Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 4/22/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-10, filed 4/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 3, 7, 9-13, 15 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks, filed on 4/22/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 3, 7, 9-13, 15 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1, that, “As an initial matter, consider that Claims 1 and 14 recite "touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device configured to detect a defect in a touch IC, the touch IC inspection device". In contrast, the rejection points to features of the touchscreen circuit board P as anticipating features of the claimed device(s); however, the touchscreen circuit board P of Takahashi is the device under test, and not at all a component of the circuit board inspection device 1.
……………
Note that the claimed inspection board can emulate or simulate a sensor layer (see para. [0146], e.g., "the inspection board IB may have substantially the same function as the sensor layer 200"); the inspection board can function as a sensor layer to test the touch ICs. This concept is absent from Takahashi. Accordingly, Claims 1 and 14 are believed to be allowable over the teachings of Takahashi.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8, of the remarks, filed on 4/22/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. However, applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in independent claim 1, “A touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device configured to detect a defect in a touch IC, the touch IC inspection device comprising: an inspection board configured to electrically connected connect to the touch IC; and an inspection circuit configured to drive the inspection board using the touch IC and receive an inspection result from of the touch IC” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Therefore, Takahashi is reapplied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1 and 14 as set forth below. Applicant’s argument. “however the touchscreen circuit board P of Takahashi is the device under test, and not at all a component of the circuit board inspection device 1” is not persuasive. As applicant has amended claim 1, Takahashi is reapplied and Takahashi discloses Figure 1 as the touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device which comprises the inspection board P and inspection circuit 1. Therefore, applicant’s argument the touchscreen circuit board P of Takahashi is the device under test, and not at all a component of the circuit board inspection device 1 is not persuasive. For the broadest reasonable interpretation Takahashi discloses the claim limitation as claim does not recite any specific structure that could differentiate the present application from reference Takahashi. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly reapplied reference Takahashi, as set forth below. See the rejection sent forth below.
Applicant’s argument “Note that the claimed inspection board can emulate or simulate a sensor layer (see para. [0146], e.g., "the inspection board IB may have substantially the same function as the sensor layer 200"); the inspection board can function as a sensor layer to test the touch ICs. This concept is absent from Takahashi” is not persuasive. Claim does not recite the limitation. Although the limitation is stated in the specification however the limitation should be in the claim to reject the limitation. Claim is rejected in light of the specification however the limitation is not incorporated from the specification to reject the claim. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument that the claimed inspection board can emulate or simulate a sensor layer (see para. [0146], e.g., "the inspection board IB may have substantially the same function as the sensor layer 200"); the inspection board can function as a sensor layer to test the touch ICs”, applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements (the claimed inspection board can emulate or simulate a sensor layer (see para. [0146], e.g., "the inspection board IB may have substantially the same function as the sensor layer 200"); the inspection board can function as a sensor layer to test the touch ICs) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Although the limitation is in the specification however the limitation is not incorporated from the specification to reject the claim. Takahashi may disclose the similar structure for different purpose but still Takahashi can be applied to reject the claim limitation unless the limitation is recited in the claim.
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., the inspection board IB may have substantially the same function as the sensor layer 200"); the inspection board can function as a sensor layer to test the touch ICs) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Therefore, Takahashi can still be applied to meet the amended limitation as explained above for independent claims 1 and 14 (similar amendment to independent claim 1), as set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-9 of the remarks, filed on 4/22/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1, that, “Respectfully, the circuit board inspection device 1 of Takahashi is a device for testing a touchscreen circuit board P and the circuit board inspection device 1 of Takahashi connects directly to the touchscreen circuit board P. The circuit board inspection device 1 of Takahashi is not configured for driving an inspection board using a touch IC and receiving an inspection result of the touch IC, essentially as claimed. For example, there is no inspection result of the touch IC according to Takahashi. In view of the foregoing, Claim 1 is believed to be allowable over the teachings of Takahashi.
