CTNF 18/762,913 CTNF 89385 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Knoll (US20180102210A1) . Regarding Claim 1: Knoll teaches that a swing-type surface mount inductor component comprising: an inverted U-section conductive coil ( 208, Fig. 1-2; para 0027-0040 ) comprising a pair of top sections ( upper surface of 230 and 238, in Fig. 2 ) each respectively having first ( 222, 224; Fig. 2 ) and second legs ( 232, 236; Fig. 2 ) extending perpendicularly from the top sections to establish a surface (i .e. upper surface of 210 in Fig. 6 ) mount connection to a circuit board ( 210, Fig. 6 ); a magnetic core piece ( 204, Fig. 1 ) fabricated with first ( 280, Fig. 4 ) and second (284) horizontal coil slots extending parallel to a plane of the circuit board; and wherein the top sections extend through the respective first and second horizontal coil slots; and wherein the second legs ( i.e. element 220 joined 232 and 236 in Fig. 2 ) are joined to one another to realize a paralleled output from the inverted U-section conductive coil. Regarding Claim 2: As applied to claim 1, Knoll teaches that the magnetic core piece is further formed with at least one physical gap (not labeled; i.e. gap at front of element 266 in Fig. 5) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-12, 15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knoll in view of Yan (US 20200043643 A1) . Regarding Claim 3: As applied to claim 1, Knoll teaches the magnetic core piece includes the first horizontal coil slot, and the second horizontal coil slot, the first and the second physical gaps extending through an entire width of the magnetic core piece except the magnetic core piece includes a first physical gap extending above the first horizontal coil slot , and a second physical gap extending above the second horizontal coil slot, the first and the second physical gaps extending through an entire width of the magnetic core piece . However, Yan teaches that the magnetic core ( 154, Fig. 5; para 0059-0066) piece includes a first physical gap ( 200 ) extending above the first horizontal coil slot ( 184 ), and a second physical gap ( 202 ) extending above the second horizontal coil slot ( 182 ), the first and the second physical gaps extending through an entire width of the magnetic core piece It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic core piece includes a first physical gap extending above the first horizontal coil slot, and a second physical gap extending above the second horizontal coil slot, the first and the second physical gaps extending through an entire width of the magnetic core piece to provide surface mount inductor components with smaller package size, yet improved capabilities in high current applications (para 0030). Regarding Claim 4: As applied to claim 3, the modified Knoll teaches the first physical gap is centered above the first horizontal coil slot, and the second physical gap is centered above the second horizontal coil slot (construed from Yan’s Fig. 6). Regarding Claim 5: As applied to claim 4, the modified Knoll teaches the magnetic core piece includes a third physical gap (182 in element 156 in Yan’s Fig. 6) in extending below the first horizontal coil slot, and a fourth physical gap (184 in element 156 in Fig. 6) extending below the second horizontal coil slot. Regarding Claim 6: As applied to claim 5, the modified Knoll teaches the first and the second physical gaps have a first height (not labeled; total height of 200 and 202 in vertical direction in Yan’s Fig. 6) and the third and the fourth physical gaps have a second height (not labeled; total height of 182 and 184 in vertical direction in Yan’s Fig. 6 ) except the first and the second physical gaps have a first height and the third and the fourth physical gaps have a second height being greater than the first height . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first and the second physical gaps have a first height and the third and the fourth physical gaps have a second height being greater than the first height , since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. See MPEP 2144.05 (II-A). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and the second physical gaps have a first height and the third and the fourth physical gaps have a second height being greater than the first height as claimed to meet design requirements for certain application. Regarding Claim 7: As applied to claim 6, the modified Knoll teaches that the second height is selected such that the third and the fourth physical gaps extend from the first and second horizontal coil slots to a bottom of the magnetic core piece. Regarding Claim 8: As applied to claim 1, Knoll teaches the magnetic core piece includes the first horizontal coil slot, and the second horizontal coil slot, the first and the second physical gaps extending through an entire width of the magnetic core piece except the magnetic core piece includes a first physical gap extending vertically above the first horizontal coil slot , and a second physical gap extending vertically above the second horizontal coil slot. . However, Yan teaches that the magnetic core ( 154, Fig. 5; para 0059-0066 ) piece includes a first physical gap ( 200 ) extending vertically above the first horizontal coil slot (184) , and a second physical gap (202) extending vertically above the second horizontal coil slot (182). