DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention(s) in the reply filed on 12/11/25 is acknowledged.
Upon closer review, and a prior art search, the Restriction requirement of 10/14/25 is hereby withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the tension assembly mount and the adjustment shaft, as well as the belt projection of claim(s) 15, as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim(s) 9, line(s) 7, “tension assembly” lack(s) antecedent basis.
With regard to claim(s) 17, line(s) 2, “tension assembly mount” lack(s) antecedent basis.
Claim Interpretation
With regard to claim(s) 8, the examiner interprets applicant’s claim language to mean the belt(s) of claim(s) 1 is comprising a plurality of belt(s); & the belt(s) drive of claim(s) 1 is comprising a plurality of drives.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “biasing member configured to apply a force to the slide mount” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13, 16-19 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isaman et al. (7,347,320).
Isaman et al. (7,347,320) disclose(s):
conveyor assembly, figure(s) 2;
belt(s) drive system, figure(s) 4 & 6 and column 3, line(s) 18;
conveyor 10;
belt(s) 70;
a pair of side frames, 100C;
a plurality of roller(s) 106;
driven roller(s) 160;
tension roller(s) 148;
tension assembly mount/tension assembly mount assembly 120;
tensioner/tension assembly, figure(s) 5;
housing 124;
channel(s) 124A;
slide mount 126;
elongate opening, between 124A, figure(s) 5;
tension roller(s) shaft 150;
biasing member(s) comprising a spring 132;
adjustment shaft 154;
bracket 124B and screwed flanges, figure(s) 5;
aperture, at 100B, figure(s) 2.
With regard to claim(s) 1, Isaman et al. (7,347,320) disclose(s) a conveyor assembly, figure(s) 2, having a conveyor belt 70 for conveying articles, said conveyor assembly, figure(s) 2, comprising: a pair of side frames 100C to which a belt drive system is mounted, wherein the belt is driven by the belt drive system between the side frames; wherein the belt drive system comprises a plurality of rollers 106 mounted between the side frames 100C and about which the belt is disposed with the plurality of rollers comprising a driven roller 160, a tension roller 148 and a plurality of conveyor rollers 106; wherein the tension roller is mounted to the side frames by a tension assembly mount comprising a tensioner assembly; wherein the tensioner assembly comprises a housing 124 having a channel 124A within which a slide mount 126 is disposed for movement, with the housing including an elongate opening, between 124A, at the channel, and wherein the tension roller includes a shaft 150 and an end of the shaft is engaged with the slide mount at the elongate opening; wherein the tensioner assembly further comprises a biasing member 132 configured to apply a force to the slide mount to thereby bias the tension roller 148 into engagement with the belt for applying a tension force to the belt about the plurality of rollers 106.
With regard to claim(s) 9, Isaman et al. (7,347,320) disclose(s) a belt drive system, figure(s) 4 & 6, for driving a belt 70 of a conveyor 10, said belt drive system comprising: a plurality of rollers 106, 160 & 148 configured to be mounted between a pair of side frames 100C of a conveyor 10 and about which a belt 70 is disposed with the plurality of rollers 106, 160 & 148 comprising a driven roller 160, a tension roller 148 and a plurality of conveyor rollers 106; a tension assembly mount 120 for mounting the tension roller 148 between the side frames 100C, wherein the tension assembly comprises a tensioner assembly, figure(s) 5; wherein the tensioner assembly comprises a housing 124 having a channel 124A within which a slide mount 126 is disposed for movement, with the housing including an elongate opening, between 124A, figure(s) 5, at the channel 124A, and wherein the tension roller 148 includes a shaft 150 and an end of the shaft is engaged with the slide mount at the elongate opening; wherein the tensioner assembly further comprises a spring 132 configured to apply a force to the slide mount 126 to thereby bias the tension roller 148 into engagement with the belt 70 for applying a tension force to the belt about the plurality of rollers.
