Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant contends that Zhao fails to disclose or suggest features (1)"deriving a set of motion candidates for the target block based on the motion information and a set of affine parameters for the target block.”
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Referring to FIG. 26 described above, a constructed affine candidate is described (Zhao: paragraph [0435]). Referring to FIG. 26, the constructed affine candidates may correspond to the control points illustrated in FIG. 26 and may be considered as candidates even when neighboring candidates are not blocks coded in the affine mode (Zhao: paragraph [0435]). As an embodiment, a constructed affine candidate may be selected from neighboring blocks according to the following process (Zhao: paragraph [0435]). mv0 is selected from A, B, and C (a first candidate having the same reference picture as the current block), mv1 is selected from D and E (the first candidate having the same reference picture as the current block, mv2 is selected from F and G (first candidate having the same reference picture as the current block) (Zhao: paragraphs [0436]-[0438]). After obtaining mv0, mv1, and mv2, the encoder/decoder may derive the MV of the control point based on the availability of mv0, mv1, and mv2 (Zhao: paragraph [0439]).
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant contends that Zhao fails to disclose or suggest features (2)"performing the conversion based on the set of motion candidates."
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The encoding apparatus 100 may generate a residual signal (residual block or residual sample array) by subtracting a prediction signal (predicted block or prediction sample array), output by the inter predictor 180 or the intra predictor 185, from an input image signal (original block or original sample array) (Zhao: paragraph [0084]). The information on prediction may be encoded in the entropy encoder 190 and may be output in a bitstream form (Zhao: paragraph [0084]). The inter predictor 180 may construct a motion information candidate list based on neighbor blocks, and may generate information indicating that which candidate is used to derive a motion vector and/or reference picture index of a current block (Zhao: paragraph [0086]). An inter prediction may be performed based on various prediction modes (Zhao: paragraph [0086]). For example, in the case of a skip mode and a merge mode, the inter predictor 180 may use motion information of a neighbor block as motion information of a current block (Zhao: paragraph [0086]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 15, and 17-19, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 20210400298 A1).
Re claim 1, Zhao discloses a method of video processing, comprising:
determining, during a conversion between a target block of a video and a bitstream of the video, motion information of a neighbor block of the target block (Zhao: Fig. 45; paragraph [0417]; Fig. 26 and paragraphs [0435]-[0439]);
deriving a set of motion candidates for the target block based on the motion information and a set of affine parameters for the target block (Zhao: Fig. 45; paragraphs [0418]-[0423]; paragraph [0398]; Fig. 26 and paragraphs [0435]-[0439]); and
performing the conversion based on the set of motion candidates (Zhao: paragraphs [0424]-[0426]; paragraphs [0084] and [0086]).
Re claim 2, Zhao discloses that the neighbor block comprises at least one of: an adjacent neighbor block, a non-adjacent neighbor block, a spatial neighbor block, or a temporal neighbor block (Zhao: Fig. 45; paragraph [0417]).
Re claim 3, Zhao discloses that deriving the set of motion candidates for the target block based on the motion information and the set of affine parameters comprises:
determining a set of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) based on the motion information and the set of affine parameters (Zhao: paragraphs [0008] and [0013]); or
determining a set of motion vectors of sub-blocks used in motion compensation (Zhao: paragraphs [0008] and [0013]).
Re claim 4, Zhao discloses that the set of affine parameters are stored in a buffer associated with the target block (Zhao: paragraphs [0479] and [0484]).
Re claim 5, Zhao discloses that a motion vector (MV) in the neighbor block is represented as (mvh0, mvv0), a coordinate of a position for which the motion vectors (mvh (x,y), mvv(x,y)) is derived is represented as (x,y), a coordinate of a top-left corner of the target block is represented as (x0′, y0′), a width of the target block is represented as w, and a height of the target block is represented as h (Zhao: paragraph [0011]; paragraph [0269]).
Re claim 6, Zhao discloses that a plurality of types of affine history-based motion vector prediction (HMVP) tables is determined and at least one candidate in a candidate list is derived based on the plurality of types of affine HMVP tables (Zhao: paragraph [0009]).
Re claim 7, Zhao discloses that the candidate list comprises at least one of: an affine candidate list, or a sub-block candidate list, and/or wherein the affine candidate list comprises at least one of: an affine merge list, or an affine advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) list (Zhao: paragraph [0014]).
Re claim 8, Zhao discloses that a history-based motion vector prediction (HMVP) table for the target block is determined and the HMVP table is stored after coding/decoding a region (Zhao: paragraphs [0509]-[0512]).
Re claim 9, Zhao discloses that the HMVP table comprises an affine HMVP table (Zhao: paragraph [0511]), or wherein the HMVP table comprises at least one of: a first kind of affine HMVP table, or a second kind of affine HMVP table.
