DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-31 are Canceled Claims.
Claims 32-50 are rejected under 35 USC § 112 Rejection.
Claims 32-50 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitation under b) of “…to generate an optical beam…”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Is the generated optical beam the same as the generated optical beam recited under a) or different optical beam? The claim should either recite “a first optical beam” and “a second optical beam” or the second instance should be “the optical beam”. For purposes of examination, it is assumed that the two optical beams being recited are different from each other, since they are generated by different groups of lasers.
Claims 33-50 are likewise rejected because they depend from claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32, 34-48 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donovan (US Pub.20170307736A1), Donovan in view of Steinberg (US. Pub.20180113200A1), hereinafter Steinberg.
Regarding Claim 32, Donovan discloses a method of Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR), the method comprising:
a) selecting a first group of lasers (para [0112], where multi-element emitter laser source 1300 of FIG. 13 uses a shared lens system for both collimation and projection of the beams over the desired FOV. FIG. 14 illustrates a diagram of a cross-section of an embodiment of an illuminator 1400 for a multi-wavelength LIDAR system of the present teaching. The illuminator 1400 includes the multi-emitter laser source 1402, and a projection element 1404 comprising a wavelength multiplexer 1406 and a lens 1408. The projection element 1404 is used to project the laser beams 1410, 1412 emitted from the laser source 1402, e.g., project the laser beams 1410 corresponds to generate first group of laser), wherein each laser in the first group of lasers is configured to generate an optical beam (Fig. 6, 7, para [0011], where multi-wavelength LIDAR system; para [0051], where LIDAR systems of the present teaching should not be considered limited to either single-emitter and/or multi-emitter laser source)
corresponding to a projection angle subtending only a portion of a system field of view (Fig. 6, and 7, para [0052], where LIDAR system 100 includes a laser projector, also referred to as an illuminator, that projects light beams 102 generated by a light source),(Abstract, where optical receiver generates a first wavelength signal corresponding to the received reflected portion of the first beam profile and generates a second wavelength signal corresponding to the reflected portion of the second beam profile at the target plane…generates a measurement point cloud from the first and second wavelength signals, wherein an angular resolution of the measurement point cloud depends on a relative position of the first and second beam profiles at the target plane) wherein the selected first group of lasers is associated with a first pattern
of illumination in the system field of view at a target range when fired (para [0052], where LIDAR systems typically also include a controller that computes the distance information about the object 106 from the reflected light, and an element that can scan or provide a particular pattern of the light that may be a static pattern across a desired range and field-of-view (FOV));
b) selecting a second group of lasers (Fig. 6, and 7, para [0011], where multi-wavelength LIDAR system; para [0112], where multi-element emitter laser source 1300 of FIG. 13 uses a shared lens system for both collimation and projection of the beams over the desired FOV. FIG. 14 illustrates a diagram of a cross-section of an embodiment of an illuminator 1400 for a multi-wavelength LIDAR system of the present teaching. The illuminator 1400 includes the multi-emitter laser source 1402, and a projection element 1404 comprising a wavelength multiplexer 1406 and a lens 1408. The projection element 1404 is used to project the laser beams 1410, 1412 emitted from the laser source 1402, e.g., project the laser beams 1412 corresponds to generate second group of laser), (Abstract, where optical receiver generates a first wavelength signal corresponding to the received reflected portion of the first beam profile and generates a second wavelength signal corresponding to the reflected portion of the second beam profile at the target plane, e.g., second wavelength signal corresponds to the second laser group) wherein each laser in the second group of lasers is configured to generate an optical beam corresponding to a projection angle subtending only a portion of the system field of view, wherein the selected second group of lasers is associated with a second pattern (para [0118], where FIG. 15B can be realized using the multi-emitter laser source with the pattern of VCSEL emitters of different wavelengths illustrated in FIG. 13) of illumination in the system field of view at the target range when fired(para [0052], where LIDAR systems typically also include a controller that computes the distance information about the object 106 from the reflected light, and an element that can scan or provide a particular pattern of the light that may be a static pattern across a desired range and field-of-view (FOV));