Referring to Claim 14, the inspection device of Takahashi connects directly to the electrodes X1-X4 and Y1-Y4 of the touchscreen via connection terminals Tx1-Tx4 and Ty1-Ty4 (see para. [0062]). The inspection device of Takahashi is not a standalone inspection board with its own integrated components (e.g., a first resistor and a first capacitor) configured to simulate a sensor layer. In view of the foregoing, Takahashi does not teach all of the limitations of Claim 14 (Remarks-Page 9).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-9, of the remarks, filed on 4/22/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Claim recites, “an inspection circuit configured to drive the inspection board using the touch IC and receive an inspection result from of the touch IC”. Takahashi discloses, “The selector switch SW1 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 between the ammeter 3 and circuit ground. The selector switch SW2 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Ty1-Ty5 between the AC power source 2 and circuit ground; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-6”. Switch of the inspection circuit connects the connection terminal with the electrodes of the touch IC and supplies signal to the inspection board. Therefore, inspection circuit drives the inspection board using the touch IC. Takahashi discloses, “The touchscreen circuit board P is prearranged so that when the touchscreen circuit board P is assembled into a product and used, an AC signal, at a preestablished reading frequency f0 for reading capacitance at the positions where the X electrodes X and the Y electrodes Y intersect, is supplied to the Y electrodes Y via the connection terminals Ty and the circuit board terminals Py and supplied to the X electrodes X via the capacitance at the intersecting positions; Paragraph [0065] Line 1-8. The ammeter 3 detects the electric current flowing in the connection terminals Tx selected by the selector switch SW1 and outputs the information indicating the current value I and the phase difference θ to the control unit 4; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-4).” Therefore, applicant’s argument that the circuit board inspection device 1 of Takahashi is a device for testing a touchscreen circuit board P and the circuit board inspection device 1 of Takahashi connects directly to the touchscreen circuit board P is not persuasive. Because claim does not recite any specific connection structure and claim only recites, “an inspection circuit configured to drive…...”. Any elements of the inspection circuits help to drive the touch IC can be function as the driving circuit. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument, “Takahashi is not a standalone inspection board with its own integrated components (e.g., a first resistor and a first capacitor) configured to simulate a sensor layer” is not persuasive because claim does not recite the limitation, “a standalone inspection board with its own integrated components (e.g., a first resistor and a first capacitor) configured to simulate a sensor layer”. Claims 1 and 14 therefore still can be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1 as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-10 of the remarks, filed on 4/22/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 3, 7, 9-13, 15 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1, that, “The limitations of Claim 2 further clarify the function of the inspection device as performing "a function of a sensor layer of a display device. “As described above, the touchscreen circuit board of Takahashi is the device under test, and is not a component of the circuit board inspection device, much less one that "performs a function of a sensor layer of a display device" as claimed in Claim 2. Therefore, claim 2 is believed to be allowable in view of Takahashi.
The Examiner's reconsideration of the rejection is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 9).
………..
At least Claim 15 is believed to be allowable for additional reasons. Claim 15 claims that "the first resistor and the first capacitor are configured to adjust electrical characteristics of the inspection board to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device."
………………..
The touchscreen circuit board of Takahashi is the device under test, and is not a component of the circuit board inspection device, much less one that performs "a function of a sensor layer of a display device" as claimed in Claim 15. Accordingly, Hwang fails to cure the deficiencies of Takahashi. Therefore, Claim 15 is believed to be allowable over the proposed combination of Takahashi and Hwang.
The Examiner's reconsideration of the rejection is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 10).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10, of the remarks, filed on 4/22/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 3, 7, 9-13, 15 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 2/12/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because Applicant has amended claims 2 and 15 and added the limitation in claim 2, “wherein the inspection board is configured to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device” and claim 15, “wherein the first resistor and the first capacitor are configured to adjust electrical characteristics of the inspection board to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device.” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200117312 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of dependent claims 2 and 15. Therefore claim 2 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200117312 A1 and claim 15 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim ‘312 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is therefore moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Dependent Claim(s) 7, 9-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TAKAHASHI et al. (Hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20170315672 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device [Figure 1] (a circuit board inspection device and a circuit board inspection method whereby in the inspecting of circuit boards, such as e.g., touchscreens; Paragraph [0007] Line 2-4; FIG. 1 is a block diagram schematically representing one example of the configuration of a circuit board inspection device; Paragraph [0052] Line 6-8) configured to detect defect in a touch IC [touch region X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 as the touch IC], the touch IC inspection device [Figure 1] comprising:
an inspection board [P] (In the touchscreen circuit board P (as the inspection board); Paragraph [0054] Line 1) configured to electrically connect to the touch IC [touch region X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 as the touch IC] (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is connected with a touchscreen circuit board P (circuit board) that is an inspection target; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3; Thus, almost the entirety of the region capable of detecting a touch position (hereafter referred to as “touch region”) is covered by any of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4; Paragraph [0060] Line 7-10); and
