DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (corresponding to claims 12-19) in the reply filed on 08/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2021/0410294 A1).
Pertaining to claim 12, Li et al. discloses A conductive circuit board (100, see figs. 1-14), comprising: a substrate (42, see fig. 4) having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to each other (see fig. 4), and at least one via hole (21, see fig. 1) extending through the upper surface and the lower surface and defined by an inner surface (see fig. 4); a compound metal layer (12, 30, see fig. 4) formed the substrate (42); a metal circuit layer (30, see fig. 4) formed on at least one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the substrate (42) and on the inner surface (the inner surface of via hole 21, see fig. 4), the metal circuit layer (30) having a predetermined pattern for exposing a portion of the at least one of the upper surface and the lower surface (see fig. 4) of the substrate (42) and a portion of the inner surface (see fig. 4); and a surface finish layer (40, see fig. 4) formed on a top surface of the patterned metal circuit layer (30), so as to form a conductive circuit layer (see fig. 4).
Pertaining to claim 13, Li et al. discloses, further comprising a metal base layer (12, see fig. 4) formed between the compound metal layer (12 and 30) and the substrate (42), wherein the metal base layer (12) is formed on at least one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the substrate (42m see fig. 4) and on the inner surface of the substrate (inner surface of 42 in fig. 4).
Pertaining to claim 17, Li et al. discloses, wherein the substrate is made of an insulating material selected from the group consisting of ceramics and polymers (see paragraph [034]).
Pertaining to claim 18, Li et al. discloses, wherein the compound metal layer (12 and 30) is fully covered on the metal base layer (12, see fig. 4).
Pertaining to claim 19, Li et al. discloses, wherein the surface finish layer (40, see fig. 4) is selected from the group consisting of AuSn, electroless nickel immersion gold, and electroless plating Nickel palladium immersion gold (see paragraph [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2021/0410294 A1) in view of Arisawa et al. (US 2019/0270280 A1).
Pertaining to claim 14, Li et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein a thickness of the metal layer ranges between 50 to 60 min.
However, Arisawa et al. teaches wherein a thickness of the metal layer ranges between 50 to 60 min, (see paragraph [0069]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein a thickness of the metal layer ranges between 50 to 60 min in the device of Li et al. based on the teachings of Arisawa et al. in order to prevents copper diffusion: It acts as a highly effective barrier layer that prevents the underlying copper from migrating into the gold layer.
Li et al fails to explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the metal layer ranges between 50 to 60 min.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make a thickness of the metal layer ranges between 50 to 60 min, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 15, Li et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the compound metal layer is a film layer structure selected from the group consisting of titanium/platinum/gold, titanium/palladium/gold, nickel/palladium/gold, titanium/nickel/gold, gold/palladium/gold, and nickel/gold.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the compound metal layer a film layer structure selected from the group consisting of titanium/platinum/gold, titanium/palladium/gold, nickel/palladium/gold, titanium/nickel/gold, gold/palladium/gold, and nickel/gold, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose of providing resulting exceptional reliability and resistance to degradation. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Pertaining to claim 16, Li et al. discloses all claimed limitations except wherein the compound metal layer is formed on the metal base layer, and a thickness of the compound metal layer is 1m.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make a thickness of the compound metal layer is formed on the metal base layer, and a thickness of the compound metal layer is 1m, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ishiguro (US6497991-B1 and Sorimachi (US-20160143139-A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847