DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 06/11/2026. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Drawing
The drawing submitted on 07/05/2024 is acknowledged and accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I claims 1 - 16 in the reply filed on 06/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is the potential for overlap of claim scope between the elected and non-elected inventions, and applicants believed that all claims can be examined without an undue search burden. After further consideration Applicants’ arguments are found persuasive. Therefore, the Election/Restriction Requirement sent on 03/11/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20160268797, hereinafter ‘797).
Claim 1, ‘797 teaches a power converter (e.g., see Fig. 6-8) comprising:
an electrical network comprising: a plurality of intermediate nodes (e.g., the corresponding nodes connecting with 112.108, 114/106, and 116/108), wherein each intermediate node is configured to connect to one phase of an alternating current (AC) electrical power source, the electrical network is configured to convert AC electrical current to direct current (DC) electrical current, and the electrical network comprises a plurality of electronic switches (e.g., the switches comprising 102, 104, 106, 112, 114, 116, see Fig. 6); a DC link (e.g., 72) electrically connected to the electrical network; a pre-charge path (e.g., 110) electrically connected to the DC link, the pre-charge path comprising a pre-charge impedance (e.g., 113, 115, 117); a control path (e.g., the corresponding path through 124, 126, 128) electrically connected to one of the electronic switches, the control path comprising a relay (e.g., the relays of 110); and a control system (e.g., 88) configured to: analyze a plurality of electrical measurements from the power converter to determine a status output (e.g., see Fig. 7, 8); and determine whether to control the relay to change state based on the status output (e.g., see Fig. 7, 8).
Claim 2, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the plurality of electrical measurements from the power converter comprise: an indication of a voltage across the pre-charge impedance (e.g., 144/150/154 of 144 or 186/190 of 182 indicating a voltage drop path across corresponding 113, 115, and/or 117 of the respective pre-charging path caused by the pre-charging current during the pre-charge, see Fig. 6-8), an indication of a voltage of the AC power source (e.g., 144/150/154 of 144 or 186/190 of 182 indicating a voltage of the AC power source connected to the input of the pre-charge path causing the DC bus voltage increasing during the pre-charge period, see Fig. 6-8), and an indication of a voltage across the DC link (e.g., the voltage measured at 90, step 146, 158, or 184, see Fig. 6-8); and the control system (e.g., 88) is configured to analyze the indication of a voltage across the pre-charge impedance (e.g., 144/150/154 of 144 or 186/190 of 182 indicating a voltage drop path across corresponding 113, 115, and/or 117 of the respective pre-charging path caused by the pre-charging current during the pre-charge, see Fig. 6-8), the indication of a voltage of the AC power source (e.g., 144/150/154 of 144 or 186/190 of 182 indicating a voltage of the AC power source connected to the input of the pre-charge path causing the DC bus voltage increasing during the pre-charge period, see Fig. 6-8), and the indication of a voltage across the DC link (e.g., the voltage measured at 90, step 146, 158, or 184, see Fig. 6-8) to generate the status output (e.g., see Fig. 7-8).
Claim 3, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the plurality of electronic switches comprises at least one controllable electronic switch (e.g., 124, 126, 128) electrically connected to each intermediate node; the control path comprises a plurality of control branches (e.g., see Fig. 6); each control branch comprises a relay (e.g., corresponding relay 118, 120, 130 in respective phase path, see Fig. 6); and each control branch is electrically connected to a control node of one controllable electronic switch (e.g., see Fig. 6); and wherein the control system is configured to determine whether to control all of the relays to change state based on the status output (e.g., see Fig. 7-8).
Claim 4, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the controllable electronic switch comprises a thyristor (e.g., 124, 126, 128); and the control node comprises a gate on the thyristor (e.g., see Fig. 6).
Claim 5, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the pre-charge path is electrically connected to one of the intermediate nodes and the DC link (e.g., see Fig. 6).
Claim 6, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the pre-charge path comprises a plurality of pre-charge branches (e.g., the three respective phase paths), and each pre-charge branch is electrically connected to one of the intermediate nodes and the pre-charge impedance (e.g., see Fig. 6).
Claim 7, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above. It further teaches that further comprising a voltage sensing impedance (e.g., 113, 115, 117) electrically connected to the input nodes, and wherein the plurality of electrical measurements comprise an indication of a voltage across the pre-charge impedance (e.g., 144/150/154 of 144 or 186/190 of 182 indicating a voltage drop path across corresponding 113, 115, and/or 117 of the respective pre-charging path caused by the pre-charging current during the pre-charge, see Fig. 6-8), an indication of a voltage of the AC power source measured at the voltage sensing impedance (e.g., 144/150/154 of 144 or 186/190 of 182 indicating a voltage of the AC power source connected to the input of the pre-charge path causing the DC bus voltage increasing during the pre-charge period, see Fig. 6-8), and an indication of a voltage across the DC link (e.g., the voltage measured at 90, step 146, 158, or 184, see Fig. 6-8).
