DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “dust mitigation system” in Claims 1-20, “device” in Claims 1 and 13-15, “separate device” in Claims 2 and 3, and “control system” in Claim 10, 11, and 20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pareja US 2024/0069174 (hereafter Pareja).
Regarding Claim 1, Pareja anticipates:
1. A dust mitigation system (dust suppression system, Title) comprising:
at least one compressor (compressor 3) configured to deliver compressed air to an air tank;
a pressure regulator (pressure regulator 5) configured to regulate the pressure of compressed air flowing out of the air tank; and
at least one air flow line (line 7) configured to deliver regulated compressed air to remove dust from a lens of a device (lasers 11a-e).
Regarding Claim 2, Pareja anticipates:
2. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
a manifold (distribution block 6) operable to split the regulated compressed air into a plurality of ports;
wherein the at least one air flow line (line 7) comprises a plurality of air flow lines (Figure 1);
wherein each of the plurality of ports (outputs 2) is coupled to a separate air flow line of the plurality of air flow lines (Figure 1); and
wherein each separate air flow line is configured to deliver regulated compressed air to remove dust from a lens of a separate device (lasers 11a-e)(Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Pareja anticipates:
3. The dust mitigation system of claim 2, wherein the separate devices (lasers 11a-e) consist of lasers (lasers) or cameras (not selected) or a combination of lasers and cameras (not selected).
Regarding Claim 10, Pareja anticipates:
10. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
a control system (assembly comprising laser metal protector 13 and pneumatic board 12) operable to control the operation of the dust mitigation system (dust suppression system, Title).
Regarding Claim 13, Pareja anticipates:
13. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
a solenoid valve (flow regulation valves 8) coupled between the at least one air flow line (line 7) and the device (lasers 11a-e)(Figure 1);
wherein the solenoid valve is periodically activated to deliver regulated compressed air to remove dust from the lens of the device (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 14, Pareja anticipates:
14. The dust mitigation system of claim 13, further comprising:
a flow splitter (distributor fittings 9) coupled to an outlet of the solenoid valve (flow regulation valves 8);
wherein the flow splitter divides and directs the regulated air to a first nozzle (first diffusor 10a) and a second nozzle (second diffusor 10b) positioned on opposite sides of the lens of the device (lasers 11a-e)(Figures 1 and 4);
wherein the first nozzle and the second nozzle deliver the regulated compressed air to remove dust from the lens of the device (Paragraph [0011]).
Regarding Claim 15, Pareja anticipates:
15. The dust mitigation system of claim 14, wherein each of the first nozzle (first diffusor 10a) and a second nozzle (second diffusor 10b) are pointed toward the lens of the device (lasers 11a-e) at a desired angle (Figures 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Pareja anticipates:
16. A mining equipment rig (autonomous drilling machine) comprising the dust mitigation system (dust suppression system, Title) of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20, Pareja anticipates:
20. The mining equipment rig of claim 16, wherein a control system (assembly comprising laser metal protector 13 and pneumatic board 12) of the mining equipment rig (autonomous drilling machine) controls the operation of the dust mitigation system (dust suppression system, Title).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 4-7, 11, 12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pareja US 2024/0069174 (hereafter Pareja) in view of Walsh US 2023/0417235 (hereafter Walsh) and design choice.
Regarding Claims 4-7, 11, 12, and 17-19 below, Pareja discloses that his device relies upon an air compressor for operation, however, Pareja does not disclose the specific features of the air compressor that are common to those devices in the prior art. The reference Walsh discloses a prior art air compressor, with typical features such as a pressure switch, pressure relief valve, tank drain valve, controller, and powered connection that would be expected on an air compressor used in the environment where the Pareja device would be located. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pareja device to include the air compressor features cited below from the Walsh device with the motivation to incorporate standard components into the air compressor necessary for expected compressor operation.
Regarding Claim 4, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
4. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
a pressure switch (Walsh – Step 272) set to indicate when to turn on and off the at least one compressor (Walsh - air compressor 12) based on the pressure of compressed air within the air tank (Walsh – tank 14).
