DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendment, see Pg. 17, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to the title is sufficient to overcome the objection. The objection of the title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, see Pg. 17-18, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to claims 5, 22-23 and 27-28 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the rejection of the claims. The rejection of claims 5, 22-23 and 27-28 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 18-32, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to claims 1, 5, 11 and 27 under 35 USC 102(a)(2) and claims 2-3, 6-10, 12-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 22-23 and 27-28 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the rejection of the claims. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1, 5, 11 and 27 under 35 USC 102(a)(2) and claims 2-3, 6-10, 12-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 22-23 and 27-28 under 35 USC 103 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Adler et al. (US 2022/0364850 A1), Hidaka et al. (US 2021/0156790 A1) and Jeang et al. (US 2020/0088649 A1).
In response to Applicant’s arguments against Adler (US 2022/0364850 A1) and Hsieh (US 2015/0355098 A1) on Pg 24-28 and 30-32 of the remarks, given their relevance in the new rejection of amended claims 2-3, 13, 22 and 27 presented below, Applicant argues that Adler fails to disclose “that a linear or area detector 4795 detects an intensity of SHG light (L2) at a pupil plane of an objective lens 4720, nor does Adler disclose the location of the linear or area detector 4795 relative to the pupil plane”. Similarly, Applicant argues that Hsieh does not disclose “wherein the first detector is configured to detect the intensity distribution of the signal light at a pupil plane of the objective lens, and wherein the first detector is located at a conjugate position of the pupil plane of the objective lens”. In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the previous Office Action (see claim 3) presented an interpretation where the “conjugate position of the pupil plane of an objective is interpreted as any plane in the optical system that is optically equivalent, i.e., in focus, to the objective’s pupil plane”. Further, the examiner is interpreting sampling light at the pupil plane of an objective as either directly placing a detector at the location of the pupil plane or redirecting light from the pupil plane in a way which does not alter its spatial distribution prior to being detected. From these considerations, Fig. 26 of Adler clearly shows linear or area detector 4795 positioned at a conjugate position of the pupil plane of objective lens 4720 and Fig. 2 of Hsieh shows PMT/CCD sampling reflected light from the pupil plane of objective RO. Therefore, the limitations reciting the location of the detector relative to the pupil plane are still considered disclosed by Adler and/or Hsieh in the new Office Action presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 12, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 2022/0364850 A1) in view of Hidaka et al. (US 2021/0156790 A1) further in view of Jeang et al. (US 2020/0088649 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Adler discloses a semiconductor measurement device (Fig. 26) comprising:
a laser light source (4100 in Fig. 25 and laser source in Fig. 26) configured to generate a fundamental wave having a first wavelength (Fig. 20, 26; [0237], lines 1-20; where the fundamental wave is understood as referencing the incident light in a non-linear/second-harmonic generation process);
an objective lens (4720) configured to focus the fundamental wave on a sample surface of a sample (4770) (Fig. 26; [0247]);
a wavelength filter (4740) configured to block reflected light corresponding to the fundamental wave that is reflected from the sample surface and transmit signal light generated by irradiating the fundamental wave to the sample surface (Fig. 26; [0239], lines 18-21 – “the spectral filter may be used to block, filter out or eliminate light having wavelengths different from a second harmonic of the beam”; [0247]);
a first detection unit (4795) configured to detect the signal light passing through the wavelength filter (Fig. 26; [0247]), and
wherein the signal light includes nonlinear light generated from the sample surface irradiated by the fundamental wave and having a second wavelength which is different from the first wavelength ([0223]; [0225], lines 1-7); and
a polarization controller (4702) located between the laser light source and the objective lens at an optical path of the fundamental wave (Fig. 26; [0247]),
wherein the polarization controller controls a polarization state of the fundamental wave ([0239], lines 23-27),
Adler further discloses that generated SHG signals are measured using one or more detectors and that optical properties of the generated SHG signal include changes associated with intensity, polarization, spatial distribution, etc. ([0233]; [0247]) and further discloses using spectral filters along different optical paths to generate desired SGH signals ([0291], last 11 lines).
Adler does not appear to explicitly disclose
wherein the first detection unit is located to detect the signal light generated from the sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of the sample placed at a fixed position;
wherein the first detection unit includes a first detector configured to detect the signal light and a first polarization analyzer configured to analyze a polarization state of the signal light;
wherein the first polarization analyzer is disposed between the wavelength filter and the first detector.
