DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-5, drawn to an aluminum battery, classified in Y02E 60/10.
II. Claim 6-10, drawn to a manufacturing method of making a battery, classified in H01M 4/0471.
Inventions I and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, the invention I can be made through another deposition method, such as electrochemical deposition.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have required a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter.
The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
During a telephone conversation with Belinda Lee on 09/20/2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of I, claims 1-5. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 6-10 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112.
Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (US 12148924 B2, "Yamaguchi").
Regarding claim 1:
Yamaguchi discloses an anode (i.e. negative electrode structure) including an anode active material made up of aluminum phase and non-aluminum phase (i.e. aluminum alloy layer) for a secondary battery that comprises aluminum metal (i.e. aluminum battery.) (see [column 2, lines 5-15] and [column 2, lines 48-51]). Yamaguchi discloses that the anode (i.e. negative electrode structure) also includes a substrate (see [column 2, lines 52-59]). Yamaguchi discloses that the non-aluminum phase with respect to the total amount of aluminum phase and non-aluminum phase is greater than 0.005 mass % and is less than 8 mass % (see [column 2, lines 5-15]). This also necessarily means that the aluminum phase with respect to the total amount of aluminum phase and non-aluminum phase must be the percent remaining, that is, greater than 92 mass % and less than 99.995 mass %.
Regarding claim 2:
Yamaguchi discloses that the non-aluminum phase includes silicon (Si) and magnesium (Mg) (see [column 2, lines 5-15]).
Regarding claim 3:
Yamaguchi discloses that the anode active material (i.e. aluminum alloy layer) has a thickness that is 5 micrometers to 200 micrometers (see [column 2, lines 40-45]) including 100 micrometers (see Example 1).
Regarding claim 4:
Yamaguchi discloses that the anode active material (i.e. aluminum alloy layer) is a powder of particles (see column 2, lines 44-50]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable by Yamaguchi et al. (US 12148924 B2, "Yamaguchi").
Regarding claim 5:
Yamaguchi discloses an aluminum battery as set forth above.
Yamaguchi discloses that the anode active material (i.e. aluminum alloy layer) is a powder of particles with an average particle size that is 1 micrometer to 20 micrometers (see column 2, lines 44-50]). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use powder with particle size, including that presently claimed, in Yamaguchi and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Joshua J Zacharia/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787