Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an optical image processing device, an optical scanning device, a steering device, in claims 1 & 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the applicant claims an optical scanning device, coupled to the optical image processing device, configured to convert the optical beam along the first optical axis direction into an optical beam along a second optical axis direction, and scan an object to be inspected by using the optical beam along the second optical axis direction. However, this limitation is under a 112f interpretation. Further, when referring to the specification to determine the scope of this limitation the examiner finds that the optical beam scanner (S) which is described in Paragraph 37 (of the PGPub 2025/0362239) is inadequately disclosed since no structure is given for it and it’s merely a recitation of the functional language. Thus, the scope of this particular limitation is left indefinite.
Additionally, in claim 1 the applicant claims scanning the object to acquire sequential YZ cross section structural images and to acquire sequential XZ cross section structural images (AKA B Scans) but then in the processing to reconstruct the 3D image the applicant uses only one or the other. Which leaves the question what the other was to be acquired for and this confuses the scope. For purposes of prosecution the examiner will construe that these limitations should have been in the alternative like the limitation of the 3D image reconstruction.
In Claim 4, the applicant claims “wherein the camera and the visible light source are disposed on two opposite sides of the beam splitter, respectively” but this scope is indefinite because when the examiner consults the instant applications disclosure to figure out how this functions the examiner finds that it would not function as shown or disclosed. Thus, the scope is indefinite. For purposes of prosecution the examiner will construe the claimed limitation to be met by the disclosure of a camera, beam splitter, and light source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the disclosed invention is inoperative and therefore lacks utility.
In claim 4, the applicant has claimed, “wherein the camera and the visible light source are disposed on two opposite sides of the beam splitter, respectively” but this is an inoperative configuration. This configuration is shown in figs. 1A & 1B. As can be seen the camera (CAM) and light source (VIS) are on opposite sides of the beam splitter. However, in 1A the camera would not receive an image and in 1B the light source would be directed into the scanner (S) and not to the sample. This is due to the nature of how a beam splitter works in which as is shown it will reflect and transmit light in directions in accordance with the angle it is placed at. Thus, if one wanted these embodiments to work the camera or light source cannot be on opposite sides of the beam splitter but must be in adjacent sides (assuming the beam splitter is as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibayama et al (PGPub 2022/0214156) (Shibayama).
Regarding Claim 1, Shibayama discloses an optical scanning system for non-destructively acquiring a three-dimensional structure of an object (Fig. 2), comprising:
an optical image processing device (Fig. 2, 101, 103, 106, 107, 108, & 109), configured to generate an optical beam along a first optical axis direction; and
an optical scanning device (105), coupled to the optical image processing device, configured to convert the optical beam along the first optical axis direction into an optical beam along a second optical axis direction, and scan an object to be inspected by using the optical beam along the second optical axis direction. As disclosed the scanner (105) is generally a galvo scanner (Paragraph 77). These function by beam deflection off a rotating mirror. Thus, the galvo scanner would convert the first optical axis of one direction into a second optical axis of a second direction and scan an object using the optical beam along the second optical axis direction;
the limitations, “wherein, the optical image processing device scans the object to be inspected along a Y-axis direction by the optical scanning device to acquire a YZ cross section structural image corresponding to the object to be inspected, and then scans along an X-axis direction to acquire sequential YZ cross section structural images corresponding to the object to be inspected at different consecutive positions;
wherein, the optical image processing device further scans the object to be inspected along the X-axis direction by the optical scanning device to acquire an XZ cross section structural image corresponding to the object to be inspected at different consecutive positions, and then scans along the Y-axis direction to acquire sequential XZ cross section structural images corresponding to the object to be inspected at different consecutive positions;” are functional language and only limit the apparatus to being capable of performing them. The apparatus as disclosed is capable of these limitations (Paragraph 65) thus they are met;
wherein, the optical image processing device further reconstructs a three-dimensional structural image of the object to be inspected according to the YZ cross section structural images corresponding to the object to be inspected at different consecutive positions or the XZ cross section structural images corresponding to the object to be inspected at different consecutive positions (Paragraph 66).
Regarding Claim 8, Shibayama discloses the aforementioned. Further, Shibayama discloses a steering device, coupled to the optical scanning device, operable to turn the optical scanning device and render the optical scanning device to deviate from the second optical axis direction by a predetermined angle (Paragraph 77). As previously discussed, the scanner is a galvo scanner which consists of a mirror that is attached to a motor to rotate the mirror to scan the beam. The motor that rotates the mirror would meet the limitation of the steering device.
Regarding Claim 10, Shibayama discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation, “wherein when the object to be inspected is a glass substrate having a plurality of through glass vias (TGVs), the optical image processing device further identifies whether these TGVs are congested and/or defective according to the XY cross section structural images at the different consecutive positions in the Z-axis direction.” Does not serve to further limit the device since the object to be worked upon by an apparatus is not considered limiting. Thus, the limitation is met since the device is capable of working upon this object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama in view of Tsai et al (PGPub 2024/0027331) (Tsai).