d) illuminating a target at the target range (para [0233], where one portion of the field of view may be illuminated and result in the determination of a plurality of range measurements while at least one other portion of the field of view is not illuminated by the light source) by generating the first pattern of illumination at the target range by firing the first group of lasers with the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers (para [0187], where processor 118 may control the emission of light to allow differentiation in the illumination of different portions of field of view 120. In one example, processor 118 may determine the emission pattern for a single portion 122 of field of view 120, based on detection of reflected light from the same scanning cycle (e.g., the initial emission), which makes LIDAR system 100 extremely dynamic. In another example, processor 118 may determine the emission pattern for a single portion 122 of field of view 120, based on detection of reflected light from); and
f) receiving optical return signals reflected from the illuminated target at the
target range (see Fig. 7, where return signals from the target planes 710); and
g) signal processing the received optical return signals to produce a range
measurement for the target (see Fig. 7, where return signals from the target planes 710; para [0052], where receiver and controller are used to convert the received signal light into measurements that represent a pointwise 3D map of the surrounding environment that falls within the LIDAR system range and FOV), (para [0053], where provide light reflected from the source back to the receiver, and a range, or distance, to that object is determined. As is known in the art, a LIDAR receiver calculates range information based on time-of-flight measurements of light pulses emitted from the light source).
Donovan does not disclose:
c) determining a number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination and a number of electrical pulses used to fire the second group of lasers associated with the second pattern of illumination, wherein the number of electrical pulses used to fire the second group of lasers associated with the second pattern of illumination is different from the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination;
e) illuminating the target at the target range by generating the second pattern
of illumination at the target range by firing the second group of lasers with
the number of electrical pulses used to fire the second group of lasers
Steinberg discloses:
c) determining a number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers (Fig. 2B, #112 (group of lasers), para [0210], where plurality of light sources 102 of FIG. 2B) associated with the first pattern of illumination and a number of electrical pulses used to fire the second group of lasers associated with the second pattern of illumination (Fig. 5C(projected light is electrical pulses), para [0197], where FIG. 5C uses number of pulses as an example of light flux allocation, it is noted that light flux allocation to different parts of the field of view; processor 118 is configured to use two light pulses to detect a first object (e.g., the rounded-square object) at a first distance, and to use three light pulses to detect a second object (e.g., the triangle object) at a second distance greater than the first distance...control light source 112 in a manner such that only a single light pulse is projected toward to portions B1, B2, and C1 in FIG. 5C, although they are part of sector III that was initially allocated with two light pulses per portion, e.g., first pattern is rounded-square object illumination(2 pulses), and second pattern is triangle object(3 pulses)),
wherein the number of electrical pulses used to fire the second group of lasers associated with the second pattern of illumination is different from the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination (Fig. 2B, plurality of light sources and Fig. 5C, shown different pulses number corresponding the different pattern);
e) illuminating the target (Fig. 5C, illustrating the emission of light towards field of view 12, para [0197], where number of light pulses projected toward that portion, and some portions include black dots that represent reflected light from that portion detected by sensor 116) at the target range by generating the second pattern of illumination at the target range by firing the second group of lasers with the number of electrical pulses used to fire the second group of lasers (Fig. 5C, para [0197], where use two light pulses to detect a first object (e.g., the rounded-square object) at a first distance, and to use three light pulses to detect a second object (e.g., the triangle object) at a second distance greater than the first distance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine a number of electrical pulses associated with pattern of illumination as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve image quality and signal-to-noise ratio.
Regarding Claim 34, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, further Donovan disclose wherein selecting the first group of lasers comprises selecting a group of lasers that provides a scan across the system field of view (Fig. 6, 7, para [0011], where multi-wavelength LIDAR system; para [112], where multi-element emitter laser source 1300 of FIG. 13 uses a shared lens system for both collimation and projection of the beams over the desired FOV).