However, Hidaka, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses a measurement system
wherein a first detection unit (30 and 40) is located to detect signal light generated from a sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light (R1) emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of a sample (50) placed at a fixed position (Fig. 1-2; [0046]-[0050] – where the emission directions are interpreted as polarization directions);
wherein the first detection unit includes a first detector (42) configured to detect the signal light and a first polarization analyzer (31 and 41) configured to analyze a polarization state of the signal light (Fig. 1-2; [0046]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler with a means for analyzing the polarization state of a generated SGH signal, increasing the functionality of the measurement system.
Adler in view of Hidaka does not explicitly disclose
wherein the first polarization analyzer is disposed between the wavelength filter and the first detector.
However, Jeang, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses a measurement system wherein a first polarization analyzer (190) is disposed between a wavelength filter (140) and a first detector (170) (Fig. 3; [0057]; [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler in view of Hidaka with a configuration where a polarization analyzer is positioned between a filter and detector, allowing for the removal of polarization directions different from those of the SHG beam generated by any defects which have passed through the filter where the motivation would be to improve the signal to noise ratio (Jeang: [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses
wherein the laser light source (4100 in Fig. 25 and laser source in Fig. 26) includes a pulse laser light source configured to generate the fundamental wave which is a pulsed fundamental wave, and wherein a pulse width of the fundamental wave is 1 picosecond or less (Adler: Fig. 20, 26; [0237], lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 12, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the first polarization analyzer is configured to generate an interference pattern reflecting the polarization state of the signal light and provide the interference pattern of the signal light to the first detector.
However, Hidaka further discloses wherein a first polarization analyzer (31 and 41) is configured to generate an interference pattern reflecting a polarization state of a signal light and provide an interference pattern of the signal light to a first detector (42) (Fig. 1-2, 4; [0046]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang with a polarization analyzer which is able to further distinguish polarization states of light reflected off of the surface of a sample, where addition optical information relating to the polarization state and/or phase light allows for a better characterization of the sample, enhancing the functionality of the measurement system.
Regarding claim 16, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, further comprising:
a light splitting unit (2070, 4710) located between the laser light source and the objective lens at an optical path of the fundamental wave (Adler: Fig. 6C, 26; [0138]; [0247]),
wherein the light splitting unit is configured to split the fundamental wave into two or more optical paths and adjust optical path lengths of the two or more optical paths (Adler: Fig. 6C; [0138]). It is noted that Adler discloses two embodiments where the first embodiment, shown in Fig. 6C comprises a light splitting unit (2070) configured to split the fundamental wave into two or more optical paths and adjust optical path lengths of the two or more optical paths but does not explicitly show an objective lens. A second embodiment shown in Fig. 26 comprises an objective (4720) and light splitting unit (4710) but the light splitting unit does not appear to have a means to adjust the optical path lengths of the two or more optical paths. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the optical apparatus presented as a first embodiment with an objective lens like that shown in the second embodiment, resulting in a measurement system with improved resolution and a higher magnification.
Regarding claim 18, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang and discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above,
wherein the wavelength filter includes a dichroic mirror (70) (Adler: Fig. 1A; [0113], lines 1-6), and
wherein the semiconductor measurement device further comprises a second detection unit (4201, 4210) configured to detect light (Adler: Fig. 25; [0138]; [0239]; [0246]). It is noted that Adler does not explicitly disclose a second detection unit configured to detect reflected light reflected by the dichroic mirror, however, Adler teaches a plurality of spectral filters (4230) configured to direct and/or transmit light to a plurality of detectors (4201, 4210) which may be located or moved to different positions to sample light beams (Adler: Fig. 25; [0239]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler’s measurement system with a combination where a wavelength filter may both act to block, filter or eliminate light of certain wavelengths while also configured to direct selected wavelengths towards one or more detectors, providing the advantage of a highly configurable measurement system.