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic core piece includes a first physical gap extending vertically above the first horizontal coil slot, and a second physical gap extending vertically above the second horizontal coil slot, to provide surface mount inductor components with smaller package size, yet improved capabilities in high current applications (para 0030). Regarding Claim 9: As applied to claim 8, the modified Knoll teaches that a third physical gap (182 in element 156 in Yan’s Fig. 6) extending vertically below the first horizontal coil slot, and a fourth physical gap (184 in element 156 in Yan’s Fig. 6) extending vertically below the second horizontal coil slot. Regarding Claim 10: As applied to claim 9, the modified Knoll teaches that the first physical gap is aligned with the third physical gap, and wherein the second physical gap is aligned with the fourth physical gap (construed from Yan’s Fig. 6). Regarding Claim 11: As applied to claim 9, the modified Knoll teaches that the first and the second physical gaps do not extend though a width (i.e. horizontal direction element 150 in Yan’s Fig. 5) of the magnetic core piece (construed from Yan’s Fig. 6). Regarding Claim 12: As applied to claim 1, the modified Knoll teaches the magnetic core piece includes the first horizontal coil slot, and the second horizontal coil slot, the first and the second physical gaps extending through an entire width of the magnetic core piece except the magnetic core piece includes a first physical gap extending below the first horizontal coil slot , and a second physical gap extending below the second horizontal coil slot. . However, Yan teaches that the magnetic core ( 154, Fig. 5; para 0059-0066 ) piece includes a first physical gap (200) extending below (i.e. when from bottom part of element 156 in Yan’s Fig. 6) the first horizontal coil slot (184) , and a second physical gap (202) extending below the second horizontal coil slot (182). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic core piece includes a first physical gap extending below the first horizontal coil slot, and a second physical gap extending below the second horizontal coil slot, to provide surface mount inductor components with smaller package size, yet improved capabilities in high current applications (para 0030). Regarding Claim 15: Knoll teaches that a swing-type surface mount inductor component comprising: an inverted U-section conductive coil ( 208, Fig. 1-2; para 0027-0040 ) comprising a pair of top sections ( upper surface of 230 and 238, in Fig. 2 ) each respectively having first ( 222, 224; Fig. 2 ) and second legs ( 232, 236; Fig. 2 ) extending perpendicularly from the top sections to establish a surface (i .e. upper surface of 210 in Fig. 6 ) mount connection to a circuit board ( 210, Fig. 6 ); a first magnetic core piece ( 204, Fig. 1 ) fabricated with first ( 280, Fig. 4 ) and second (284) horizontal coil slots extending parallel to a plane of the circuit board; and wherein the top sections extend through the respective first and second horizontal coil slots; and wherein the second legs ( i.e. element 220 joined 232 and 236 in Fig. 2 ) are joined to one another to realize a paralleled output from the inverted U-section conductive coil, a second magnetic core (206) piece fabricated and parallel to the plane of the circuit board, wherein the second legs (i.e. element 220 joined 232 and 236 in Fig. 2 ) are joined to one another to realize a paralleled output from the inverted U-section conductive coil. Knoll does not teach that a second magnetic core piece fabricated having third and fourth horizontal coil slots extending parallel to the plane of the circuit board, wherein the second magnetic core piece is disposed adjacent to the first magnetic core piece such that the first and second horizontal coil slots are respectively aligned with the third and fourth horizontal coil slots; wherein the top sections extend through the respective first, third, second, and fourth horizontal coil slots However, Yan teaches that a second magnetic core piece (154, Fig. 5) fabricated having third (200) and fourth horizontal (202) coil slots extending parallel to the plane of the circuit board, wherein the second magnetic core piece is disposed adjacent to the first magnetic core (156) piece such that the first and second horizontal coil slots are respectively aligned with the third and fourth horizontal coil slots; wherein the top sections extend through the respective first (184), third, second (182), and fourth horizontal coil slots (construed from Fig. 5). