DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the installed cover of a seat rail extends laterally over the cavity that extends on top of and vertically above the cabin floor as defined in Claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claim 3, it is not clear how the potable water monument line is inside a cavity that extends on top of and vertically above the cabin floor and an installed cover of a seat rail extend laterally over the cavity as such the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Polotec (US PgPub #2020/0300398) in view of Herzog (US PgPub #2010/0116934).
For Claims 1-2 and 6, the figures and paragraph [0035] of Le Polotec ‘398 disclose an aircraft comprising: a potable water tank (inherent); an aircraft cabin (5); a monument (50) in the aircraft cabin, the monument comprising a consumer equipment (70); a potable water system configured to feed potable water from the potable water tank to the consumer equipment, the potable water system comprising: at least one potable water interface (110 and 120) positioned in a cabin floor (7) of the aircraft cabin and in fluid connection the potable water tank; and at least one potable water monument line (161) that extends between the potable water interface and the consumer equipment and is routed partially over a length of the at least one potable water monument line that extends on top of and vertically above the cabin floor.
While Le Polotec ‘398 discloses that the potable water monument line extends on top of and vertically above the cabin floor so that it is not coplanar with the floor panels (7), it is silent about it being inside a cavity, however, figures 1 and 3 of Herzog ‘934 teach pipes located at various positions of the aircraft including below the floor, at the ceiling, and above the floor inside a cavity (fig. 3) so that it is not coplanar with the floor and fixed at discrete positions. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Le Polotec ‘398 with the pipe located within a cavity above the floor as taught by Herzog ‘934. The motivation to do so would to protect the pipes while allowing easier access to them instead of them being in the floor.
For Claim 4, while Le Polotec ‘398 is silent about an installed cover of a seat rail extends laterally over the cavity, the figures of Herzog ‘934 teach a cover (2) of a seat rail extending laterally over the cavity.
For Claim 5, paragraph [0062] of Le Polotec ‘398 discloses using lids or caps to close the potable water interface.
For Claim 8, the figures of Le Polotec ‘398 disclose that the potable water monument line is fed through a monument wall section.
For Clam 11, the figures of Le Polotec ‘398 disclose that further monuments can be connected with additional potable water monument lines (161).
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Polotec (US PgPub #2020/0300398) in view of Herzog (US PgPub #2010/0116934) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Winkelbach (US PgPub #2004/0129445).
For Claim 3, while Le Polotec ‘398 in view of Herzog ‘934 teaches a U-shaped cavity (1 and 2, Herzog ‘934) it is silent about a U-shaped cavity with bottom and two opposite side walls. However, figure 4 of Winkelbach ‘445 teach a U-shaped cavity with a bottom (12) and two opposite side walls (122) that provide space for lines (7). Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Le Polotec ‘398 in view of Herzog ‘934 with the U-shaped cavity of Winkelbach ‘445. The motivation to do so would be to provide a space for lines to run through that provide protection.
For Claim 7, while Herzog ‘934 teach water and electric cables in the cavity, Le Polotec ‘398 is silent about the lines being positioned on opposite side of a central seat rail area. However, figure 4 of Winkelbach ‘445 teach a system (10) with a cavity that allows for spaces for lines to on opposite sides of a central seat rail area (5). Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Le Polotec ‘398 in view of Herzog ‘934 with the cavity area of Winkelbach ‘445. The motivation to do so would be to provide space near the seat rail to run protected lines through for easy access in an unused space.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Polotec (US PgPub #2020/0300398) in view of Herzog (US PgPub #2010/0116934) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
For Claim 13, while Le Polotec ‘398 is silent about a water branch line connecting the tank below the floor to water monument line and the water interface. The AAPA teaches that it is well known in the art to have a water system that includes a large tank below the floor that is connected to various water lines to provide water to the entire aircraft. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Le Polotec ‘398 with the known entire aircraft water system that has a large tank below the floor and a series of pipes and connections throughout the aircraft. The motivation to do so would be to provide water to the entire aircraft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims16-22 are allowed.
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-18, filed 3/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Le Polotec ‘398 in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 18-20, filed 3/27/2026, with respect to Claim 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 of Claim 16 in view of the amendments has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 4/14/2026