Regarding Claim 5, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
5. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
a pressure relief valve (Walsh – pressure relief valve 92) set to bleed compressed air from the air tank if the pressure of compressed air within the air tank (Walsh – tank 14) exceeds an upper limit set point (Walsh - Paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 6, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
6. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
an air filter (Walsh – intake filter) disposed on an intake side of the at least one compressor (Walsh - air compressor 12).
Regarding Claim 7, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
7. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
an air dump solenoid valve (Walsh – tank drain valve, Paragraph [0101]) operable to enable the removal of air and condensed water (Walsh - condensate) from the air tank (Walsh – tank 14).
Regarding Claim 11, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
11. The dust mitigation system of claim 10, wherein the control system (assembly comprising laser metal protector 13 and pneumatic board 12) comprises:
a controller (pneumatic board 12, Walsh – intelligent controller 10 - PLC-type controller, Paragraph [0006]);
a timer (Walsh – timer, Paragraph [0004]); and
an on/off switch (Walsh – relay 78 being an electronic on-off switch, Paragraph [0038] and [0101]).
Regarding Claim 12, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
12. The dust mitigation system of claim 11, wherein the controller (Walsh – intelligent controller 10) is a PLC controller (Walsh – PLC-type controller, Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 17, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
17. The mining equipment rig of claim 16, wherein power to operate the dust mitigation system (dust suppression system, Title) is pulled from a motor starter (Walsh – starter 109, Paragraphs [0038] and [0104]) of the mining equipment rig (autonomous drilling machine).
Regarding Claim 18, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
18. The mining equipment rig of claim 17, wherein the dust mitigation system (dust suppression system, Title) is operational when an engine of the mining equipment rig (autonomous drilling machine) is running, and wherein the dust mitigation system turns off when the engine turns off (see discussion below).
Neither Pareja nor Walsh specifically disclose that the dust mitigation system turns off when the motor of the autonomous drilling machine turns off. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically link the dust mitigation system with the autonomous drilling machine such that the dust mitigation system controller turns off at a predetermined time after the autonomous drilling machine turns off to since continuous operation after the drilling operation is stopped would be unnecessary.
Regarding Claim 19, Pareja in combination with Walsh teaches:
19. The mining equipment rig of claim 17, wherein the dust mitigation system (dust suppression system, Title) further comprises a battery that charges when an engine of the mining equipment rig (autonomous drilling machine) is running, and wherein the dust mitigation system is powered by the battery when the engine turns off (see discussion below).
Neither Pareja nor Walsh specifically disclose that the dust mitigation system turns has a battery that charges during autonomous drilling operation and it powered by the battery when the motor of the autonomous drilling machine turns off. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically link the dust mitigation system with the autonomous drilling machine such that the dust mitigation system controller includes a battery that allows it to have a controlled shutdown operation that turns off the dust mitigation system at a predetermined time after the autonomous drilling machine turns off to since continuous operation after the drilling operation is stopped would be unnecessary.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pareja US 2024/0069174 (hereafter Pareja) in view of Park Bokhyun KR 20170002973 U (hereafter Park Bokhyun).
Regarding Claim 8, Pareja in combination with Park Bokhyun teaches:
8. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one heater (see discussion below).
Regarding Claim 8, Pareja discloses that his device relies upon an air compressor for operation, however, Pareja does not disclose the specific features of the air compressor that are common to those devices in the prior art. The reference Park Bokhyun discloses a prior art air compressor that includes a heater that prevents the condensate water from being frozen in the air tank. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pareja device to include a heater as taught by the Park Bokhyun device with the motivation to prevent the water from freezing, especially in an outdoor environment where drilling would be performed, allowing the condensate water to be automatically drained as taught by Park Bokhyun.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pareja US 2024/0069174 (hereafter Pareja) in view of Li CN 112524010 A (hereafter Li).
Regarding Claim 9, Pareja in combination with Li teaches:
9. The dust mitigation system of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one battery that charges using solar power (see discussion below).
Regarding Claim 9, Pareja discloses that his device relies upon an air compressor for operation, however, Pareja does not disclose the specific features of the air compressor that are common to those devices in the prior art. The reference Li discloses a prior art air compressor that includes a solar powered battery that operates the air compressor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pareja device to include a solar powered battery from the Li device with the motivation to be self-powered, especially in an outdoor environment where drilling would be performed, to eliminate the need for separate electrical power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of air compressors and dust mitigation systems.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723