DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 5 January 2026
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are pending;
Claims 1 and 11 are currently amended;
Claims 2-7, 9, 10, 13 and 14 were previously presented;
Claim 8 is cancelled;
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 5 January 2026 have been fully considered and they are moot since the new limitation about the transfer system being a power cable system necessitates the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pionetti (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0310319) in view of Bremmes et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0240893).
As to Claim 1, Pionetti discloses a transfer system connectable to an offshore structure, wherein the transfer system comprises:
A transfer device (2, 3, 4, 10, 21) connectable to a connector box (23) on the offshore structure (20), wherein the transfer device comprises a tensile element (10); wherein the transfer device (10) is defined with a lower section (10a) and an upper section (21), wherein the tensile element (10) is removed (Element 2 removes the upper section from tensile element 10) from at least parts of the upper section (21); wherein the transfer system further comprises a hang-off device (5) comprising:
A base (81) mechanically connectable to the offshore structure; and
A first element (82) pivotably connected (Compare Figures 4A and 4B) to the base at a first pivoting axis;
Wherein the lower section (10a) is suspended from the first element (82) into a wet zone of the offshore structure;
Wherein the upper section (21) is extending above the first element (82) into a dry zone of the offshore structure;
Wherein the tensile element (10) is mechanically connected to the first element (82) or secured to a clamp that is comprised in the first element;
Wherein the transfer device (2, 3, 4, 10, 21) is a power cable (Paragraph 0005: “The present invention thus applies to holding a substantially vertical pipe in suspension, and also to any type of pipe that is to convey a fluid, electricity, optical signals, or information, and in particular tubular pipes that are rigid or flexible, umbilicals, and electric cables”);
Wherein the transfer system is a power cable system (Paragraph 0005: “The present invention thus applies to holding a substantially vertical pipe in suspension, and also to any type of pipe that is to convey a fluid, electricity, optical signals, or information, and in particular tubular pipes that are rigid or flexible, umbilicals, and electric cables”).
However, Pionetti is silent about wherein the power cable comprises an electric conductor and an insulation layer outside of each electric conductor, wherein the tensile element is provided outside of the insulation layer. Bremmes discloses a power cable (15) comprising an electric conductor (1, 5) and an insulation layer (3, 6) outside of each electric conductor, wherein a tensile element (8) is provided outside of the insulation layer. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the power cable comprise an electric conductor and an insulation layer outside of each electric conductor, wherein the tensile element is provided outside of the insulation layer. The motivation would have been to provide layers of protection to the cable.
As to Claim 2, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the base (81) comprises an opening, and wherein the first element (82) comprises an opening, wherein the upper section (21) is provided through the opening of the base and further through the opening of the first element (Upper section is attached to 10a and 10a pass through the openings, therefore the upper section is provided through the opening via 10a).
As to Claim 3, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the first element (82) is connected directly to a top surface of the base (81).
As to Claim 4, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the hang-off device (5) further comprises a second element (82b; Figure 3C also shows a plurality of elements 61 62 above a base) connected between the first element (82) and the base (81); wherein the first element (82) is pivotably connected to the second element (380) at the first pivoting axis and wherein the second element (82b) is pivotably connected to the base (81) at a second pivoting axis (Axis where arrow in Figure 1A pivots around); wherein the second pivoting axis is different from the first pivoting axis.
As to Claim 5, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 4 (Refer to Claim 4 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the second pivoting axis of the second element (82b) is connected directly to, or at a distance away from, a top surface of the base (81), and the first pivoting axis of the first element (82) is connected directly to, or at a distance away from a top surface of the second element (82b).
As to Claim 6, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 4 (Refer to Claim 4 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the second element (82b) comprises an opening, wherein the lower section (10a) is provided through the opening of the second element.
As to Claim 7, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the base (81) comprises a cylindrical section and a flange section (Annotated Figure B) provided above the cylindrical section, wherein the flange section forms the top surface.
As to Claim 9, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the transfer device (2, 3, 4, 10, 21) comprises a water barrier (101), wherein the water barrier is removed from the upper section (21).
As to Claim 10, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the transfer device (2, 3, 4, 10, 21) comprises a fluid line (Paragraph 0005: “The present invention thus applies to holding a substantially vertical pipe in suspension, and also to any type of pipe that is to convey a fluid, electricity, optical signals, or information, and in particular tubular pipes that are rigid or flexible, umbilicals, and electric cables”).
As to Claim 11, Pionetti as modified teaches a method for connecting an end of a transfer device to an offshore structure, wherein the method comprises the steps of:
Pulling the end of the transfer device (2, 3, 4, 10, 21) up to the offshore structure;
Connecting a hang-off device (5) according to any one of the above claims (Refer to the claims discussions) mechanically to the offshore structure;
Removing the tensile element (10) from an upper section (21) of the transfer device (Figure 4B);
Suspending the transfer device (2, 3, 4, 10, 21) from the first element (82); wherein the tensile element (10) is mechanically connected to the first element or secured to a clamp that is comprised in the first element.
As to Claim 12, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the method comprises the further steps of: - allowing the first element (82) to pivot about the first pivoting axis relative to the base (Compare Figures 4A and 4B).
As to Claim 13, Pionetti as modified teaches a method for connecting an end of a transfer device to an offshore structure, wherein the method comprises the further steps of:
Suspending the transfer device (2, 3, 4, 10, 21) from a hang-off device (5) according to claim 4;
Allowing the first element (82) to pivot about the first pivoting axis relative to the second element; and
Allowing the second element (82b) to pivot about the second pivoting axis relative to the base.
As to Claim 14, Pionetti as modified teaches the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Pionetti as modified also teaches wherein the method comprises the step of connecting the hang-off device (5) to the transfer device as part of a manufacturing process of the transfer device or as part of a transfer device installation process (Figure 4A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678