Regarding Claim 35, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, further Donovan does not disclose wherein selecting the first group of lasers and selecting the second group of lasers comprises selecting a sequence of groups that provides a scan across the system field of view.
Steinberg discloses selecting the first group of lasers and selecting the second group of lasers comprises selecting a sequence of groups that provides a scan across the system field of view (para [0294], where a scan of a LIDAR FOV may be performed in which multiple objects may be detected using light projections from anywhere within a light projection sequence associated with a particular FOV region. For example, in some instances objects may be detected in one region of a LIDAR FOV using only a first light emission. Scanning of other portions of the LIDAR FOV may result in objects being detected in those regions only after a second light emission, a third light emission, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to select a sequence of groups of lasers that provides a scan across the system field of view as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to increase the range of spectral detection.
Regarding Claim 36, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, wherein determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination, as recited in claim 32, further Steinberg discloses comprises determining the number of electrical pulses …selecting a predetermined number of electrical pulses (para [0267], where, a predetermined illumination sequence for one or more of the regions 122 of the FOV 120 may include providing a specified series of light pulses toward one or more of the regions 122 of FOV 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a predetermined number of electrical pulses as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve control, efficiency, energy control and reduce measurement and calibration burden.
Regarding Claim 37, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, but Donovan does not disclose wherein determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination comprises determining a number based on performance criteria.
Steinberg discloses determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination, as recited in claim 22, further Steinberg discloses determining the number of electrical pulses…comprises determining a number based on performance criteria (para [0267], where a predetermined illumination sequence for one or more of the regions 122 of the FOV 120 may include providing a specified series of light pulses toward one or more of the regions 122 of FOV 120. A first light pulse may include a relatively low power, and one or more subsequent pulses may include a higher power level than the first emitted pulse. In some cases, the light pulses may be emitted with progressively increasing power levels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine a number based on performance criteria of electrical pulses as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve range accuracy, precision, efficiency, and reproducibility in laser-based applications.
Regarding Claim 38, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, wherein determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination, as recited in claim 32.
Further, Steinberg discloses comprises determining based on information about environment conditions (para [0195], where identification of at least one region of interest may include identification of portions, areas, sections, pixels, or objects within field of view 120 that are important to monitor. Examples of areas that may be identified as regions of interest may include crosswalks, moving objects, people, nearby vehicles or any other environmental condition or object that may be helpful in vehicle navigation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide environmental conditions for determining the number of electrical pulses, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to optimize energy delivery, efficiency, and safety.
Regarding Claim 39, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, but Donovan does not disclose wherein determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination comprises determining based on information determined from sensors.
Steinberg discloses determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination comprises determining based on information determined from sensors (para [0197], where represent the number of light pulses projected toward that portion, and some portions include black dots that represent reflected light from that portion detected by sensor 116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine the number of pulses based on information determined from sensors, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to achieve high accuracy, precision and non-contact measurement capabilities.
Regarding Claim 40, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, wherein determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination, as recited in claim 32.
Further, Steinberg discloses that determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers comprises determining based on processing the received optical return signals (para [0197], where the number of light pulses projected toward that portion, and some portions include black dots that represent reflected light from that portion detected by sensor 116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine the number pulses based on processing the received optical return signal, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to achieve high accuracy, precision and non-contact measurement capabilities.
Regarding Claim 41, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, Donovan does not disclose comprising determining a number of return peaks in the received optical return signals.
Steinberg discloses determining a number of return peaks (para [0265], where a total number of light pulses, increase an overall light energy of emitted light, and/or increase the power (e.g., peak power, average power, etc.) of one or more light pulses projected to a particular region of the FOV; para [0450], where the pulse (or pulses) of a preceding illumination may have the same peak power (or even a lower power level) as the pulse (or pulses) of one or more subsequent emissions) in the received optical return signals (Fig. 5C, para [0197], where the number of light pulses projected toward that portion, and some portions include black dots that represent reflected light from that portion detected by sensor 116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a number of return peaks, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to provide a fast, accurate, and non-invasive way to monitor pulse delivery.