Claim(s) 2-3, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 2022/0364850 A1) in view of Hidaka et al. (US 2021/0156790 A1) in view of Jeang et al. (US 2020/0088649 A1) further in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2015/0355098 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the first detector (4795) is configured to detect the intensity distribution of the signal light and wherein the first detector is located at a conjugate position of the pupil plane of the objective lens (4720) (Adler: Fig. 26; [0247] – where the conjugate position of the pupil plane of an objective is interpreted as any plane in the optical system that is optically equivalent, i.e., in focus, to the objective’s pupil plane).
Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first detector is configured to detect the intensity distribution of the signal light at a pupil plane of the objective lens.
However, Hsieh, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses wherein a first detection unit includes a first detector (PMT/CCD) configured to detect an intensity of a signal light at a pupil plane of an objective lens (RO) (Fig. 2; [0036] – where Figure 2 shows a detector positioned at the pupil plane of the objective lens RO).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler to detect an intensity of the signal light at a pupil plane of the objective lens, allowing for the collection of Fourier information including (diffraction, phase gradients, spatial frequencies) which increases the functionality of the measurement system while simplifying its configuration.
Regarding claim 3, Adler in view of Hidaka, Jeang and Hsieh discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 2, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the first detector (4795) is configured to receive the signal light at the conjugate position of the pupil plane of the objective lens (4720) and includes a plurality of photo sensors (where 1D or 2D detector array inherently comprises a plurality of photosensors/pixels) (Adler: Fig. 26; [0247] – where the conjugate position of the pupil plane of an objective is interpreted as any plane in the optical system that is optically equivalent, i.e., in focus, to the objective’s pupil plane).
Regarding claim 13, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, wherein the polarization controller (4702) is configured to generate a certain polarization state of the fundamental wave (Adler: Fig. 26; [0247]) but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the polarization controller is configured to generate a certain polarization state of the fundamental wave at a pupil plane of the objective lens.
However, Hsieh discloses wherein a polarization controller (P) is configured to generate a certain polarization state of a fundamental wave at a pupil plane of an objective lens (RO) (Fig. 2; [0030]; [0036]; [0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang with a polarization controller configured to generate a certain polarization state of a fundamental wave at a pupil plane of an objective lens, where additional optical information relating to the polarization state and/or phase light allows for a better characterization of the sample, enhancing the functionality of the measurement system. Further, the detection at the pupil plane of the objectives simplifies the measurement system’s configuration, while allowing for the collection of additional Fourier information including (diffraction, phase gradients, spatial frequencies).
Regarding claim 20, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not disclose
a spatial phase modulator located between the laser light source and the objective lens at an optical path of the fundamental wave.
However, Hsieh discloses a spatial phase modulator (PM) located between a laser light source (OPA) and an objective lens (RO) at an optical path of a fundamental wave (Fig. 2; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler with a spatial phase modulator which provides a means for diffracting the fundamental wave in a way which generates one or more beams whose interaction with the sample and resulting interference provides additional optical information relating to the polarization state and/or phase of light allowing for a better characterization of the sample while enhancing the overall functionality of the measurement system (Hsieh: [0123]).
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 2022/0364850 A1) in view of Hidaka et al. (US 2021/0156790 A1) in view of Jeang et al. (US 2020/0088649 A1) further in view of Frisken et al. (US 2019/0365220 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not disclose a delay generator located between the laser light source and the objective lens at an optical path of the fundamental wave, wherein the delay generator generates a time difference between when a part of the fundamental wave reaches the sample surface and when another part of the fundamental wave reaches the sample surface.
However, Frisken, in field of endeavor of optical coherence tomography, discloses an imaging system which uses a delay generator (1800) located between a laser light source (114) and an objective lens (154 – where the 4F lens system is interpreted as the objective) at an optical path of a fundamental wave, wherein the delay generator generates a time difference between when a part of the fundamental wave reaches a sample surface (108 – where Frisken describes that the system may be used to investigate non-ocular samples) and when another part of the fundamental wave reaches the sample surface (Fig. 1A, 18A-B; [0090]; [0091], lines 11-23; [0137]; [0140], lines 8-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler in view of Betzig with a means to delay different parts of an inspecting light beam incident on a sample surface, providing the advantage of an imaging system which can be tailored to detect desired properties of the sample to be measured, increasing its functionality (Frisken: [0092], lines 20-26; [0140], lines 8-20).
