DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimogawa et al. (US Pub # 2010/0034040).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding independent claim 1, Shimogawa et al. teach a method, comprising: determining, at selection circuitry, whether a first word received from a first group of sense amplifiers has at least one bit having a first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043, (LD1+LD4) is selection circuitry where each selection circuit includes unit (14+15+16) and determine number of logical value “1” and number of logical value “0” from the 32 bits data word from first SA1-SA32 group); and at least while the first word is being outputted from the selection circuitry responsive to the first word being determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value, preventing a selector configured to receive a second word from a second group of sense amplifiers from outputting the second word from the selection circuitry regardless of whether the second word has at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043, first sense amp group is activated by Sag1 signal and determine data value for each data bit for the first data word received from group SA1-SA32 and output to I/O 1 to I/O 32. Once finished, then second sense amp group SA33-64 is activated by the signal Sag2 signal and so on).
Even though Shimogawa et al. teach data bit value for first / second sense amp group but silent exclusively about first / second word. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the teaching of Shimogawa et al. where selection circuitry receive first data from SA1-SA32 having logic value “1” /“0”, then receive data from second group SA33-64 and so on i.e. receiving 32-bit data word having “1” or “0” in order to control the output for I/O lines and to have increased occurrence rate of desired data and to reduce operating current during read operation (see paragraph 0012-0013).
Regarding claim 2, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach further comprising: responsive to the first word being determined to not have the at least one bit having the first binary value, allowing the selector to output the second word from the selection circuitry if the second word is determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0041).
Regarding claim 3, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, further comprising: replacing the first word with a number of bits not having the first binary value responsive to the first word having been outputted from the selection circuitry; and responsive to the first word being replaced with the number of bits, allowing the selector to output the second word from the selection circuitry (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0040).
Regarding claim 4, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 3 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, further comprising: determining, at the selection circuitry, whether the second word has at least one bit having the first binary value responsive to the first word being determined to not have the at least one bit having the first binary value or being replaced with the number of bits; and responsive to the second word being determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value, preventing a selector configured to receive a third word from a third group of sense amplifiers from outputting the third word from the selection circuitry at least while the second word is being outputted from the selection circuitry regardless of whether the third word has at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043).
Regarding claim 2, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein: the selection circuitry further comprises a first circuit block to receive the first word and a second circuit block to receive the second word; and the method further comprises putting the first circuit block into a high impedance state responsive to the first word being determined to not have the at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0038).
Regarding claim 6, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein: the selection circuitry is further coupled to a local input/output (LIO) line; and the method further comprises outputting the first word on the LIO line responsive to the first word being determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0042).
Regarding independent claim 7, Shimogawa et al. teach an apparatus, comprising: a memory array; a plurality of sense amplifiers coupled to the memory array; and selection circuitry coupled to the plurality of sense amplifiers (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043, (LD1+LD4) is selection circuitry where each selection circuit includes unit (14+15+16) and determine number of logical value “1” and number of logical value “0” from the 32 bits data word from first SA1-SA32 group, MC1..MC128 are memory array), the selection circuitry comprising: a first circuit block configured to receive a first word from a first group of sense amplifiers; and a second circuit block configured to receive a second word from a second group of sense amplifiers; and the first circuit block further configured to: determine whether the first word has at least one bit having a first binary value ; and in response to the first word being determined to not have the at least one bit having the first binary value, provide a enable signal to the second circuit block to allow the second word to be outputted from the second circuit block when the second word is determined at the second circuit block to have at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043, first sense amp group is activated by Sag1 signal and determine data value for each data bit for the first data word received from group SA1-SA32 and output to I/O 1 to I/O 32. Once finished, then second sense amp group SA33-64 is activated by the signal Sag2 signal and so on).
Even though Shimogawa et al. teach data bit value for first / second sense amp group but silent exclusively about first / second word. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the teaching of Shimogawa et al. where selection circuitry receive first data from SA1-SA32 having logic value “1” /“0”, then receive data from second group SA33-64 and so on i.e. receiving 32-bit data word having “1” or “0” in order to control the output for I/O lines and to have increased occurrence rate of desired data and to reduce operating current during read operation (see paragraph 0012-0013).
Regarding claim 8, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 7 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, further comprising: responsive to the first word being determined to not have the at least one bit having the first binary value, allowing the selector to output the second word from the selection circuitry if the second word is determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0041).
Regarding claim 8, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 7 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the first circuit block of the selection circuitry further comprises a first logic gate configured to: receive the first word from the first group of sense amplifiers; and determine whether the first word has the at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0040).
Regarding claim 9, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 8 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the first logic gate is a wired OR circuit (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0040).
Regarding claim 10, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 8 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the first circuit block of the selection circuitry further comprises a second logic gate coupled to the first logic gate and a selector, the second logic gate configured to: receive, from the first logic gate, an input signal indicating that the first word has the at least one bit having the first binary value; and enable the selector to allow the first word to be outputted via the selector when the first word being is determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043).
Regarding claim 11, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 10 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the second logic gate is an AND gate (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0038).
