DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed August 27, 2026.
Status of claims to be treated in this office action:
a. Independent: 1, 14, 19
b. Pending: 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 11-16, 18-20
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 14-15, and 19-20 have been amended and claims 2, 4, 7, 9-10, 17 have been canceled.
Specification
The amendments to the Specification have been reviewed and are accepted by
the Examiner. The objections to the Specification are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
The claim objections from the Non-Final Rejection filed May 29, 2026 are withdrawn pursuant to claim amendments except for item 1 below, which was not addressed. Items 2-4 are new claim objections.
In the sixth line of claim 1, make the following change:
“by sensing the data states usingstates,”
In the third line of part (g) of claim 14, make the following change:
“identifying a valley in the number of memory cells newly turning on”
With respect to claim 15, change the claim language to one of the following:
“after the adjusting of the” OR “after adjusting the”
With respect to claim 18, add “(Original)” to the beginning of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 112(d) claim rejections are withdrawn pursuant to claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp.10-11, filed August 27, 2026, with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1 and 14, and claims 3, 5-6, 8, 11-13, 15-16 and 18, which depend on claims 1 and 14, have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed August 27, 2026 regarding claim 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the arguments against the rejection of claim 19 using Mokhlesi et al. (US Pub. 20110194348 A1; “Mokhlesi”) on p.10, the following is an excerpt from amended claim 19:
“counting a number of memory cells newly turning on at each sense operation performed until the sooner of a maximum number of sense operations being performed or the number of memory cells newly turning on during a current sense operation being greater than the number of memory cells newly turning on during an immediately previous sense operation by a predetermined percentage of the number of memory cells newly turning on during the immediately previous sense operation.”
The “or” (emphasis added) claims two alternate conditions. The first condition, “a maximum number of sense operations being performed”, is met by Mokhlesi, as described in the updated rejection of claim 19 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mokhlesi (US Pub. 20110194348 A1).
Regarding independent claim 19, Mokhlesi discloses a non-volatile storage apparatus (Fig. 3: non-volatile storage device 210; [0054]), comprising:
non-volatile memory cells ([0054]: Memory die 212 includes an array (two-dimensional or three dimensional) of memory cells 200);
means for storing data in the non-volatile memory cells by programming the non-volatile memory cells to a set of data states that can be distinguished by a set of read reference levels for the data states ([0065]: The program operation, under the control of the state machine, comprises a series of programming voltage pulses (with increasing magnitudes) applied to the control gates of the addressed memory cells. Each programming pulse is followed by a verify process to determine if the memory cell has been programmed to the desired state); and
means for adjusting the set of read reference levels based on performing sense operations at incrementally higher threshold voltages (in reference to Fig. 16, per [0102]: In step 806, the output of derivative calculation is investigated to look for zero crossings. In one embodiment, zero crossings of the derivative data from negative derivative data values transitioning to positive derivative data values, as word line voltage is increased, represent read compare points…In step 808, the new read compare points found in step 806 are used to replace the old read compare points; [0086]: between each data state is a read compare point, such as Vra between state 0 and state 1 of FIG. 6 and Vrb between state 1 and state 2 of FIG. 6…A read process would test whether the threshold voltage of a memory cell was below each of the fifteen read compare points) and counting a number of memory cells newly turning on at each sense operation ([0104]: FIG. 17 is a flow chart describing one embodiment of determining threshold voltage distribution data…In step 832 a read operation is performed using the Vcgr set in step 830…The number of memory cells that conducted (turn on) in response to Vcgr being applied to their respective control gates (via the selected word line) is determined and stored (step 834)) performed until the sooner of a maximum number of sense operations being performed (Examiner asserts that the read operation of Fig. 17 is analogous to a sense operation, and the outcome of “no” in response to step 838 is analogous to a maximum number of sense operations being performed. Per [0104]: When the process loops back to step 832, another read operation is performed for the new Vcgr, the number of conducting memory cells is determined (step 834) and the new delta (step 836) is calculated. When there are no more samples to collect (e.g., Vcgr=5.0 volts or all memory cells have had there threshold voltage determined), then the process of FIG. 17 is complete) or the number of memory cells newly turning on during a current sense operation being greater than the number of memory cells newly turning on during an immediately previous sense operation by a predetermined percentage of the number of memory cells newly turning on during the immediately previous sense operation (The “or” (emphasis added) claims two alternate conditions. The first condition, “a maximum number of sense operations being performed.” The second condition, “the number of memory cells newly turning on during a sense operation being greater than the number…” The termination of the sense operation only requires one condition to be met, and not both conditions. In this case, Mokhlesi teaches the sense operation is performed until the maximum sense operation is reached. Therefore, by teaching the first condition, the claimed limitation is met).
Regarding claim 20, Mokhlesi further teaches the non-volatile storage apparatus of claim 19, wherein: the means for adjusting is configured to adjust the predetermined percentage (This limitation further limits the second condition explained in claim 19. Mokhlesi teaches the first condition for terminating the sense operation. Therefore, the features of this claim is met as explained in claim 19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 11-16, and 18 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Independent claims 1 and 14 include allowable subject matter since the prior art
made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, taken individually
or in combination, does not teach or suggest the claimed invention having:
Regarding claim 1:
“terminate the performing of the first plurality of sense operations prior to performing the first maximum number of sense operations if the number of memory cells newly turning on during a current sense operation of the first plurality of sense operations is greater than the a number of memory cells newly turning on during an immediately previous sense operation of the first plurality of sense operations by a predetermined percentage of the number of memory cells newly turning on during the immediately previous sense operation,”
Regarding claim 14:
“(f) in response to determining that the current bit count is not greater than [[a]] the immediately previous bit count by the predetermined percentage of the immediately previous bit count, repeating (a)-(f); and
(g) in response to determining that the current bit count is greater than [[a]] the immediately previous bit count by the predetermined percentage of the immediately previous bit count, identifying a valley in number of memory cells newly turning on based on the current word line voltage and adjusting read reference levels based on the identified valley.”
The Examiner was not able to find additional references to logically combine with
Mokhlesi in order to reject the other above features of claims 1 and 14. Refer to conclusion section for relevant references.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Hung et al. (US Pub. 20180240518 A1): para. [0006] and Figs. 6-8 are relevant to claims 1, 14, and 19.
Lee (US Pub. 20190115081 A1): para. [0074] and Fig. 7 are relevant to claims 1, 14, and 19.
Lee (US Pub. 20210005265 A1): para. [0076] and Fig. 7 are relevant to claims 1, 14, and 19.
Mondello et al. (US Pub. 20200213138 A1): para. [0078] and Fig. 8 are relevant to claims 1, 14, and 19.
Nguyen et al. (US Pub. 20240071521 A1): paras. [0079]-[0083] and Figs. 5A-5B are relevant to claims 1, 14, and 19.
Paudel et al. (US Pub. 20160260495 A1): paras. [0050], [0140], and [0176] and Fig. 10 are relevant to claims 1, 14, and 19.
Tang et al. (US Pub. 20250147878 A1): paras. [0234]-[0237] and Figs. 10-11 are relevant to claims 1, 14, and 19.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Khamdan N. Alrobaie/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824
/E.R.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2824
10/16/2026