Regarding claim 7, Adler in view of Hidaka, Jeang and Frisken discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 6, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the delay generator (1800) includes a transmission member having a thickness distribution in an optical axis direction of the fundamental wave and generates the time difference according to a difference in an optical path length of the fundamental wave passing through the transmission member (Frisken: Fig. 18A; [0090]; [0137]).
Regarding claim 8, Adler in view of Hidaka, Jeang and Frisken discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 6, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the delay generator (110 – where the reflective element used as the delay generator in Fig. 1A is analogous to the transmissive element, 1800, used as a delay generator and shown in Fig. 18A) includes a reflective member having a height distribution in an optical axis direction of the fundamental wave and generates the time difference according to a difference in an optical path length of the fundamental wave reflected from the reflective member (Frisken: Fig. 1A; [0090]; [0091], lines 11-23, [0092], lines 1-26).
Regarding claim 9, Adler in view of Hidaka, Jeang and Frisken discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 6, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the first detector (178) is configured to detect the signal light generated by the fundamental wave having the time difference by distinguishing the signal light for each time difference (Frisken: Fig. 1A; [0097], lines 1-9; [0098], lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 10, Adler in view of Hidaka, Jeang and Frisken discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 6, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the delay generator (110 or 1800) is configured to generate a plurality of time differences of the fundamental wave passing through the delay generator, wherein the first detector (178) includes a plurality of photo sensors (where 1D or 2D detector array inherently comprises a plurality of photosensors/pixels), wherein a number of photo sensors is equal to a number of a plurality of time differences occurring in the delay generator, and wherein each photo sensor of the plurality of photo sensors receives the signal light at a corresponding time difference of the plurality of time differences (Frisken: Fig. 1A, 7A, 18A; [0091], lines 11-23; [0097], lines 1-9; [0098], lines 1-26; [0137]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 2022/0364850 A1) in view of Hidaka et al. (US 2021/0156790 A1) in view of Jeang et al. (US 2020/0088649 A1) further in view of Betzig et al. (US 2016/0305883 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Adler in view of Hidaka and Jeang discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose the measurement device further comprising:
an annular light shaper located between the laser light source and the objective lens at an optical path of the fundamental wave, wherein the annular light shaper is configured to shape the fundamental wave into an annular shape.
However, Betzig, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses an annular light shaper (506) located between a laser light source (502) and an objective lens (510) at an optical path of the fundamental wave, wherein the annular light shaper is configured to shape the fundamental wave into an annular shape (508) (Fig. 5; [0104]-[0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler with an annular light shaper for shaping the fundamental wave, providing an efficient and less complex measurement apparatus which is able to get the angular dependence of non-linear light without needing to rotate or modify the incident angle or direction of the laser source.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 2022/0364850 A1) in view of Betzig et al. (US 2016/0305883 A1) in view of Frisken et al. (US 2019/0365220 A1) in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2015/0355098 A1) further in view of Hidaka et al. (US 2021/0156790 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Adler discloses a semiconductor measurement device (Fig. 26) comprising: a laser light source (4100 in Fig. 25 and laser source in Fig. 26) configured to generate a fundamental wave, which is a pulsed fundamental wave, having a first wavelength (Fig. 20, 26; [0237], lines 1-20; where the fundamental wave is understood as referencing the incident light in a non-linear/second-harmonic generation process);
an objective lens (4720) configured to focus the fundamental wave on a sample surface of a sample (4770) (Fig. 26; [0247]);
a polarization controller (4702) located between the laser light source and the objective lens at the optical path of the fundamental wave and configured to control a polarization state of the fundamental wave (Fig. 26; [0239], lines 23-27; [0247]);
a wavelength filter (4740) configured to block reflected light corresponding to the fundamental wave that is reflected from the sample surface and transmit signal light generated by irradiating the fundamental wave to the sample surface (Fig. 26; [0239], lines 18-21 – “the spectral filter may be used to block, filter out or eliminate light having wavelengths different from a second harmonic of the beam”; [0247]); and
a detection unit (4795) including a detector located at a conjugate position of a pupil plane of the objective lens and configured to detect an intensity distribution of the signal light transmitted by the wavelength filter (4740) (Fig. 26; [0247] – where the conjugate position of the pupil plane of an objective is interpreted as any plane in the optical system that is optically equivalent, i.e., in focus, to the objective’s pupil plane),
wherein the signal light includes nonlinear light generated from the sample surface irradiated by the fundamental wave and having a second wavelength which is different from the first wavelength ([0223]; [0225], lines 1-7).