Claim 8, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the relay comprises a contactor (e.g., the respective contact or 118, 120, 122, 132, see Fig. 6).
Claim 9, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the plurality of electronic switches comprise diodes (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 112, 114, 116), and two diodes are electrically connected to each intermediate node (e.g., see Fig. 6); the relay is in series with one of the diodes; and the pre-charge impedance is in parallel with the relay (e.g., when the relays in the position of connecting with respective gate of 104, 106, 108, see Fig. 6).
Claim 10, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the plurality of electronic switches comprise diodes (e.g., 102, 104, 106, 108, 112, 114, 116), and two diodes are electrically connected to each intermediate node (e.g., see Fig. 6); the control path comprises a plurality of control branches (e.g., the 3-phase control branches), each control branch comprising a relay in series with one of the diodes (e.g., see Fig. 6); and the pre-charge path comprises a plurality of pre-charge paths (e.g., the corresponding pre-charge path respective to the 3-phase control branches), each pre-charge path comprising a pre-charge impedance (e.g., 113, 115, 117) in parallel with one of the relays (e.g., when the relays in the position of connecting with respective gate of 104, 106, 108, see Fig. 6).
Claim 11, ‘797 teaches a control system (e.g., see Fig. 6-8) comprising: an analysis module configured to: analyze a plurality of electrical measurements from a power converter to determine a status output (e.g., see Fig. 7-8); and a control module (e.g., 88) configured to: determine whether to turn on a relay in a control path of the power converter based on the status output (e.g., see Fig. 7-8), wherein electrical current is provided to a DC link of the power converter through a pre-charge path when the relay is off (e.g., when the respective relays 118, 120, 130 off from the position to the respective gate of 104, 106, 108), and turning on the relay causes one or more electronic switches in the power converter to conduct current such that electrical current is provided to the DC link of the power converter through a power path when the relay is on (e.g., when the respective relays 118, 120, 130 on/connecting with the position to the respective gate of 104, 106, 108, see Fig. 6-8).
Claim 12, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein, to analyze the plurality of electrical measurements, the analysis module is configured to compare each electrical measurement to a pre-determined condition associated with that electrical measurement to produce a result for that electrical measurement (e.g., see Fig. 7-8); and the status output comprises the result for each electrical measurement (e.g., see Fig. 7-8).
Claim 13, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the control module is configured to turn on the relay only if each result meets the associated pre-determined condition such that electrical current is provided to the DC link of the power converter through the power path only when each electrical measurement meets the associated pre-determined condition (e.g., see Fig. 7-8).
Claim 14, ‘797 teaches an apparatus (e.g., see Fig. 6-8) comprising: an electrical network comprising: a plurality of intermediate nodes (e.g., the corresponding nodes connecting with 112.108, 114/106, and 116/108), wherein each intermediate node is configured to connect to one phase of an alternating current (AC) electrical power source (e.g., 62), the electrical network is configured to convert AC electrical current to direct current (DC) electrical current(e.g., the voltage across 78) ; and an electrical network comprising a phase branch connected to each intermediate node, each phase branch comprising a thyristor and a diode (e.g., the switches comprising 102, 104, 106, 112, 114, 116, see Fig. 6); a DC link (e.g., 72) electrically connected to the electrical network; a pre-charge path (e.g., 110) electrically connected to at least one of the intermediate nodes and the DC link, the pre-charge path comprising a pre-charge impedance (e.g., 113, 115, 117); and a plurality of control paths (e.g., the corresponding path through 124, 126, 128), each control path connected to one of the intermediate nodes and a gate of one of the thyristors, and each control path comprising a relay (e.g., the corresponding relays of 110, see Fig. 6).
Claim 15, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the pre-charge path is connected to all of the intermediate nodes (e.g., see Fig. 6).
Claim 16, ‘797 teaches the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above. It further teaches that further comprising a sensing impedance (e.g., 113, 115, 117) connected to all of the intermediate nodes, wherein a voltage across the sensing impedance provides an indication of a voltage input to the apparatus (e.g., 144/150/154 of 144 or 186/190 of 182 indicating a voltage of the AC power source connected to the input of the pre-charge path causing the DC bus voltage increasing during the pre-charge period, see Fig. 6-8).
For method claims 17-18, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/JUE ZHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838