an inspection circuit [1 comprising 3+4+5+6] (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is furnished with: an AC power source 2 (AC voltage output unit); an ammeter 3 (current detection unit); a control unit 4; a display unit 5 (notification unit); an operation unit 6; Paragraph [0052] Line 9-13) configured to drive the inspection board [P] using the touch IC (The connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are connection terminals configured to be connectable with the circuit board terminals Px1-Px7 and Py1-Py5. The connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are configured to be connected with the circuit board terminals Px1-Px7 and Py1-Py5 so that the connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 and Ty1-Ty5 are brought into electrical continuity with the X electrodes X1-Xx7 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y5, for example, when the user mounts the touchscreen circuit board P that is the inspection target to a predetermined mount position in the circuit board inspection device 1; Paragraph [0067] Line 1-11; The selector switch SW1 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Tx1-Tx7 between the ammeter 3 and circuit ground. The selector switch SW2 switches the connecting destinations of each of the connection terminals Ty1-Ty5 between the AC power source 2 and circuit ground; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-6; switch of the inspection circuit connects the connection terminal with the electrodes of the touch IC and supplies signal to the inspection board. Therefore inspection circuit drives the inspection board using the touch IC) and receives an inspection result of the touch IC [P] (The touchscreen circuit board P is prearranged so that when the touchscreen circuit board P is assembled into a product and used, an AC signal, at a preestablished reading frequency f0 for reading capacitance at the positions where the X electrodes X and the Y electrodes Y intersect, is supplied to the Y electrodes Y via the connection terminals Ty and the circuit board terminals Py and supplied to the X electrodes X via the capacitance at the intersecting positions; Paragraph [0065] Line 1-8; The ammeter 3 detects the electric current flowing in the connection terminals Tx selected by the selector switch SW1 and outputs the information indicating the current value I and the phase difference θ to the control unit 4; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-4),
wherein the inspection board [P] includes:
a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction (y-axis direction) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3) and which are spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi below shows a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction); and
Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi
a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10) and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction (y-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) spaced apart from one another in the first direction).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape (not required by the claim) or
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] and the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y2] have a polygonal shape (The shape of each of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 has such a pattern that a plurality of small rhombuses with a uniform size are skewered on a stick; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-4; Every rhombus is a simple polygon and therefore first and second electrodes are polygonal shape), and
wherein a number of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] is a same as a number of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] (Although an example containing four X electrodes and four Y electrodes is illustrated in FIG. 1 for convenience in illustration, the numbers of the electrodes may be determined as appropriate depending on the size of the touchscreen circuit board P and the accuracy of detecting positions; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein a first part of each of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4]are disposed on a same layer (plate shape transparent substrate) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi below shows a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes);
and a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi below shows a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode).
Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes); and
a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the ground electrode is disposed on a same layer as a second part of each of the plurality of second electrodes (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate and ground on the other side as the second part is also in the same layer as there is no separate layer).
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Takahashi
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi teaches a touch integrated circuit (IC) inspection device [Figure 1] (a circuit board inspection device and a circuit board inspection method whereby in the inspecting of circuit boards, such as e.g., touchscreens; Paragraph [0007] Line 2-4; FIG. 1 is a block diagram schematically representing one example of the configuration of a circuit board inspection device; Paragraph [0052] Line 6-8) configured to detect defect in a touch IC [touch region X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 as the touch IC], the touch IC inspection device [Figure 1] comprising:
an inspection board [P] (In the touchscreen circuit board P (as the inspection board); Paragraph [0054] Line 1) configured to electrically connect to the touch IC [touch region X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 as the touch IC] (The circuit board inspection device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 is connected with a touchscreen circuit board P (circuit board) that is an inspection target; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3; Thus, almost the entirety of the region capable of detecting a touch position (hereafter referred to as “touch region”) is covered by any of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4; Paragraph [0060] Line 7-10); and
wherein the inspection board [P] includes:
a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction (y-axis direction) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3) and which are spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] in Figure 1, each of which extends in a first direction spaced apart from one another in a second direction (x-axis direction) that intersects the first direction);
a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10) and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction (y-axis direction) (a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 4-10; Figure 1: Modified a portion of Figure 1 of Takahashi above shows a plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4], each of which extends in the second direction (x-axis direction) spaced apart from one another in the first direction),
a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a first resistor [Ry] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of first electrodes);
and a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a first capacitor [C] connected between the first resistor [Ry] and a ground electrode).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second resistor [Rf] electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second electrodes); and
a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Takahashi above shows a second capacitor [Cf] connected between the second resistor [Rf] and the ground electrode).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein a first part of each of the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4]are disposed on a same layer (plate shape transparent substrate) (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate).
