DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 1 is not reproducible or clear. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-12, 14-16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degai et al. (US 2022/0005685 A1) in view of Dube et al. (US 2017/0084449 A1)
As to claim 1, Degai et al. teaches a method of selectively depositing a metal oxide or metal oxynitride on a substrate (para 0114), the substrate comprising a surface, the surface comprising: an oxide layer portion comprising hydroxyl groups on SiO2 and a nitride layer portion (para 0043, natural oxide), the method comprising: pretreating the surface with a cleaning, where the cleaning removes a native oxide layer on the nitride layer portion (para 0043); and functionalizing the surface of the substrate with at least one cycle of exposing the surface to an aminosilane small molecule inhibitor (DMATMS, for example in para 0046-0047), followed by at least one cycle of: exposing the surface to a metal precursor (para 0019, 0038, 0079, for example); and exposing the surface to a co-reactant (para 0112-0113), to provide a metal oxide or metal oxynitride layer selectively deposited on the nitride layer portion of the substrate over the oxide layer portion of the substrate (Fig 6B, for example, para 0112-0114). Degai et al. does not teach that its natural oxide cleaning process includes utilizing a plasma.
Dube et al. is drawn to selective deposition of SiO2 and SiN substrates and teaches that native oxides may be removed from these substrate materials using a plasma process in para 0029-0031. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Degai et al. to include the plasma process of Dube et al. as Dube et al. teaches it is effective for removing native oxides off of the same silicon substrate materials.
As to Claim 2, Degai et al. teaches wherein the nitride layer portion of the substrate comprises silicon nitride (SiN) (Figs 5, 6).
As to claim 4, Degai et al. teaches at least DMATMS in para 0046-0047.
As to claims 5-6, the metal precursor includes titanium tetrachloride in Degai para 0019.
As to claim 8, Dube et al. teaches post deposition etching processes that are common in semiconductor arts in para 0006.
As to claim 10, the selectivity is as shown in Degai et al. Fig. 6B. Further, the amount of selectivity is shown to be a result effective variable as it depends upon reaction conditions such as temperature (para 0074-0098 and Examples). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the selectivity in the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claims 11-12, 14-16, 18 and 20, these limitations are taught as discussed above.
Claim(s) 3, 9, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degai et al. (US 2022/0005685 A1) in view of Dube et al. (US 2017/0084449 A1) and in further view of Tan et al. (US 2023/0118701 A1)
Degai and Dube do not teach the etching or cleaning gas combination. Tan et al. teaches a plasma to etch a selectively deposited metal film and a plasma that removes an oxide as containing CF4 and N2 in para 0031 and Claims 4-6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Degai et al. and Dube et al. to include the claimed plasma gases as Tan et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degai et al. (US 2022/0005685 A1) in view of Dube et al. (US 2017/0084449 A1) and in further view of Nakatani et al. (US 2023/0175116 A1)
Degai and Dube do not teach the claimed co-reactant, though Degai teaches many different oxidizing reactants to make oxide and oxynitride films as discussed in the cited sections above. Nakatani et al. teaches a similar selective deposition process (abstract, Figures) that uses water as its oxidant for its halogen metalloid precursor in para 0132. . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Degai et al. and Dube et al. to include water as a reactant as Nakatani teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718