Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device (a circuit board inspection device and a circuit board inspection method whereby in the inspecting of circuit boards, such as e.g., touchscreens; Paragraph [0007] Line 2-4; FIG. 1 is a block diagram schematically representing one example of the configuration of a circuit board inspection device; Paragraph [0052] Line 6-8) comprising:
an inspection board [P] (In the touchscreen circuit board P (as the inspection board); Paragraph [0054] Line 1) electrically connected to a touch IC [1] (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is connected with a touchscreen circuit board P (circuit board) that is an inspection target; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3); and
an inspection circuit [3+4+5+6] (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is furnished with: an AC power source 2 (AC voltage output unit); an ammeter 3 (current detection unit); a control unit 4; a display unit 5 (notification unit); an operation unit 6; Paragraph [0052] Line 9-13) that receives an inspection result from the touch IC [P] (The touchscreen circuit board P is prearranged so that when the touchscreen circuit board P is assembled into a product and used, an AC signal, at a preestablished reading frequency f0 for reading capacitance at the positions where the X electrodes X and the Y electrodes Y intersect, is supplied to the Y electrodes Y via the connection terminals Ty and the circuit board terminals Py and supplied to the X electrodes X via the capacitance at the intersecting positions; Paragraph [0065] Line 1-8; The ammeter 3 detects the electric current flowing in the connection terminals Tx selected by the selector switch SW1 and outputs the information indicating the current value I and the phase difference θ to the control unit 4; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-4),
wherein the inspection board [P] includes:
a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction (y-axis direction) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3) and which are spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi below shows a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction); and
Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi
a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10) and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction (y-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) spaced apart from one another in the first direction), and
wherein a number of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] is a same as a number of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] (Although an example containing four X electrodes and four Y electrodes is illustrated in FIG. 1 for convenience in illustration, the numbers of the electrodes may be determined as appropriate depending on the size of the touchscreen circuit board P and the accuracy of detecting positions; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] and the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y2] have a polygonal shape (The shape of each of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 has such a pattern that a plurality of small rhombuses with a uniform size are skewered on a stick; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-4; Every rhombus is a simple polygon and therefore first and second electrodes are polygonal shape).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein a first part of each of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4]are disposed on a same layer (plate shape transparent substrate) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi below shows a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes);
and a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi below shows a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode).
Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes); and
a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the ground electrode is disposed on a same layer as a second part of each of the plurality of second electrodes (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate and ground on the other side as the second part is also in the same layer as there is no separate layer).
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Takahashi
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi teaches a touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device (a circuit board inspection device and a circuit board inspection method whereby in the inspecting of circuit boards, such as e.g., touchscreens; Paragraph [0007] Line 2-4; FIG. 1 is a block diagram schematically representing one example of the configuration of a circuit board inspection device; Paragraph [0052] Line 6-8) comprising:
an inspection board [P] (In the touchscreen circuit board P (as the inspection board); Paragraph [0054] Line 1) electrically connected to a touch IC [1] (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is connected with a touchscreen circuit board P (circuit board) that is an inspection target; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3);
wherein the inspection board [P] includes:
a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction (y-axis direction) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3) and which are spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction);
a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10) and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction (y-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) spaced apart from one another in the first direction),
a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes);
and a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes); and
a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein a first part of each of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4]are disposed on a same layer (plate shape transparent substrate) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate).
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the ground electrode is disposed on a same layer as a second part of each of the plurality of second electrodes (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate and ground on the other side as the second part is also in the same layer as there is no separate layer).