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein the ground electrode is disposed on a same layer as a second part of each of the plurality of second electrodes (In the touchscreen circuit board P, a plurality of X electrodes X1-X4 (first electrodes) spaced from each other and extending along the y-axis direction (first direction) and a plurality of Y electrodes Y1-Y4 spaced from each other and extending along the x-axis direction (second direction) perpendicular to the y-axis direction are formed on a plate-shaped transparent substrate Pa such as, e.g., glass, so as to oppose each other across the thickness of the touchscreen circuit board P (i.e., in a direction orthogonal to the plane of the drawing); Paragraph [0054] Line 1-10; the plurality of second electrodes [Y1-Y4] and the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] are disposed on a same layer as the plate shape transparent substrate and ground on the other side as the second part is also in the same layer as there is no separate layer).
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi teaches a touch IC inspection device,
wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes [X1-X4] or the plurality of second electrodes [Y1=Y4] have a diamond shape (The shape of each of the X electrodes X1-X4 and the Y electrodes Y1-Y4 has such a pattern that a plurality of small rhombuses with a uniform size are skewered on a stick; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-4; Other names for rhombus include diamond, lozenge, and calisson and therefore the electrodes are diamond shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200117312 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the inspection board is configured to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device.
Kim teaches a touch screen capable of easily implementing a defect detection unit without adding masks or process steps, and a display device having the same (Paragraph [0004] Line 2-4),
wherein the inspection board [110] is configured to perform a function of a sensor layer [120] of a display device (Referring to FIG. 1, a touch screen 100 may include an insulating substrate 110, a touch sensing unit disposed on the insulating substrate 110, a signal input and output unit, and a defect detection unit. The insulating substrate 110 may include a sensing region 120 and a peripheral region 140. The sensing region 120 may be defined as a central region of the insulating substrate 110; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-7; Thus, the sensing electrodes 122 may be electrically connected to an external driving circuit, such as a position detection circuit, via the lines 142 and the pads 144. The defect detection unit may include an inspection line 160 disposed in the peripheral region 140 of the insulating substrate 110 and inspection pads 162 electrically connected to the inspection line 160; Paragraph [0025] Line 9-15). The purpose of doing so is to detect defects early in the manufacturing process to prevent shipment of defective display devices with low reliability and product lifetime and to detect defects early on in the manufacturing process, to prevent the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection, to increase the reliability of the manufacturer's devices and to prevent consequently reputational damage due to shipment of defective products and to have the advantage of no additional manufacturing cost or process time is required to implement an additional function.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Kim, because Kim teaches to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device detects defects early in the manufacturing process to prevent shipment of defective display devices with low reliability and product lifetime and detects defects early on in the manufacturing process (Paragraph [0037]), prevents the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection (Paragraph [0040]), increases the reliability of the manufacturer's devices and to prevent consequently reputational damage due to shipment of defective products and have the advantage of no additional manufacturing cost or process time is required to implement an additional function (Paragraph [0059]).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of Kim ‘312 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor, and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor and wherein the first resistor and the first capacitor are configured to adjust electrical characteristics of the inspection board to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device.
Kim teaches a touch screen capable of easily implementing a defect detection unit without adding masks or process steps, and a display device having the same (Paragraph [0004] Line 2-4),
wherein the first resistor and the first capacitor are configured to adjust electrical characteristics of the inspection board to perform a function of a sensor layer of a display device (When the manufacture of the touch screen 100 is completed, a probe of an inspection apparatus is brought into contact with the inspection line 160 or the inspection pads 162 to measure a self-resistance value, an amount of current or an amount of charge of the inspection line 160. In a case where defects or corrosion occurs as described above, the self-resistance value of the inspection line 160 may increase, and the amount of current or the amount of charge of the inspection line 160 may decrease. Since the inspection line 160 is positioned closer to the surface of the second protective layer 170 than the lines 142, the possibility of a defect of the lines 142 may be easily predicted through a defect detected by the inspection line 160; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-13; When a change of the self-resistance value, the amount of current, or the amount of charge of the inspection line 160 is beyond a reference point, it is determined that the touch screen 100 is defective, so that the shipment of defective product can be prevented. Such an inspection may be performed not only during the manufacturing process of the touch screen 100, but also during a module state in which the touch screen 100 is assembled together with a display panel and mounted in a mold frame or a case. Therefore, it is possible to prevent the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-11; The touch screen 100 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present inventive concept is an example of a capacitance type touch screen. When an object such as a human hand or a pen touches the sensing region 120, a change in capacitance at a position where the object is in contact may be sensed by the sensing electrodes 122. The change in the capacitance is provided to a driving circuit via the lines 142 and the pads 144. The change in the capacitance is converted into an electrical signal so that the position of the contact input can be detected; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-10). The purpose of doing so is to detect defects early in the manufacturing process to prevent shipment of defective display devices with low reliability and product lifetime and to detect defects early on in the manufacturing process, to prevent the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection, to increase the reliability of the manufacturer's devices and to prevent consequently reputational damage due to shipment of defective products and to have the advantage of no additional manufacturing cost or process time is required to implement an additional function.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Kim, because Kim teaches to include the first resistor and the first capacitor to adjust electrical characteristics of the inspection board detects defects early in the manufacturing process to prevent shipment of defective display devices with low reliability and product lifetime and detects defects early on in the manufacturing process (Paragraph [0037]), prevents the shipment of a defective product through multi-stage inspection (Paragraph [0040]), increases the reliability of the manufacturer's devices and to prevent consequently reputational damage due to shipment of defective products and have the advantage of no additional manufacturing cost or process time is required to implement an additional function (Paragraph [0059]).
