DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on May 19, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al (US 2022/0375762 A1), as evidenced by Wang et al (US 2022/0301857 A1).
Wu discloses a substrate-processing method (abstract), comprising:
providing a substrate including a silicon oxide film 11 on a surface of the substrate (“to-be-processed wafer” [0041], Fig. 1);
supplying a first gas to the surface of the substrate, the first gas containing a hydrogen fluoride gas and containing no basic gas (during the “etching process” [0044], during the time that HF is continuously supplied [0085] and NH3, a basic gas, is not supplied, when the NH3 is pulsed off, times that are “in absence of NH3 catalyst” [0085]);
after (b), supplying a second gas to the surface of the substrate, the second gas containing both a hydrogen fluoride gas and a basic gas (during the “etching process” [0044], during the times that HF is continuously applied and the NH3 gas is pulsed on [0085]).
Wu discloses etching with HF continuously supplied, but pulsing NH3, which reads on steps b and c.
As to amended claim 1, Wu fails to disclose the composition of the “byproducts” that are formed during the etching step (“byproducts deposited on the silicon oxide film partially prevent the etching gas from directly reacting with the SiO2 in contact, and slow down the etching rate of SiO2.” [0086]). Wang is applied as evidence to show that the etching byproducts are the cited silicon tetrafluoride and ammonium silicofluoride. More specifically, Wang teaches that silicon tetrafluoride forms when silicon oxide and HF react [0050] and ammonium silicofluoride forms when HF and ammonia gas react with silicon oxide [0048] , e.g., under conditions of no plasma [0051]. Because Wu conducts the same steps as in the instant invention, the same results are expected, inherently, as evidenced by Wang.
As to claim 2, see the rejection of claim 1, HF is continuously supplied [0085].
As to claim 5, Wu discloses that the etching process, i.e., steps b and c, are conducted at 120 °C [0017], which is a same temperature as cited.
As to claim 6, Wu discloses to supply the second gas along the surface of the substrate (as depicted in Figure 7).
As to claim 7, Wu discloses the same steps as are conducted as in the instant invention, and therefore the same results are expected.
As to claim 8, Wu discloses to provide a basic gas of ammonia gas (see rejection of claim 1).
As to claims 9-10, 12-16, Wu discloses (d) after (c), heat-treating the substrate at a temperature higher than in (c) (sublimation at 180 °C [0019], [0089], [0096]).
As to claim 18, Wu discloses a cooling step (S150, 240, Figure 5) and exposing to room temperature [0088], which is within the cited range during steps b) and c).
As to claim 19, Wu discloses that substrate further includes a silicon nitride film [0041] (Fig. 1), that is etched without a surface modification layer 13 formed on the SiN (Table 1 [0042]- [0043]), which encompasses removing native oxide that is inherently present or native to the SiN surface.
Claims 1-2, 5-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Wang et al (US 2022/0301857 A1).
Wang discloses a substrate-processing method (abstract), comprising:
providing a substrate including a silicon oxide film 11 on a surface of the substrate (210, Fig. 1);
supplying a first gas to the surface of the substrate, the first gas containing a hydrogen fluoride gas and containing no basic gas (240, Fig. 1);
after (b), supplying a second gas to the surface of the substrate, the second gas containing both a hydrogen fluoride gas and a basic gas (cycling 260 such that step 220 is after step 240, Fig. 1),
wherein (b) includes reacting the silicon oxide film and the hydrogen fluoride gas, thereby forming silicon tetrafluoride [0050], and (c) includes reacting the silicon tetrafluoride, the hydrogen fluoride gas, and the basic gas, thereby forming ammonium silicofluoride [0048].
As to claim 2, Wang discloses performing (c) successively as cited (cycling 260, Fig. 1).
As to claim 5, Wang fails to disclose change the temperature, therefore it is expected to be maintained at the same temperature.
As to claim 6, Wang discloses to supply the second gas along the surface of the substrate (as depicted in Figures 5A-5D).
As to claim 7, Wang discloses the same steps as are conducted as in the instant invention, and therefore the same results are expected.
As to claim 8, Wang discloses to provide a basic gas of ammonia gas [0039].
As to claims 9-10, 12-16, Wang discloses subliming, which encompasses the cited higher temperature for heat-treating [0054].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 2022/0375762 A1), as evidenced by Wang et al (US 2022/0301857 A1).
The discussion of Wu from above is repeated here.
As to claim 3, Wu fails to disclose the duration of (b) compared to (c). Wu teaches that process parameters can be optimized [0085]. The amount of time that an etching species is present is a parameter that can be optimized for best results of etching. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited times in the method of Wu in order to optimize the times for etching to produce the best results.
As to claim 11, Wu discloses (d) after (c), heat-treating the substrate at a temperature higher than in (c) (sublimation at 180 °C [0019], [0089], [0096]).
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 5-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al (US 2022/0375762 A1), as evidenced by Wang et al (US 2022/0301857 A1).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 2022/0375762 A1), as evidenced by Wang et al (US 2022/0301857 A1).
Claims 1-2, 5-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Wang et al (US 2022/0301857 A1).
Wang is newly applied to show that the byproducts of the reaction between silicon oxide and the supplied gases are as cited in amended claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 27, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that
In contrast, the purpose of pulsing the gases in Wu's process is merely to purge the etching gas and quickly remove the etching reactants and byproducts from the wafer surface (see para. [0055]). For example, Wu explicitly teaches that the objective of performing multiple cycles of etching is to "fully sublime and discharge the etching reactants and byproducts" (see para. [0086]).
In response, the byproducts that form on the wafer surface in the method of Wu are the same products as claimed, as evidenced by Wang. Applicant also pulses (claim 2) and sublimes (heat-treatment claims 9-15) to remove reaction byproducts. While there may be some purging in the method of Wu, Wu discloses that the silicon oxide is removed, i.e., etched. The etching is by forming byproducts and removing them. Wu uses the same gases and materials as in the instant invention, and therefore the same results are expected.
Applicant argues that Wu fails to “intentionally” pre-form silicon tetrafluoride. In response, prior art need not recognize the chemical composition of the byproducts formed in order to anticipate the claimed invention. As explained in the MPEP at section 2112, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Here, Wu may not recognize that the chemical composition of the reaction products of silicon oxide with HF and ammonia, but they are known as evidenced by Wang. Therefore, the argument that Wu must “intentionally” form the cited byproducts is not persuasive. The byproducts are formed, inherently, because the gases react with the silicon oxide to form byproducts.
The arguments relating to claims 18-19 are addressed above in the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANITA K ALANKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713