Regarding Claim 42, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, further Donovan does not disclose comprising determining a noise level of the received optical return signals.
Steinberg discloses determining a noise level of the received optical return signals (para [0329], where the operational parameter in such cases may modify the sensor sensitivity by changing the sensitivity of the detection to the signal level and/or noise level acquired by the at least one sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide determining a noise level of the received optical return signals, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve signal quality and system sensitivity, improve reliable communication, diagnose performance issues, and optimize system design.
Regarding Claim 43, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, Donovan does not disclose wherein the signal processing the optical return signals to produce the range measurement for the target comprises calculating a distance to an object based on time-of-flight (TOF).
Steinberg discloses the signal processing the optical return signals to produce the range measurement for the target comprises calculating a distance to an object based on time-of-flight (TOF) (para [0106], where regarding the time of flight of the light signal can be processed to provide the distance the light signal traveled between emission and detection), (para [0223], where at least two differing range measurements may correspond to at least two differing distances. In a similar example, the sensor may be configured to detect reflections associated with at least two differing times of flight for the single light beam-spot. In such an example, a time-of-flight measurement may differ on account of the difference in distance traveled for the light beam-spot with respect to the different detectors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide calculating a distance to an object based on time-of-flight, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve high accuracy, precision, and fast response time.
Regarding Claim 44, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, wherein determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination, as recited in claim 32.
Further, Steinberg discloses electrical pulses comprises determining based on a desired confidence value (para [0131], where light pulses may have parameters such as: pulse duration, pulse angular dispersion, wavelength, instantaneous power, photon density at different distances from light source 112, average power, pulse power intensity, pulse width, pulse repetition rate, pulse sequence, pulse duty cycle, wavelength, phase, polarization, and more) associated with a detection of an object (para [0369], where light energy may be achieved by modulating the power output of source 112, the pulse width, the pulse repetition rate, or any other parameter affecting output energy of light source 112. Nearby objects may be readily detectable and, therefore, in some cases such nearby objects may not justify a region of interest designation. … FIG. 5C, a single light pulses may be allocated to detect a first object at a first distance (e.g., either of the near field objects located near the bottom of FIG. 5C), two light pulses may be allocated to detect a second object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide determining the number of electrical pulses comprises determining based on a desired confidence value, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve real-time position and object tracking with high resolution and sensitivity.
Regarding Claim 45, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, wherein determining the number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination, as recited in claim 32,
Further, Steinberg discloses determining the number of electrical pulses comprises determining based on a particular field of view (see Fig. 2B, 120A-C, is particular portions of FOV corresponding to the number of electrical pulses on Fig. 5C corresponding to section I, II and III correspondently, para [0197], where sector I on the right side of field of view 120, sector II in the middle of field of view 120, and sector III on the left side of field of view 120. In this exemplary scanning cycle, sector I was initially allocated with a single light pulse per portion; sector II, previously identified as a region of interest, was initially allocated with three light pulses per portion; and sector III was initially allocated with two light pulses per portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine the number of electrical pulses with the first pattern of illumination based on a particular field of view, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve power consumption and signal-to-noise ratio.
Regarding Claim 46, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, wherein determining a number of electrical pulses used to fire the first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination, as recited in claim 32, further Steinberg discloses determining a number of electrical pulses comprises determining based on a scanning pattern (Fig. 5C, see the scanning pattern, triangle and square).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to have determining a number of electrical pulses comprise determining based on a scanning pattern, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improved accuracy and consistency.
Regarding Claim 47, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, wherein signal processing the received optical return signals to produce the range measurement for the target comprises filtering.