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] or the plurality of second electrodes [Y1=Y4] have a diamond shape (The shape of each of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 has such a pattern that a plurality of small rhombuses with a uniform size are skewered on a stick; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-4; Other names for rhombus include diamond, lozenge, and calisson and therefore the electrodes are diamond shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, 9-13, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5)
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape (Referring to FIGS. 1 and 6, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a touch panel 500 having a touch sensor 555 between first and second electrodes 512 and 532 confronting each other; Paragraph [0073] Line 1-5; Figure 6 shows that the first electrodes 532 and second electrodes 512 are rectangular in shape). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes a rectangular shape provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), detects the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor, and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor (The resistance value of the touch sensor 155 in Figure 1 is provided by an electrical or physical contact between the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150. That is, if the second electrode 132 is brought into an electrical (or physical) contact with the elastic resistor member 150 in accordance with a deformation of the second substrate 130 caused by a touch force of the user 10, the touch sensor 155 serves as a variable resistance having a resistance value determined by an electrical property of the elastic resistor member 150; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-10),
and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor (The touch sensor 155 is provided for a two-dimensional and/or three-dimensional touch sensing, wherein the touch sensor 155 may selectively detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window 190 by the user 10; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5; Therefore, the value of capacitance is changes and therefore it is a variable capacitor). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a variable resistance provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the inspection board further includes: a first ground layer disposed on the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes; and a second ground layer disposed under the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a first ground layer [130] (substrate 130 as the first ground layer) (Referring to FIG. 1, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include first and second substrates 110 and 130; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-3) disposed on the plurality of first electrodes [112] and the plurality of second electrodes [132] in Figure 1 (The second substrate 130 may be formed of the same material as that of the first substrate 110. The second substrate 130 confronts an upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2; The first electrode 112 is disposed on the upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-2); and
a second ground layer [110] (substrate 110 as the second ground layer) (Referring to FIG. 1, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include first and second substrates 110 and 130; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-3) disposed under the plurality of first electrodes [112] and the plurality of second electrodes [132] (The first electrode 112 is disposed on the upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-2). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a first and second ground layers provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of first slits, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction, are disposed on the first ground layer, and wherein the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of first slits (gap space) in Figure 6, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction, are disposed on the first ground layer (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes [512] and the plurality of second electrodes [532] (Figure 6 shows the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of first slits, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes is controlled by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes is controlled by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits (That is, the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150 are maintained at the gap height (GH) by the support member 170. If the second electrode 132 is electrically (or physically) separated from the elastic resistor member 150, the touch sensor 155 has the capacitance determined by a dielectric constant of the gap space (GS) and the elastic resistor member 150 disposed between the first and second electrodes 112 and 132; Paragraph [0054] Line 3-11). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to control self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction, are disposed on the second ground layer, and wherein the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction, are disposed on the second ground layer (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 6 shows the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes in another direction). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape and which are arranged in the first direction and the second direction, are disposed on the first ground layer, and wherein the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape (Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang) and which are arranged in the first direction and the second direction, are disposed on the first ground layer [530] (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang below shows the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]).
Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor, and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor (The resistance value of the touch sensor 155 in Figure 1 is provided by an electrical or physical contact between the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150. That is, if the second electrode 132 is brought into an electrical (or physical) contact with the elastic resistor member 150 in accordance with a deformation of the second substrate 130 caused by a touch force of the user 10, the touch sensor 155 serves as a variable resistance having a resistance value determined by an electrical property of the elastic resistor member 150; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-10),
and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor (The touch sensor 155 is provided for a two-dimensional and/or three-dimensional touch sensing, wherein the touch sensor 155 may selectively detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window 190 by the user 10; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5; Therefore, the value of capacitance is changes and therefore it is a variable capacitor). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a variable capacitor provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape (Referring to FIGS. 1 and 6, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a touch panel 500 having a touch sensor 555 between first and second electrodes 512 and 532 confronting each other; Paragraph [0073] Line 1-5; Figure 6 shows that the first electrodes 532 and second electrodes 512 are rectangular in shape). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes a rectangular shape provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), detects the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (US 20150153879 A1) discloses, “HIGH-ACCURACY SINGLE-LAYER CAPACITIVE TOUCH PANEL DEVICE WITH ONE SIDE FOR CONNECTION- 0003] The present invention relates to a touch panel structure and, more particularly, to a high-accuracy single-layer capacitive touch panel device with one side for connection. [0023] FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a high-accuracy single-layer capacitive touch panel device with one side for connection 200 in accordance with the present invention, which includes a substrate 210, a plurality of conductive lines 22-1 to 22-N, and a touch detection circuit 230. The substrate 210 includes a surface, a first side 210a, and a second side 210b opposite to the first side 210a. The plurality of conductive lines 22-1 to 22-N each has an equivalent resistance and an equivalent capacitance. The plurality of conductive lines 22-1 to 22-N are arranged in parallel on the surface of substrate 210, and extended from the first side 210a to the second side 210b of the substrate 210. For the convenience of description, there are, for example, N conductive lines 22-1 to 22-N in this embodiment, where N is an integer greater than 1. [0025] As shown in FIG. 3, the plurality of triangle sensing electrodes 321 at the first edge of the conductive trace 310 of the i-th conductive line 22-i are disposed at positions aligned with the positions of the plurality of triangle sensing electrodes 322 at the second edge thereof, respectively, and two adjacent triangle sensing electrodes 321 at the first edge thereof are arranged to have a first distance (2d) therebetween, where i is a positive integer. One of the plurality of triangle sensing electrodes 321 at the first edge of the conductive trace 310 of the i-th conductive line 22-i is arranged at a position to have a second distance (d) to the nearest one of the plurality of triangle sensing electrodes 323 at the first edge of the conductive trace 310 of the (i+1)-th conductive line 22-(i+1). The first distance (2d) is twice of the second distance (d). One of the plurality of triangle sensing electrodes 322 at the second edge of the conductive trace 310 of the i-th conductive line 22-i is arranged at a position to have a second distance (d) to the nearest one of the plurality of triangle sensing electrodes 324 at the second edge of the conductive trace 310 of the (i+1)-th conductive line 22-(i+1)-However Lee does not disclose wherein the inspection board further includes: a first resistor electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes; and a first capacitor connected between the first resistor and a ground electrode.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858