Adler does not disclose an annular light shaper located between the laser light source and the objective lens at an optical path of the fundamental wave and configured to shape the fundamental wave into an annular shape;
a delay generator located between the laser light source and the objective lens at the optical path of the fundamental wave and configured to generate a time difference between when a part of the fundamental wave reaches the sample surface and when another part of the fundamental wave reaches the sample surface;
wherein a detection unit including a detector is configured to detect an intensity distribution of a signal light at a pupil plane of an objective lens;
wherein the detection unit is located to detect the signal light generated from the sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of the sample placed at a fixed position.
However, Betzig, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses an annular light shaper (506) located between a laser light source (502) and an objective lens (510) at an optical path of the fundamental wave and configured to shape the fundamental wave into an annular shape (508) (Fig. 5; [0104]-[0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler with an annular light shaper for shaping the fundamental wave, providing an efficient and less complex measurement apparatus which is able to get the angular dependence of non-linear light without needing to rotate or modify the incident angle or direction of the laser source.
Adler in view of Betzig does not disclose a delay generator located between the laser light source and the objective lens at the optical path of the fundamental wave and configured to generate a time difference between when a part of the fundamental wave reaches the sample surface and when another part of the fundamental wave reaches the sample surface;
wherein a detection unit including a detector is configured to detect an intensity distribution of a signal light at a pupil plane of an objective lens;
wherein the detection unit is located to detect the signal light generated from the sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of the sample placed at a fixed position.
However, Frisken, in the field of endeavor of optical coherence tomography, discloses an imaging system which uses a delay generator (1800) located between a laser light source (114) and an objective lens (154 – where the 4F lens system is interpreted as the objective) at an optical path of a fundamental wave and configured to generate a time difference between when a part of the fundamental wave reaches a sample surface (108 – where Frisken describes that the system may be used to investigate non-ocular samples) and when another part of the fundamental wave reaches the sample surface (Fig. 1A, 18A-B; [0090]; [0091], lines 11-23; [0137]; [0140], lines 8-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler in view of Betzig with a means to delay different parts of an inspecting light beam incident on a sample surface, providing the advantage of an imaging system which can be tailored to detect desired properties of the sample to be measured, increasing its functionality (Frisken: [0092], lines 20-26; [0140], lines 8-20).
Adler in view of Betzig and Frisken does not explicitly disclose wherein a detection unit including a detector is configured to detect an intensity distribution of the signal light transmitted by the wavelength filter at a pupil plane of the objective lens;
wherein the detection unit is located to detect the signal light generated from the sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of the sample placed at a fixed position.
However, Hsieh, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses wherein a detection unit including a detector (PMT/CCD) is configured to detect an intensity distribution of a signal light at a pupil plane of an objective lens (RO) (Fig. 2; [0036] – where Figure 2 shows a detector positioned at the pupil plane of the objective lens RO).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler to detect an intensity of the signal light at a pupil plane of the objective lens, allowing for the collection of Fourier information including (diffraction, phase gradients, spatial frequencies) which increases the functionality of the measurement system while simplifying its configuration.
Adler in view of Betzig, Frisken and Hsieh does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the detection unit is located to detect the signal light generated from the sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of the sample placed at a fixed position.
However, Hidaka, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses a measurement system
wherein a detection unit (30 and 40) is located to detect a signal light (R1) generated from a sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of a sample (50) placed at a fixed position (Fig. 1-2; [0046]-[0050] – where the emission directions are interpreted as polarization directions);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler in view of Betzig, Frisken and Hsieh with a means for analyzing the polarization state of a generated SGH signal, increasing the functionality of the measurement system.