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a second magnetic core piece fabricated having third and fourth horizontal coil slots extending parallel to the plane of the circuit board, wherein the second magnetic core piece is disposed adjacent to the first magnetic core piece such that the first and second horizontal coil slots are respectively aligned with the third and fourth horizontal coil slots; wherein the top sections extend through the respective first, third, second, and fourth horizontal coil slots to provide surface mount inductor components with smaller package size, yet improved capabilities in high current applications (para 0030). Regarding Claim 17: As applied to claim 15, the modified Knoll teaches a width (i.e. width of 156 in horizontal direction in Fig. 6) and a height (i.e. height of 156 in vertical direction in Fig. 6) of the first magnetic core piece is identical ( construed from Fig. 6 ) respectively to a width (i.e. width of 154 in horizontal direction in Fig. 6 ) and a height (i.e. height of 154 in vertical direction in Fig. 6) of the second magnetic core piece. Regarding Claim 18: As applied to claim 15, the modified Knoll teaches the first legs (i.e. 222 and 224 in Knoll’s Fig. 1) are not joined to one another. Regarding Claim 20: As applied to claim 15, the modified Knoll teaches the first magnetic core (154, Fig. 5; para 0059-0066) piece includes a first physical gap ( 200 ) extending vertically above the first horizontal coil slot ( 184 ) , and a second physical gap ( 202 ) extending vertically above the second horizontal coil slot ( 182 ) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 13-14, 16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 13 recites , the magnetic core piece further includes: a third physical gap adjacent to a bottom of the magnetic core piece, aligned with the first physical gap, and adjacent to the first physical gap, such that a width of the third physical gap is larger than a width of the first physical gap; and a fourth physical gap adjacent to the bottom of the magnetic core piece, aligned with the second physical gap, and adjacent to the second physical gap, such that a width of the fourth physical gap is larger than a width of the second physical gap. Claim 16 recites , the first magnetic core piece is formed from a first material configured to reach a first magnetic saturation; and the second magnetic core piece is formed from a second material configured to reach a second magnetic saturation being different from the first magnetic saturation Claim 19 recites, the inverted U-section conductive coil is a first inverted U-section conductive coil, the surface mount inductor further comprising: a second inverted U-section conductive coil comprising a pair of top sections each respectively having first and second legs extending perpendicularly from the top sections to establish a surface mount connection to a circuit board; fifth and sixth horizontal coil slots extending parallel to the plane of the circuit board within the first magnetic core; seventh and eighth horizontal coil slots extending parallel to the plane of the circuit board within the second magnetic core, wherein the seventh and eighth horizontal coil slots are respectively aligned with the fifth and sixth horizontal coil slots; wherein the top sections of the second inverted U-section conductive coil extend through the respective fifth, seventh, sixth, and eighth horizontal coil slots; and wherein the second legs of the second inverted U-section conductive coil are joined to one another to realize a paralleled output from the second inverted U-section conductive coil. The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitations . 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” , Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kazi Hossain whose telephone number is 571-272-8182. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from Monday to Thursday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https:/www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Shawki Ismail can be reached on 571-272-3985. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https:/www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KAZI HOSSAIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/762,913 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/762,913 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/762,913 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/762,913 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/762,913 Page 6 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/762,913 Page 7 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/762,913 Page 8 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/762,913 Page 9 Art Unit: 2837