With regard to claim(s) 17, Isaman et al. (7,347,320) disclose(s) a tension assembly mount assembly 120 for applying a biasing force to a belt 70 of a conveyor 10, said tension assembly mount comprising: at least one tensioner assembly, figure(s) 5; wherein the tensioner assembly comprises a housing 124 having a channel 124A within which a slide mount 126 is disposed for movement, with the housing including an elongate opening, between 124A, figure(s) 5, at the channel 124A, and wherein the slide mount 126 is configured to receive an end of a shaft 150 of a tension roller 148 at the elongate opening; wherein the tensioner assembly further comprises a spring 132 configured to apply a force to the slide mount to thereby bias the tension roller 148 into engagement with a belt 70 for applying a tension force to the belt.
With regard to conveying article(s), the applicant recites this as mere intended use claim language, stopping short of positive recitation. Current U.S. practice is that a reference(s) need merely be capable of performing this function. Isaman et al. (7,347,320) is indeed able to convey discrete article(s).
Further, note that Isaman et al. (7,347,320) disclose(s) a belt(s) drive system between the side frames; column 3, line(s) 18.
With regard to claim(s) 3, 11 & 19, Isaman et al. (7,347,320) disclose(s) aligned elongated openings of the bracket & housing.
With regard to claim(s) 4 & 12, Isaman et al. (7,347,320) and adjustment shaft 154 mounted to the bracket at 124B.
With regard to claim(s) 5, 13 & 22, Isaman et al. (7,347,320) disclose(s) tensioner assemblies on each of the side frames.
With regard to claim(s) 16, Isaman et al. (7,347,320) disclose(s) a plurality roller(s) 106 comprising idler roller(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German et al. (10,384,879) in view of Isaman et al. (7,347,320).
German et al. (10,384,879) disclose(s:
conveyor assembly, figure(s) 5;
belt(s) drive system, figure(s) 622;
conveyor 621;
belt(s) 630;
a pair of side frames, 648 & 650;
a plurality of idler roller(s) 634 & 636;
driven roller(s) 624;
tension roller(s) 632;
tension assembly mount/tension assembly mount assembly 670;
tensioner/tension assembly, 656;
tension roller(s) shaft 570;
biasing member(s) 675;
adjustment shaft 154;
bracket 124B and screwed flanges, upper right, figure(s) 10.
German et al. (10,384,879) lack(s) a tension assembly comprising a channel(s), slide mount & elongate opening. Isaman et al. (7,347,320) teach(es) a tension assembly comprising a channel(s), slide mount & elongate opening as was expanded on at length supra.
With regard to claim(s) 7 & 14, German et al. (10,384,879) lack(s) a driven roller(s) pressing against the outer belt(s) surface; and a tension roller(s) pressing against the inner belt(s) surface. German et al. (10,384,879) disclose(s) the other way around. It has generally been recognized that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (such as the binary choice of roller(s) orientation relative to the belt(s) surfaces), with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With regard to claim(s) 8, German et al. (10,384,879) disclose(s) a plurality of belt(s) and associated drives.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify to German et al. (10,384,879) to substitute: the tension assembly; and reverse drive & tension roller(s) orientation relative to belt(s) surfaces in order to increase efficiency or accommodate practical considerations as taught by Isaman et al. (7,347,320).
Claims 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaman et al. (7,347,320) in view of Lin (CN 111332691).
Isaman et al. (7,347,320) lack(s) a belt(s) comprising a projection and roller(s) comprising a groove for combined mating engagement. Lin (CN 111332691) teach(es) a belt(s) comprising a projection 16 and roller(s) comprising a groove 13 for combined mating engagement in a belt(s) conveyor.
Further, it has generally been recognized that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (such as the binary choice of if to place a projection/groove arrangement or not), with a reasonable expectation of success involves only routine skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify to Isaman et al. (7,347,320) to substitute a belt(s) comprising a projection and roller(s) comprising a groove for combined mating engagement in order to prevent belt(s) lateral travel as taught by Lin (CN 111332691).
Conclusion
Claims 20-21 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703)308-1134.
/JOSEPH A DILLON JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653