Regarding claim 12, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 10 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the first circuit block of the selection circuitry further comprises a third logic gate configured to: receive, from the second logic gate, an input signal indicating that the first word is determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value; and provide the enable signal to the second circuit block of the selection circuitry (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0041).
Regarding claim 13, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 12 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the third logic gate is an OR gate (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0039).
Regarding claim 14, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 7 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein: the first and second circuit blocks of the selection circuitry are further coupled to a local input/output (LIO) line; and the first and second circuit blocks are configured to output respective words on the LIO line (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0040).
Regarding claim 15, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 7 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the memory array comprises a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) array (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0038).
Regarding claim 16, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 7 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the selection circuitry is on-chip with the memory array and the plurality of sense amplifiers (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0041).
Regarding independent claim 17, Shimogawa et al. teach an apparatus, comprising: a plurality of sense amplifiers; and selection circuitry coupled to the plurality of sense amplifiers and to one or more local input/output (LIO) lines (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043, (LD1+LD4) is selection circuitry where each selection circuit includes unit (14+15+16) and determine number of logical value “1” and number of logical value “0” from the 32 bits data word from first SA1-SA32 group); and the selection circuitry configured to determine, in response to receiving an activation signal, whether a first word received at the selection circuitry from a first group of sense amplifiers of the plurality has at least one bit having a first binary value; wherein the activation signal further causes the selection circuitry to determine whether a second word received at the selection circuitry from a second group of sense amplifiers of the plurality has at least one bit having the first binary value when the first word is determined to not have the at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043, first sense amp group is activated by Sag1 signal and determine data value for each data bit for the first data word received from group SA1-SA32 and output to I/O 1 to I/O 32. Once finished, then second sense amp group SA33-64 is activated by the signal Sag2 signal and so on).
Even though Shimogawa et al. teach data bit value for first / second sense amp group but silent exclusively about first / second word. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the teaching of Shimogawa et al. where selection circuitry receive first data from SA1-SA32 having logic value “1” /“0”, then receive data from second group SA33-64 and so on i.e. receiving 32-bit data word having “1” or “0” in order to control the output for I/O lines and to have increased occurrence rate of desired data and to reduce operating current during read operation (see paragraph 0012-0013).
Regarding claim 18, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 17 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the selection circuitry is configured to prevent, in response to the first word being determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value, the second word from being outputted from the selection circuitry (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0040).
Regarding claim 19, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 18 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, further comprising a controller coupled to the selection circuitry and the plurality of sense amplifiers, wherein the controller is further configured to, in response to the first word being outputted on a respective one of the LIO lines: replace the first word with a number of bits not having the first binary value to cause the selection circuitry to output the second word when the second word is determined to have at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0042).
Regarding claim 20, Shimogawa et al. teach all claimed subject matter as applied in prior rejection of claim 19 on which this claim depends.
Shimogawa et al. further teach, wherein the selection circuitry is configured to output the second word without the first word being replaced with the number of bits when the first word is determined to not have the at least one bit having the first binary value (see Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0011-0012, 0018-0034, 0036-0043).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (see page 9 of remarks) that Shimogawa does not teach or suggest each and every element of independent claims 1, 7, and 17. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this statement.
Claim 1 recite “determining, at selection circuitry, whether a first word, comprising a plurality of bits each bit having a first binary value or a second binary value, received from a first group of sense amplifiers has at least one bit having the first binary value”.
Here, as per claim limitation, the selection circuitry determines first word has plurality of bits where each bit having first value or second value.
First, any valid data bit must have digital value “1” or “0” by default.
Second, any data word has multiple data bit by default. So, the amendment did not necessarily further narrow down the limitation.
In Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0026-0027, 0031-0033, Shimogawa et al. teach sense amp group SA1-SA32 group first read the data from memory cell MC1-MC32 i.e. sense amp group SA1-SA32 first receive the first 32 bits word from the selected memory cells MC1-MC32.
Shimogawa et al. further teach that selection circuitry LD1-LD4 where each selector unit includes unit (14+15+16) determine number of logical value “1” and number of logical value “0” from the 32 bits data word from SA1-SA32 group. So, Shimogawa et al. clearly teach the limitation.
Claim 1 further recite “responsive to the first word being determined to have the at least one bit having the first binary value, preventing a selector configured to receive a second word from a second group of sense amplifiers from outputting the second word from the selection circuitry regardless of whether the second word has at least one bit having the first binary value.”
The above limitation indicate that when the first word received by the first selector from first group of sense amp, the second selector prevent receiving any word of data from second group of sense amp.
In Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0026-0027, 0031-0033, 0035-0038, Shimogawa et al. teach that first sense amp group is activated by Sag1 signal and determine data value for each data bit for the first data word received from group SA1-SA32 and output to I/O 1 to I/O 32. Once finished, then second sense amp group SA33-64 is activated by the signal Sag2 signal and so on. This clearly indicates that second group of sense amp can’t receive second data word once first data word is received by the first sense amp group and finished processing to determine data value by the selection circuitry.
The limitations of independent claims 7, 17 also rejected for the same reason explained above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED A BASHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824