Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 7 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) by Chang, US20200212489A1 (in IDS filed 4/24/25).
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches an aluminum battery [0004], comprising:
a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator, disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and an electrolyte, impregnated into the separator, the positive electrode, and the negative electrode [0007],
wherein the electrolyte comprises
aluminum halide [0015], ionic liquid [0015], and an additive, the additive comprises a pyridine compound [0024], and the pyridine compound has an electron withdrawing functional group (amide/carboxyl)[0023][0024].
Regarding claim 2, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein the electron withdrawing functional group is selected from one of amide and carboxyl- (amide/carboxyl)[0023][0024].
Regarding claim 3, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein the electron withdrawing functional group is located at a position 2, a position 3, or a position 4 of the pyridine compound (amide/carboxyl)[0023][0024].
Regarding claim 4, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein in the electrolyte, a weight of the aluminum halide is greater than a weight of the ionic liquid, and a weight of the ionic liquid is greater than a weight of the additive [0015][0026].
Regarding claim 7, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein a weight ratio of the ionic liquid in the electrolyte is between 35 wt % and 51 wt % [0026].
Regarding claim 8, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein a total weight ratio of the aluminum halide, the ionic liquid, and the additive in the electrolyte is 100 wt % [0014].
Regarding claim 9, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein the aluminum halide comprises aluminum chloride, and the ionic liquid comprises 1-ethyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride [0018][0048].
Regarding claim 10, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode comprises an aluminum foil, a copper foil, or a nickel foil [0032].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang, US20200212489A1 (in IDS filed 4/24/25).
Regarding claim 5, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein a weight ratio of the additive in the electrolyte is greater than or equal to 0.048 wt % and less than or equal to 0.16 wt % (0.05 wt % to 20 wt %)[0026]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 6, Chang teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1, wherein a weight ratio of the aluminum halide in the electrolyte is between 49 wt % and 65 wt % (50 – 66%)[0026]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724