Re claim 10, Zhao discloses that the HMVP table maintained for the target block is used together with a stored HMVP table (Zhao: paragraph [0009]).
Re claim 11, Zhao discloses that a stored non-affine HMVP table is used as a non-affine HMVP table to generate a non-affine candidate, or wherein a stored affine HMVP table is used as an affine HMVP table to generate an affine candidate (Zhao: paragraph [0009]).
Re claim 12, Zhao discloses that a set of pairs of affine candidates for the target block is generated (Zhao: paragraph [0278]).
Re claim 15, Zhao discloses that a candidate for the target block is generated, and the candidate is compared with at least one candidate in a candidate list before the candidate is added into the candidate list (Zhao: paragraph [0537]), and/or wherein a motion candidate list comprising at least one non-adjacent affine constructed candidate and at least one history-based affine candidate is determined.
Re claim 17, Zhao discloses that the conversion includes encoding the target block into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the target block from the bitstream (Zhao: Fig. 10; paragraph [0160]).
Claim 18 recites the corresponding apparatus for implementing the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 18. Zhao additionally discloses a processor connected to a memory for carrying out the operations (Zhao: paragraph [0013]). Accordingly, claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 19 recites the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to implement the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 19. Zhao additionally discloses the processing method to which the disclosure is applied may be produced in the form of a program executed by a computer, and may be stored in a computer-readable recording medium (Zhao: paragraph [0578]). Accordingly, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Re claim 21, Zhao discloses that the set of affine parameters are not stored in a buffer associated with the target block (Zhao: paragraph [0441], “When the CU is coded using the affine motion, the encoder/decoder may store a copy of the motion information for the CU previously decoded in the buffer” (emphasis added), wherein “may” indicates that storage in the buffer is possible but not required).
Claim 22 recites the corresponding method for storing a bitstream generated by the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 22. Zhao also discloses that a bitstream may be transmitted over a network or may be stored in a digital storage medium (Zhao: paragraph [0089]). Accordingly, claim 22 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 20210400298 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 0240314318 A1).
Re claim 13, Zhao does not specifically disclose that a merge list that comprises a set of candidates is constructed and the set of candidates is reordered after the construction of the merge list. However, Chen discloses that an affine merge candidate list may be reordered (Chen: paragraphs [0323]-[0332]). Since Zhao and Chen relate to video processing using affine motion, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the methods of Chen with the system of Zhao in order to improve motion vector candidate derivation (Chen: paragraph [0005]).
Re claim 14, Zhao does not specifically disclose wherein whether to and/or a procedure to reorder a candidate list is determined based on coding information of the target block, wherein the candidate list comprises at least one of: an affine candidate list, a sub-block candidate list, or a non-affine candidate list, and wherein the coding information comprises at least one of: a derived candidate list, a parsed candidate index, or whether a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (sbTMVP) is enabled. However, Chen discloses that an affine merge candidate list may be reordered (Chen: paragraphs [0323]-[0332]). In one or more embodiments, when a candidate list is constructed, different types of candidates may be derived and inserted into the list (Chen: paragraph [0342]). If one candidate or one type of candidates is not participated in the reorder process, but selected and signaled to the decoder, the reordering process, which is applied to other candidates, may be early terminated (Chen: paragraph [0342]). In one example, in the case of applying ARMC for the affine merge candidate list, the SbTMVP candidate may be excluded from the reordering process (Chen: paragraph [0342]). In this case, if the signaled merge index value for an affine coded block indicates a SbTMVP candidate at the decoder side, the ARMC process may be skipped or early terminated for this affine block (Chen: paragraph [0342]). Since Zhao and Chen relate to video processing using affine motion, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the methods of Chen with the system of Zhao in order to improve motion vector candidate derivation (Chen: paragraph [0005]).
Re claim 16, Zhao does not specifically disclose that a non-adjacent affine candidate is derived based on a set of parameters and at least one non-adjacent unit block, and wherein the non-adjacent affine candidate is a non-adjacent affine inheritance candidate or a non-adjacent affine constructed candidate. However, Chen discloses the candidate derivation process for affine merge mode is extended by using not only adjacent neighboring blocks but also non-adjacent neighboring blocks (Chen: paragraph [0160]). Detailed methods may be summarized in following aspects including affine merge candidate pruning, non-adjacent neighbor based derivation process for affine inherited merge candidates, non-adjacent neighbor based derivation process for affine constructed merge candidates, inheritance based derivation method for affine constructed merge candidates, HMVP based derivation method for affine constructed merge candidates, and candidate derivation method for affine AMVP mode and regular merge mode (Chen: paragraph [0160]). Since Zhao and Chen relate to video processing using affine motion, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the methods of Chen with the system of Zhao in order to improve motion vector candidate derivation (Chen: paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482