DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amendments to the specification received on 11 July 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12063168. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘168 anticipates the instant application claims.
Instant Application
Patent No. 12063168
Claim 1 (and similarly claims 16 and 20)
A computer system comprising:
a communications module;
one or more processors coupled to the communications module; and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the computer system, cause the computer system to:
generate a message based on an identification of a resource optimization opportunity;
facilitate access to a resource prior to a defined date by a transmission of the generated message to a second computer system prior to the defined date.
Claim 1 (and similarly claims 13 and 20)
A computer system comprising: a communications module;
one or more processors coupled to the communications module; and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the computer system, cause the computer system to:
obtain one or more parameters of a resource demand, the one or more parameters including at least a defined date;
identify, based on a projected demand for a computing resource, a resource optimization opportunity prior to the defined date;
generate a message based on the identification of the resource optimization opportunity;
identify a second computer system based on the resource demand; and
facilitate access to the computing resource prior to the defined date by a transmission of the generated message to the identified second computer system prior to the defined date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danielak et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0379644), hereinafter Danielak.
Regarding claim 1, Danielak discloses
A computer system comprising: (Fig. 1, 131; [0025])
a communications module; ([0026]; Fig. 1; i.e. The server provides information to a client device via network. Thereby inherently containing a communications module.)
one or more processors coupled to the communications module; and ([0026])
a memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the computer system, cause the computer system to: ([0026])
generate a message (Fig. 8; i.e. message to user about shortfall and amount to cover) based on an identification of a resource optimization opportunity; (i.e. action to cover an identified shortfall) and (Fig. 8; [0139])
facilitate access to a resource (i.e. money to cover shortfall) prior to a defined date ([0089]; [0091]; i.e. date of a scheduled transfer from a source account to a destination account) by a transmission of the generated message to a second computer system (Fig. 1, 102; i.e. client device of the user) prior to the defined date. ([0129]; [0139]; [0133]; [0107]; i.e. Prior to the scheduled transfer of funds from a source account to a destination account the server will identify a shortfall. The server determines an action to take to cover the shortfall, such as access the shortfall funds from a shortfall account. The choice to initiate the action is presented to the user using a generated message to the client device of the user. If the user selects the to initiate, the server accesses the funds from the shortfall account and transfers the funds to the destination account. Therefore, the transmission of the message to the user facilitates the server accessing the assets to cover the shortfall.)
Regarding claim 2, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the computer system, further cause the computer system to identify, based on a projected demand (i.e. amount of funds to transfer from source account to destination account) for the resource, the resource optimization opportunity (i.e. action to cover an identified shortfall) prior to the defined date. ([0089]; [0091]; [0107])
Regarding claim 3, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 2, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the computer system, cause the computer system to identify the resource optimization opportunity include instructions that, when executed by the computer system, cause the computer system to detect a projected shortfall event. ([0089]; [0093])
Regarding claim 4, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 2, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the computer system, cause the computer system to identify the resource optimization opportunity include instructions that, when executed by the computer system, cause the computer system to:
detect a favorable conversion rate of the resource; and ([0096-0097]; i.e. It is detected that liquidating assets in the source account with a conversion rate of 5% is more favorable than the 7% rate for accessing funds from the shortfall account.)
determine that the resource is not expected to experience a shortfall event by an advancement of a transfer associated with a resource demand. ([0100]; i.e. It is determined that liquidating the assets in the source account will not cause a shortfall event of having to access the shortfall account/shortfall event.)
Regarding claim 5, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 2, the identification of the resource optimization opportunity is based on one or more of:
a determination that a current conversion rate for satisfying a resource demand is a favorable conversion rate;
a determination that a projected account balance is expected to remain above a threshold; and
a determination that an expected account balance will fall below a threshold. (i.e. amount of funds that should be transferred) ([0072]; [0074])
Regarding claim 6, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 1, wherein the generated message includes a transfer of an amount of the resource. ([0139]; Fig. 8; i.e. When the user selects the generated message the shortfall funds are transferred to the destination account.)
Regarding claim 7, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the computer system, further cause the computer system to obtain one or more parameters of a resource demand, (i.e. user demand to transfer funds from one account to another) the one or more parameters including at least the defined date. (i.e. first day of month) ([0049], lines 22-25; [0073]; [0136])
Regarding claim 8, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 7, wherein the one or more parameters include one or more thresholds used to identify the resource optimization opportunity. ([0049]; [0091])
Regarding claim 9, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 7, wherein the one or more parameters include one or more variables (i.e. amount of funds in source account) to be used in the identification of the resource optimization opportunity. ([0074]; Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 10, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 7, wherein the one or more parameters include a flag (i.e. user option) indicating that fulfillment of the resource demand may be advanced in response to the identification of the resource optimization opportunity. ([0103])
Regarding claim 11, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 7, wherein the instructions, when executed by the computer system, further cause the computer system to identify the second computer system based on the resource demand. ([0029]; [0128]; i.e. Based on the resource demand to transfer funds from the source account to the destination account, the server will identify the user’s device in order to notify the user’s device of the transfer.)
Regarding claim 12, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 7, wherein the resource demand includes a request for payment. (i.e. payment of rent) ([0073])
Regarding claim 13, Danielak discloses
The computer system of claim 7, wherein the generated message (Fig. 8, 830) includes a modified version of the resource demand. (i.e. scheduled transfer) (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 16, this method claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 1 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 17, this method claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 2 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 18, this method claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 7 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 20, this medium claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 1 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danielak in view of Daya et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0270168), hereinafter Daya.
Regarding claim 21, Danielak shows all of the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above. However, Danielak fails to show
The computer system of claim 7, wherein obtaining the one or more parameters of the resource demand includes performing natural language processing operations to obtain the one or more parameters.
Daya shows
wherein obtaining the one or more parameters ([0040]; i.e. data of electronic record such as amount to be paid/due date for payment) of the resource demand includes performing natural language processing operations to obtain the one or more parameters. ([0046])
Daya and Danielak are considered analogous art because they involve users or payors providing payment requests to a system. Danielak shows that a user may provide transfer information such as accounts and dates in which to transfer funds. Daya shows that the transfer information may be provided in a form that is analyzed by the system to identify the information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Danielak to incorporate the teachings of Daya wherein obtaining the one or more parameters of the resource demand includes performing natural language processing operations to obtain the one or more parameters. Doing so provides that the user may provide the information in different formats.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Solovev et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0328879) shows transferring funds between banks using different currencies.
Jonas et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0294413) shows transferring funds based on currency conversion rates.
/CAROLINE H JAHNIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451