Regarding Claim 2, Shibayama discloses the aforementioned. Further, Shibayama discloses wherein the optical scanning device further comprises:
an optical collimator (Fig. 2, 104), configured to convert the optical beam along the first optical axis direction into a beam parallel to the first optical axis direction;
an optical beam scanner (105), disposed at an intersecting position of the first optical axis direction and the second optical axis direction, configured to convert the optical beam parallel to the first optical axis direction into an optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction;
Shibayama fails to explicitly disclose a first lens group, disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to expand or reduce the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction; a visible light camera module, disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to capture a two-dimensional structural image corresponding to the object to be inspected; a second lens group, disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to expand or reduce the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction; and an object lens module, disposed in the second optical axis direction and located on one side of the second lens group, configured to focus and project the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction onto the object to be inspected;
Tsai teaches a scanning probe in an optical scanning system (abstract, Paragraph 2), comprising:
a visible light camera module (115), disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to capture a two-dimensional structural image corresponding to the object to be inspected (Paragraph 25); and
an object lens module (108), disposed in the second optical axis direction and located on one side of the second lens group, configured to focus and project the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction onto the object to be inspected;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to modify Shibayama with a visible light camera module, disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to capture a two-dimensional structural image corresponding to the object to be inspected; and an object lens module, disposed in the second optical axis direction and located on one side of the second lens group, configured to focus and project the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction onto the object to be inspected because this helps the user in interpreting the OCT data by showing where the image was taken on the surface of the object;
Shibayama as modified by Tsai still fails to explicitly disclose a first lens group, disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to expand or reduce the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction; and a second lens group, disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to expand or reduce the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to modify Shibayama as modified by Tsai with a first lens group, disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to expand or reduce the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction; and a second lens group, disposed in the second optical axis direction, configured to expand or reduce the optical beam parallel to the second optical axis direction because it would be common sense to use as many lenses as needed to provide proper beam shaping, steering, magnification, and focusing in an optical apparatus as needed.
Regarding Claim 3, Shibayama as modified by Tsai discloses the aforementioned. Further, Tsai teaches wherein the visible light camera module is composed of a camera (115), a visible light source (117) and a beam splitter (107), and the beam splitter is disposed in the second optical axis direction. The beam splitter is after that beam scanning mechanism (106) thus it is in the second optical axis.
The reasons for combination remain the same.
Regarding Claim 4, Shibayama as modified by Tsai discloses the aforementioned. Further, Tsai teaches wherein the camera (115) and the visible light source (117) are disposed on two opposite sides of the beam splitter, respectively. As discussed in the 112 rejection of the claim this limitation is met by the disclosure of a camera and light source.
The reasons for combination are the same as above.
Regarding Claim 5, Shibayama as modified by Tsai discloses the aforementioned. Further, Tsai teaches wherein the visible light source (117) is disposed closely next to the object lens module to illuminate the object to be inspected (See fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Shibayama as modified by Tsai discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the visible light source is disposed closely on a bottom surface of the object to be inspected to illuminate the object to be inspected;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to modify Shibayama as modified by Tsai with wherein the visible light source is disposed closely on a bottom surface of the object to be inspected to illuminate the object to be inspected because this is a functionally equivalent variant that would be used in cases where the object is transparent to visible light and would offer such advantages as illuminating the entire internal structure of the object allowing for the camera to image it and provide an image of the whole object including internal structure.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama in view of Tsai and further in view of Schmoll et al (PGPub 2017/0105618) (Schmoll).
Regarding Claim 7, Shibayama as modified by Tsai discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a focus magnification of the object lens module is adjustable/switchable;
However, Schmoll teaches wherein a focus magnification of the object lens module is adjustable/switchable (Paragraph 129);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to modify Shibayama as modified by Tsai with wherein a focus magnification of the object lens module is adjustable/switchable because it allows for a trade-off between resolution and field of view which allows one to adjust the speed of the scanning versus the resolution of the images acquired.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibayama in view of Tsai and further in view of Manallah et al (Aissa Manallah, Mohamed Bouafia, Said Meguellati, "Optical coherence tomography as film thickness measurement technique," Proc. SPIE 9450, Photonics, Devices, and Systems VI, 945006 (6 January 2015); https://doi.org/10.1117/12.2061387) (Manallah)
Regarding Claim 9, Shibayama as modified by Tsai discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the optical image processing device further calculates a thickness value of the object to be inspected according to the YZ cross section structural image or the XZ cross section structural image;
However, Manallah teaches using an OCT image to calculates a thickness value of the object (Section 3, Experimental work);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to modify Shibayama as modified by Tsai with wherein the optical image processing device further calculates a thickness value of the object to be inspected according to the YZ cross section structural image or the XZ cross section structural image because calculating the thickness of an object measured can be useful when inspecting an object to determine if it is within specifications.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 January 1, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877