DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pad replacement unit” in Claims 1, 9, 11, 13, and 15, “pad storage unit” in Claims 1, 3, 4, and 13-15, “pad transfer unit” in Claims 1-3 and 13-15, “movement module” in Claims 2, 3, and 14, “hook members” in Claims 10-12, and “cleaning system” in Claims 13-15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. WO 2022/253345 (hereafter Ma et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Ma et al. anticipates:
1. A station (base station 200) for use with a robot cleaner (cleaning robot 100), the station comprising:
a pad replacement unit (unlabeled pad receiving cavity area near mop board 110 in Figure 2);
a pad storage unit (assembly comprising first storage bin 210 and second storage bin 220) above the pad replacement unit and including a received pad container (second storage bin 220) and a pad supply container (first storage bin 210); and
a pad transfer unit (mop picking device 300), wherein
the pad replacement unit, the pad storage unit, and the pad transfer unit are configured so that
the pad transfer unit is movable in a first direction (upward, Figure 2) along a movement path (along vertical track shown in Figures 2 and 35) from the pad replacement unit to the pad storage unit while supporting a used pad (used mop board 110) that was detached from the robot cleaner and loaded in the pad replacement unit, so that the used pad is moved by the pad transfer unit to the pad storage unit to be received in the received pad container (Figures 5-8 and 38-42), and
the pad transfer unit is movable in a second direction (downward, Figure 2), opposite the first direction, along the movement path from the pad storage unit to the pad replacement unit while supporting a new pad (new mop board 110) that was stored in the pad supply container and supplied to the pad transfer unit, so that the new pad is moved by the pad transfer unit to the pad replacement unit to be attached to the robot cleaner (Figures 12-14 and 42-50), and
the pad storage unit is configured to move the received pad container (Figures 6 and 42) and the pad supply container (Figures 12 and 50) so that the received pad container is located on the movement path when the used pad is to be received in the received pad container (Figures 6 and 42), and the pad supply container is located on the movement path when the new pad is to be supplied to the pad transfer unit (Figures 12 and 50) .
Regarding Claim 2, Ma et al. anticipates:
2. The station of claim 1, wherein
the first direction (upward, Figure 2) is up along an up/down direction,
the second direction (downward, Figure 2) is down along the up/down direction, and
the pad transfer unit (mop picking device 300) includes:
a pad holder (connecting part 311) configured to support the used pad (used mop board 110) when the pad transfer unit moves in the first direction (upward, Figure 2) along the movement path (along vertical track shown in Figures 2 and 35)(Figures 5-8 and 38-42) and to support the new pad (new mop board 110) when the pad transfer unit moves in the second direction (downward, Figure 2) along the movement path (Figures 12-14 and 42-50), and
a movement module (first moving mechanism 310) configured to move the pad holder in the first direction and the second direction (Figures 5-8, 12-14 and 38-50).
Regarding Claim 3, Ma et al. anticipates:
3. The station of claim 2, wherein the pad storage unit (assembly comprising first storage bin 210 and second storage bin 220) and the pad transfer unit (mop picking device 300) are configured so that
the pad storage unit moves the received pad container (second storage bin 220) to be located on the movement path (along vertical track shown in Figures 2 and 35)(Figures 6 and 42) so that, when the pad holder (connecting part 311) is supporting the used pad (used mop board 110) and the movement module (first moving mechanism 310) moves the pad holder in the first direction (upward, Figure 2), the pad holder becomes inserted into the received pad container (Figures 5-8 and 38-42), and
when the new pad (new mop board 110) is to be supplied to the pad transfer unit, the movement module moves the pad holder in the first direction in an empty state without supporting the used pad (Figures 11 and 42), and the pad storage unit moves the pad supply container (first storage bin 210) to be located on the movement path (Figures 43 and 44) so that the pad holder moving in the first direction becomes inserted into the pad supply container (between Figures 44-45).
Regarding Claim 6, Ma et al. anticipates:
6. The station of claim 1, wherein,
when the received pad container (second storage bin 220) is located on the movement path (along vertical track shown in Figures 2 and 35), the pad supply container (first storage bin 210) is not located on the movement path (Figures 6 and 42), and
when the pad supply container is located on the movement path, the received pad container is not located on the movement path (Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 7, Ma et al. anticipates:
7. The station of claim 2, wherein the pad holder (connecting part 311) has a support posture (mechanical claws holding mop board 110 for transport) in which the pad holder supports the used pad (used mop board 110) or the new pad (new mop board 110), and a separation posture (positioned for removal of new or used mop board 110 from connecting part 311 by removal mechanism 320) in which the pad holder allows separation of the used pad (Figure 8) or the new pad (Figure 15) from the pad holder.