Regarding claim 23, Adler in view of Betzig, Frisken, Hsieh and Hidaka discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 22, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the delay generator (1800) includes a transmission member having a thickness distribution in an optical axis direction of the fundamental wave and generates the time difference according to a difference in an optical path length of the fundamental wave passing through the transmission member (Frisken: Fig. 18A; [0090]; [0137]).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adler et al. (US 2022/0364850 A1) in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2015/0355098 A1) further in view of Hidaka et al. (US 2021/0156790 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Adler discloses a semiconductor measurement device comprising:
a laser light source (4100 in Fig. 25 and laser source in Fig. 26) configured to generate a fundamental wave, which is a pulsed fundamental wave, having a first wavelength (Fig. 20, 26; [0237], lines 1-20; where the fundamental wave is understood as referencing the incident light in a non-linear/second-harmonic generation process);
an objective lens (4720) configured to focus the fundamental wave on a sample surface of a sample (4770) (Fig. 26; [0247]);
a polarization controller (4702) located between the laser light source and the objective lens at an optical path of the fundamental wave and configured to control a polarization state of the fundamental wave (Fig. 26; [0239], lines 23-27; [0247]);
a wavelength filter (4740) configured to block reflected light corresponding to the fundamental wave that is reflected from the sample surface and transmit signal light generated by irradiating the fundamental wave to the sample surface and having a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength (Fig. 26; [0239], lines 18-21 – “the spectral filter may be used to block, filter out or eliminate light having wavelengths different from a second harmonic of the beam”; [0247]); and
a detection unit (4795) including a detector located at a conjugate position of a pupil plane of the objective lens and configured to detect an intensity distribution of the signal light transmitted by the wavelength filter (4740) (Fig. 26; [0247] – where the conjugate position of the pupil plane of an objective is interpreted as any plane in the optical system that is optically equivalent, i.e., in focus, to the objective’s pupil plane),
wherein the signal light includes nonlinear light generated from the sample surface irradiated by the fundamental wave ([0223]; [0225], lines 1-7).
Adler does not explicitly disclose wherein a detection unit including a detector configured to detect an intensity distribution of the signal light transmitted by the wavelength filter at a pupil plane of the objective lens.
However, Hsieh, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses wherein a detection unit including a detector (PMT/CCD) is configured to detect an intensity distribution of a signal light at a pupil plane of an objective lens (RO) (Fig. 2; [0036] – where Figure 2 shows a detector positioned at the pupil plane of the objective lens RO).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler to detect an intensity of the signal light at a pupil plane of the objective lens, allowing for the collection of Fourier information including (diffraction, phase gradients, spatial frequencies) which increases the functionality of the measurement system while simplifying its configuration.
Adler in view of Hsieh does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the detection unit is located to detect the signal light generated from the sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of the sample placed at a fixed position.
However, Hidaka, in the same field of endeavor of optical imaging devices used for characterizing semiconductor devices, discloses a measurement system
wherein a detection unit (30 and 40) is located to detect a signal light (R1) generated from a sample surface and measures an intensity distribution of the signal light emitted in two or more different emission directions from the sample surface of a sample (50) placed at a fixed position (Fig. 1-2; [0046]-[0050] – where the emission directions are interpreted as polarization directions);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Adler in view of Hsieh with a means for analyzing the polarization state of a generated SGH signal, increasing the functionality of the measurement system.
Regarding claim 28, Adler in view of Hsieh and Hidaka discloses the semiconductor measurement device of claim 27, as outlined above, and further discloses
a light splitting unit (2070, 4710) located between the laser light source and the objective lens at the optical path of the fundamental wave and configured to split the fundamental wave into two or more optical paths and adjust optical path lengths of the two or more optical paths (Adler: Fig. 6C, 26; [0138]; [0247]),
wherein the light splitting unit includes a beam splitter configured to split the fundamental wave into two parts having an equal amplitude and a mirror configured to reflect one of the two parts of the fundamental wave (Adler: [0113]-[0114]; [0138] – “the beam splitter can comprise a dielectric mirror …”). It is noted that Adler discloses two embodiments where the first embodiment, shown in Fig. 6C comprises a light splitting unit (2070) configured to split the fundamental wave into two or more optical paths and adjust optical path lengths of the two or more optical paths but does not explicitly show an objective lens. A second embodiment shown in Fig. 26 comprises an objective (4720) and light splitting unit (4710) but the light splitting unit does not appear to have a means to adjust the optical path lengths of the two or more optical paths. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the optical apparatus presented as a first embodiment with an objective lens like that shown in the second embodiment, resulting in a measurement system with improved resolution and a higher magnification.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Michael A Lyons/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877