the drive backplane are overlapped with an orthographic projections of the first electrode (105; Fig 2) on the drive backplane (Fig 2), the separating part (Protruding part/Circled part (A); Fig 2_edited) comprises a protruding area (Protruding part; Fig 2_edited) and a first recessed area (Recessed part in circle A; fig 2_edited), the first recessed area is recessed toward a side of the flat part close to the drive backplane (Fig 2), the protruding area (Protruding part; Fig 2_edited) protrudes toward a side of the flat parts facing away from the drive backplane, the first recessed area is located between the protruding area and the flat part and a bottom of the first recessed area is located on a side of the leakage cut -off layer away from the drive backplane.
Regarding claim 8, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses the edge part comprises a horizontal part (1051/1052; Fig 2) surrounding the middle part (102; Fig 2) and a climbing part (104a; Fig 2) connected between the middle part (102; Fig 2) and the horizontal part (1051/1052; Fig 2);
the light-emitting function layer (107; Fig 2) at least partially covers the middle part (102; Fig 2) in a direct manner; and
the orthographic projections of the flat parts (Flat part; Fig 2_edited) on the drive backplane are located in one-to-one correspondence within the orthographic projections of the first electrodes (105; Fig 2) on the drive backplane; and an orthographic projection of the first recessed area (Recessed part in circle A; fig 2_edited) on the drive backplane is at least partially located outside (Fig 2) an orthographic projection on the drive backplane of the middle part (102; Fig 2) of the first electrode.
Regarding claim 9, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses an orthographic projection on the drive backplane of a lowest point of the first recessed area (Recessed part in circle A; fig 2_edited) is located outside an orthographic projection on the drive backplane of the middle part (102; Fig 2) of the first electrode (105; Fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses a minimum thickness (Fig 2) of an area of the second electrode (108; Fig 2) corresponding to the first side surface is greater than a minimum thickness of an area of the second electrode corresponding to the second side surface (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 11, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses the slope of the first side surface relative to the middle part is less than 60° and the slope of the second side surface relative to the middle part is not less than 60° and not greater than 90°.
Regarding claim 15, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses a slope of the climbing part relative to the drive backplane is not less than 30°. (Fig 2)
Regarding claim 16, Fig 2 and Fig 2_edited of Kondo discloses a minimum value of a distance, in a direction perpendicular to the drive backplane, between the bottom of the first recessed area (Recessed part in circle A; fig 2_edited) and the middle part (102; Fig 2) of an adjacent one of the first electrodes is not less than 70% of a total thickness of the flat part and the light-emitting function layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (JP2011249089; hereinafter Kondo).
Regarding claim 7, Kondo does not expressly disclose a maximum distance between middle parts of two adjacent ones of the first electrodes is in a range of 0.1 µm – 1 µm.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the maximum distance to be a result effective variable affecting optical characteristics and leakage cut-off. Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the maximum distance within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Regarding claim 12, Kondo does not expressly disclose a width of an orthographic projection of the first recessed area on the drive backplane is not greater of 0.2 µm.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the width to be a result effective variable affecting optical characteristics and leakage cut-off. Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the maximum distance within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Regarding claim 13, Kondo does not expressly disclose a depth of the first recessed area is less than twice a maximum thickness of the second electrode.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the depth to be a result effective variable affecting optical characteristics and leakage cut-off. Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the maximum distance within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Regarding claim 14, Kondo does not expressly disclose a maximum thickness of the second electrode is 90 nm and the depth of the first recessed area is less than 120 nm.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the maximum thickness to be a result effective variable affecting optical characteristics and leakage cut-off. Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the maximum distance within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 17-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12563903. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 17-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12507532. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kato et al (US 9236581)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817