Steinberg discloses signal processing the received optical return signals to produce the range measurement for the target comprises filtering (para [0503], where a light source of LIDAR systems 100, 200, 2700, and/or 2800 may be coupled with a filter, e.g., in order to limit the range of projected light wavelengths. In some embodiments, at least a first light source may be configured to project light at a wavelength between 400-800 nm and/or between 800-1000 nm and at least a second light source is configured to emit light in a wavelength greater than 800 nm (or 850 nm or 900 nm, etc.) and/or greater than 1500 nm. In certain aspects, the first light source may be configured to project light at a wavelength such that light from the first light source and light from the second light source are both completely beyond visible range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide the signal processing comprising filtering, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improved range accuracy and noise suppression.
Regarding Claim 48, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, Donovan does not disclose wherein signal processing the received optical return signals to produce the range measurement for the target comprises averaging.
Steinberg discloses signal processing the received optical return signals to produce the range measurement for the target comprising averaging (para [0016], where receive from at least one sensor reflections signals indicative of light reflected from objects in the field of view; coordinate light flux and scanning in a manner to cause at least three sectors of the field of view to occur in a scanning cycle, a first sector having a first light flux and an associated first detection range, a second sector having a second light flux and an associated second detection range); (para [0261], where FIG. 12, reflections from both car 1202 and the road may be received and analyzed), or if the reflective object is positioned in a way which reflects light from a range of distances (e.g., from a slanted surface). Also, averaging as a method of noise reduction was well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to have the signal processing comprise averaging, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to obtain a strong consistent signal and reduce noise.
Regarding Claim 50, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, further Donovan discloses comprising generating three-dimensional measurement point data from the range measurement for the target (para [0052], where receiver and controller are used to convert the received signal light into measurements that represent a pointwise 3D map of the surrounding environment that falls within the LIDAR system range and FOV).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donovan in view of Steinberg, as applied above and further in view of Letourneur (US Pat. 96406277B1), hereinafter Letourneur.
Regarding Claim 33, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, Donovan does not disclose comprising firing the selected first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination in the system field of view at the target range as a function of time such that an entire scene is interrogated.
Steinberg discloses firing the selected first group of lasers associated with the first pattern of illumination in the system field of view at the target range (Fig. 5C, para [0197], where scanning of field of view 120 reveals four objects 208: two free-form objects in the near field (e.g., between 5 and 50 meters), a rounded-square object in the mid field (e.g., between 50 and 150 meters), and a triangle object in the far field (e.g., between 150 and 500 meters).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide lasers associated with the first pattern, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve image quality and signal-to-noise ratio.
Letourneur discloses target range as a function of time such that an entire scene is interrogated (Col. 11, lines 21-26, where each pattern profile 120(1) is a time-dependent function for modulating the intensity of light within one or more spectral ranges as emitted from the lighting device(s) 510).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determine a function of time such that an entire scene is interrogated, as taught by Letourneur in firing lasers associated with first pattern of illumination of Steinberg and further into Donovan in order to collect complete information about the scene while improving efficiency and reducing side effects.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donovan in view of Steinberg, as applied above and further in view of Shu (US Pub. 20180299552A1), hereinafter Shu.
Regarding Claim 49, Donovan and Steinberg disclose the method of LIDAR of claim 32, and Steinberg discloses signal processing the received optical return signals to produce the range measurement for the target (para [0503], where a light source of LIDAR systems 100, 200, 2700, and/or 2800 may be coupled with a filter, e.g., in order to limit the range of projected light wavelengths. In some embodiments, at least a first light source may be configured to project light at a wavelength between 400-800 nm and/or between 800-1000 nm and at least a second light source is configured to emit light in a wavelength greater than 800 nm (or 850 nm or 900 nm, etc.) and/or greater than 1500 nm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to produce the range measurement for the target, as taught by Steinberg into Donovan in order to improve range accuracy and noise suppression.
Donovan and Steinberg do not disclose wherein the signal processing comprises histogramming.
Shu discloses signal processing comprising histogramming (para [0237], where the first level filter can be applied across the entire raw histogram, as it is not known exactly where the reflected pulse will be detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide signal processing comprising histogramming, as taught by Shu in combination of Steinberg and Donovan in order to determine the distribution of range measurements and provide visual clarity of the distribution across ranges.
Conclusion
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857