The combination of Takahashi and Kim fails to teach that wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor, and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor (The resistance value of the touch sensor 155 in Figure 1 is provided by an electrical or physical contact between the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150. That is, if the second electrode 132 is brought into an electrical (or physical) contact with the elastic resistor member 150 in accordance with a deformation of the second substrate 130 caused by a touch force of the user 10, the touch sensor 155 serves as a variable resistance having a resistance value determined by an electrical property of the elastic resistor member 150; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-10),
and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor (The touch sensor 155 is provided for a two-dimensional and/or three-dimensional touch sensing, wherein the touch sensor 155 may selectively detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window 190 by the user 10; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5; Therefore, the value of capacitance is changes and therefore it is a variable capacitor). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi and Kim in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a variable capacitor provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Claim(s) 7, 9-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi ‘672 A1 in view of HWANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Hwang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20160282999 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor, and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the first resistor is a variable resistor (The resistance value of the touch sensor 155 in Figure 1 is provided by an electrical or physical contact between the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150. That is, if the second electrode 132 is brought into an electrical (or physical) contact with the elastic resistor member 150 in accordance with a deformation of the second substrate 130 caused by a touch force of the user 10, the touch sensor 155 serves as a variable resistance having a resistance value determined by an electrical property of the elastic resistor member 150; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-10),
and wherein the first capacitor is a variable capacitor (The touch sensor 155 is provided for a two-dimensional and/or three-dimensional touch sensing, wherein the touch sensor 155 may selectively detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window 190 by the user 10; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5; Therefore, the value of capacitance is changes and therefore it is a variable capacitor). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a variable resistance provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein the inspection board further includes: a first ground layer disposed on the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes; and a second ground layer disposed under the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein the inspection board further includes:
a first ground layer [130] (substrate 130 as the first ground layer) (Referring to FIG. 1, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include first and second substrates 110 and 130; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-3) disposed on the plurality of first electrodes [112] and the plurality of second electrodes [132] in Figure 1 (The second substrate 130 may be formed of the same material as that of the first substrate 110. The second substrate 130 confronts an upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-2; The first electrode 112 is disposed on the upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-2); and
a second ground layer [110] (substrate 110 as the second ground layer) (Referring to FIG. 1, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include first and second substrates 110 and 130; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-3) disposed under the plurality of first electrodes [112] and the plurality of second electrodes [132] (The first electrode 112 is disposed on the upper surface of the first substrate 110; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-2). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a first and second ground layers provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of first slits, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction, are disposed on the first ground layer, and wherein the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of first slits (gap space) in Figure 6, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction, are disposed on the first ground layer (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes [512] and the plurality of second electrodes [532] (Figure 6 shows the plurality of first slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of first slits, each of which extends in the second direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the first direction provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes is controlled by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes is controlled by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits (That is, the second electrode 132 and the elastic resistor member 150 are maintained at the gap height (GH) by the support member 170. If the second electrode 132 is electrically (or physically) separated from the elastic resistor member 150, the touch sensor 155 has the capacitance determined by a dielectric constant of the gap space (GS) and the elastic resistor member 150 disposed between the first and second electrodes 112 and 132; Paragraph [0054] Line 3-11). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to control self-capacitance of each of the plurality of first electrodes by a width, in a first direction, of each of the plurality of first slits provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction, are disposed on the second ground layer, and wherein the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction, are disposed on the second ground layer (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 6 shows the plurality of second slits overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes in another direction). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity and to detect changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of second slits, each of which extends in the first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in the second direction provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]), detects changes in capacitance or resistance in accordance with a touch force applied to the cover window (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape and which are arranged in the first direction and the second direction, are disposed on the first ground layer, and wherein the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape (Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang) and which are arranged in the first direction and the second direction, are disposed on the first ground layer [530] (The touch panel 500 is disposed on a display surface of a display panel (not shown) for, for example, a portable electronic device, wherein the touch panel 500 senses a touch by a user, conductive object, or non-conductive object. The touch panel 500 according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a first substrate 510 having the first electrode 512, a second substrate 530 having the second substrate 532, an elastic resistor member 550 disposed between the first and second electrodes 512 and 532, and a support member 570 for preparing a gap space (GS) between the elastic resistor member 550 and the second electrode 532; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-11), and
wherein the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang below shows the plurality of openings overlap the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to include a plurality of openings, each of which has a polygonal shape provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]) and detects detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]).