Regarding Claim 8, Ma et al. anticipates:
8. The station of claim 7, wherein the pad holder (connecting part 311) has the separation posture (positioned for removal of new or used mop board 110 from connecting part 311 by removal mechanism 320) or the support posture (mechanical claws holding mop board 110 for transport) depending on position of the pad holder along the up/down direction (support posture along entire path, separation posture at three locations).
Regarding Claim 9, Ma et al. anticipates:
9. The station of claim 8, wherein the pad holder (connecting part 311) has the separation posture (positioned for removal of new or used mop board 110 from connecting part 311 by removal mechanism 320) when located at the pad replacement unit (unlabeled pad receiving cavity area near mop board 110 in Figure 2), the pad holder has the support posture (mechanical claws holding mop board 110 for transport) when moving from the pad replacement unit toward the received pad container (second storage bin 220), and the pad holder has the separation posture when located at the received pad container (Figures 5-8 and 38-42).
Regarding Claim 10, Ma et al. anticipates:
10. The station of claim 9, wherein the pad holder (connecting part 311) includes a plurality of hook members (locking part which includes mechanical claws or hooks) configured to pivot to support the new pad (new mop board 110) or the used pad (used mop board 110) in the support posture (mechanical claws holding mop board 110 for transport).
Regarding Claim 13, Ma et al. anticipates:
13. A cleaning system (system comprising base station 200 and cleaning robot 100) comprising:
a robot cleaner (cleaning robot 100);
a pad replacement unit (unlabeled pad receiving cavity area near mop board 110 in Figure 2);
a pad storage unit (assembly comprising first storage bin 210 and second storage bin 220) above the pad replacement unit and including a received pad container (second storage bin 220) and a pad supply container (first storage bin 210); and
a pad transfer unit (mop picking device 300), wherein
the robot cleaner, the pad replacement unit, the pad storage unit, and the pad transfer unit are configured so that
the pad transfer unit is movable in a first direction (upward, Figure 2) along a movement path (along vertical track shown in Figures 2 and 35) from the pad replacement unit to the pad storage unit while supporting a used pad (used mop board 110) that was detached from the robot cleaner and loaded in the pad replacement unit, so that the used pad is moved by the pad transfer unit to the pad storage unit to be received in the received pad container (Figures 5-8 and 38-42), and
the pad transfer unit is movable in a second direction (downward, Figure 2), opposite the first direction, along the movement path from the pad storage unit to the pad replacement unit while supporting a new pad (new mop board 110) that was stored in the pad supply container and supplied to the pad transfer unit, so that the new pad is moved by the pad transfer unit to the pad replacement unit to be attached to the robot cleaner (Figures 12-14 and 42-50), and
the pad storage unit is configured to move the received pad container (Figures 6 and 42) and the pad supply container (Figures 12 and 50) so that the received pad container is located on the movement path when the used pad is to be received in the received pad container (Figures 6 and 42), and the pad supply container is located on the movement path when the new pad is to be supplied to the pad transfer unit (Figures 12 and 50) .
Regarding Claim 14, Ma et al. anticipates:
14. The cleaning system of claim 13, wherein
the first direction (upward, Figure 2) is up along an up/down direction,
the second direction (downward, Figure 2) is down along the up/down direction,
the pad transfer unit (mop picking device 300) includes:
a pad holder (connecting part 311) configured to support the used pad (used mop board 110) when the pad transfer unit moves in the first direction (upward, Figure 2) along the movement path (along vertical track shown in Figures 2 and 35)(Figures 5-8 and 38-42) and to support the new pad (new mop board 110) when the pad transfer unit moves in the second direction (downward, Figure 2) along the movement path (Figures 12-14 and 42-50), and
a movement module (first moving mechanism 310) configured to move the pad holder in the first direction and the second direction (Figures 5-8, 12-14 and 38-50), and
the pad transfer unit and the pad storage unit are configured so that
the pad storage unit moves the received pad container (second storage bin 220) to be located on the movement path (along vertical track shown in Figures 2 and 35)(Figures 6 and 42) so that, when the pad holder (connecting part 311) is supporting the used pad (used mop board 110) and the movement module (first moving mechanism 310) moves the pad holder in the first direction (upward, Figure 2), the pad holder becomes inserted into the received pad container (Figures 5-8 and 38-42), and
when the new pad (new mop board 110) is to be supplied to the pad transfer unit, the movement module moves the pad holder in the first direction in an empty state without supporting the used pad (Figures 11 and 42), and the pad storage unit moves the pad supply container (first storage bin 210) to be located on the movement path (Figures 43 and 44) so that the pad holder moving in the first direction becomes inserted into the pad supply container (between Figures 44-45).
Regarding Claim 15, Ma et al. anticipates:
15. A cleaning pad (mop board 110) replacement method for a cleaning system (system comprising base station 200 and cleaning robot 100) that includes a robot cleaner (cleaning robot 100) and a station (base station 200) that includes a pad replacement unit (unlabeled pad receiving cavity area near mop board 110 in Figure 2), a pad storage unit (assembly comprising first storage bin 210 and second storage bin 220) above the pad replacement unit and including a received pad container (second storage bin 220) and a pad supply container (first storage bin 210), and a pad transfer unit (mop picking device 300), the cleaning pad replacement method comprising:
moving, by the pad storage unit, the received pad container and the pad supply container so that the received pad container is located on a movement path (along vertical track shown in Figures 2 and 35) of the pad transfer unit that extends from the pad replacement unit to the pad storage unit and the pad supply container is not located on the movement path (Figures 5-8 and 38-42);
moving the pad transfer unit in a first direction (upward, Figure 2) along the movement path from the pad replacement unit to the pad storage unit (Figures 6 and 42) while the received pad container is located on the movement path and the pad transfer unit supports a used pad (used mop board 110) that was detached from the robot cleaner and loaded in the pad replacement unit (Figures 6 and 42), so that the used pad is moved by the pad transfer unit to the pad storage unit to be received in the received pad container (Figures 6 and 42);
after the used pad is received in the received pad container, moving, by the pad storage unit, the received pad container and the pad supply container so that the pad supply container is located on the movement path and the received pad container is not located on the movement path (Figure 12);
supplying a new pad (new mop board 110) stored in the pad supply container located on the movement path to the pad transfer unit (Figures 12-13 and 42-46); and
moving the pad transfer unit in a second direction (downward, Figure 2), opposite the first direction, along the movement path from the pad storage unit to the pad replacement unit while the pad transfer unit supports the new pad supplied to the pad transfer unit (Figures 14 and 47), so that the new pad is moved by the pad transfer unit to the pad replacement unit to be attached to the robot cleaner (Figures 14-15 and 47-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. WO 2022/253345 (hereafter Ma et al.) in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 11, Ma et al. teaches:
11. The station of claim 10, further comprising:
a first rotation guide unit (see discussion below) configured to guide pivoting of the plurality of hook members (locking part which includes mechanical claws or hooks) when the pad holder (connecting part 311) is located at the pad replacement unit (unlabeled pad receiving cavity area near mop board 110 in Figure 2) so that the pad holder has the separation posture (positioned for removal of new or used mop board 110 from connecting part 311 by removal mechanism 320) at the pad replacement unit.
Ma et al. discloses a connecting part 311 that includes locking part that could comprise mechanical claws, hooks or magnets to secure the mop board 110 for transport. Ma et al. discloses pivotally operating release mechanism 600 in Figures 48 and 49 that pry the mop board away from the connecting part to release it. Ma et al. does not disclose a first rotation guide that would allow the mechanical claws or hooks to pivotally move to improve the release of the mop board from the connecting part. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanical claws or hooks to be pivotally connected to a first rotation guide that would allow them to be actuated for release without a need to forcibly overcome the mechanical connection to release the new mop board onto the pad storage unit for connection to the cleaning robot 100.
Regarding Claim 12, Ma et al. teaches:
12. The station of claim 10, wherein the received pad container (second storage bin 220) includes a second rotation guide unit (see discussion below) configured to guide pivoting of the plurality of hook members (locking part which includes mechanical claws or hooks) when the pad holder (connecting part 311) is located at the received pad container so that the pad holder has the separation posture (positioned for removal of new or used mop board 110 from connecting part 311 by removal mechanism 320) at the received pad container.
Ma et al. discloses a connecting part 311 that includes locking part that could comprise mechanical claws, hooks or magnets to secure the mop board 110 for transport. Ma et al. discloses pivotally operating release mechanism 600 in Figures 48 and 49 that pry the mop board away from the connecting part to release it. Ma et al. does not disclose a second rotation guide that would allow the mechanical claws or hooks to pivotally move to improve the release of the mop board from the connecting part. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanical claws or hooks to be pivotally connected to a second rotation guide that would allow them to be actuated for release without a need to forcibly overcome the mechanical connection to release the used mop board onto the second storage bin for eventual disposal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but it would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of robotic cleaner stations designed to replace mop pads on robotic cleaners.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723