Figure 6: Modified a portion of Figure 6 of Hwang
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi fails to teach a touch IC inspection device, wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape.
Hwang teaches a touch screen device and a method of driving the same. More particularly, the present invention relates to a touch screen device capable of sensing a three-dimensional and/or two-dimensional touch (paragraph [0003] line 1-5),
wherein at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes have a rectangular shape (Referring to FIGS. 1 and 6, the touch screen device according to one embodiment of the present invention may include a touch panel 500 having a touch sensor 555 between first and second electrodes 512 and 532 confronting each other; Paragraph [0073] Line 1-5; Figure 6 shows that the first electrodes 532 and second electrodes 512 are rectangular in shape). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity, to detect the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahashi in view of Hwang, because Hwang teaches to have at least one of the plurality of first electrodes or the plurality of second electrodes a rectangular shape provides simplified manufacturing process and high sensitivity (Paragraph [0006]), detects the position of a touch made by a non-conductive object (Paragraph [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
SEO et al. (US 20150070305 A1) discloses, “TOUCH SENSING DISPLAY DEVICE- [0003] Exemplary embodiments relate to a touch sensing display device, and, more particularly, to a touch sensing display device configured to sense differences in pressure. [0072] FIG. 19 is a layout view of a touch sensing display device, according to exemplary embodiments. [0073] According to exemplary embodiments, the capacitive sensor is formed along with the pixels configured to display an image in the display area (e.g., active area) of the touch sensing display device. The piezoelectric sensor, however, is not formed in the display area, but a non-display area of the touch sensing display device. For instance, the piezoelectric sensor may be formed in a region where a seal member 380 utilized to seal the liquid crystal layer 3 between the thin film transistor array panel 100 and the opposing display panel 200 is formed. [0074] Referring to FIG. 19, the piezoelectric sensor is positioned between the opposing display panel 200 and the seal member 380. The piezoelectric sensor may include the piezoelectric layer 370 and a pair of electrodes 340' and 350' positioned on and under the piezoelectric layer 370. That is, a first electrode 340' may be disposed between the seal member 380 and the overcoat 250 and a second electrode 350' may be disposed between the seal member 380 and the first electrode 340', where the piezoelectric layer 370 is disposed between the pair of electrodes 340' and 350'. [0075] In exemplary embodiments, the thin film transistor array panel 100 may be positioned under the seal member 380 and may include a lower substrate 110 and a second protection layer 187 covering the lower substrate 110. Another protection layer or an insulating layer may be positioned between the second protection layer 187 and the lower substrate 110, however, such an additional layer is omitted in FIG. 19. [0076] According to exemplary embodiments, the opposing display panel 200 may include a light blocking member 220 is positioned under an upper substrate 210 and an overcoat 250 covering the light blocking member 220. The piezoelectric sensor is positioned under the overcoat 250. That is, the first electrode 340' is positioned under the overcoat 250, the piezoelectric layer 370 is positioned under the first electrode 340', and the second electrode 350' is positioned under the piezoelectric layer 370. The piezoelectric layer 370 and the pair of electrodes 340' and 350' may be positioned to form a closed line based on the formation of the seal member 380-However Seo does not disclose an inspection circuit configured to drive the inspection board using the touch IC and receive an inspection result from of the touch IC, wherein the inspection board includes: a plurality of first electrodes, each of which extends in a first direction and which are spaced apart from one another in a second direction that intersects the first direction.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858